DETAILED ACTION
1. Formal Matters
A. In the response filed 12/17/25, Applicants elected Group III and traversed on the grounds that neither the Written Opinion, nor the IRPR found the claims lack unity of invention. As seen in Box 5 of the Written Opinion, and reiterated in the restriction requirement dated 9/22/25, the kit of claim 4 is not novel since a kit comprising a TNF inhibitor and an IFN gamma inhibitor was known in the prior art. The same would be true for claim 14. However, since there is minimal search burden in examining all of the claims, the restriction requirement dated 9/22/25 is hereby withdrawn.
B. Claims 1-16 are pending and are the subject of this Office Action.
2. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) – scope of enablement
Claims 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for the treating inflammatory cell death, does not reasonably provide enablement for preventing of inflammatory cell death. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
In In re Wands, 8USPQ2d, 1400 (CAFC 1988) page 1404, the factors to be considered in determining whether a disclosure would require undue experimentation include (1) the quantity of experimentation necessary, (2) the amount of direction or guidance presented, (3) the presence or absence of working examples, (4) the nature of the invention, (5) the state of the prior art, (6) the relative skill of those in the art, (7) the predictability or unpredictability of the art, and (8) the breadth of the claims.
The breadth of the claims is excessive with regard to claiming preventing cell death. The Examiner has interpreted “preventing” as a condition will not occur in 100% of the subjects administered the intended compound. Applicants provide no guidance or working examples of achieving this, nor is it predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art how to prevent inflammatory cell death from occurring in 100% of the subjects.
Applicants may, without adding new matter, consider using a limitation such as “reducing the likelihood”, or a similar phrase.
These factors lead the Examiner to hold that undue experimentation is necessary to practice the invention as claimed.
3. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4-6 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Chugh et al. (WO 2020/023335 – cited on the IDS filed 4/12/23).
Chugh teaches kits (page 5, lines 4-10) comprising anti-TNF-g and anti-TNF antibodies (for blocking TNFa). See page 3, lines 13-14 regarding infliximab, adalimumab, certolizumab and etanercept and line 16 regarding fontolizumab. It is noted that the claims do not recite printed material, such as instructions for use, nor for treating inflammatory cell death, including COVID-19. Regardless, the prior art implicitly or explicitly anticipates the instant invention. See In re Ngai and Ex parte Masham:
PRODUCT CLAIMS – NONFUNCTIONAL PRINTED MATTER DOES NOT DISTINGUISH CLAIMED PRODUCT FROM OTHERWISE IDENTICAL PRIOR ART PRODUCT
Where the only difference between a prior art product and a claimed product is printed matter that is not functionally related to the product, the content of the printed matter will not distinguish the claimed product from the prior art. In re Ngai, **>367 F.3d 1336, 1339, 70 USPQ2d 1862, 1864 (Fed. Cir. 2004)< (Claim at issue was a kit requiring instructions and a buffer agent. The Federal Circuit held that the claim was anticipated by a prior art reference that taught a kit that included instructions and a buffer agent, even though the content of the instructions differed.). See also In re Gulack, 703 F.2d 1381, 1385-86, 217 USPQ 401, 404 (Fed. Cir. 1983)("Where the printed matter is not functionally related to the substrate, the printed matter will not distinguish the invention from the prior art in terms of patentability …. [T ]he critical question is whether there
exists any new and unobvious functional relationship between the printed matter and the substrate.").
MANNER OF OPERATING THE DEVICE DOES NOT DIFFERENTIATE APPARATUS CLAIM FROM THE PRIOR ART
A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) (The preamble of claim 1 recited that the apparatus was “for mixing flowing developer material” and the body of the claim recited “means for mixing ..., said mixing means being stationary and completely submerged in the developer material”. The claim was rejected over a reference which taught all the structural limitations of the claim for the intended use of mixing flowing developer. However, the mixer was only partially submerged in the developer material. The Board held that the amount of submersion is immaterial to the structure of the mixer and thus the claim was properly rejected.
4. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A. Claims 1, 7 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (reference 12 on the IDS filed 4/12/23).
The claims are drawn to treating inflammatory cell death, including COVID-19, by administering TNFa and IFNg inhibitors.
Regarding claims 1, though Zhang does not teach treatment of COVID-19, it states that “INF-g, alongside TNF-a, might be a key driver of this abundant inflammatory macrophage phenotype in severe COVID-19…which may be targeted by existing immunomodulatory therapies”. In re Kerkhoven (205 USPQ 1069, CCPA 1980) summarizes:
"It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by prior art to be useful for the same purpose in order to form a combination that is to be used for the very same purpose: the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art."
Regarding claims 7 and 10-13, COVID-19 is a species of SARS-Cov-2 as recited in claim 12.
B. Claims 2-6, 8, 9 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. in view of Chugh et al.
The teachings of both Chugh and Zhang are seen above under 35 USC 102 and 103, respectively. Zhang does not teach the specifically claimed inhibitors of TNFa and IFNg. However, it would have been obvious to have used these inhibitors as taught by Chugh, as they were TNFa and IFNg inhibitors known at the time of the instant invention.
5. Prior Art of Interest Not Relied Upon
Tang teaches COVID-19 and states “[o[f note, the release of pro-inflammatory cytokines, especially interferon (IFN)-α and IFN-γ, is correlated with lethal SARS” (the sentence bridging pages 2 and 3).
6. Conclusion
No claim is allowable.
Advisory information
/ROBERT S LANDSMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1647