DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Express Global Dossier Review Request Consideration
The Global Dossier Review Request has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 31-32 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Miklos (Pub. No. US 2012/0100848).
Regarding claim 31. (New) Miklos teaches a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (Miklos, the Abstract), comprising:
identifying that the UE is not connected with a first network to which the UE subscribes (Miklos, Fig. 7B, pp [91]-[92]: the UE in communication with network A but identifying that it loses connectivity to the network A);
identifying a fallback configuration to be applied based at least in part on identifying that the UE is not connected with the first network (Miklos, Fig. 7B, pp [91]-[92]: the UE in communication with network A but identifying that it loses connectivity to the network A);
determining, based at least in part on the fallback configuration, a second network of one or more networks to which the UE is allowed to connect while the first network is unavailable, wherein the UE is provisioned by the first network with the one or more networks (Miklos, Fig. 7B, pp [94]-[96]: based on the connection lost with network A, and the UE is provided with a broadcast standby and available network B for allowed connection); and
attempting to connect with the second network based at least in part on the fallback configuration and the UE not being connected with the first network (Miklos, Fig. 7B, pp [94]-[96]: connection with network B has been granted and established).
Regarding claim 35. (New) Miklos teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (Miklos, the Abstract), comprising:
at least one processor;
at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor; and
instructions stored in the at least one memory and executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
identify that the UE is not connected with a first network to which the UE subscribes (Miklos, Fig. 7B, pp [91]-[92]: the UE in communication with network A but identifying that it loses connectivity to the network A);
identify a fallback configuration to be applied based at least in part on identifying that the UE is not connected with the first network (Miklos, Fig. 7B, pp [91]-[92]: the UE in communication with network A but identifying that it loses connectivity to the network A);
determine, based at least in part on the fallback configuration, a second network of one or more networks to which the UE is allowed to connect while the first network is unavailable, wherein the UE is provisioned by the first network with the one or more networks (Miklos, Fig. 7B, pp [94]-[96]: based on the connection lost with network A, and the UE is provided with a broadcast standby and available network B for allowed connection); and
attempt to connect with the second network based at least in part on the fallback configuration and the UE not being connected with the first network (Miklos, Fig. 7B, pp [94]-[96]: connection with network B has been granted and established).
Regarding claim 32. (New) Miklos teaches the method of claim 31, wherein identifying the fallback configuration further comprises:
identifying the UE is allowed to switch to the one or more networks while the first network is unavailable, the one or more networks arranged in a list based on a priority associated with each network (Miklos, pp [73]-[74]: updated PLMN list broadcasted by a base station to the UE).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miklos (Pub. No. US 2012/0100848) and further in view of Velev et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0034647).
Regarding claim 33. (New) Miklos does not teach the method of claim 32, wherein determining the second network further comprises:
identifying the second network in the one or more networks is associated with a highest priority; and
determining to establish a connection with the second network based at least in part on the second network being associated with the highest priority.
Velev teaches:
identifying the second network in the one or more networks is associated with a highest priority (Velev, pp [170], [174]-[176]: fallback information provides a list of target networks with prioritized order); and
determining to establish a connection with the second network based at least in part on the second network being associated with the highest priority (Velev, pp [170], [174]-[176]: fallback information provides a list of target networks with prioritized order).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the affective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Miklos by incorporating teachings of Velev, methods and systems for providing fallback assistance information to a RAN node, wherein the system receives a service request indicating a service for fallback, the service request associated with a UE, where the service for fallback corresponds to a different RAT or a different system generation, and transmit, to a network entity, an indication of a fallback requirement or a target system, or both, based on a service type associated with the service request or a network configuration, where the service type corresponds to a different RAT or a different system generation, where a handover or redirection is performed based on the transmitted indication. The system also provides a priority list of target networks to the UE thus guaranteeing the quick and effective selection to a new best available network from the list to support the communication from the previous fallback network.
Regarding claim 34. (New) Miklos does not teach the method of claim 32, wherein determining the second network further comprises:
identifying, at a first time, the second network in the one or more networks is associated with a highest priority ; and
determining, at a second time, to establish a connection with the second network based at least in part on the second network being associated with the highest priority, a duration between the first time and the second time being computed randomly within a configured range.
Velev teaches:
identifying, at a first time, the second network in the one or more networks is associated with a highest priority (Velev, pp [170], [174]-[176]: fallback information provides a list of target networks with prioritized order); and
determining, at a second time, to establish a connection with the second network based at least in part on the second network being associated with the highest priority, a duration between the first time and the second time being computed randomly within a configured range (Velev, pp [170], [174]-[176]: fallback information provides a list of target networks with prioritized order).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the affective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Miklos by incorporating teachings of Velev, methods and systems for providing fallback assistance information to a RAN node, wherein the system receives a service request indicating a service for fallback, the service request associated with a UE, where the service for fallback corresponds to a different RAT or a different system generation, and transmit, to a network entity, an indication of a fallback requirement or a target system, or both, based on a service type associated with the service request or a network configuration, where the service type corresponds to a different RAT or a different system generation, where a handover or redirection is performed based on the transmitted indication. The system also provides a priority list of target networks to the UE thus guaranteeing the quick and effective selection to a new best available network from the list to support the communication from the previous fallback network.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-30 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The reasons for allowance for claims 1-30 are the same as the reasons for allowance indicated from the Notice of Allowance dated 12/23/2025.
Conclusion
/HUY C HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644