DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-17 and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ootsuka (JP 2005-133054A) as evidenced by Clariant (Exolit AP 62 Data Sheet).
Regarding claims 15-17: Ootsuka teaches a composition comprising a thermoplastic polyurethane, the ammonium polyphosphate, Exolit AP 462, and tricresyl phosphate (TCP) [0032; Examples].
Exolit AP 462 has an average particle size (D50) of 20 microns and the claimed solubility, and a coating as evidenced by Clariant (page 1).
The composition does not contain any melamine or polyhydric alcohol. While Exolit AP 462 is coated with melamine resin, a melamine resin is chemically distinct from the compound melamine.
Regarding claims 20-22: Ootsuka teaches the claimed amount of ammonium polyphosphate and phosphate (TCP) [Examples; Table 2].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-19 and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ootsuka (JP 2005-133054A) as evidenced by Clariant (Exolit AP 62 Data Sheet) as applied to claim 15 above further in view of Siddhamalli et al. (2008/0167408).
Regarding claims 18-19 and 23: Ootsuka teaches the claimed amount of phosphate (TCP) [Examples; Table 2]. Ootsuka fails to teach a derivative of phosphinic acid.
However, Siddhamalli et al. teach adding 15 to 25 wt% of a phosphinate in addition to a phosphate in an analogous composition to improve the flame retardance of the composition [0032].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add 15 to 25 wt% of a phosphinate as taught by Siddhamalli et al. to the composition of Ootsuka to improve the flame retardance of the composition.
Regarding claim 24: Ootsuka fails to disclose the Mw of the polyurethane.
However, Siddhamalli et al. teach that, in an analogous composition, the polyurethane should have a Mw of 90,000 to 450,000 Da [0049; Examples].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the art tested Mw of 90,000 to 450,000 Da of Siddhamalli et al. as the Mw of the polyurethane of Ootsuka.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ootsuka (JP 2005-133054A) as evidenced by Clariant (Exolit AP 62 Data Sheet) as applied to claim 15 above.
Ootsuka teaches 20 parts by weight of TCP based upon 100 parts by weight of the polyurethane resin [0011-0012]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized the amount of ammonium polyphosphate and expanded graphite for the desired flame retardance. They are result effective variables.
Relevant Prior Art
Zhang et al. (Ind. Eng. Chem. Res. 2017, 56, 7468-7477) teach that encapsulated ammonium polyphosphate blended into thermoplastic polyurethane provides a huge increase in tensile strength and elongation at break, and improved flame retardance by effectively restraining melt-dripping (Abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because due to the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment, and the IDS filed 3/12/2026, necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763