Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-11, 14-20, 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peleg et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20140014126) in view of Minskoff et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20160021930).
Regarding claim 1, Peleg discloses an aerosol provision system comprising:
a reservoir for aerosolisable material (110, fig. 2b);
a vaporizer (by 201, fig. 2b) for vaporizing aerosolizable material from the reservoir;
a sensor system (206, fig. 2b), separate from the vaporizer, for detecting the temperature of the vaporizer, wherein the sensor system comprises a first resistor [0033].
Peleg discloses they system further comprising a wick configured to receive the aerosolisable material from the reservoir, wherein the vaporizer is configured to vaporize the aerosolizable material received in the wick (fig. 2b)
Peleg further discloses the sensor system comprises a second resistor connected in series with the first resistor (fig. 7).
In the event that the first resistor, (206, fig. 2b) from the sensor system which is connected an external surface of the wick, is considered for not being located on an external surface of the wick. Minskoff discloses temperature sensor (RTD) can be arranged to be on the outer surface of a wick in an aerosol provision system [0162 and fig. 48). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange the first resistor of the sensor system of Peleg on the outer surface of the wick as taught by Minskoff.
Regarding claim 2, Peleg discloses the sensor system is configured to measure a voltage drop across the first resistor [0033].
Regarding claim 3, Peleg discloses the sensor system is configured to determine the temperature of the vaporizer based on the voltage drop across the first resistor [0033].
Regarding claim 4, Peleg discloses the first resistor is located proximate to the vaporizer [0033].
Regarding claim 7, Peleg discloses the sensor system is further configured to measure a voltage drop across the second resistor (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 8, Peleg discloses the second resistor is located proximate to the vaporizer (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 9, Peleg discloses the first resistor is located closer to the vaporizer than the second resistor is located to the vaporizer (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 10, Peleg discloses the sensor system is configured to determine the temperature of the vaporizer based on the measured voltage drop across the first resistor in combination with the measured voltage drop across the second resistor [0055].
Regarding claim 11, Peleg discloses the system further comprising a first power supply configured to provide electrical power to the vaporizer [0055].
Regarding claim 14, Peleg discloses the system further comprising control circuitry configured to adjust the amount of power provided by the first power supply to the vaporizer [0018].
Regarding claim 15, Peleg discloses the control circuitry comprises a portion of the sensor system (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Peleg discloses the sensor system is configured to provide an output signal containing data related to the temperature of the vaporizer, wherein the control circuitry is configured to:
process the data from the output signal; and
generate, in response to processing the data from the output signal, a first control signal for controlling the operation of the first power supply [0018].
Regarding claim 17, Peleg discloses the first control signal comprises a command to vary the amount of power provided by the first power supply to the vaporizer [0018].
Regarding claim 18, Peleg discloses the first control signal comprises a command to stop providing power to the vaporizer from the first power supply [0018].
Regarding claim 19, Peleg discloses a second power supply for providing electrical power to the sensor system [0018, fig. 2b].
Regarding claim 20, Peleg discloses the second power supply is independent of the first power supply [0018 and 0033].
Regarding claim 23, in addition to features discussed above for claim 19, Peleg discloses the system further comprising a control circuitry configured to process data related to the temperature of the vaporizer and generate a signal comprises a command to stop providing power to the vaporizer from the first power supply (Abstract). Peleg discloses the system further comprising a second power supply for providing electrical power to the sensor system and wherein the control circuitry is further configured to generate a second control signal comprises a command to stop providing power to the sensor system from the second power supply [Abstract, 0018 and 0033].
Regarding claim 29, Peleg discloses the system further comprising a cartridge and a control unit;
wherein the reservoir, the vaporizer, and the first resistor, are located in the cartridge;
wherein the control unit comprises a cartridge receiving section that includes an interface arranged to cooperatively engage with the cartridge so as to releasably couple the cartridge to the control unit [0018].
Regarding claim 30, Peleg discloses the system further comprising a first power supply configured to provide electrical power to the vaporizer, and wherein the control unit comprises the first power supply [0018].
Regarding claim 31, Peleg discloses the system further comprising a second power supply for providing electrical power to the sensor system and wherein the control unit comprises the second power supply [0018].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/31/2025 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHU H NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1747