Detailed Office Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda et al. (US 2016/0200858 A1) in view of EP 3118234 A1 and WO 01/44341 A1.
Fukuda et al. disclose a blocked isocyanate composition and its use in the production of water resistant coatings, considered to include the instantly claimed water repellant compositions; adhesives; and fiber treatment material (instant claims 8-11), wherein the blocked isocyanate comprises the reaction product of aromatic or aralkyl polyisocyanates (instant claim 7) with a first blocking agent, wherein the preferred blocking agent constitutes a tetramethyl guanidine, corresponding to applicants’ Chemical Formula (1) of instant claims 1 and 2, and a second blocking agent having a lower catalytic activity that activates an isocyanate group, relative to the first blocking agent (instant claim 3). See abstract and paragraphs [0035], [0058], [0060], [0065], [0247], and [0250]-[0254]. Furthermore the reference discloses the mol% quantities of the first and second blocking agents such that the claimed (instant claim 4) mol% range of the first blocking agent is met. See paragraphs [0118] and [0185]. Fukuda et al. additionally disclose within paragraph [0122] that the blocked polyisocyanate composition can be modified to be water dispersible.
5. Though the primary reference discloses within paragraph [0122] that the blocked polyisocyanate can be made water dispersible, the reference fails to disclose applicants’ claimed means of accomplishing this by neutralizing the blocking agents with an acid. Still, the position taken that the claimed means would have been obvious in view of the combined teachings of the primary and secondary references. As aforementioned, the primary reference discloses that the blocked polyisocyanate composition can be rendered water dispersible. EP 3118234 A1 discloses that a tertiary amine containing polyurethane can be rendered water dispersible by neutralizing the tertiary amine-containing polyurethane with an acid, wherein acetic acid is exemplified (instant claims 5 and 6). See paragraphs [0041], [0062], and [0063] within EP 3118234 A1. Given the structure of the disclosed polyurethane, the skilled artisan would immediately understand that it is the tertiary nitrogen atoms that are being neutralized and rendered hydrophilic. Furthermore, within page 3, lines 9-16 of WO 01//44341 A1, it is disclosed that in the case of producing water dispersible blocked polyisocyanates, it is advantageous to preserve crosslinking potential by incorporating hydrophilicity into the blocking agent. The skilled artisan would understand that this disclosure pertains to preserving the isocyanate functionality of the deblocked polyisocyanates. Accordingly, the position is taken that one seeking water dispersible blocked polyisocyanates would have been motivated to produce the water dispersible blocked polyisocyanates of the primary reference by incorporating hydrophilic neutralized groups into the amine containing blocking agent via neutralization with an acid, thereby preserving isocyanate functionality once the blocked polyisocyanate is deblocked. Furthermore, the skilled artisan, being familiar with isocyanate-based chemistry, would have appreciated that it is the neutralized amine groups that provide the hydrophilicity, regardless of whether the dispersed structure is polyurethane- or polyisocyanate-containing. Regarding the equivalent ratio of acid relevant to the first blocking agent limitation of claims 1 and 12, though the references fail to disclose the claimed equivalent ratio, the position is taken that one seeking to promote water dispersibilty would have been motivated to use an equivalent ratio as claimed to generate sufficient neutralized, water dispersible groups.
6. The examiner has considered applicants’ response; however, it is insufficient to overcome the prior art rejection. Firstly, applicants have argued that the examples of the invention display excellent rubbing fastness; applicants’ argue that Examples 2, 4, and 5, having the claimed equivalent ratio, have relatively high ratings of rubbing fastness compared to Example 6, having an equivalent ratio of 0.5. However, applicants have failed to establish that the argued results hold for the full scope of the claims. It is noted that Examples 7-12, 15-17, 19, 22, 28, and 29 are within the scope of the claims in terms of the claimed equivalent ratio; however, these examples fail to display the argued improved rubbing fastness. Secondly, though applicants’ response argues why each of the references is deficient, applicants’ response fails to address/appreciate what the combined teachings of the relied upon references would have suggested to the skilled artisan. The examiner has presented rationale, based on what the combined teachings would have suggested to the skilled artisan, explaining why it would have been obvious to produce the water-dispersible blocked isocyanate, as claimed, and applicants’ response fails to convincingly rebut this rationale. Applicants’ attention is directed to MPEP 2145(IV).
Conclusion
/RABON A SERGENT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765