DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on June 19, 2026. As directed by the amendment: claim 1 has been amended, claims 5 and 9 have been cancelled, and no claims have been added. Thus, claims 1-4, 6-8 and 10-17 are presently pending in this application. Applicant’s amendments are sufficient to overcome the §112(b) rejection of the previous action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed June 19, 2026, with respect to the rejection of newly amended claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. §102 in view of Davis have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed June 19, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as to the rejections in view of Drmanovic, see below.
On pages 8-9 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that Drmanovic does not teach an airtight seal. In response, Examiner notes that Drmanovic teaches the claimed structure, and therefore it is expected to perform as claimed.
On page 10 of the Remarks, Applicant appears to be arguing non-analogous art with regard to Rubio. MPEP 2141.01(a) recites that a reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention). Here, the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, which is providing an audible confirmation that the cap is closed.
On page 10 of the Remarks, to the best of Examiner’s understanding, Applicant is arguing that modifications would need to be made to Rubino to be combined with the prior art references. In response, Examiner notes that the rejection below cites modifications to the Drmanovic in view of the teachings of Rubino.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6-8 and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the cap" in line 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, this is interpreted as “the cap assembly”. Claims 8 and 10 are similarly rejected. Claims 2-4, 6-8 and 10-17 are rejected at least because they depend from claim 1.
Claim 1 line 17 recites “…when the cap assembly is in an airtight and disinfecting closed position”. There is an inconsistency here because lines 7-8 refer to the cover in a closed position and the final stanza refers to the cap assembly in an airtight and disinfecting closed position. The claim brings into question whether the cover being in the closed position corresponds to the overall cap assembly being in the airtight and disinfecting position.
Claim 1 lines 16-17 require “wherein the cap is configured to communicate audibly to a user a confirmatory feedback signal when the cap assembly is in an airtight and disinfecting closed position”. However, based on the instant disclosure, the examiner is under the impression that a feedback signal occurs as the cover closes. The wording of “when the cap assembly in an airtight and disinfecting closed position” is perhaps misleading as it implies the feedback signal occurs after closing of the cover has occurred. Clarification is requested as to when/how the feedback signal occurs. For purposes of examination, line 17 is interpreted as “…when the cover [[cap assembly]] is moved from the open position to the [[in an airtight and disinfecting]] closed position”. Claims 2-4, 6-8 and 10-17 are rejected at least because they depend from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-12 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drmanovic US 2018/0064604 A1 in view of Davis et al. (Davis) US 2009/0175759 A1 in view of Rubino, JR. (Rubino) US 2020/0172303 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Drmanovic discloses a cap assembly (capping device 100, P0057 and shown in Fig. 7) capable of disinfectingly enclosing a Luer-type fitting of an injection port of an intravenous administration set or capable of enclosing a hypodermic needle-puncturable stopper (septum, P0002 and Fig. 2) on a single-dose stoppered vial containing sterile drug or diluent (medication vial, P0002, P0051-0052 and Figs. 1-2), said cap assembly comprising: a base (105, P0049) having a first or bottom end configured to couple to the injection port or the stoppered vial and a second or top end configured to receive cover (103 and 104, P0049), a cover (cover 101 and side wall 102, P0049) having an outer surface and an inner surface, said cover being moveable between an open position (Fig. 7) and a closed position (fully seated (resting, closed) position, P0048), and a disinfecting means (disinfecting pad 114, P0050) disposed on the inner surface of the cover (Fig. 7), wherein the disinfectant means is selected from an absorbent pad or adsorbent pad retaining a disinfectant (P0056), and an ultraviolet (UV)-light source, wherein said base and cover are hingedly (hinge 108, P0057) or pivotally affixed to one another wherein said hinge or pivot is spring-loaded such that the cover is biased in the closed position to form a self-closing cover (hinge 108 may keep the top cover 101 biased toward the closed position, P0057), wherein the cover is configured to form an airtight seal with the injection port or drug or diluent vial stopper in the closed position (seal to prevent leakage and evaporation, P0054, wherein Drmanovic teaches the claimed structure as noted above and therefore is expected to perform as claimed. Additionally, airtight caps are known the art, see US 7,341,056, wherein c 5 ln 5-7 teaches that “airtight” means substantially airtight, not necessarily absolutely airtight to those skilled in the art).
Drmanovic does not teach the biasing mechanism to be spring-loaded.
However, Davis teaches a needleless hub and disinfection device wherein the base and cap are pivotally affixed to one another and wherein the cap is biased to the closed position via a spring-loaded torsion spring 40 as shown in Figs. 4-6 and described in P0038.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the biasing means of Drmanovic with a torsion spring as taught by Davis for the purpose of biasing the cap to the closed position, as taught by Davis P0038.
Drmanovic in view of Davis does not teach wherein the cap assembly is configured to communicate audibly to a user a confirmatory feedback signal when the cover is moved from the open position to the closed position.
However, Rubino teaches a bottle with hinged lid that produces an audible “click” or other audible feedback, P0029, when the cover is moved from the open position to the closed position.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify cap assembly of Drmanovic in view of Davis to provide audible feedback for the purpose of confirming to a user that the cap is fully closed, Rubino P0029.
Regarding claim 2, Drmanovic in view of Davis in view of Rubino teaches the cap assembly of claim 1 wherein the cap assembly is separate from and connectable to the Luer-type fitting provided on the injection port of an intravenous administration set (Davis, the body includes an aperture shaped to accommodate the needless hub or injection port, P0007, and the invention is readily adaptable to all types of fittings, with both male and female luer ends, P0054).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the bottom end of Drmanovic as taught by Davis for the purpose of accommodating an injection port, Davis P0007, wherein Drmanovic teaches in P0065 the capping device for other containers where sterility and cleanliness is required.
Regarding claim 3, Drmanovic in view of Davis in view of Rubino teaches the cap assembly of claim 1 wherein the cap assembly is separate from and connectable to the single-use vial containing drug or diluent (Drmanovic, showing the cap assembly separate in Figs. 3 and 7 and connectable in Figs. 4-6).
Regarding claim 4, Drmanovic in view of Davis in view of Rubino teaches the cap assembly of claim 1 wherein the cap assembly is formed integrally with (this is interpreted as a product by process claim limitation, see MPEP 2113(I), and here, the product of the claim is the same as the product of Drmanovic in view of Davis) and part of the injection port of an intravenous administration set (Drmanovic, Figs. 5-6).
Regarding claim 6, Drmanovic in view of Davis in view of Rubino teaches the cap assembly of claim 1 wherein the cover comprises a flange (Drmanovic, side fin 109, P0057 and shown in Fig. 7) extending outwardly and away from the outer surface of the cover wherein the flange is configured for engagement by a finger or thumb of a user such that applied pressure to the flange hingedly opens the cover away from the closed position to an open position, exposing the stopper of the injection port or vial (Drmanovic, a provider may press the side fin 109 with his or her thumb, and the top cover 101 may open for medication withdrawal as a result, and release of the side fin 109 would cause the top cover 101 to close).
Regarding claim 7, Drmanovic in view of Davis in view of Rubino teaches the cap assembly of claim 6, wherein the flange extends curvilinearly away from the cover to facilitate ergonomic engagement with the finger or thumb of the user (Drmanovic, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 8, Drmanovic in view of Davis in view of Rubino teaches the cap assembly of claim 1, wherein the cap has a domed outer surface (Davis, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shape of the outer surface of Drmanovic to be domed as taught by Davis for the purpose of providing additional structure to manipulate when rotating the cover during use.
Regarding claim 10, Drmanovic in view of Davis in view of Rubino teaches the cap assembly of claim 1 wherein the cap assembly comprises a least one raised area (Drmanovic, pad extension 117, P0050 and shown in Fig. 3) formed on the cap, which matingly engages an opposing area on the base (Drmanovic, central hole of floor 104, P0050) to resist opening of the cover away from the base without external force being applied (pad extension 117 corresponds in size and shape to the size and shape of the central hole, P0050, and resists opening because pad extension 117 pivots out of the central hole requiring the pad extension 117 to deform somewhat).
Regarding claim 11, Drmanovic in view of Davis in view of Rubino teaches the cap assembly of claim 1, wherein the cap assembly is capable of maintaining a sterile field on the Luer-type fitting or vial stopper, when said cap assembly is in the closed position (Drmanovic, sterile techniques, P0048).
Regarding claim 12, Drmanovic in view of Davis in view of Rubino teaches the cap assembly of claim 1 wherein said disinfecting means is an absorbent pad containing a disinfectant (Drmanovic, P0056).
Regarding claim 15, Drmanovic in view of Davis in view of Rubino teaches the method for protecting from microbial contamination and maintaining a sterile field on a stopper on a single-use vial containing a sterile drug or diluent (Drmanovic, medication vials can be made for a single or multiple uses P0001, and all embodiments of the invention may be used on medication vials penetrated with sharp objects, P0065), said method comprising: - providing a cap assembly of claim 1; - coupling the cap assembly to a single-use vial (Drmanovic, P0066); - opening the cover with one hand (Drmanovic, the vial may be held in a hand, a provider may press the side fin 109 with his or her thumb, and the top cover 101 may open for medication withdrawal as a result, P0057) to access stopper of a single-use vial (Drmanovic, P0067); - puncturing the vial stopper with a hypodermic needle (sterile needle, P0002) for delivery or retrieval of a fluid therethrough (Drmanovic, P0068); - disconnecting the needle from the vial stopper (inherent step required to allow the cover to return to the closed position, and provide the patient with the withdrawn medication, and P0002 references multiple uses); and - allowing the cover to spring-loadingly return (as modified by Davis) to the closed position thereby exposing said vial stopper to said disinfectant means (Drmanovic, P0069).
Regarding claim 16, Drmanovic in view of Davis in view of Rubino teaches the method for converting a single-use vial containing sterile drug or diluent into a multi-use vial containing sterile drug or diluent (Drmanovic, medication vials can be made for a single or multiple uses P0001, and all embodiments of the invention may be used on medication vials penetrated with sharp objects, P0065), said method comprising: - providing a cap assembly of claim 1; - opening and using the single-use vial a first time (Drmanovic, P0051-0052 and Figs. 1-2); - coupling the cap assembly to the single-use vial over a puncturable stopper (septum, P0002) provided on the single-use vial (Drmanovic, Figs. 3-6, and P0066), wherein the cap assembly can be opened and closed a plurality of times for use as needed until the vial no longer contains a useful amount of sterile drug or diluent, and - closing the cover of the cap assembly following each use to prevent contamination and maintain a sterile field for the stopper (Drmanovic, forced compliance with aseptic techniques is achieved and the septum is always kept sterile, P0055).
Regarding claim 17, Drmanovic in view of Davis in view of Rubino teaches the kit comprising a cap assembly of claim 1 and a single-use vial (Drmanovic, medication vials can be made for a single or multiple uses P0001, and all embodiments of the invention may be used on medication vials penetrated with sharp objects, P0065) containing sterile drug or diluent (Drmanovic, capping device for a medical container P0001 containing medications for intravenous use P0002).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drmanovic in view of Davis in view of Rubino as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zakai US 2009/0320316 A1.
Regarding claim 13, Drmanovic in view of Davis in view of Rubino teaches the cap assembly of claim 1.
Drmanovic in view of Davis in view of Rubino does not teach wherein said disinfecting means is a UV-light source or UV light cell.
However, Zakai teaches a portable multipurpose device which emits ultra violet radiation (UV devices to disinfect products and goods surface, suitable to perform as a cover for containers, P0001 and Fig. 1) wherein the disinfecting means is a UV-light source (UV LED light 5, P0035 and shown in Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disinfecting means of Drmanovic with a UV-light source as taught by Zakai as a simple substitution of one known disinfectant for another to obtain the predictable result of disinfecting surfaces, MPEP 2143(B). The prior contained as device which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of disinfecting components. The substituted components being UV light for disinfection were well known in the art as demonstrated by Zakai. One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the disinfecting pad of Drmanovic for the UV light of Zakai, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable, disinfection of the surface treated.
Regarding claim 14, Drmanovic in view of Davis in view of Rubino teaches claim 1, wherein said disinfecting means is an absorbent pad containing a disinfectant.
Drmanovic in view of Davis in view of Rubino does not teach wherein said disinfecting means includees a UV-light source.
However, Zakai teaches a portable multipurpose device which emits ultra violet radiation (UV devices to disinfect products and goods surface, suitable to perform as a cover for containers, P0001 and Fig. 1) wherein the disinfecting means is a UV-light source (UV LED light 5, P0035 and shown in Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the disinfecting means of Drmanovic with a UV-light source as taught by Zakai for the purpose of redundancy to ensure sterility.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.A.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /James D Ponton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783