Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19, 21, 24-27, 29-32, 34, and 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0292298 to Puglisi et al.
As to claims 19, 21, and 38, Puglisi discloses a reactive polyurethane composition comprising an unblocked polyisocyanate or NCO-terminated prepolymer, a polyol component, a metal acetelyacetonate catalyst, and a diketone component preferably selected from acetylacetone or dibenzoylmethane (0030, Examples). Dibenzoylmethane is 1,3-diketo with a melting point of 75°C. Puglisi discloses metal acetylacetonates including metals such as manganese, cobalt, zirconium, titanium, and zinc wherein the amount of catalyst is 0.001 to 0.5% by weight and molar ratio of catalyst to diketone is 1:6 (0028-0030).
As to claims 22, 24, and 39, Puglisi discloses metal acetylacetonates including metals such as manganese, cobalt, zirconium, titanium, and zinc wherein the amount of catalyst is 0.001 to 0.5% by weight and molar ratio of catalyst to diketone is 1:6 (0028-0030).
As to claim 25, Puglisi discloses 4,4-diphenylmethane diisocyanate prepolymer (Table 1).
As to claims 26-27, Puglisi discloses the use of polyester polyols, polyether polyols, polymer polyols and other types of higher functional polyols (0017-0020).
As to claim 29, Puglisi discloses an NCO:OH ratio of 1:1 (Table 1).
As to claim 30, Puglisi discloses curable compositions comprising the polyurethane and additives, such as flame retardants, fillers, inhibitors, dyes, etc. in amounts of 0.5 to 40 wt% (0032).
As to claims 31-32, Puglisi discloses spreading a foam prepared from the composition into a layer with a thickness of 0.01 to 100 mm (0047).
As to claim 34, Puglisi discloses a method for producing a polyurethane layer comprising
applying the polyurethane composition to substrates or release paper and curing (0045-0048).
Claims 19, 21-22, 24-42, and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2015/0259465 to Burckhardt et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0292298 to Puglisi et al.
As to claims 19, 21-22, 24-27, 31-32, 38-42, and 44, Burckhardt discloses a polyurethane composition for preparing layers of 2mm to cardboard (0171) comprising an isocyanate component (modified diphenylmethane diisocyanate), a polyol component(EO-endcapped polyoxypropylene triol), and a catalyst such as zirconium(IV)-tetrakis(1,3-diphenylpropane-1,3- dioate) in amounts of 0.85%, 1.1%, and 0.75% (Zr-2, Table 1 dibenzoylmethane, compositions Z- 21, Z-23, and Z-31, Tables 3 and 8) and bismuth catalysts such as bismuth neodecanoate (See Table 2).
Burchkardt does not expressly disclose the addition of a diketone compound.
Puglisi discloses a reactive polyurethane composition comprising an unblocked polyisocyanate or NCO-terminated prepolymer, a polyol component, a metal acetelyacetonate catalyst, and a diketone component preferably selected from acetylacetone or dibenzoylmethane (0030, Examples). Puglisi discloses metal acetylacetonates including metals such as manganese, cobalt, zirconium, titanium, and zinc wherein the amount of catalyst is 0.001 to 0.5% by weight and molar ratio of catalyst to diketone is 1:6 (0028-0030).
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include the diketone component taught in Puglisi to the composition of Burckhardt to provide heat latency which allows time for the required mixing, casting, and other procedures, and avoids deleterious premature curing during processing (0010).
As to claim 28, Burckhardt discloses a polyol mixture comprising 1300 grams of polyether diol and 2600 grams of polyether triol (0170).
As to claim 29, Burckhardt discloses an NCO:OH ratio of 1.3 to 20 (0048).
As to claim 30, Burckhardt discloses additional components such as leveling aids,foaming aids, or solvents (0118-0131).
As to claims 31-37, Burckhardt discloses a process comprising reacting the polyisocyanate and polyol in the presence of the catalyst with heating to prepare a layer followed by the additional of other types of layers that allows for the polyurethane layer to be separated (0139-0142, leather substitute, 0148).
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2015/0259465 to Burckhardt et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0292298 to Puglisi et al. that has been explained above and is applied here as such in view of WO-2008/075344 to Bron et al.
As to claim 43, Burckhardt in view of Puglisi disclose a polyurethane composition for preparing layers of 2mm to cardboard (0171) comprising an isocyanate component (modified diphenylmethane diisocyanate), a polyol component(EO-endcapped polyoxypropylene triol), and a catalyst such as zirconium(IV)-tetrakis(1,3-diphenylpropane-1,3-dioate) in amounts of 0.85%, 1.1%, and 0.75% (Zr-2, Table 1 dibenzoylmethane, compositions Z-21, Z-23, and Z-31, Tables 3 and 8) and bismuth catalysts such as bismuth neodecanoate (See Table 2) and diketone inhibitors.
The references do not teach the preferred diketones. However, Bron discloses polyurethanes containing diketones such as dibenzolymethane (same as Puglisi) and stearoylbenzoylmethane (Pg. 6, II. 10).
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to substitute one diketone for another because they are taught as functional equivalents and the diketone prevents or diminishes scorch (pg. 5, II. 15-20).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Puglisi does not teach the claimed solid 1,3-diketo having melting points of at least 15°C. Puglish discloses the use dibenzoylmethane which is a 1,3-diketo with a melting point of 75°C. Puglisi discloses metal acetylacetonates including metals such as manganese, cobalt, zirconium, titanium, and zinc wherein the amount of catalyst is 0.001 to 0.5% by weight and molar ratio of catalyst to diketone is 1:6 (0028-0030).
The rejection of claim 44 over Puglisi is currently withdrawn.
Applicants have argued that their unexpected results in balance of pot life and thermal reactivity rebut the prima facie case of obviousness. In response, the examiner has considered applicant's examples, and the position is taken that they are insufficient for the following reasons.
When looking to showings of results to overcome a rejection, the following must be considered:
Results must be Unexpected, commensurate in scope, and compare the closest prior art:
Unexpected properties must be more significant than expected properties to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Nolan 193 USPQ 641 CCPA 1977.
Obviousness does not require absolute predictability. In re Miegel USPQ 716.
Since unexpected results are by definition unpredictable, evidence presented in comparative showings must be clear and convincing. In re Lohr 137 USPQ 548.
In determining patentability, the weight of the actual evidence of unobviousness presented must be balanced against the weight of obviousness of record. In re Chupp, 2 USPQ 2d 1437; In re March 175 USPQ; In re Battle, 24 USPQ 2d 1040.
Claims Must be Commensurate with Showings:
Evidence of superiority must pertain to the full extent of the subject matter being claimed. In re Ackerman, 170 USPQ 340; In re Chupp, 2 USPQ 2d 1437; In re Murch 175 USPQ 89: Ex Parte A, 17 USPQ 2d 1719; accordingly, it has been held that to overcome a reasonable case of prima facie obviousness a given claim must be commensurate in scope with any showing of unexpected results. In re Greenfield, 197 USPQ 227. Further, a limited showing of criticality is insufficient to support a broadly claimed range. In re Lemin, 161 USPQ 288.
Firstly, Applicant’s argument is not commensurate in scope with the claims which do not provide any connection between recited components and the properties, including pot life and thermal reactivity; which do not exclude additional components which could lead to improvements in the alleged unexpected results.
Secondly, the showings are not commensurate in scope with very broad claims, which encompass hundreds of compounds, in particular with respect to the isocyanate component and polyol component, while only one for each is used in the examples. Claim 1 recites a genus of polyol and diisocyanate reactant and the claims are open to any amount of each component. Applicants allege that this results in the unexpected results. However, any showing based on “compositions” must be reasonable commensurate in scope with both the kind and amount of polyol and diisocyanate component in the claims. Table 2 is clearly not reasonably commensurate in given that applicants' have demonstrated a balance of pot life and thermal reactivity for precisely 2 species of reactants used within 1 specific amount.
Thirdly, the applicant must compare the closest prior art. The closest prior art to Burkhardt teaches the metal catalyst, i.e. bismuth neodecanoate and does teach the use of 1,3-diketone component. Therefore, the closest prior art has been compared.
Although Applicant has provided comparative examples between a different polyurethane (similar to Burkhardt) and that prepared according to Applicant, the examples do not test the full scope either of the prior art or of Applicant’s claim. It shows only that under some circumstances; a composition may demonstrate a balance of pot life and thermal reactivity. The specification does not provide sufficient objective data to show 1) that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have optimized the concentrations of known and common components as evidenced by the prior art or 2) that inventor’s/ declarant’s conclusion of "unexpected results" by inventor/ declarant is supported by the evidence. An improvement made by obvious modifications, such as the addition of 1,3-diketones to polyurethane systems to provide heat latency which allows time for the required mixing, casting, and other procedures, and avoids deleterious premature curing during processing (0010) is not an unexpected result.
The applicant argues that the combination of references fails to teach or fairly suggests the specific combination of bismuth salt catalyst systems and 1,3-diketones. It is noted that the secondary reference to Puglisi does not teach bismuth as a suitable metal catalyst. Claim 44 also includes zinc catalysts. Puglisi does teach that zinc acetyl acetonate is a suitable alternative in the reaction system that uses the 1,3-diketone. Zinc acetyl acetonate is also taught within the primary reference as a suitable catalyst in the reaction system. Accordingly, the references taken in combination suggest zinc acetyl acetonates and 1,3-diketones may be used. A person of ordinary skill in the art would assume that the improvement seen from adding 1,3-diketone to Burkhardt with respect to heat latency would occur if zinc was substituted for the preferred catalysts used in the examples of the references.
It is noted that the use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including non-preferred embodiments (MPEP 2121(II)). Further, disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or non-preferred embodiments (MPEP 2123 (II)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL L LEONARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763