DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 13 and 15-16 are cancelled. Claims 18-23 are withdrawn. Claim 24 is newly added. Claims 1-12, 14, 17 and 24 are presently examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li (US 10,791,765).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses an electronic cigarette having a power supply set (figure 1, reference numeral 2), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a first chassis, that connects to an atomization assembly (figure 1, reference numeral 1), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of an aerosol generating assembly, by a thread, which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a locating arrangement (column 3, lines 40-59). The atomization assembly has a sleeve (figure 2, reference numeral 11) and a holder (column 3, lines 40-59, figure 2, reference numeral 12), which together are considered to meet the claim limitation of a second chassis. The holder has a chamber that receives tobacco material, which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a heater assembly, and has a heating element that heats up under electromagnetic induction (column 3, lines 60-67, column 4, lines 1-4, figure 2, reference numeral 14), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a susceptor. The holder extends around the susceptor (figure 2). An induction coil surrounds the holder and generates the magnetic field (column 4, lines 5-23, figure 2, reference numeral 13).
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses that the atomization assembly is surrounded by the sleeve (figure 2), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of enclosing.
Regarding claim 3, the lowest portion of the atomization assembly, which contains the threaded portion, is considered to be a part of the second chassis. The thread is considered to locate the atomization assembly and power supply set relative to each other, which is considered to meet the claim limitation.
Regarding claim 5, Li discloses that the threaded end is located at the bottom of the atomization assembly (figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses that a sealing element is located at the bottom of the holder and supports the holder (column 5, lines 40-44, figure 2, reference numeral 17), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of an end support.
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses that the atomization assembly is held in position with the power supply set by the thread (figure 1). The seal is considered to support the holder on the power supply set since it is located between the holder and the power supply set.
Regarding claim 8, the threads of the base of the atomization assembly are considered to meet the claim limitation of an abutment, and the corresponding surface of the power supply set is considered to meet the claim limitation of a cooperating surface. It is evident that this interaction locates the two components relative to each other since movement is restricted when the threaded connection is made (figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, Li discloses that the atomization assembly has a longitudinal axis (figure 2). The abutment and surface cooperate in a radial direction since the surface forms a circumference into which the threaded abutment is inserted (figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, it is evident that the threading of Li would restrict relative rotational movement of the atomization assembly and power supply set in a direction opposite to the threading.
Regarding claim 11, Li discloses that the threads of the atomization assembly are formed on a protruding structure (figure 2) that is inserted into a recessed socket of the power supply set (figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, Li discloses that the threaded portion extends axially along the longitudinal axis of the atomization assembly (figure 2).
Regarding claim 24, Liu disclose that the power supply set of Liu (figure 1, reference numeral 2) connects to the atomization assembly by a thread (figure 1, reference numeral 1, column 3, lines 40-59). It is evident that the atomizing assembly is at least partially housed in the power supply set, which in turn is surrounded by an outer shell (figure 1). The inside of the power supply set is considered to be the first chassis, and the outer shell is considered to correspond to the claimed housing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 10,791,765) in view of Hejazi (US 10,945,465).
Regarding claim 4, Li discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Li does not explicitly disclose a coil support.
Hejazi teaches an aerosol delivery device that has an induction transmitter in the form of a coil that is supported by a coil support that prevents a short circuit from occurring within the device by preventing the coil from contacting other components (column 16, lines 19-55).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of modified Li with the coil support of Hejazi. One would have been motivated to do so since Hejazi teaches a coil that supports an induction coil to prevent a short circuit from occurring.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 10,791,765) in view of Fishpaw, Jr. (US 9,861,125).
Regarding claim 14, Li discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Li does not explicitly disclose two locating features.
Fishpaw, Jr. teaches an engagement member for a holder (abstract) that connects two parts using two sets of latches (figure 8A, reference numeral 48) located on opposite ends of a base (figure 8A, reference numeral 12) to secure the two parts together (column 5, lines 36-46).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the threaded connection of Li for the latching connection of Fishpaw, Jr. One would have been motivated to do so since Li discloses and Fishpaw, Jr. teaches equivalent connection mechanisms to hold two parts together. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See MPEP § 2143, B.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 10,791,765).
Regarding claim 17, Li discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Li additionally discloses that the upper end of the holder is open, which is considered to meet the claim limitation of an end support, and defines a chamber that extends to the heating element (column 3, lines 60-67, column 4, lines 1-4), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of an air passage. Li does not explicitly disclose the upper end of the holder being formed of a single construction with the rest of the sleeve of Li so that relative rotation of the holder and sleeve is impossible.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the sleeve and holder of an integral construction. The use of a one-piece, integrated construction instead of the structure disclosed or taught in the prior art would have been within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04 II A.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC 102, applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues (a) that the holder and hollow sleeve of Li are separate components that are not connected, (b) that the hollow sleeve and holder cannot be considered to be a chassis, (c) that the coil is not located around the sleeve since the sleeve is external to the coil, (d) that the thread of Li does not form a locating arrangement, (e) that modifications to Li to add the claimed locating arrangement would not be obvious, and (f) that the dependent claims are allowable due to dependence on an allowable claim.
Regarding (a), one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the holder and hollow sleeve cooperate to form the second chassis. Intervening components are also considered to be part of the second chassis. Furthermore, the intervening components are not separately labeled in Li, and merely form part of the outer housing of Li. They could therefore be considered components of the holder as well.
Regarding (b), the claims do not require the chassis to be anything besides a mere holder or support. It appears applicant is arguing that a chassis must have some further structure, but neither the claims not arguments specify this. The housing and holder of Li are therefore considered to be a chassis.
Regarding (c), the limitation “around” does not require the coil to be located outside the second chassis. While some definitions of “around” in the Merriam Webster dictionary equate around with surround, some do not, and instead only require “any direction” (page 1, definition 2a). The structure of Li is therefore considered to meet the claim limitation.
Regarding (d), the threaded end of Li is considered to meet the claim limitation of a locating arrangement since it locates the atomization assembly and power supply set in a fixed relationship to each other and prevents relative movement.
Regarding (e), applicant’s arguments do not apply to the instant rejections since claim 1 is not rejected under 35 USC 103.
Regarding (f), all examined claims, including the examined independent claim, are rejected as set forth above.
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC 103, applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive since they are based on dependence from an allegedly allowable claim, however, all claims are rejected as set forth above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUSSELL E SPARKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1755