DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/26/2026 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and associated arguments filed 3/5/2026 with respect to the 102 and 103 rejections of the claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Albright (US 4,429,314).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8-9, 17, 18, 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheiner (US 2017/0087360) in view of Albright (US 4,429,314).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 5, 9, 17 and 18, Scheiner discloses a device for implantation proximal a genioglossus muscle 90 near a hypoglossal nerve as see in figures 2, 22 and 31 (See abstract). A flexible body 43 has a first arm and a second arm. Each arm includes a leadless stimulator unit 48a/48b attached to the arm (see figure 2). Each stimulator unit includes a receiving antenna (i.e., wire coils and ferromagnetic core being a “main body”) and a plurality of electric components on a second surface (“electronics”) encapsulated in a hermetically sealed enclosure and conductors (“electrodes” and/or wires) in electrical connection with the electric components via an electric circuit (see figure 31). However, Scheiner is silent as to the material of the ferromagnetic core of the antenna.
Albright also discloses an antenna with a ferromagnetic core, and thus is analogous art with Scheiner. Albright discloses antennas can have ceramic ferromagnetic cores as the main body of the antenna (Col. 1, lines 50-66). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to make the ferromagnetic core of the antenna of Scheiner out of ceramic as taught by Albright since this material increases the inductance of the antenna and permits reductions in antenna size (Col. 1, lines 50-66).
Regarding claim 8, the receiving antenna is configured to receive power/stimulation signals from transmitting antenna 32 that are located outside the body (par. 0046).
Regarding claim 22, figure 31 shows the antenna having a coiled shape confined to an annular area of the ferromagnetic core (“main body”) of the stimulation unit.
Regarding claim 24, each stimulator unit is attached to (and thus comprises) a processor 66 and a battery 76 (par. 0055 and 0064).
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8-9, 11, 17, 18, 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheiner (US 2017/0087360) in view of Gross et al. (US 2015/0018728, hereinafter Gross).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 5, 9, 11, 17 and 18, Scheiner discloses a device for implantation proximal a genioglossus muscle 90 near a hypoglossal nerve as see in figures 2, 22 and 31 (See abstract). A flexible body 43 has a first arm and a second arm. Each arm includes a leadless stimulator unit 48a/48b attached to the arm (see figure 2). Each stimulator unit includes a receiving antenna (i.e., wire coils) and a plurality of electric components on a second surface (“electronics”) encapsulated in a hermetically sealed enclosure and conductors (“electrodes” and/or wires) in electrical connection with the electric components via an electric circuit (see figure 31). However, Scheiner is silent as to the antenna being encapsulated in a ceramic main body.
Gross also discloses an implantable stimulator with an antenna 30 and thus is analogous art with Scheiner. Gross discloses the antenna can be encapsulated in a ceramic main body (par. 0260, 0273). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to encapsulate the antenna of Scheiner in a ceramic main body as taught by Gross in order to hermetically seal the antenna and protect it from the body’s environment when implanted (par. 0273).
Regarding claim 8, the receiving antenna is configured to receive power/stimulation signals from transmitting antenna 32 that are located outside the body (par. 0046).
Regarding claim 22, figure 31 shows the antenna having a coiled shape confined to an annular area of the ferromagnetic core (“main body”) of the stimulation unit.
Regarding claim 24, each stimulator unit is attached to (and thus comprises) a processor 66 and a battery 76 (par. 0055 and 0064).
Claims 3, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheiner and Albright or Gross in view of Masiach et al. (US 2018/0280694, hereinafter Masiach).
Regarding claims 3, 4 and 6, Scheiner, as described above, discloses the applicant’s basic invention, including a device with two arms for implantation proximal a genioglossus muscle near a hypoglossal nerve, but is silent as to the device including silicone and arms including suture holes. Mashiach also discloses a device with two arms for implantation proximal a genioglossus muscle near a hypoglossal nerve as seen in figures 10-13, and thus is analogous art with Scheiner. The device includes a flexible body 161/1061 made of silicone (par. 0059, 0110). The flexible body contains arms 162a and 162b and each arm comprises suture holes 160 (par. 0103). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s invention to modify Scheiner so the device includes silicone and the arms include suture holes as taught by Masiach in order to maintain the device in the desired location and prevent drifting of the device, while also ensuring the device is made of a material that is biocompatible.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 20 and 21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10 and 19-21 of copending Application No. 18/465,225. Claims 1, 10 and 19 anticipate claims 1, 20 and 21 of the current application but does not explicitly recite a first and second arm. However, the Examiner takes the position that whatever portion of the flexible body the first stimulator unit is attached to is considered the first arm and whatever portion of the flexible body the second stimulator unit is attached to is considered the second arm.
Claims 1-6, 8, 9,11-18 and 22-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 and 22-24 of copending Application No. 18/465,225 in view of Gross and/or Albright. Claim 1, 10 and 19 anticipate claim 1 of the current application but does not explicitly recite a first and second arm nor a ceramic main body. However, the Examiner takes the position that whatever portion of the flexible body the first stimulator unit is attached to is considered the first arm and whatever portion of the flexible body the second stimulator unit is attached to is considered the second arm.
Furthermore, Albright also discloses an antenna with a ferromagnetic core, and thus is analogous art with the copending claims. Albright discloses antennas can have ceramic ferromagnetic cores as the main body of the antenna (Col. 1, lines 50-66). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to make the ferromagnetic core of the antenna of the copending claims out of ceramic as taught by Albright since this material increases the inductance of the antenna and permits reductions in antenna size (Col. 1, lines 50-66).
Alternatively, Gross also discloses an implantable stimulator with an antenna 30 and thus is analogous art with the copending claims. Gross discloses the antenna can be encapsulated in a ceramic main body (par. 0260, 0273). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to encapsulate the antenna of the copending claims in a ceramic main body as taught by Gross in order to hermetically seal the antenna and protect it from the body’s environment when implanted (par. 0273).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-16 and 20-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if the Double Patenting rejections were overcome.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796