DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119 (e) as follows:
Claim 29 discloses that the secondary ports resides within a longitudinal span of the one or more primary suction ports. This “longitudinal span” is not defined within the specification of the provisional application.
For the purpose of examination, the priority date for claims 1-2, 7, 12, 16-17, 22-23, 27-28, 31-32, and 38-48 is 09/22/2020. The priority date for claims 29-30 is 09/22/2021.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
Claim 29 discloses that the secondary ports resides within a longitudinal span of the one or more primary suction ports. This “longitudinal span” is not defined within the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 7, 12, 16, 17, 22- 23, 27-32, and 38-48 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1:
Paragraph 6, line 5, “hollow internal passages”, should be, “hollow internal passage”.
The last paragraph:
Line 4, “notable arcuate measure”, is a relative term; “notable” should be omitted.
Line 5, “robust support”, is a relative term; “robust should be omitted.
Claims 2, 7, 17, 22- 23, 27-32, 38-48, line 1 is missing a comma after, “The device of claim…”.
Claim 12, the last paragraph recites, “the lateral sides thereof”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This should be corrected to, “
Claim 16
Paragraph 10, beginning with “(a) said plurality of suction ports”… is missing a semicolon at the end.
Paragraph 8, beginning with, “said flared region”:
Line 4, “notable arcuate measure”, is a relative term; “notable” should be omitted.
Line 5, “robust support”, is a relative term; “robust should be omitted.
Claim 22, line 3, “flared height”, should be, “flared wall height”, for consistency.
Claims 31-32, line 2, “the secondary suction ports”, should be, “the one or more secondary suction ports”, consistent with claim 16.
Claim 38
Line 2, “measure it the thickness direction”, should be, “measured in the thickness direction”.
Line 4, “notable arcuate measure”, is a relative term; “notable” should be omitted.
Line 5, “robust support”, is a relative term; “robust should be omitted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunitaka (JP 2017113328 A; refer to provided translation), in view of Clasen et al. (US 20190343378 A1), herein referred to as Clasen.
Regarding claim 1, Kunitaka discloses a combination mirror holder and suction device (G1; second embodiment in Fig. 7; refer to Paragraph [0036]) for dental applications (refer to Paragraph [0040]; suction passage tubes with dental mirrors are disclosed), said device (G1, second embodiment) comprising:
an elongated tool body (1) having a proximal end (refer to annotated Fig. 7 below), a distal end (refer to annotated Fig. 7 below) residing opposite thereto in a longitudinal direction of said tool body (1) denoted by a longitudinal axis thereof (refer to annotated Fig. 7 below), said tool body (1) having opposing top and bottom sides residing oppositely of one another in a thickness direction orthogonally transverse to said longitudinal axis (refer to annotated Fig. 7 below), and opposing lateral sides residing opposite one another in a width direction orthogonally transverse to both said longitudinal axis and said first thickness direction (refer to annotated Fig. 6 below);
a singular hollow internal passage (hollow portion of suction passage pipe (1)) running longitudinally and internally of said tool body (1) on the longitudinal axis thereof (refer to Paragraph [0040], annotated Fig. 7 above; reference numeral 1 denotes a suction passage pipe), said singular hollow internal passage (hollow portion of suction tube (1)) being bound by internal surfaces of exterior walls of the tool body (refer to annotated Fig. 7 above; the internal walls of the tube body (1) form the boundary of the suction passage);
a suction port (1a) fluidly communicating said hollow internal passage (hollow portion of suction tube (1)) with an exterior of the tool body (1) at or adjacent the distal end thereof (refer to Paragraph [0040], annotated Fig. 7 above)
a hose connector (refer to annotated Fig. 1 below) residing at or adjacent the proximal end of the elongated tool body (1) (refer to Paragraph [0027], annotated Fig. 1 below; the air hose is connected at the base end of the suction passage pipe) and fluidly communicating with said hollow internal passage (hollow portion of suction tube (1)) to enable connection of a suction hose (AH) from a vacuum pump (refer to Paragraph [0055]; pharyngeal suction machine) to apply suction at said suction port (1a) (refer to Paragraph [0055], Fig. 11, 27; fluid is shown flowing from the mirror (2) to the suction port (1a) and tube (1) by means of the extraoral connection to the pharyngeal suction machine);
wherein:
at the distal end of the tool body (1), said exterior walls of the tool body (1) comprise a top wall spanning across a top of the singular hollow internal passage (hollow portion of suction tube (1)), a bottom wall spanning across a bottom of the singular hollow internal passages (hollow portion of suction tube (1)), and rounded external corners that join said top and bottom walls together at the opposing lateral sides of the tool body (1) (refer to annotated Figs. 4, 7 below)
wherein for the purpose of removably supporting a replaceable dental mirror head (2; refer to Paragraph [0040]; the mirror head (2) can be removably attached via a male screw thread (2b) to a corresponding screw portion (1g) on the tool body (1)) that is composed of a stem (2a) and a mirrored tip (2c) attached to one end of said stem (2a), said bottom wall terminates at the distal end of the tool body in a seating edge to accept seated placement of a stem-adjacent region of an outer circumference (2d; refer to Paragraph [0067]) of the mirrored tip (2c; refer to Paragraph [0067], Fig. 2) of the mirror head (2; refer to Paragraph [0067], Fig. 2) against said seating edge (refer to annotated Fig. 6 below) in a position facing a reflective surface of said mirrored tip (2c) outwardly away from the top side of the tool body (refer to annotated Fig. 6 below).
This embodiment of Kunitaka does not disclose the distal end comprising a flared region , where the bottom wall terminates at the distal end of the tool body in a concavely arcuate seating edge whose concavity faces distally of the tool body in a reference plane of obliquely oriented relation to the longitudinal axis of the tool body to accept seated placement of a stem-adjacent region of an outer circumference of the mirrored tip of the mirror head (2; refer to figure below) against said curved seating edge, said flared region is characterized by a flared width thereof, measured in the width direction between the rounded corners of the flared region, of increasing measure toward the concavely arcuate seating edge at the terminal end of the tool body to contribute to a notable arcuate measure of said concavely arcuate seating edge for robust support of the mirror head thereat as part of the second embodiment (G1; second embodiment in Fig. 7; refer to Paragraph [0036]).
Kunitaka further discloses an alternative embodiment (G3; refer to Paragraph [0037]) wherein:
at a flared region of the tool body (1) (refer to annotated Fig. 24 below) that resides adjacent to, and terminates at, the distal end of the tool body (1) (refer to annotated Fig. 24 below), said exterior walls of the tool body (1) comprise a top wall spanning across a top of the singular hollow internal passage (hollow portion of suction tube (1)), a bottom wall spanning across a bottom of the singular hollow internal passages (hollow portion of suction tube (1)), and rounded external corners that join said top and bottom walls together at the opposing lateral sides of the tool body (1) (refer to annotated Figs. 21, 24 below);
wherein for the purpose of removably supporting a replaceable dental mirror head (2; refer to Paragraph [0040]; the mirror head (2) can be removably attached via a male screw thread (2b) to a corresponding screw portion (1g) on the tool body (1)) that is composed of a stem (2a) and a mirrored tip (2c) attached to one end of said stem (2a), said bottom wall terminates at the distal end of the tool body comprises in a concavely arcuate seating edge (1f; refer to Paragraph [0067]) in which the tool body terminates at the distal end thereof, and whose concavity faces distally of the tool body (1) in a reference plane of obliquely oriented relation to the longitudinal axis of the tool body (1) (refer to annotated Fig. 18 below; the oblique line of the mirror (2) orientation forms an oblique reference plane with the concave seating edge (1f) facing the distal end as shown) to accept seated placement of a stem-adjacent region of an outer circumference (2d) of the mirrored tip (2c) of the mirror head (2) against said curved seating edge (1f) (refer to Paragraph [0023], annotated Fig. 23 below; the lower edge of the suction port (1) is notched in a crescent shape and the periphery of the mirror surface of the mirror is fitted into this crescent notch so the suction tube (1) and mirror (2) are connected to each other) in a position facing a reflective surface of said mirrored tip (2c) outwardly away from the top side of the tool body (1) (refer to annotated Fig. 22 below).
said flared region is characterized by a flared width thereof, measured in the width direction between the rounded corners of the flared region, of increasing measure toward the concavely arcuate seating edge (1f) at the terminal end of the tool body (1) to contribute to a notable arcuate measure of said concavely arcuate seating edge (1f) for robust support of the mirror head (2) thereat (refer to Paragraph [0023], annotated Fig. 25 below).
This embodiment provides superior view of the mirror (2) due to the crescent shape (refer to Paragraph [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the distal end of the tool body (1) of the first embodiment (G1; Fig. 7) of Kunitaka with the flared/crescent shape of the distal region of the tool body (1) of the third embodiment (G3) in order to provide superior view of the mirror (2) due to the crescent shape (refer to Paragraph [0026]).
Kunitaka is silent to:
one or more a plurality of suction ports penetrating at least one of said exterior walls of the tool body fluidly communicating said hollow internal passage with an exterior of the tool body at or adjacent the distal end thereof;
at said flared region of the tool body, the top wall of the tool body terminates in a sloped central divider rib that angles obliquely downward toward the bottom wall and joins therewith a center point of the concavely arcuate seating edge;
said plurality of suction ports comprise a pair of primary suction ports that penetrate the top wall of the tool body at said flared region thereof on opposites sides of said sloped divider rib, and are fluidly open to one another beneath said central divider rib.
Clasen discloses a mirror suction device (10) in the same field of endeavor (refer to Paragraph [0053]). The first embodiment of Kunitaka (G1; Fig. 7) can be modified by Clasen and the third embodiment of Kunitaka (G3) to meet these limitations as follows:
Modify the suction port (1a) located at the flared end of the tool body (1) of Kunitaka to be a plurality of primary suction ports that penetrate the top wall of the tool body in the same fashion as the suction ports (26) of Clasen. Clasen teaches a plurality of suction ports (26) positioned on the top wall of the tool body (12) (refer to Paragraph [0057], annotated Fig. 1 below), while Kunitaka teaches the location of the suction port (1a) at the flared end.
A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) because Clasen teaches the plurality of primary suction ports prevent a negative pressure in the case another opening is sealed by the patient’s tongue or cheek (refer to Paragraph [0057]).
Position a central divider rib in the hollow internal passage of Kunitaka in the same fashion as the central wall (50) of Clasen. Clasen further teaches that the central wall (50) extends up the mirror member (22) (refer to Paragraph [0059]), connecting the ends of the top and bottom walls (refer to annotated Fig. 3 below), angled obliquely downward towards the bottom wall (refer to annotated Fig. 3 below; when viewing the base body (12) in a plane parallel to the longitudinal axis of the proximal end, the central wall is angled downward). As Kunitaka teaches the bottom wall terminates in a concavely arcuate seating edge (refer to annotated Fig. 19 above), this modification results in the central wall joining a center point of the concavely arcuate seating edge, analogous to the bottom wall of Clasen.
A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) because Clasen teaches the central wall/rib (50) advantageously provides for a rugged construction (refer to Paragraph [0013]).
Further modifying the plurality of suction ports taught by the combination of Kunitaka and Clasen to be a pair of suction ports on opposite sides of the sloped divider rib in the same fashion as the alternative embodiment (G3) of Kunitaka. In this alternative embodiment (G3), two suction ports are on opposite sides of the air passage tube (3), an analogous structure to the central rib of modified Kunitaka and Clasen. As the combination of Kunitaka and Clasen teaches an air passage with a plurality of openings penetrating a flared region of the top wall, with a sloped central divider rib , this modification yields a pair of primary suction ports that penetrate the top wall of the tool body at said flared region on opposites sides of said sloped divider rib.
A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) to form two suction divided suction ports, as Clasen teaches dividing the suction ports by the central rib (50) advantageously allows for two channels, where one of the channels can be used with a light guide (refer to Paragraphs [0010]-[0011]).
The combination of Kunitaka and Clasen does not explicitly disclose that the pair of suction ports are open to each other; however, Clasen does disclose the central wall (50) length as a results effective variable, in that the central wall (50) does not have to be continuous, but can be arranged in just some portions (refer to Paragraph [0013]), where changing the arrangement of the central wall (50) affects the tasks performed by the two hollow channels (refer to Paragraphs [0010]-[0011]). In the case of the main task being suctioning from two separate ports that are fluidly open to each other, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the device of Kunitaka and Clasen to have a central wall (50) that only extends along part of the length of the hollow channel, as it only involves adjusting the length dimension of the central wall (50), which is disclosed as an adjustable dimension.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the length of the central rib as taught by Kunitaka and Clasen to extend along only a part of the hollow channel, such that the pair of suction ports are fluidly open to one another beneath said central divider rib, as a matter of routine matter of optimization, since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 2, Kunitaka and Clasen disclose the device of claim 1; Kunitaka further discloses wherein the tool body (1) comprises, at the bottom side thereof and at a proximally spaced distance from the seating edge (refer to annotated Fig. 6 below), a longitudinally oriented receiving cavity (1g) having an open end facing longitudinally toward the seating edge (refer to Paragraph [0040]; 2b denotes the male screw portion, with 1g being the screw portion to receive the male portion, thereby 1g must be a threaded female portion which is tubular or open to the seating edge) to accommodate the stem of the mirror head (2a) (refer to Paragraph [0040]; the male screw portion (2b) of mirror handle (2a) allows the mirror to be attached to the suction tube (1)).
The original embodiment (G1; Fig. 7) of Kunitaka does not disclose the seating edge as concavely arcuate; based on the modification from claim 1, the distal end of the tool body (1) of the first embodiment (G1; Fig. 7) of Kunitaka is modified with the flared/crescent shape of the distal region of the tool body (1) of the third embodiment (G3) such that the seating edge is concavely arcuate (refer to annotated Fig. 19 from claim 1 above).
(New) Regarding claim 39, Kunitaka and Clasen disclose the device of claim 1; wherein the top wall, at the flared region of the tool body, is externally concave across a full lateral span of the top wall between the rounded corners at the opposing lateral sides of the tool body.
Kunitaka discloses wherein the top wall, at the flared region of the tool body, is externally concave across a full lateral span of the top wall between the rounded corners at the opposing lateral sides of the tool body (refer to annotated Fig. 24 below; Examiner understands externally concave as facing any direction external or away from the tool body in a concave direction; based on the modification from claim 1, the alternative embodiment (G3) of Kunitaka discloses a concavely curved top wall at the flared region).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunitaka (JP 2017113328 A; refer to provided translation), in view of Clasen et al. (US 20190343378 A1), herein referred to as Clasen, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of O'Hara (DE 1101695 B; refer to provided translation).
Regarding claim 7, Kunitaka and Clasen disclose the device of claim 1; the first embodiment of Kunitaka does not explicitly disclose wherein the concavely arcuate seating edge has a notched profile forming a protrusive retaining lip for capturing the mirror head.
The alternative embodiment (G3) of Kunitaka further discloses wherein the concavely arcuate seating edge (1f) has a notched profile forming a protrusive retaining lip for capturing the mirror head (2) (refer to Paragraphs [0023], [0040], annotated Fig. 18 below; the mirror is fit in the crescent shaped notch; 1f is a crescent shaped notch at the upper edge portion).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the seating edge of Kunitaka and Clasen with a notched profile forming a protrusive retaining lip as taught by the alternative embodiment (G3) of Kunitaka in order to securely fit the mirror onto the suction device (1) (refer to Paragraph [0023]).
Neither Kunitaka or Clasen disclose a plurality of support nubs projecting distally from said concavely arcuate seating edge to brace a backside of the mirrored tip of the mirror head for cooperative capture of the mirror head (2) between said retaining lip and said support nubs.
O'Hara discloses a mirror with an air jet in the same field of endeavor (refer to Paragraph [0004]). The mirror comprises a concavely arcuate seating edge (10) and a plurality of support nubs (12+13) projecting distally from said concavely arcuate seating edge (10) to brace a backside of the mirror head (2+1) for cooperative capture of the mirror head (2+1) between a retaining lip (10) of the concavely arcuate seating edge and said support nubs (refer to Paragraphs [0010]- [0011], annotated Fig. 2a below; an arcuate shoulder (10) forms a seat for the mirror frame, and the clamp has two arms (12) provided with hook-shaped ends (13) to enclose the frame at spaced-apart locations). The addition of the support nubs (12+13) provides a superior foundation to prevent the removable mirror head (2+1) from detaching.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the concave arcuate seating edge of Kunitaka and Clasen with the support nubs (12+13) as taught by O'Hara in order to prevent the removable mirror head from detaching.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (CN 203226803 U; refer to provided translation), herein referred to as Yu, in view of Williams et al. (US 20140170595 A1), herein referred to as Williams.
Regarding claim 12, Yu discloses a combined mirror holder and suction device for dental applications (the utility model; refer to annotated Fig. 1 below), said device (the utility model) comprising:
an elongated tool body having a proximal end, a distal end residing opposite thereto in a longitudinal direction of said tool body (refer to annotated Fig. 1 below);
a hollow internal passage (5) running longitudinally and internally of said tool body (refer to annotated Fig. 1 below);
at least one suction port (4) fluidly communicating said hollow internal passage (5) with an exterior of the tool body at or adjacent the distal end thereof (refer to Paragraph [0012], annotated Fig. 2 below; the through hole (4) is connect to the channel (5) for use with an external negative pressure suction tube connected to the tail end of the handle);
a hose connector (1a) residing at or adjacent the proximal end of the elongated tool body and fluidly communicating with said hollow internal passage to enable connection of a suction hose from a vacuum pump to apply suction at said suction port (4) (refer to Paragraph [0012], annotated Fig. 3 below; the through hole (4) is connect to the channel (5) for use with an external negative pressure suction tube connected to the tail end of the handle; it is inherent that the negative pressure comes from an external device that can produce this pressure, such as a vacuum pump); and
a control valve (6) installed on said tool body at an intermediate location along the hollow internal passage (5) (refer to annotated Fig. 1 below), said control valve (6) comprising an external manipulator situated outside the tool body (refer to annotated Fig. 1 below) and a valve body that resides within the hollow internal passage (5) (refer to annotated Fig. 1 below) and is movable via the external manipulator to vary airflow through the hollow internal passage (5) (refer to Paragraph [0026]; the valve (6) controls the opening and closing of the channel (5));
wherein:
the tool body, at or adjacent the distal end thereof, comprises a mirror holding portion that holds or is configured to hold a mirror (3) in a working position facing outwardly from the top side of the tool body at or adjacent the distal end thereof (refer to Paragraph [0022], annotated Figs. 2-3 below; a lens (2) is fixedly arranged at one end of the handle with a reflective lens (3) arranged on the front of the lens (2)); and the manipulator of the control valve comprises [[a]] an external lever that is attached to the valve body, resides externally of the tool body, and projects radially away from the valve body to a location situated externally alongside the tool body at one of the lateral sides thereof (refer to annotated Fig. 1 below; the lever is shown extending radially outward, outside of the tool body, towards a lateral side of the tool body).
Yu does not disclose a stop that hangs down from said lever at said location externally alongside the tool body, and serves both to limit a rotational range of the valve body via external contact of the stop with the lateral side of the tool body at each extreme of said rotational range, and to form a fingertip actuator of the control valve that is movable back and forth by fingertip actuation at said lateral side of the tool body
Williams discloses a valve for a dental evacuator (refer to Paragraph [0002]). The valve (100) comprises an external lever (144) and a stop (146) that hangs down from said lever (144) at a location externally alongside the tool body (refer to annotated Fig. 11 below), and serves both to limit a rotational range of the valve body (108) via external contact of the stop (146) with the lateral side of the tool body at each extreme of said rotational range (150, 152) (refer to Paragraph [0046]; the sides (150, 152) form stops, at which the central portion (146) of the handle (112) may not travel past), and to form a fingertip actuator (146) of the control valve (108) that is movable back and forth by fingertip actuation at said lateral side of the tool body (refer to Paragraph [0045]; the handle (112) has a central portion (146); as the central portion (146) is part of the handle structure, this structure is capable of being actuated by a fingertip). Williams discloses this dental valve device (100) as easy to manipulate during a dental operation to open or close the valve (refer to Paragraph [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the valve body of Yu with the rotatable valve body as taught by Williams, in order to provide an easy to manipulate valve device (refer to Paragraph [0021]).
Claim(s) 16-17, 28-29, 31-32, and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunitaka (JP 2017113328 A; refer to provided translation), in view of Emmons (US 8133052 B1).
Regarding claims 16-17, Kunitaka discloses a combination mirror holder and suction device (G1; second embodiment in Fig. 7; refer to Paragraph [0036]) for dental applications (refer to Paragraph [0040]; suction passage tubes with dental mirrors are disclosed), said device (G1, second embodiment) comprising:
an elongated tool body (1) having a proximal end (refer to annotated Fig. 7 below), a distal end (refer to annotated Fig. 7 below) residing opposite thereto in a longitudinal direction of said tool body (1) denoted by a longitudinal axis thereof (refer to annotated Fig. 7 below), said tool body (1) having opposing top and bottom sides residing oppositely of one another in a thickness direction orthogonally transverse to said longitudinal axis (refer to annotated Fig. 7 below), and opposing lateral sides residing opposite one another in a width direction orthogonally transverse to both said longitudinal axis and said first thickness direction (refer to annotated Fig. 6 below);
a singular hollow internal passage (hollow portion of suction passage pipe (1)) running longitudinally and internally of said tool body (1) on the longitudinal axis thereof (refer to Paragraph [0040], annotated Fig. 7 above; reference numeral 1 denotes a suction passage pipe), said singular hollow internal passage (hollow portion of suction tube (1)) being bound by internal surfaces of exterior walls of the tool body (refer to annotated Fig. 7 above; the internal walls of the tube body (1) form the boundary of the suction passage);
a suction port (1anear the distal end of the tool body (1) and fluidly communicating with said singular hollow internal passage(hollow portion of suction tube (1)) (refer to Paragraph [0040], annotated Fig. 7 above); and
a hose connector (refer to annotated Fig. 1 below) residing at or adjacent the proximal end of the elongated tool body (1) (refer to Paragraph [0027], annotated Fig. 1 below; the air hose is connected at the base end of the suction passage pipe) and fluidly communicating with said hollow internal passage (hollow portion of suction tube (1)) to enable connection of a suction hose (AH) from a vacuum pump (refer to Paragraph [0055]; pharyngeal suction machine) to apply suction at said suction port (1a) (refer to Paragraph [0055], Fig. 11, 27; fluid is shown flowing from the mirror (2) to the suction port (1a) and tube (1) by means of the extraoral connection to the pharyngeal suction machine);
the tool body (1), at the distal end thereof, comprises an edge for holding a round mirror (2c) in a working position situated distally of the suction port (1a) and facing outwardly from the top side of the tool body (1) at or adjacent the distal end thereof (refer to annotated Fig. 6 below);
at the distal end of the tool body (1), said exterior walls of the tool body (1) comprise a top wall spanning across a top of the singular hollow internal passage (hollow portion of suction tube (1)), a bottom wall spanning across a bottom of the singular hollow internal passages (hollow portion of suction tube (1)), and rounded external corners that join said top and bottom walls together at the opposing lateral sides of the tool body (1) (refer to annotated Figs. 4, 7 below)
Kunitaka is silent to a plurality of suction ports fluidly communicating said hollow internal passage with penetrating at least a subset of said exterior walls an exterior of the tool body near the distal end thereof and fluidly communicating with said singular hollow internal passage.
Emmons discloses a dental suction mirror (10) with a plurality of suction ports (12, 31) in the same field of endeavor (refer to col. 3, lines 23-25, 48-49). The plurality of suction ports (12, 31) penetrate a subset of exterior walls (34, 32; Examiner understands a subset as any two or more walls) near the distal end of the body (refer to annotated Figs. 4-5 below), fluidly communicating with said singular hollow internal passage (suction lines of handle (26)) (refer to col. 3, lines 30-33, 50-55; the handle (26), ports (12) and suction holes (31) have fluid communication; the handle (26) comprises suction lines). Blocking either set of holes (31) or ports (12) increases suction through the other set, which is advantageous in removing debris for the mouth, while retracting the cheek or tongue (refer to col. 2, lines 5-8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the top and bottom walls of Kunitaka with a plurality of holes as taught by Emmons in order to effectively remove debris from the mouth, while simultaneously retracting the cheek or tongue (refer to col. 2, lines 5-8).
This embodiment of Kunitaka does not disclose:
the tool body, at or adjacent the distal end thereof, comprising a concavely arcuate seating edge mirror holding portion that holds or is configured to hold for holding a round mirror in a working position situated distally of the suction ports and facing outwardly from the top side of the tool body at or adjacent the distal end thereof; and
at a flared region of the tool body that resides adjacent to, and terminates at, the distal end of the tool body, said exterior walls of the tool body comprise a top wall spanning across a top of the singular hollow internal passage, a bottom wall spanning across a bottom of the singular hollow internal passages and terminating in said concavely arcuate seating edge, and rounded external corners that join said top and bottom walls together at the opposing lateral sides of the tool body;
said flared region is characterized by a flared width thereof, measured in the width direction between the rounded corners of the flared region, of increasing measure toward the concavely arcuate seating edge at the terminal end of the tool body to contribute to a notable arcuate measure of said concavely arcuate seating edge for robust support of the round mirror thereat.
Kunitaka further discloses an alternative embodiment (G3; refer to Paragraph [0037]) wherein:
the tool body (1), at the distal end, comprises a concavely arcuate seating edge (1f; refer to Paragraph [0067]) for holding for holding a round mirror (2c) in a working position situated distally of the suction port (1a), facing outwardly from the top side of the tool body (1) at or adjacent the distal end (refer to Paragraph [0023], annotated Figs. 19 and 22 below; the lower edge of the suction port (1) is notched in a crescent shape and the periphery of the mirror surface of the mirror is fitted into this crescent notch so the suction tube (1) and mirror (2) are connected to each other);
at a flared region of the tool body (1) (refer to annotated Fig. 24 below) that resides adjacent to, and terminates at, the distal end of the tool body (1) (refer to annotated Fig. 24 below), said exterior walls of the tool body (1) comprise a top wall spanning across a top of the singular hollow internal passage (hollow portion of suction tube (1)), a bottom wall spanning across a bottom of the singular hollow internal passages (hollow portion of suction tube (1)), and rounded external corners that join said top and bottom walls together at the opposing lateral sides of the tool body (1) (refer to annotated Figs. 21, 24 below);
said flared region is characterized by a flared width thereof, measured in the width direction between the rounded corners of the flared region, of increasing measure toward the concavely arcuate seating edge (1f) at the terminal end of the tool body (1) to contribute to a notable arcuate measure of said concavely arcuate seating edge (1f) for robust support of the round mirror (2c) thereat (refer to Paragraph [0023], annotated Fig. 25 below).
This embodiment provides superior view of the mirror (2c) due to the crescent shape (refer to Paragraph [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the distal end of the tool body (1) of the first embodiment (G1; Fig. 7) of Kunitaka with the flared/crescent shape of the distal region of the tool body (1) of the third embodiment (G3) in order to provide superior view of the mirror (2c) due to the crescent shape (refer to Paragraph [0026]).
The first embodiment (G1; Fig. 7) of Kunitaka is silent to the flared region of the tool body characterized by inclusion of one or more of the following features:
(a) said plurality of suction ports comprises a pair of primary suction ports one or more primary ports penetrating [[a]] said top wall of the flared region of the tool body, and one or more secondary ports that penetrate said bottom wall of the flared region of the tool body in adjacency to the concavely arcuate seating edge. on the top side thereof at a location situated adjacent to the mirror holding portion at a proximal side thereof nearest to the proximal end of the tool body; and/or
(b) the top wall of the flared region of the tool body possesses a concave external curvature at the exterior of the tool body at the top side thereof across a full lateral span of the top wall between the rounded corners at the opposing lateral sides of the tool body.
The first embodiment of Kunitaka (G1; Fig. 7) can be modified by Emmons and the third embodiment of Kunitaka (G3) to meet these limitations as follows:
(a) Positioning the primary suction port (1a) of the first embodiment of Kunitaka (G1; Fig. 7) in the flared region of the tool body (1), in the same fashion as taught by the third embodiment of Kunitaka (G3), where the plurality of primary suction ports (1a) are shown as situated in the flared region.
A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification because positioning the suction port in the flared region improves visibility and operability (refer to Paragraph [0037]).
Positioning the primary ports to penetrate the top wall in the same fashion as the plurality of primary suction ports (12) of Emmons, which are shown penetrating the top wall (34) (refer to annotated Fig. 5 above). Emmons further teaches one or more secondary ports (31) that penetrate a bottom wall (32) in adjacency to a concavely arcuate seating edge holding a mirror (10) (refer to annotated Fig. 4 above, annotated Fig. 6 below), analogous to the concave seating edge (1f) of modified Kunitaka, which is part of the flared region of the tool body, thus meeting the claim limitation.
A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification because Emmons teaches the plurality of primary (12) and secondary (31) ports positioned such that blocking either set of holes (31) or ports (12) increases suction through the other set, which is advantageous in removing debris for the mouth, while retracting the cheek or tongue (refer to col. 2, lines 5-8).
(b) Forming the top region of the tool body (1) in the same fashion as the third embodiment of Kunitaka (G3) with a concave external curvature at the exterior of the tool body (1) at the top side thereof across a full lateral span of the top wall between the rounded corners at the opposing lateral sides of the tool body (1) (refer to annotated Fig. 24 below; Examiner understands externally concave as facing any direction external or away from the tool body in a concave direction).
A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification because this shape modification of the top region of the tool body (1) improves visibility and operability (refer to Paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 28, Kunitaka and Emmons disclose the device of claim 16 characterized by inclusion of at least feature (a); the original embodiment of Kunitaka (G1) does not explicitly disclose wherein said one or more primary suction ports each grow wider toward the distal end of the tool body.
The alternative third embodiment (G3) of Kunitaka further discloses wherein said primary suction ports (1a) each grow wider toward the distal end of the tool body (refer to Paragraph [0032], annotated Fig. 20 below; Fig. 20 depicts the tool body (1) at the α cross-section, where the suction ports (1a) are at the flared portion of the tool body, increasing in width with the body).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the original embodiment of Kunitaka (G1; Fig. 7) with flared suction ports as taught by the third embodiment (G3) because positioning the suction port in the flared region improves visibility and operability (refer to Paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 29, Kunitaka and Emmons disclose the device of claim 16 characterized by inclusion of at least feature (a); Kunitaka is silent to and wherein said plurality of suction ports further comprise the one or more secondary suction ports reside within a longitudinal span of the one or more primary suction ports
Emmons further discloses the one or more secondary suction ports residing within a longitudinal span of the one or more primary suction ports (refer to annotated Fig. 3 below; Examiner understands longitudinal span as the distance between the bottom and tops of the primary ports). This enables fluid communication between the ports for effective suction around the mirror (refer to col. 1, lines 65-67-col. 2, line 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the suction ports as taught by Kunitaka and Emmons with the positioning of the primary and secondary suction ports as taught by Emmons to enable fluid communication between the ports for effective suction around the mirror (refer to col. 1, lines 65-67-col. 2, line 1).
Regarding claims 31-32, Kunitaka and Emmons disclose the device of claim [[29]]16 characterized by inclusion of at least feature (a); Kunitaka does not disclose wherein said secondary suction ports are narrow slot- shaped openings of arcuate shape arching conformingly along the concavely arcuate seating edge.
Emmons further discloses wherein said secondary suction ports (31) are narrow slot- shaped openings of arcuate shape arching conformingly along the concavely arcuate seating edge (refer to annotated Fig. 4 below; Examiner understands “a slot” as any narrow opening, consistent with the definition from Merriam-Webster). Curving along the edge increases the number of locations in the oral cavity that can be suctioned while others may be blocked (refer to col. 2, lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Kunitaka and Emmons with the narrow, slot shaped secondary suction ports curving along the seating edge as taught by Emmons in order to increase the number of locations in the oral cavity that can be suctioned while others may be blocked (refer to col. 2, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 46, Kunitaka and Emmons disclose the device of claim 16 characterized by inclusion of at least feature (a); Kunitaka is silent to wherein each primary suction port is longer in the longitudinal direction than each secondary port.
Emmons further discloses wherein each primary suction (12) port is longer in a longitudinal direction than each secondary port (31) (refer to annotated Fig. 6 below; the ports (12) are shown as completely covering the suction holes (31); thus, the ports (12) are longer than the holes (31)). This longer primary suction port (12) provides a greater area of suction directly near the mirror surface (14) on the top wall (34), where this greater suction is needed for visibility.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the primary and secondary suction ports of Kunitaka and Emmons with longer primary suction ports as taught by Emmons in order to provide a greater area of suction directly near the mirror surface (14), where this greater suction is needed for visibility.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunitaka (JP 2017113328 A; refer to provided translation), in view of Emmons (US 8133052 B1), as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Christman et al. (US 20100021860 A1), herein referred to as Christman.
Regarding claim 22, Kunitaka and Emmons disclose the device of claim 16; characterized by inclusion of features (a), and wherein said primary suction ports reside in a wherein said flared portion of the tool body also characterized by a flared height, at which measurement of the tool body increases toward the distal end of the tool body in at least one of either combined wall height measured in the thickness direction, and/or a width of the tool body measured in said width direction. that is collectively possessed by the bottom wall and the rounded corners (refer to annotated Fig. 24 below; based on the modification from claim 1, the alternative embodiment (G3) of Kunitaka discloses a thickness including the exterior walls, thus the bottom wall and rounded corners contribute to the flared thickness).
Neither Kunitaka and Emmons disclose wherein the flared thickness increases in measure toward the concavely arcuate seating edge to further contribute to said notable arcuate measure of said concavely arcuate seating edge for said robust support of the mirror head thereat.
Christman discloses an evacuator tool (10) in the same field of endeavor (refer to Paragraph [0039]). The evacuator tool (10) comprises a mirrored guard (23) with guard flanges (28), that act as rounded edges, and a circumferential edge (24), forming a concavely arcuate seating edge (24+28) for supporting the mirror (26) (refer to Paragraph [0041]). The thickness is defined by the guard flanges (28) and bottom of the circumferential edge (24), based on the angle between the mirrored guard (23) and the longitudinal axis of the body (36). This thickness is shown as increasing in measure toward the concavely arcuate seating edge to further contribute to said notable arcuate measure of said concavely arcuate seating edge for said robust support of the mirror head (refer to Paragraphs [0039]-[0040], annotated Fig. 8 below). The angle defining the increasing thickness is designed for the device (10) to further function as a tissue retractor (refer to Paragraph [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the concave seating edge of Kunitaka and Emmons with increasing flared thickness as taught by Christman for the device (10) to further function as a tissue retractor (refer to Paragraph [0043]).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunitaka (JP 2017113328 A; refer to provided translation), in view of Emmons (US 8133052 B1), in view of Christman et al. (US 20100021860 A1), herein referred to as Christman. as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Hasson (US 3928916 A).
Regarding claim 23, Kunitaka, Emmons and Christman disclose the device of claim 22 characterized by inclusion of both features (a) and (b); Kunitaka, Emmons and Christman do not explicitly disclose wherein the bottom wall of said flared region of the tool body is convexly contoured at the exterior of the tool across a full lateral span of the bottom wall between said rounded corners. wherein said flared distal portion of the tool body is concavely contoured at the top side thereof.
Hasson discloses a combination dental mirror and extractor in the same field of endeavor (refer to Abstract) with a bowl shaped bottom wall that is externally convex across a full lateral span of the bottom wall (4) between the rounded corners found at the opposing lateral sides of the tool body (refer to annotated Fig. 3 below; Examiner understands externally concave as facing any direction external or away from the tool body in a convex direction ). The externally convex bottom wall provides a surface that can easily adapt to the curves of the oral cavity.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bottom wall of the flared region of Kunitaka, Emmons and Christman to be externally convex as taught by Hansson to provide a surface that can easily adapt to the curves of the oral cavity.
Claim(s) 27 and 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunitaka (JP 2017113328 A; refer to provided translation), in view of Emmons (US 8133052 B1), as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 20160345815 A1); herein referred to as Chen.
Regarding claims 27 and 45, Kunitaka and Emmons disclose the device of claim 16 characterized by inclusion of at least feature (a); neither reference explicitly teaches wherein the one or more primary suction ports are larger than the one or more secondary suction ports, and each primary suction port is larger than each secondary suction port.
Chen discloses a dental mirror for sucking liquid in the same field of endeavor (refer to Paragraph [0051]) with a primary suction port (301), and a plurality of secondary suction ports (36) wherein the one or more primary suction ports (301) are larger than the one or more secondary suction ports (36) (refer to Paragraph [0054]; the diameter of the inhaling holes (36) is smaller than the diameter of the opening (301)). The difference in sizing allows for different amounts of uptake of water and liquid to be sucked through the primary port (301) (refer to Paragraph [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the primary and secondary ports as taught by Kunitaka and Emmons with smaller secondary ports as taught by Chen in order to allow for a greater uptake of water and liquid to be sucked through the primary port (301) (refer to Paragraph [0054]).
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunitaka (JP 2017113328 A; refer to provided translation), in view of Emmons (US 8133052 B1), as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Frider et al. (US 20070148611 A1); herein referred to as Frider.
Regarding claim 30, Kunitaka and Emmons disclose the device of claim 29; neither explicitly teach wherein said one or more secondary suction ports reside closer to distal ends thereof of the one of the one or more primary suction ports than to proximal ends thereof, among which the distal ends of the one or more primary suction ports are nearer to the distal end of the tool body.
Frider discloses a suction head (10) with a mirror (40) in the same field of endeavor (refer to Paragraph [0034]). The suction head (10) includes a set of primary suction ports (50, 45), and secondary suction ports (55a-55c), where the secondary suction ports (55a-55c) reside closer to distal ends of the one of the primary suction ports (50, 45), where the distal ends of the one or more primary suction ports are nearer to the distal end of the tool body (refer to annotated Figs. 1-2 below). This positioning enables two different locations of suction, upward facing and forward facing, while maintaining fluid communication (refer to Paragraphs [0034], [0051]-[0052]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the placement of the primary and secondary ports as taught by Kunitaka and Emmons with the distal placement of the second ports as taught by Frider to enable two different locations of suction, while maintaining fluid communication (refer to Paragraphs [0034], [0051]-[0052]).
Claim(s) 38 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunitaka (JP 2017113328 A; refer to provided translation), in view of Clasen et al. (US 20190343378 A1), herein referred to as Clasen, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Christman et al. (US 20100021860 A1), herein referred to as Christman.
(New) Regarding claim 38, Kunitaka and Clasen disclose the device of claim 1; Kunitaka discloses wherein the flared region is further characterized by a flared height, measured it the thickness direction, that is collectively possessed by the bottom wall and the rounded corners (refer to annotated Fig. 24 below; based on the modification from claim 1, the alternative embodiment (G3) of Kunitaka discloses a thickness including the exterior walls, thus the bottom wall and rounded corners contribute to the flared thickness).
Neither Kunitaka and Clasen disclose wherein the flared thickness increases in measure toward the concavely arcuate seating edge to further contribute to said notable arcuate measure of said concavely arcuate seating edge for said robust support of the mirror head thereat.
Christman discloses an evacuator tool (10) in the same field of endeavor (refer to Paragraph [0039]). The evacuator tool (10) comprises a mirrored guard (23) with guard flanges (28), that act as rounded edges, and a circumferential edge (24), forming a concavely arcuate seating edge (24+28) for supporting the mirror (26) (refer to Paragraph [0041]). The thickness is defined by the guard flanges (28) and bottom of the circumferential edge (24), based on the angle between the mirrored guard (23) and the longitudinal axis of the body (36). This thickness is shown as increasing in measure toward the concavely arcuate seating edge to further contribute to said notable arcuate measure of said concavely arcuate seating edge for said robust support of the mirror head (refer to Paragraphs [0039]-[0040], annotated Fig. 8 below). The angle defining the increasing thickness is designed for the device (10) to further function as a tissue retractor (refer to Paragraph [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the concave seating edge of Kunitaka and Clasen with increasing flared thickness as taught by Christman for the device (10) to further function as a tissue retractor (refer to Paragraph [0043]).
(New) Regarding claim 41, Kunitaka, Clasen and Christman disclose the device of claim 38; Kunitaka discloses wherein the top wall, at the flared region of the tool body, is externally concave across a full lateral span of the top wall between the rounded corners at the opposing lateral sides of the tool body (refer to annotated Fig. 24 below; Examiner understands externally concave as facing any direction external or away from the tool body in a concave direction; based on the modification from claim 1, the alternative embodiment (G3) of Kunitaka discloses a concavely curved top wall at the flared region).
Claim(s) 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunitaka (JP 2017113328 A; refer to provided translation), in view of Clasen et al. (US 20190343378 A1), herein referred to as Clasen, as applied to claim 39 above, and further in view of Hasson (US 3928916 A).
(New) Regarding claim 40, Kunitaka and Clasen disclose the device of claim 39; the neither disclose wherein the bottom wall, at the flared region of the tool body, is externally convex across a full lateral span of the bottom wall between the rounded corners found at the opposing lateral sides of the tool body.
Hasson discloses a combination dental mirror and extractor in the same field of endeavor (refer to Abstract) with a bowl shaped bottom wall that is externally convex across a full lateral span of the bottom wall (4) between the rounded corners found at the opposing lateral sides of the tool body (refer to annotated Fig. 3 below; Examiner understands externally concave as facing any direction external or away from the tool body in a convex direction ). The externally convex bottom wall provides a surface that can easily adapt to the curves of the oral cavity.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bottom wall of the flared region of Kunitaka and Clasen to be externally convex as taught by Hansson to provide a surface that can easily adapt to the curves of the oral cavity.
Claim(s) 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunitaka (JP 2017113328 A; refer to provided translation), in view of Clasen et al. (US 20190343378 A1), herein referred to as Clasen, in view of Christman et al. (US 20100021860 A1), herein referred to as Christman, as applied to claim 41 above, and further in view of Hasson (US 3928916 A).
(New) Regarding claim 42, Kunitaka, Clasen and Christman, disclose the device of claim 41; these prior art references do not disclose wherein the bottom wall, at the flared region of the tool body, is externally convex across a full lateral span of the bottom wall between the rounded corners found at the opposing lateral sides of the tool body.
Hasson discloses a combination dental mirror and extractor in the same field of endeavor (refer to Abstract) with a bowl shaped bottom wall that is externally convex across a full lateral span of the bottom wall (4) between the rounded corners found at the opposing lateral sides of the tool body (refer to annotated Fig. 3 below; Examiner understands externally convex as facing any direction external or away from the tool body in a convex direction). The externally convex bottom wall provides a surface that can easily adapt to the curves of the oral cavity.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bottom wall of the flared region of Kunitaka, Clasen and Christman to be externally convex as taught by Hansson to provide a surface that can easily adapt to the curves of the oral cavity.
Claim(s) 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunitaka (JP 2017113328 A; refer to provided translation), in view of Clasen et al. (US 20190343378 A1), herein referred to as Clasen, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rigutto (US 4279594 A).
Regarding claim 43, Kunitaka and Clasen disclose the device of claim 1; neither explicitly teach wherein each primary suction port is longer in the longitudinal direction than wide in the width direction.
Rigutto discloses a dental hand mirror unit in the same field of endeavor (refer to Abstract), with a plurality of primary air ports (40b), that are longer in the longitudinal direction than wide in the width direction (refer to col. 6, lines 40- 45, annotated Fig. 11 below; plural, spaced apart, trapezoidal shaped openings are provided). The shape of these ports (40b) contributes to air flow distribution at the distal end of the tool (refer to col. 6, lines 40- 45).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the primary suction ports of Kunitaka and Clasen with a trapezoidal shape as taught by Rigutto, as Rigutto teaches this shape for distributing air flow at the distal end of a combination mirror and air flow device (refer to col. 6, lines 40- 45).
Claim(s) 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunitaka (JP 2017113328 A; refer to provided translation), in view of Emmons (US 8133052 B1), as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Rigutto (US 4279594 A).
(New) Regarding claim 44, Kunitaka and Emmons disclose the device of claim 16 characterized by inclusion of at least feature (a); and neither explicitly teach wherein each primary suction port is longer in the longitudinal direction than wide in the width direction.
Rigutto discloses a dental hand mirror unit in the same field of endeavor (refer to Abstract), with a plurality of primary air ports (40b), that are longer in the longitudinal direction than wide in the width direction (refer to col. 6, lines 40- 45, annotated Fig. 11 below; plural, spaced apart, trapezoidal shaped openings are provided). The shape of these ports (40b) contributes to air flow distribution at the distal end of the tool (refer to col. 6, lines 40- 45).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the primary suction ports of Kunitaka and Clasen with a trapezoidal shape as taught by Rigutto, as Rigutto teaches this shape for distributing air flow at the distal end of a combination mirror and air flow device (refer to col. 6, lines 40- 45).
Claim(s) 47-48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunitaka (JP 2017113328 A; refer to provided translation), in view of Clasen et al. (US 20190343378 A1), herein referred to as Clasen, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Warriner (US 3102338 A).
(New) Regarding claims 47-48, Kunitaka and Clasen disclose the device of claim 1; both are silent to wherein the plurality of suction ports further comprise one or more smaller secondary suction ports that penetrate the bottom wall of the tool body at said flared region thereof in adjacency to the concavely arcuate seating edge, and further, wherein said secondary suction ports are of arcuate shape arching conformingly along the concavely arcuate seating edge.
Warriner discloses a dental mirror (10) for evacuation in the same field of endeavor (refer to col. 1, lines 22-25). The dental mirror (10) includes a plurality of small diameter suction ports (46) on the bottom wall (20) of arcuate shape arching conformingly along the concavely arcuate seating edge (18) (refer to col. 2, lines 43-47, col. 3, lines 4-14, annotated Fig. 4 below; the mirror (40) is held by the wall (18), with the wall including apertures (46) positioned with the arcuate portion of the wall (18)). The small diameter suction ports (46) form an arc for effectively collecting fluid in the mouth of the patient (refer to col. 3, lines 60-65).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bottom wall of Kunitaka and Clasen with a plurality of small diameter suction ports as taught by Warriner, as Warriner teaches the small diameter suction ports (46) form an arc for effectively collecting fluid in the mouth of the patient (refer to col. 3, lines 60-65).
Response to Arguments
The outstanding claim objections of claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 12, 14, 16, 19 and 20 are withdrawn in view of the newly submitted claim amendment.
The outstanding 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 16 is withdrawn in view of the newly submitted claim amendment.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the argument that the passages of Clasen do not fluidly communicate with each other, the above rejection highlights that Clasen does disclose the central wall (50) length as a results effective variable, in that the central wall (50) does not have to be continuous, but can be arranged in just some portions (refer to Paragraph [0013]) such that the two ports are in fluid communication (see rejection for claim 1).
Further, as a suction port is an “opening for controlled passage of material” (Merriam-Webster Dictionary), the two openings (1a) in the third embodiment of Kunitaka (G3), meet this definition, functioning as two openings for passage of material. Examiner recommends Applicant amend the claim language to specifically define how the suction ports and their positioning within the walls in the current invention differ from openings/ports of the prior art.
Applicant’s remaining arguments with respect to claim(s) 12, 16, 23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADRIENA J WEBB LYTTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/EDELMIRA BOSQUES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772