DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 should recite “when in use”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 15-16, 37-39 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Allum et al. (US 2010/0071693 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Allum discloses: A system for providing respiratory support to a subject (for example as shown in figure 3; [0062]), the system including:
a flow source (20) for providing a gas at a selected flow rate [0062];
an invasive respiratory device (60; [0062]) couplable with for delivery of gases to an airway of the subject [0062]; and
a connector (84) for coupling with the invasive respiratory device (60) (see figure 11), the connector (84) including a main body (body of 84) having:
a gases port (see annotated figure below) for receiving a flow of gas from the flow source (via 21), wherein the gases port includes an inlet and an outlet (see annotated figure below; outlet is at 66);
an outlet port (85) for outflow of gases from the main body ([0075]: 85 can be open); and
a device port (where 84 couples to 60) couplable with the invasive respiratory device (see figure 11);
wherein the connector is configured to receive the flow of gas from the flow source (20) via the inlet of the gases port (see figures 3 and 11), and to deliver a jet flow of gas through the outlet of the gases port (66 is a nozzle; [0075]),
wherein the system is configured to generate a pressure of at least about 2 cmH20 about the device port when in use [0069].
Regarding claim 2, Allum discloses: A system for providing respiratory support to a subject (for example as shown in figure 3; [0062]), the system including:
a flow source (20) for providing a gas at a selected flow rate [0062];
an invasive respiratory device (60; [0062]) couplable with for delivery of gases to an airway of the subject [0062]; and
a connector (84) for coupling with the invasive respiratory device (60) (see figure 11), the connector (84) including a main body (body of 84) having:
a gases port (see annotated figure below) for receiving a flow of gas from the flow source (via 21), wherein the gases port includes an inlet and an outlet (see annotated figure below; outlet is at 66);
an outlet port (85) for outflow of gases from the main body ([0075]: 85 can be open); and
a device port (where 84 couples to 60) couplable with the invasive respiratory device (see figure 11);
wherein the connector is configured to receive the flow of gas from the flow source (20) via the inlet of the gases port (see figures 3 and 11), and to deliver a jet flow of gas through the outlet of the gases port (66 is a nozzle; [0075]),
wherein a pressure loss between the device port and the outlet port of the connector is less than about 20 cmH2O when in use. "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) The examiner notes that Allum discloses all the structural limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 3, Allum discloses: A system for providing respiratory support to a subject (for example as shown in figure 3; [0062]), the system including:
a flow source (20) for providing a gas at a selected flow rate [0062];
an invasive respiratory device (60; [0062]) couplable with for delivery of gases to an airway of the subject [0062]; and
a connector (84) for coupling with the invasive respiratory device (60) (see figure 11), the connector (84) including a main body (body of 84) having:
a gases port (see annotated figure below) for receiving a flow of gas from the flow source (via 21), wherein the gases port includes an inlet and an outlet (see annotated figure below; outlet is at 66);
an outlet port (85) for outflow of gases from the main body ([0075]: 85 can be open); and
a device port (where 84 couples to 60) couplable with the invasive respiratory device (see figure 11);
wherein the connector is configured to receive the flow of gas from the flow source (20) via the inlet of the gases port (see figures 3 and 11), and to deliver a jet flow of gas through the outlet of the gases port (66 is a nozzle; [0075]),
wherein a pressure loss between the outlet of the gases port and the outlet port of the connector is less than about 20 cmH2O when in use. "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) The examiner notes that Allum discloses all the structural limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 5, Allum further discloses wherein the pressure about the device port is between about 2 cmH2O and about 20 cmH2O. "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) The examiner notes that Allum discloses all the structural limitations of the claim. The examiner notes that [0069] discusses pressure delivered to the patient.
Regarding claim 15, Allum further discloses wherein the selected flow rate is in a range of about 20 L/min to about 90 L/min [0073].
Regarding claim 16, Allum further discloses wherein wherein the selected flow rate is in a range of about 0.5 L/min to about 25 L/min [0073].
Regarding claim 37, Allum further discloses wherein the gases port further includes a flow constriction (at 66) for providing the jet flow of gas through the outlet of the gases port (see figure 11).
Regarding claim 38, Allum further discloses wherein the flow constriction is disposed between the inlet of the gases port and the device port (see figure 11).
Regarding claim 39, Allum further discloses wherein the flow constriction includes a nozzle (66) having the outlet of the gases port through which the jet flow of gas is delivered (see figure 11).
Regarding claim 41, Allum further discloses wherein the flow constriction (at 66) includes a tapered region for constricting the flow of gas prior to exiting the outlet (see figure 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17, 25-32 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allum et al. (US 2010/0071693 A1)
Regarding claim 17, Allum discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed but does not explicitly disclose a filter couplable with the outlet port of the connector for filtering the gases from the main body.
However, another embodiment of Allum teaches it is known to include a filter (102) couplable with the outlet port (85) of the connector for filtering the gases from the main body (see figure 19; [0082] 102 filters moisture).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Allum such that the system includes a filter couplable with the outlet port of the connector for filtering the gases from the main body for the benefit of trapping moisture from the gases from the main body and using the trapped moisture during inhalation [0082].
Regarding claim 25, Allum discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed but does not explicitly disclose further including a humidifier configured to condition the gas provided by the flow source to at least one of a selected temperature or a selected humidity.
However, another embodiment of Allum teaches it is known to have a humidifier configured to condition the gas provided by the flow source to at least one of a selected temperature or a selected humidity [0088].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Allum such that the system includes a humidifier configured to condition the gas provided by the flow source to at least one of a selected temperature or a selected humidity for the benefit of patient comfort.
Regarding claim 26, Allum discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed but does not explicitly disclose wherein the jet flow of gas delivered through the outlet of the gases port has a velocity in a range of about 5 m/s to about 60 m/s.
However Allum states that “Other contributors to the physically efficiency and clinical efficacy of the ventilation system include the exit velocity of gas exiting the ventilation catheter, the alignment of the velocity of the gas relative to the tip of the airway tube or the airway lumen, the gas volume surrounding and in the immediate vicinity of the ventilation catheter nozzle” (see [0069]), thus making the exit velocity (jet flow of gas delivered through the outlet of the gases port) a results effective variable in that changing the exit velocity will alter physical and clinical efficacy.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of Allum wherein the jet flow of gas delivered through the outlet of the gases port has a velocity in a range of about 5 m/s to about 60 m/s as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Regarding claims 27-28, Allum discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed but does not explicitly disclose wherein the outlet of the gases port has a hydraulic diameter in a range of about 2 mm to about 10 mm, wherein the hydraulic diameter is in a range of about 5 mm to about 8 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the device of Allum to have a the outlet of the gases port has a hydraulic diameter in a range of about 2 mm to about 10 mm, wherein the hydraulic diameter is in a range of about 5 mm to about 8 mm since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Allum would not operate differently with the claimed dimensions. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed.
Regarding claims 29, Allum discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed but does not explicitly disclose wherein a distance from the outlet of the gases port to a distal end portion of the invasive respiratory device when coupled to the device port is in a range of about 0 mm to about 60 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the device of Allum to have a a distance from the outlet of the gases port to a distal end portion of the invasive respiratory device when coupled to the device port is in a range of about 0 mm to about 60 mm since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Allum would not operate differently with the claimed dimensions. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed.
Further, Allum discloses the placement of the outlet of the gases port relative to the distal end portion of the invasive respiratory device as a results effective variable. [0076] discusses the placement results in increased or decreased entrainment and changes airway pressure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of Allum wherein a distance from the outlet of the gases port to a distal end portion of the invasive respiratory device when coupled to the device port is in a range of about 0 mm to about 60 mm as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Regarding claims 30, Allum discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed but does not explicitly disclose wherein the outlet of the gases port has a cross-sectional area in a range of about 10 mm2 to about 60 mm2.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the device of Allum to have the outlet of the gases port has a cross-sectional area in a range of about 10 mm2 to about 60 mm2 since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Allum would not operate differently with the claimed dimensions. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed.
Regarding claims 31, Allum discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed but does not explicitly disclose wherein: a distance from the outlet of the gases port to a distal end portion of the invasive respiratory device when coupled to the device port is in a range of about 0 mm to about 60 mm; the outlet of the gases port has across-sectional area in a range of about 10 mm2 to about 60 mm2; and a ratio of the cross-sectional area of the outlet of the gases port to the distance from the outlet of the gases port to the distal end portion of the invasive respiratory device is between from about 1:1 to about 1:10.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the device of Allum to have a distance from the outlet of the gases port to a distal end portion of the invasive respiratory device when coupled to the device port is in a range of about 0 mm to about 60 mm; the outlet of the gases port has across-sectional area in a range of about 10 mm2 to about 60 mm2; and a ratio of the cross-sectional area of the outlet of the gases port to the distance from the outlet of the gases port to the distal end portion of the invasive respiratory device is between from about 1:1 to about 1:10 since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Allum would not operate differently with the claimed dimensions. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed.
Further, Allum discloses the placement of the outlet of the gases port relative to the distal end portion of the invasive respiratory device as a results effective variable. [0076] discusses the placement results in increased or decreased entrainment and changes airway pressure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of Allum wherein a distance from the outlet of the gases port to a distal end portion of the invasive respiratory device when coupled to the device port is in a range of about 0 mm to about 60 mm as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Regarding claims 32, Allum discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed and further discloses wherein the connector further includes an expiratory flow path defined between the device port and the outlet port [0075] [0062] (85 allows passage of air). Allum does not explicitly disclose wherein the expiratory flow path has a minimum cross-sectional area of at least about 25 mm2.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the device of Allum to have the expiratory flow path has a minimum cross-sectional area of at least about 25 mm2 since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Allum would not operate differently with the claimed dimensions. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed.
Regarding claim 40, Allum discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed but does not explicitly disclose wherein the flow constriction includes the outlet of the gases port having a plurality of apertures through which the jet flow of gas is delivered.
However, another embodiment of Allum teaches it is known to have the outlet of the gases port (at 66) having a plurality of apertures (141, 144) through which the jet flow of gas is delivered [0088].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified Allum such that the flow constriction includes the outlet of the gases port having a plurality of apertures through which the jet flow of gas is delivered for the benefit of providing humidified gas to the patient [0088].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Price et al. (US 3,714,944)
Matthews et al. (US 4,796,617)
Brambrilla et al. (10,307,552 B2)
/VICTORIA MURPHY/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785