Status of Claims
This is the fourth Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-3 and 6-17 are currently pending. Claims 1 and 16 are currently amended.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2020-162193, filed on 03/15/2023.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06/16/2026 has been entered.
In view of the Claims, Applicant’s amendments have been acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 8-12, filed 06/16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1 and 16 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Regarding Applicant’s argument for claims 1 and 16 rejected under 35 USC 103, Applicant argues that Liu and Shukla do not teach, suggest, or render obvious at least the features of "the set of expression contents comprises a first expression for the robot device and a second expression for an external device ... each of the first expression and the second expression is associated to form a combined expression ... control, based on the generated instruction signal, the robot device and the external device to perform a plurality of operations ... the first operation and the second operation are in synchronization to execute the combined expression." Examiner found Applicant’s argument persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Liu et al. (CN108115695A) in view of Albert et al. (US2013303047A1), and further in view of Kim et al. (US20180136615A1), hereinafter Liu, Albert, and Kim, respectively, as discussed below. Each of claims 2-3, 6-15, and 17, depend directly or indirectly, from claim 1 in view of Liu, Albert, and Kim, and by dependency of claim 1, are rejected under 35 USC 103, as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 10, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Albert, and further in view of Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches of an information processing system ("This invention relates to the field of robotics, and in particular to an emotional color expression system", [0002]) comprising: an input acceptor configured to receive an input, wherein the received input corresponds to a user action of a first user associated with a robot device ("interactive information input module is used to obtain user operation data", [0022]); and a processor ("In addition, the functional units in the various embodiments of the present invention can be integrated into one processing unit, or each unit can exist physically separately, or two or more units can be integrated into one unit", [0060]) configured to: determine a set of expression contents based on the received input, wherein the set of expression contents comprises a first expression for the robot device ("the robot's emotions are expressed through the head LED panel, the limb LED light strips, limb movements, and voice output", [0033]).
However, Liu does not teach of wherein the set of expression contents comprises a second expression for an external device, the external device is different from the robot device, and each of the first expression and the second expression is associated to form a combined expression; generate an instruction signal based on the determined set of expression contents; control, based on the generated instruction signal, the robot device and the external device to perform a plurality of operations, wherein the plurality of operations includes a first operation and a second operation, the first operation is different from the second operation, the first operation is based on the first expression, the second operation is based on the second expression, and the first operation and the second operation are in synchronization to execute the combined expression.
Albert, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the set of expression contents comprises a second expression for an external device ("the toy 102 may emit audible sounds, like a musical tune or a voice recording. In some embodiments, the toy may respond with light (e.g., flashing lights) and/or physical movement (e.g., vibration). The electronic device 104 may display one or more images 320 on its screen or generate corresponding audio 322", [0038]), the external device is different from the robot device ("The toy 102 further includes a power supply 206, a speaker 112, a microphone 211, a processor 208 and a storage device 210", [0027], "The electronic device 104 includes a microphone 502, a video screen 504, a storage device 506, a processor 508, a power supply 510, a storage device 514 and a speaker 512", [0049], "The toy arrangement 100 includes a toy 102 that is positioned over an electronic device 104", [0023]), and each of the first expression and the second expression is associated to form a combined expression ("In response to any and all of the above inputs and interactions, the toy 102 and electronic device 104 may perform various operations (i.e., toy response 323)", [0038]); control, based on the generated instruction signal, the robot device and the external device to perform a plurality of operations ("the toy 102 can emit audio signals through its speaker 112, which can be received and processed by the electronic device using its microphone. The electronic device 104 can respond by flashing light at the toy location 114 to generate a code, which can be read by the toy 102 using its bottom light sensor 108", [0024], "In response to any and all of the above inputs and interactions, the toy 102 and electronic device 104 may perform various operations (i.e., toy response 323)", [0038]), wherein the plurality of operations includes a first operation ("the toy 102 may emit audible sounds, like a musical tune or a voice recording. In some embodiments, the toy may respond with light (e.g., flashing lights) and/or physical movement (e.g., vibration)", [0038]) and a second operation ("The electronic device 104 may display one or more images 320 on its screen or generate corresponding audio 322", [0038]), the first operation is different from the second operation ("the toy 102 may emit audible sounds, like a musical tune or a voice recording. In some embodiments, the toy may respond with light (e.g., flashing lights) and/or physical movement (e.g., vibration). The electronic device 104 may display one or more images 320 on its screen or generate corresponding audio 322", [0038]), the first operation is based on the first expression ("In response to any motion or light detected by the sensors, the speaker 112 may emit sound. The sound may be an audible sound that is played for the entertainment of a user (e.g., music or a voice.) Alternatively or in addition, the sound may be inaudible to the human ear (e.g., subsonic or ultrasonic). Such inaudible sounds can be used to transmit instructions to the electronic device 104 or another component", [0031]), the second operation is based on the second expression ("The failure or success of the user to accomplish this task can be conveyed via an audio signal 304 sent from the toy 102 to the electronic device 104. The electronic device 104 and/or the toy 102 can then emit audio 322 or images 320 to praise or signal disappointment in the user as appropriate", [0041]), and the first operation and the second operation are in synchronization to execute the combined expression ("the child, electronic device 104 and toy 102 can communicate with one another and trigger responses in one another simultaneously", [0025], "The toy 102 will then emit a suitable sound in response (e.g., victory music or a "Good job!") and also emits an inaudible sound (i.e., audio signal 304) to notify the electronic device 104 of this accomplishment. The electronic device 104 can then display additional graphics or emit additional sounds as a result (e.g., it can display a voice bubble pointing towards the toy location on the screen, saying "Terrific!", etc.) that indicate that the user 310 was successful", [0042]).
However, Albert does not teach of generate an instruction signal based on the determined set of expression contents.
Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of generate an instruction signal based on the determined set of expression contents ("the program may include instructions for outputting the conversation sentence to the voice output device, outputting the user recommendation data and data that represents the emotion through the display device, and outputting a signal that controls at least one of light emission time, a color of light emission, and a light emission amount according to the data that represents the emotion", [0018], "the controller may output a signal that controls at least one of light emission time, a color of light emission, and a light emission amount according to data that expresses the emotion to the light emission device", [0026], "The concierge service processor 115 outputs a signal that controls at least one of light emission time, a color of light emission, and a light emission amount according to the user's emotion state to the light emission device 119", [0069]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teaching of Liu with the teaching of Albert to separate the first and second expression to be executed by a first and second device to form a combined expression in synchronization and the teaching of Kim to generate the instruction/control signal for the robot's expression output with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reduce the complexity of the system by offloading different parts of the expressions to an external device (Albert, [0026]), to provide a more engaging user experience (Albert, [0025]), and to improve the accuracy and consistency of the robot's emotional output which also strengthens the users engagement (Kim, [0028]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Liu as discussed above, additionally, teaches of further comprising: an operation control unit ("interaction information recognition module" 11, [0031]) configured to: generate a control signal; and control, based on the generated control signal the robot device to execute the second operation ("...generate a control signal for robot's emotional expression, and transmit the control signal to the robot emotional expression module... used to express corresponding emotions according to the control signal", [0022]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Liu as discussed above, additionally, teaches of wherein the second operation (“If current emotion score is 8,…robot should provide encouraging feedback…if current emotion score is 2…Robot should give affirmative and happy expression to encourage the user”, [0049]) includes at least one of a variation in an attitude of the robot device, an orientation of the robot device, or a position of the robot device ("At the same time, the robot’s upper limbs make an encouraging gesture of thumbs up”, [0049]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Liu as discussed above, additionally, teaches of wherein the robot device is configured to identify an emotion of the first user based on the received input ("the emotional color recognition module captures an image of a user smiling taken by a camera, or detects sentences with a positive emotion such as "I'm happy" or "I'm very happy" in the voice input", [0046]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Liu teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, additionally, wherein the input is received via a path different from a path associated with an interaction between the robot device and the first user (“Optionally, it is also includes a communication module for performing Internet of Things (IoT) functions, the communication module being connected to the main control device”, [0019]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Liu as discussed above, additionally, teaches of further comprising a user attribute identification unit ("interactive information recognition module…") configured to identify an attribute of the first user ("…responsible for collecting and analyzing the data of each information input interface", [0041], "user's current mood…", [0043]), wherein the processor is further configured to change at least one expression content from the set of expression contents based on the identified attribute ("…generating control signals for the robot's emotional expression...joy, anger, sorrow, happiness and peace", [0041]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Liu as discussed above, additionally, teaches of further comprising an operation mode setting unit ("emotional color recognition function is jointly completed by the emotional information input module 4, the emotional color recognition module 13 and the user emotional expression module 51", [0033]) configured to set an operation mode of the robot device, wherein the processor is further configured to change at least one changes the expression content from the set of expression contents based on a basis of the set operation mode ("User emotional color recognition function: The user's current mood is judged through the user's information input, and different language expressions and conversation contents are selected accordingly", [0042-0043]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Liu teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above.
However, modified Liu does not teach of wherein the processor is further configured to generate, as the instruction signal, an inquiry associated with a specific device.
Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the processor ("communication device" 133) is further configured to generate, as the instruction signal, an inquiry associated with a specific device (“transmits receives data by being connected with the external server 200", [0088]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the elements of modified Liu with the communication device of Kim to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have combined these elements so that the robot device can communicate with another device.
Regarding claim 15, modified Liu teaches of all limitations of claim 14 as stated above.
However, modified Liu does not teach of wherein the processor is further configured to generate the inquiry voice signal.
Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the processor is further configured to generate the inquiry voice signal (implicit that the "received data" is made by a voice that is received through the "voice input unit" 109 through the "concierge service processor" 115 to the "communication device" 133).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the elements of modified Liu with the voice input unit of Kim to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have combined these elements such that the inquiry made by voice can be communicated to another device.
Regarding claim 16, Liu teaches of an information processing device ("This invention relates to the field of robotics, and in particular to an emotional color expression system and robot", [0002]), comprising: an input acceptor configured to receive an input, wherein the received input corresponds to a user action of a user associated with a robot device ("interactive information input module is used to obtain user operation data", [0022]); a processor ("In addition, the functional units in the various embodiments of the present invention can be integrated into one processing unit, or each unit can exist physically separately, or two or more units can be integrated into one unit", [0060]) configured to: determine a set of expression contents based on the received input ("emotional expression"); an operation control unit ("interaction information recognition module 11", [0031]) configured to: generate a control signal; and control, based on the generated control signal, the robot device to execute the second operation ("generate a control signal for robot's emotional expression, and transmit the control signal to the robot emotional expression module… used to express corresponding emotions according to the control signal", [0022], [0049]).
However, Liu does not teach of wherein the set of expression contents comprises a second expression for an external device, the external device is different from the robot device, and each of the first expression and the second expression is associated to form a combined expression; generate an instruction signal based on the determined set of expression contents; control, based on the generated instruction signal, the robot device and the external device to perform a plurality of operations, wherein the plurality of operations includes a first operation and a second operation, the first operation is different from the second operation, the first operation is based on the first expression, the second operation is based on the second expression, and the first operation and the second operation are in synchronization to execute the combined expression.
Albert, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the set of expression contents comprises a second expression for an external device ("the toy 102 may emit audible sounds, like a musical tune or a voice recording. In some embodiments, the toy may respond with light (e.g., flashing lights) and/or physical movement (e.g., vibration). The electronic device 104 may display one or more images 320 on its screen or generate corresponding audio 322", [0038]), the external device is different from the robot device ("The toy 102 further includes a power supply 206, a speaker 112, a microphone 211, a processor 208 and a storage device 210", [0027], "The electronic device 104 includes a microphone 502, a video screen 504, a storage device 506, a processor 508, a power supply 510, a storage device 514 and a speaker 512", [0049], "The toy arrangement 100 includes a toy 102 that is positioned over an electronic device 104", [0023]), and each of the first expression and the second expression is associated to form a combined expression ("In response to any and all of the above inputs and interactions, the toy 102 and electronic device 104 may perform various operations (i.e., toy response 323)", [0038]); control, based on the generated instruction signal, the robot device and the external device to perform a plurality of operations ("the toy 102 can emit audio signals through its speaker 112, which can be received and processed by the electronic device using its microphone. The electronic device 104 can respond by flashing light at the toy location 114 to generate a code, which can be read by the toy 102 using its bottom light sensor 108", [0024], "In response to any and all of the above inputs and interactions, the toy 102 and electronic device 104 may perform various operations (i.e., toy response 323)", [0038]), wherein the plurality of operations includes a first operation ("the toy 102 may emit audible sounds, like a musical tune or a voice recording. In some embodiments, the toy may respond with light (e.g., flashing lights) and/or physical movement (e.g., vibration)", [0038]) and a second operation ("The electronic device 104 may display one or more images 320 on its screen or generate corresponding audio 322", [0038]), the first operation is different from the second operation ("the toy 102 may emit audible sounds, like a musical tune or a voice recording. In some embodiments, the toy may respond with light (e.g., flashing lights) and/or physical movement (e.g., vibration). The electronic device 104 may display one or more images 320 on its screen or generate corresponding audio 322", [0038]), the first operation is based on the first expression ("In response to any motion or light detected by the sensors, the speaker 112 may emit sound. The sound may be an audible sound that is played for the entertainment of a user (e.g., music or a voice.) Alternatively or in addition, the sound may be inaudible to the human ear (e.g., subsonic or ultrasonic). Such inaudible sounds can be used to transmit instructions to the electronic device 104 or another component", [0031]), the second operation is based on the second expression ("The failure or success of the user to accomplish this task can be conveyed via an audio signal 304 sent from the toy 102 to the electronic device 104. The electronic device 104 and/or the toy 102 can then emit audio 322 or images 320 to praise or signal disappointment in the user as appropriate", [0041]), and the first operation and the second operation are in synchronization to execute the combined expression ("the child, electronic device 104 and toy 102 can communicate with one another and trigger responses in one another simultaneously", [0025], "The toy 102 will then emit a suitable sound in response (e.g., victory music or a "Good job!") and also emits an inaudible sound (i.e., audio signal 304) to notify the electronic device 104 of this accomplishment. The electronic device 104 can then display additional graphics or emit additional sounds as a result (e.g., it can display a voice bubble pointing towards the toy location on the screen, saying "Terrific!", etc.) that indicate that the user 310 was successful", [0042]).
However, Albert does not teach of generate an instruction signal based on the determined set of expression contents.
Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of generate an instruction signal based on the determined set of expression contents ("the program may include instructions for outputting the conversation sentence to the voice output device, outputting the user recommendation data and data that represents the emotion through the display device, and outputting a signal that controls at least one of light emission time, a color of light emission, and a light emission amount according to the data that represents the emotion", [0018], "the controller may output a signal that controls at least one of light emission time, a color of light emission, and a light emission amount according to data that expresses the emotion to the light emission device", [0026], "The concierge service processor 115 outputs a signal that controls at least one of light emission time, a color of light emission, and a light emission amount according to the user's emotion state to the light emission device 119", [0069]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teaching of Liu with teachings of Shukla to expand the robot’s expressions past a single robot component with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reduce the complexity of the system by offloading different parts of the expressions to an external device (Albert, [0026]), to provide a more engaging user experience (Albert, [0025]), and to improve the accuracy and consistency of the robot's emotional output which also strengthens the users engagement (Kim, [0028]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Liu as discussed above, additionally, teaches of wherein each expression content of the set of expression contents represents an emotion of one of the robot device or the first user ("Optionally, the emotional expression includes five states: joy, anger, sorrow, happiness, and peace", [0016]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, Albert, and Kim, and further in view of Shukla (US20190202063A1), hereinafter Shukla.
Regarding claim 8, modified Liu teaches of all limitations of claim 7 as discussed above.
However, Liu does not teach of further comprising a user situation determination unit configured to determine a situation that is associated with an environment of the first user, wherein each of the set of expression contents represents the situation
Shukla, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of further comprising a user situation determination unit configured to determine a situation that is associated with an environment of the first user, wherein each of the set of expression contents represents the situation ("the sensor info based profile selector 1520 is configured to estimate the state of the user well as the environment of the dialogue based on process multimodal sensor input such as visual and audio inputs", [0131], "After the user state and the environment are estimated, the dialogue setting based profile selector 1650 selects, at 1672, a profile that is considered to be appropriate to the user in the current dialogue environment…a child user may be known to prefer a soft and soothing female voice and a profile is selected that enables speech delivery in a soft and soothing female voice", [0136]-[0137], shows that there are different profiles that change the expressions depending on environment).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teaching of Liu with teachings of Shukla to incorporate a dedicated unit configured to determine a situation associated with the user’s environment such that the set of expression contents represents that determined situation with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve and adapt the response of the robot by including environmental factors that affect a user’s emotions (Shukla, [0137]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, Albert, Kim, and Shukla, and further in view of Wang (CN107378971A), hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 9, modified Liu teach of all limitations of claim 8 as stated above.
However, modified Liu do not teach of wherein each expression content of the set of expression contents includes alarm information.
Wang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein each expression content of the set of expression contents further includes alarm information ("expression control module 500 is used to perform different expression actions… also responsible for collecting data such as temperature, humidity and PM 2.5 in the working environment. An alarm is issued when an abnormality occurs in the working environment", [0050]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teaching of modified Liu with the alarm of Wang with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification such that in emergencies, environmental abnormalities, time constraints, etc. the robot would be able to express such alert.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, Shukla, and Kim, and further in view of Kuroki et al. (JP2001260063A), hereinafter Kuroki.
Regarding claim 11, modified Liu teach of all limitations of claim 10 as stated above, in addition to, the user attribute identification unit ("interactive information recognition module", 11) identifies an attribute of the first user ("responsible for collecting and analyzing the data of each information input interface", [0041], "user's current mood", [0043]).
However, modified Liu does not teach of wherein a second user receives an expression associated with the first expression, and the second user is different from the first user.
Kuroki, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein a second user receives an expression associated with the first expression, and the second user is different from the first user ("robot...can communicate with external devices…the external device referred to here may be another robot", [0020]), implicit that the functions performed by the first robot can be replicated by a second user and another robot).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the user attribute identification unit identifying an attribute of the first user of modified Liu with the teaching of Kuroki in which the input is performed by a first user, and an expression is received by a second user through another device to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have combined these elements to socialize the identified attributes of a first user to the second user, increasing awareness of the first user’s identified attributes. For example, the robot may be able to identify that a child is in distress, and then communicates this expression to a parent, the second user.
Regarding claim 12, modified teach of all limitations of claim 10 as stated above, in addition to, the user attribute identification unit ("interactive information recognition module" 11) identifies an attribute of the first user ("responsible for collecting and analyzing the data of each information input interface", [0041], "user's current mood", [0043]).
However, modified Liu does not teach of wherein a second user receives an expression associated with the first expression, the second user is different from the first user, and the user attribute identification unit is further configured to identify an attribute of the second user.
Kuroki, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein a second user receives an expression associated with the first expression, the second user is different from the first user, and the user attribute identification unit is further configured to identify an attribute of the second user (robot...can communicate with external devices…the external device referred to here may be another robot", [0020], implicit that the functions performed by the first robot can be replicated by the second user and robot).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the user attribute identification unit identifying an attribute of the first user of modified Liu with the teaching of Kuroki in which the input is performed by a first user, and an expression is received by a second user through another device, along with the implication that the external device can replicate the robot’s functions to identify and express the attributes of the second user to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have combined these elements to socialize the identified attributes of a first user to the second user (increasing awareness of the first user’s identified attributes) and to identify and express the attribute of the second user in reaction to receiving the expression of the first user. For example, the robot may be able to identify that a child is in distress, and then communicates this expression to a parent (the second user), then identifies the reaction of the parent potentially influencing the external device or robot’s course of actions such as comforting the child in distress.
Conclusion
ABIGAIL LEE ESPINOZA
Examiner
Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657