DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 10/29/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 discloses at line 5 “the outer package substantially uniformly applies pressing force”. This will be examined with a broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the instant specification at P9/L3-7 which states, “[T]he shape of the outer package 2 is not limited to the shape illustrated in FIG. 3, and may be any shape as long as the pressing force is substantially uniformly applied to each of the front surfaces and the rear surfaces of the accommodated contents 3, 4”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kaneta (US 2003/0124416).
Regarding claim 1, Kaneta discloses in Figs 1-5, a secondary battery ([0002]) comprising: an outer package (refs 11); and a content (“middle”, all refs 12-16, Fig 1 below) accommodated in the outer package (refs 11), wherein the content (“middle”, all refs 12-16, Fig 1 below) includes an electrode body (ref 16), and the outer package (refs 11) substantially uniformly ([0024], “a pressing force as uniform as possible”, [0028] “substantially uniform pressure”) applies pressing force ([0024]) to each of a front surface (“front”, Fig 1 below) and a rear surface (“rear”, Fig 1 below) of the content (“middle”, all refs 12-16, Fig 1 below) due to elastic force ([0024]) of the outer package (refs 11).
Regarding claim 2, Kaneta discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the content includes a laminated pack ([0027]) inside of which the electrode body (ref 16) is hermetically accommodated ([0027]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneta (US 2003/0124416) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Fukui et al. (US 2018/0198169).
Regarding claims 4 and 7, Kaneta discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose the electrode body is formed of powder material.
Fukui et al. discloses in Figs 1-10, an all-solid state secondary battery (ref 1) including a laminate (ref X) of internal electrode / separator structures ([0025]). The internal structures including electrodes are formed of powder, all-solid material ([0052-[0054]). This configuration results in a uniform pressing force applied to the battery and enhances the battery performance and structural integrity ([0003], [0012], [0064]).
Kaneta and Fukui et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the internal contents of the battery of Kaneta of the all-solid materials as disclosed by Fukui et al. to result in a uniform pressing force applied to the battery and enhance the battery performance and structural integrity.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneta (US 2003/0124416) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2009/0136833).
Regarding claim 3, Kaneta discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose an inside of the outer package is under a negative pressure, and inside the outer package, an inside of the laminated pack is under a lower pressure than an outside of the laminated pack.
Lee et al. discloses in Fig 1, a lithium battery (Abstract) including a laminated electrode structure and packaged in a film housing (ref 102). The structure is sealed under reduced pressure ([0052]). This configuration enhances overall battery structural integrity, stability, and performance ([0052]).
Kaneta and Lee et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the negative pressure of Lee et al. into the outer package and laminated structure of Kaneta to enhance battery structural integrity, stability, and overall performance. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the innermost hermetically sealed structure to have a lower/lowest internal reduced packaging to continue and enhance the attributes of the disclosed reduced pressure sealing, namely, enhances battery structural integrity, stability, and performance.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneta (US 2003/0124416) in view of Lee et al. (US 2009/0136833) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2009/0136833).
Regarding claim 8, modified Kaneta discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose the electrode body is formed of powder material.
Fukui et al. discloses in Figs 1-10, an all-solid state secondary battery (ref 1) including a laminate (ref X) of internal electrode / separator structures ([0025]). The internal structures including electrodes are formed of powder, all-solid material ([0052-[0054]). This configuration results in a uniform pressing force applied to the battery and enhances the battery performance and structural integrity ([0003], [0012], [0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the internal contents of the battery of Kaneta of the all-solid materials as disclosed by Fukui et al. to result in a uniform pressing force applied to the battery and enhance the battery performance and structural integrity.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kanai et al. (US 2008/0171259) discloses in Figs 1-8, a laminated battery (ref 1) including a pressing portion (ref 52) formed within a frame housing (ref 30) that applies a uniform force to the battery ([0084]).
Schumann et al. (US 2014/0045005) discloses in Figs 1-5, a battery stack (ref 120b) contained in a housing (ref 110) utilizing spring elements (refs 210, 220) to provide a uniform pressing force on the stack ([0027]).
Choi et al. (US 2019/0020004) discloses in Figs 1-8, a battery module (ref 100) comprising a plurality of stacked cells (refs 110) accommodated in a housing (ref 200). The housing (ref 200) has flexible ribs (refs 300) thereon which provides uniform pressing force on the stacked cells ([0045]).
Tsukuda et al. (US 2015/0194640) discloses in Figs 1-8, a secondary battery (ref 1) including a casing (ref 20). The casing (ref 20) has curved wall faces (refs 201, 202, [0042]).
/KENNETH J DOUYETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725