DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 16-26 and 29 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. Claims 27-28 are cancelled. Claims 16-26 and 29 are amended.
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s response filed on 2/09/2026 containing
amendments and remarks to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The following is a modified rejection based on amendments made to the claims.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they do not use the abbreviation “FIG.” as required by 37 CFR 1.84(u)(1) even though multiple views are present. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 3 recites “an exterior the cartridge” when it should recite “an exterior of the cartridge”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22, line 2, recites “wherein the heater assembly further comprises an engagement surface”. However, claim 22 is dependent on claim 16 which already recites an engagement surface on the heating assembly in lines 19-20. Therefore it is not clear if the engagement surface in claim 22 is the same as or different from the engagement surface of claim 16. For purposes of examination, the engagement surface in claim 22 is considered to be the same engagement surface of claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-18, 20, 22-26 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US2016/0278163) in view of Williamson (WO2021/249912).
Regarding claim 16, Chen discloses:
An aerosol-generating system (inhaler), comprising: a cartridge (atomizing assembly 10) and a reusable device configured to couple to the cartridge (power assembly 20, [0035], figures 1-2).
Wherein the cartridge comprises a housing (100) containing a sealed liquid reservoir (closed liquid reservoir 102, [0038], figure 4).
And a heater assembly within the housing (lower end of atomizing assembly 10 comprising atomizer 120, second end of outer housing 116, and connecting element 109 as shown in figure 4), the heater assembly comprising a heating element (heating element, [0052]) and a piercing element (piercing element 135, [0051]).
Wherein the heater assembly is movable relative to the housing from a first position in which the piercing element is outside the sealed liquid reservoir to a second position in which the piercing element penetrates the liquid reservoir ([0051]: When the atomizer 120 moves towards the liquid reservoir 102 in the housing 100, the piercing element 135 on the core 130 is configured to pierce the liquid reservoir 102 and extend inside the liquid reservoir 102).
Wherein the heater assembly further comprises a sealing surface that forms a liquid-tight seal with the housing or the sealed liquid reservoir when the heater assembly is in the second position (fitting element 140 that forms a sealing engagement between the atomizer 120 and the housing 100 preventing leakage of the liquid after the liquid reservoir is opened, [0061]).
Wherein the reusable device comprises: a power supply configured to provide energy to the heating element ([0053]: The heating element is electrically coupled to the power assembly 20).
A cavity configured to receive at least a portion of the cartridge (portion of power supply 20 that receives connecting element 109, figures 3-4, [0044]).
And a contact surface at the distal end of the cavity that engages an engagement surface on the heating assembly when the cartridge is coupled to the reusable device ([0068]: connecting element 201 configured to cooperate with connecting element 109 to form a fixed connection between the power assembly 20 and the atomizing assembly 10) to urge the heater assembly into the second position, so that the heater assembly is moved from the first position to the second position as a consequence of the cartridge being coupled to the reusable device ([0057]: when the power assembly 20 is fixed to the atomizing assembly 10, the atomizer 120 will be forced by the power assembly 20 to move in the receiving cavity 112 towards the liquid reservoir 102, such that the sealing sheet 113 is pierced by the piercing element 135).
Chen does not disclose wherein the heating element comprises a susceptor element that is configured to be inductively heated.
Williamson, directed to a cartridge for a vapor generating device, teaches:
A cartridge for an aerosol generating system (cartridge 10) that comprises a heating element (vapor generating unit 28) comprising a susceptor element that is configured to be inductively heated (inductively heatable susceptors 54, figure 5, page 12, last paragraph).
The inductively heatable susceptors 54 are exposed to an alternating and time-varying electromagnetic field generated by an electromagnetic field generator 108 (e.g. an induction coil) of a vapor generating device 100 (page 13, third paragraph, figure 12).
Having an inductively heatable susceptor heating assembly instead of a conventional wick and heater improves manufacturability and efficiently heats the vapor generating liquid (page 1, third paragraph).
When modifying Chen to have the susceptor induction heating element of Williamson it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the vapor generating device that the cartridge attaches to would have an induction coil to heat the susceptors as taught by Williamson.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the heating element of Chen to be a susceptor induction heating element as taught by Williamson, because both Chen and Williamson are directed to cartridges for aerosol-generating devices for heating vapor generating liquid, Williamson teaches having an inductively heatable susceptor heating assembly instead of a conventional wick and heater improves manufacturability and efficiently heats the vapor generating liquid, and this merely involves applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding claims 17-18, modified Chen further teaches wherein the heater assembly further comprises a wicking material configured to convey liquid to a heating surface of the heating element, and wherein the heating element further comprises at least a portion of the wicking material (Williamson, porous liquid transfer element 56, figure 5, page 12, last paragraph and page 13, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 20, Chen further teaches wherein the heater assembly further comprises a gasket and wherein the sealing surface is provided by the gasket (fitting element 140 that is made of a soft material having sealing properties and forms a sealing engagement between the atomizer 120 and the housing 100 [0061], and therefore defines a gasket).
Regarding claim 22, Chen further teaches wherein the heater assembly further comprises an engagement surface facing away from the sealed liquid reservoir and accessible from an exterior of the cartridge (connecting element 109, [0046]).
Regarding claim 23, Chen further teaches:
A mouth end configured to be placed in a user's mouth (top end of atomizing assembly as shown in figure 2 that the use can inhale from, [0035]) and a connection end opposite the mouth end (second end 116 comprising connecting element 119, figure 4).
Wherein the heater assembly in the first position is positioned at the connection end and moves closer to the mouth end to reach the second position (as the atomizer 120 moves towards the liquid reservoir 102 when it Is configured to pierce, [0051]).
Regarding claim 24, Chen further teaches wherein the sealed liquid reservoir comprises sealing foil (sealing sheet 113 that seals the liquid reservoir and can be made of aluminum foil, [0042]) and wherein in the second position the piercing element penetrates the sealing foil (the sealing sheet 113 is pierced by the piercing element, [0057]).
Regarding claim 25, Chen further teaches an airflow channel through the cartridge (airflow channel 101, air exhaust pipe 160, air intake pipe 150, [0064]), extending from an air inlet (air inlet 134), past the heating element (figures 4-6), to an air outlet (exit 110) when the heater assembly is in the second position (occurs in both positions, figures 4-6, [0057]).
Regarding claim 26, Chen further teaches wherein the sealed liquid reservoir surrounds a portion of the airflow channel (figure 4).
Regarding claim 29, modified Chen further teaches wherein the reusable device further comprises one or more inductor coils configured to generate a variable magnetic flux through the heating element (Williamson, the inductively heatable susceptors 54 are exposed to an alternating and time-varying electromagnetic field generated by an electromagnetic field generator 108 (e.g. an induction coil) of a vapor generating device 100 (page 13, third paragraph, figure 12)).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US2016/0278163) in view of Williamson (WO2021/249912) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Batista (US2017/0340014).
Regarding claim 19, Chen does not appear to explicitly disclose that the piercing element is hollow.
Batista, directed to an aerosol-generating device, teaches:
A hollow shaft portion that pierces an end of a cartridge inserted into the cavity, for example by piercing a frangible seal at the end of the cartridge ([0022]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to make the piercing element of Chen be hollow as taught by Batista, because both Chen and Batista are directed to aerosol-generating devices with piercing elements for piercing a cartridge, and this merely involves incorporating a known type of piercing element (i.e. hollow) to a similar aerosol-generating device to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US2016/0278163) in view of Williamson (WO2021/249912) as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Qiu (WO2020/088602, citations will refer to the English equivalent US2021/0251298).
Regarding claim 21, Chen does not appear to disclose wherein the gasket comprises a plurality of sealing ribs, each rib providing a seal within the housing.
Qiu, directed to an electronic cigarette, teaches:
A sealing member configured for sealing the liquid storage chamber ([0051]).
The sealing member comprises multiple sealing ribs enhancing the sealing performance and further preventing leakage of the e-liquid (Qiu, [0117]), and thus defines a gasket with a plurality of sealing ribs, each rib providing a seal within a housing.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the gasket of Chen by incorporating multiple sealing ribs as taught by Qiu, because both Chen and Qiu are directed to cartridges for aerosol-generating devices that comprise liquid storage chambers with gaskets for sealing, Qiu teaches multiple sealing ribs enhances the sealing performance, and this merely involves substitution of a known type of gasket for the same purpose of sealing liquids in a similar aerosol generation device to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
/N.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755