DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 12/05/2025. Claims 4, 6-9, 11-24, 29 and 31 have been canceled and claims 1-3, 5, 10, 12, 25, 27-28, 30, 32-41 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 10, 25, 27-28, 30, 32 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang [US 2022/0061020 which claims priority on provisional application 63/068210 which used for citation below] in view of Ji [US 2022/0322283] and Kim [US 2019/0349730].
As claims 1 and 25, Wang discloses a method for sending system information, applied to a first terminal, wherein the first terminal is in communication connection with a base station and at least one second terminal respectively [Fig 7, Ref 710 is base station, Ref 702 is first UE and Ref 708 is at least one second UE], and the method comprises: receiving a short message transmitted on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) sent by the base station using radio network temporary identity (P-RNTI) [Fig 4, 407, 409 discloses first UE receives a short message via PDCCH which scrambles with P-RNTI form base station, Fig 6], wherein the short message comprises system information [Par. 0078, 0082 discloses short message includes system information], and the short message carries an information notification (Par. 0078, 0082 discloses short message includes information notification such as updated, emergency etc..]; obtaining the system information corresponding to the short message [Par. 0080 discloses a system information which includes target UE ID from short message]; determining one or more target second terminals based on the system information [Par. 0080, 0089 discloses based on system information from the short message, the relay UE determines the target UE]; sending a wireless resource to the one or more target second terminals, wherein the wireless resource is used for the one or more target second terminals to receive the system information at the wireless resource [Par. 0078, 0082, 0086, 0089 discloses the relay UE send wireless resource to target UE which allows it to establish a communication with Relay for receiving the system information include the information notification such as an emergency message notification and a system message modification notification]; and sending the system information to the one or more target second terminals [Par. 0078, 0082, 0086, 0089 discloses relay UE send paging which includes an emergency message notification and a system message modification notification via sidelink to target UE]. However, Wang fail to disclose sending a wireless resource location of the system information to the one or more target second terminals, wherein the wireless resource location of the system information is used for the one or more target second terminals to receive the system information at the wireless resource location of the system information; and sending the system information to the one or more target second terminals wherein sending the system information to the one or more target second terminals comprises: in a case that the information notification is a system message modification notification, sending updated information of the system information to the one or more target second terminals by unicasting, based on a number of target second terminals being less than a preset threshold; and in a case that the information notification is an emergency message notification, sending emergency message content to the one or more target second terminals by unicasting, based on a number of target second terminals being less than the preset threshold. In the same field of endeavor, Ji [US 2022/0322283] discloses sending a wireless resource location of the system information to the one or more target second terminals [Fig 8, Ref S81, Par. 0064, 0072, the relay send a location of wireless resource to the remote in order to allow it to receive system information from relay, Fig 13, Par. 0160-0163, SL group PO has a pointer to point to location of resource for remote to receive system information], wherein the wireless resource location of the system information is used for the one or more target second terminals to receive the system information at the wireless resource location of the system information[Fig 8, Ref S81, the relay send which location of resource the remote need to monitor in order to receive system information from relay, Fig 13, Par. 0160-0163, SL group PO has a pointer to point to location of resource for remote to receive system information]. However, Wang and Ji fail to disclose in a case that the information notification is a system message modification notification, sending updated information of the system information to the one or more target second terminals by unicasting, based on a number of target second terminals being less than a preset threshold; and in a case that the information notification is an emergency message notification, sending emergency message content to the one or more target second terminals by unicasting, based on a number of target second terminals being less than the preset threshold. In the same field of endeavor, Kim [US 2019/0349730] discloses in a case that the information notification is a system message modification notification, sending updated information of the system information to the one or more target second terminals by unicasting, based on a number of target second terminals being less than a preset threshold; [Page 13, Table 6, UE-1 may switch from multicast transmission to unicast when the number of peer UEs is less than the threshold] in a case that the information notification is an emergency message notification, sending emergency message content to the one or more target second terminals by unicasting, based on a number of target second terminals being less than the preset threshold [Page 13, Table 6, UE-1 may switch from multicast transmission to unicast when the number of peer UEs is less than the threshold]
Since, a method and system for implementing unicast transmission instead of multicast transmission based on number of UEs is well-known and expected in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for using unicast method for conveying message when number of UE less than a threshold as disclosed by Kim into the teaching of Ji which discloses a relay device send the location of the wireless resource to remote in order to allow the remote to receive message into the system of Wang. The motivation would have been to extension network coverage and improve throughput.
As claims 2 and 27, Wang discloses obtaining the system information corresponding to the short message comprises: obtaining the updated information of the system information, in a case that the information notification is the system message modification notification; obtaining the emergency message content, in a case that the information notification is the emergency message notification [Par. 0082 discloses obtain update system information based on modification notification, ETWS based on emergency notification].
As claims 3 and 28, Wang discloses sending the system information to the one or more target second terminals further comprises: sending the short message to the one or more target second terminals by unicasting or multicasting [Par. 0072, send paging message using unicast or multicast].
As claims 5 and 30, Wang discloses sending the system information to the one or more target second terminals further comprises: sending the short message to the one or more target second terminals by at least one of unicasting or multicasting based on the one or more target second terminals comprising at least two second terminals [Par. 0072 and 0080, send paging message using unicast or multicast to one or more target terminals].
As claim 10, Wang discloses a method for sending system information, applied to a second terminal [Fig 7, Ref 708], wherein the second terminal is in communication connection with a first terminal [Fig 7, Ref 702], and the method comprises: receiving a wireless resource from the first terminal [Par. 0078, 0082, 0086, 0089 discloses the relay UE send wireless resource to target UE which allows it to establish a communication with Relay for receiving the system information include the information notification such as an emergency message notification and a system message modification notification]; receiving the system information at the wireless resource of the system information from the first terminal [Par. 0078, 0082, 0086, 0089 discloses the relay UE send wireless resource to target UE which allows it to establish a communication with Relay for receiving the system information include the information notification such as an emergency message notification and a system message modification notification], wherein the second terminal is determined as a target second terminal by the first terminal based on the system information [Par. 0080, 0089 discloses based on system information from the short message, the relay UE determines the target UE]; the system information is comprised in a short message received by the first terminal from a base station [Fig 4, 407, 409 discloses first UE receives a short message via PDCCH which scrambles with P-RNTI form base station, Fig 6], wherein the short message is transmitted on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) using radio network temporary identity (P-RNTI) [Fig 4, 407, 409 discloses first UE receives a short message via PDCCH which scrambles with P-RNTI form base station, Fig 6], and the short message carries an information notification; wherein receiving the system information comprises: in a case that the information notification is a system message modification notification, receiving updated information of the system information from the first terminal, wherein the updated information of the system information is sent by the first terminal by unicasting [Par. 0078, 0082, 0086, 0089 discloses the relay UE send wireless resource to target UE which allows it to establish a communication with Relay for receiving the system information include the information notification such as an emergency message notification and a system message modification notification]; and in a case that the information notification is an emergency message notification, receiving emergency message content from the first terminal, wherein the emergency message content is sent by the first terminal by unicasting [Par. 0078, 0082, 0086, 0089 discloses the relay UE send wireless resource to target UE which allows it to establish a communication with Relay for receiving the system information include the information notification such as an emergency message notification and a system message modification notification]. However, Wang fails to disclose receiving a wireless resource location of system information from the first terminal; receiving the system information at the wireless resource location of the system information from the first terminal and
in a case that the information notification is a system message modification notification, receiving updated information of the system information from the first terminal, wherein the updated information of the system information is sent by the first terminal by unicasting, based on a number of target second terminals being less than a preset threshold; and in a case that the information notification is an emergency message notification, receiving emergency message content from the first terminal, wherein the emergency message content is sent by the first terminal by unicasting, based on a number of target second terminals being less than the preset threshold. In the same field of endeavor, Ji discloses receiving a wireless resource location of system information from the first terminal; receiving the system information at the wireless resource location of the system information from the first terminal [Fig 8, Ref S81, the relay send which location of resource the remote need to monitor in order to receive system information from relay, Fig 13, Par. 0160-0163, SL group PO has a pointer to point to location of resource for remote to receive system information]. However, Wang and Ji fail to disclose in a case that the information notification is a system message modification notification, receiving updated information of the system information from the first terminal, wherein the updated information of the system information is sent by the first terminal by unicasting, based on a number of target second terminals being less than a preset threshold; and in a case that the information notification is an emergency message notification, receiving emergency message content from the first terminal, wherein the emergency message content is sent by the first terminal by unicasting, based on a number of target second terminals being less than the preset threshold. In the same field of endeavor, Kim [US 2019/0349730] discloses in a case that the information notification is a system message modification notification, sending updated information of the system information to the one or more target second terminals by unicasting, based on a number of target second terminals being less than a preset threshold; [Page 13, Table 6, UE-1 may switch from multicast transmission to unicast when the number of peer UEs is less than the threshold] in a case that the information notification is an emergency message notification, sending emergency message content to the one or more target second terminals by unicasting, based on a number of target second terminals being less than the preset threshold [Page 13, Table 6, UE-1 may switch from multicast transmission to unicast when the number of peer UEs is less than the threshold]
Since, a method and system for implementing unicast transmission instead of multicast transmission based on number of UEs is well-known and expected in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for using unicast method for conveying message when number of UE less than a threshold as disclosed by Kim into the teaching of Ji which discloses a relay device send the location of the wireless resource to remote in order to allow the remote to receive message into the system of Wang. The motivation would have been to extension network coverage and improve throughput.
As claims 32 and 37, Wang discloses the system information is divided into an MIB and a plurality of SIBs [Par. 0057 discloses system information includes MIB and SIBs].
Claim(s) 33-36 and 38-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, Ji and Kim as applied to claims 1 and 25 above, and further in view of Sen [US 2018/0279110].
As claims 33 and 38, Wang, Ji and Kim fail to disclose what Sen discloses obtaining the emergency message content comprises: obtaining the emergency message content from part of the plurality of SIBs [Par. 0127 discloses SIBs for ETWS and CMAS].
Since, it is well known in the art SIBs content for ETWS and CMAS. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for including ETWS and CMAS into SIBs as disclosed by Sen into the teaching of Ji, Kim and Wang. The motivation would have been to extension network coverage and improve throughput.
As claims 34 and 39, Wang, Ji and Kim fail to disclose what Sen discloses determine second terminals in communication connection with the first terminal as the target second terminals, in a case that the updated information of the system information comprises an MIB and/or an SIB [Par. 0061, 0127 discloses determines which second terminals connected to the relay in case SIB or MIB includes new information].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for determine second terminals in communication connection with the first terminal as the target second terminals, in a case that the updated information of the system information comprises an MIB and/or an SIB as disclosed by Sen into the teaching of Ji, Kim and Wang. The motivation would have been to extension network coverage and improve throughput.
As claims 35 and 40, Wang discloses in a case that the updated information of the system information does not comprise an MIB and/or an SIB, determining the one or more target second terminals based on the updated information of the system information and a preset target information identification of a second terminal [Par. 0080 discloses determining target UE based on updated and preset target ID].
As claims 36 and 41, Wang discloses determining the one or more target second terminals based on the updated information of the system information and the preset target information identification of the second terminal comprises: in a case that a target information identification of a second terminal corresponds to the updated information of the system information, determining the second terminal as a target second terminal [Par. 0080 discloses determining target UE based on updated and preset target ID in order to forward signal to target UE].
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 10, 25, 27-28, 30, 32 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro [US 2020/0091991] in view of Wang [US 2022/0061021 which claims priority of provisional application 63/068171 which used in citation below], Ji [US 2022/0322283] and Kim [US 2019/0349730].
As claims 1 and 25, Fujishiro [US 2020/0091991] discloses method for sending system information, applied to a first terminal, wherein the first terminal [Fig 13, Ref 100A] is in communication connection with a base station [Fig 13, Ref 200] and at least one second terminal [Fig 13, Ref 100B] respectively, and the method comprises: receiving a message sent by the base station [Fig 13, Ref 100A receives SI and ETWS], wherein the message comprises system information [Fig 13, Ref S200]; obtaining the system information corresponding to the message [Fig 13, Ref 2 discloses relay decodes SIB to get SIB and determine if it is updated]; determining one or more target second terminals based on the system information [Par. 0115 discloses determine if remote ID associated with relay ID]; sending a wireless resource of the system information to the one or more target second terminals, wherein the wireless resource of the system information is used for the one or more target second terminals to receive the system information at the wireless resource of the system information [Par. 0123-0126 discloses TX UE notifies the resource for exchanging control and data with Rx UEs] and sending the system information includes updated information to the one or more target second terminals [Par. 0115 discloses send updated SI to Remote]. However, Fujishiro fails to receiving a short message transmitted on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) sent by the base station using radio network temporary identity (P-RNTI), wherein the short message comprises system information, and the short message carries an information notification; obtaining the system information corresponding to the short message; determining one or more target second terminals based on the system information; sending a wireless resource location of the system information to the one or more target second terminals, wherein the wireless resource location of the system information is used for the one or more target second terminals to receive the system information at the wireless resource location of the system information; and sending the system information to the one or more target second terminals; wherein sending the system information to the one or more target second terminals comprises: in a case that the information notification is a system message modification notification, sending updated information of the system information to the one or more target second terminals by unicasting, based on a number of target second terminals being less than a preset threshold; and in a case that the information notification is an emergency message notification, sending emergency message content to the one or more target second terminals by unicasting, based on a number of target second terminals being less than the preset threshold. In the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses receiving a short message transmitted on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) sent by the base station using radio network temporary identity (P-RNTI) [Fig 4, 6, 11, 14, Par. 0072-0074], wherein the short message comprises system information, and the short message carries an information notification [Par 0072-0074]; obtaining the system information corresponding to the short message [Par. 0072-0074]; determining one or more target second terminals based on the system information [Fig 14, Ref 1415]. However, Fujishiro and Wang fail to disclose sending a wireless resource location of the system information to the one or more target second terminals, wherein the wireless resource location of the system information is used for the one or more target second terminals to receive the system information at the wireless resource location of the system information; and sending the system information to the one or more target second terminals; wherein sending the system information to the one or more target second terminals comprises: in a case that the information notification is a system message modification notification, sending updated information of the system information to the one or more target second terminals by unicasting, based on a number of target second terminals being less than a preset threshold; and in a case that the information notification is an emergency message notification, sending emergency message content to the one or more target second terminals by unicasting, based on a number of target second terminals being less than the preset threshold. In the same field of endeavor, Ji [US 2022/0322283] discloses sending a wireless resource location of the system information to the one or more target second terminals [Fig 8, Ref S81, Par. 0064, 0072, the relay send a location of wireless resource to the remote in order to allow it to receive system information from relay, Fig 13, Par. 0160-0163, SL group PO has a pointer to point to location of resource for remote to receive system information], wherein the wireless resource location of the system information is used for the one or more target second terminals to receive the system information at the wireless resource location of the system information [Fig 8, Ref S81, the relay send which location of resource the remote need to monitor in order to receive system information from relay, Fig 13, Par. 0160-0163, SL group PO has a pointer to point to location of resource for remote to receive system information]. However, Fujishiro, Wang and Ji fail to disclose sending updated information of the system information to the one or more target second terminals by unicasting, based on a number of target second terminals being less than a preset threshold. In the same field of endeavor, Kim [US 2019/0349730] discloses sending updated information of the system information to the one or more target second terminals by unicasting, based on a number of target second terminals being less than a preset threshold [Page 13, Table 6, UE-1 may switch from multicast transmission to unicast when the number of peer UEs is less than the threshold].
Since, a method and system for implementing unicast instead of multicast based on number of UEs is well-known and expected in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for using unicast method for conveying message when number of UE less than a threshold as disclosed by Kim into the teaching of Ji which discloses a relay device send the location of the wireless resource to remote in order to allow the remote to receive message into the system of Wang which discloses a short message on PDCCH into the teaching of Fujishiro. The motivation would have been to extension network coverage and improve throughput.
As claim 10, Fujishiro [US 2020/0091991] discloses a method for sending system information, applied to a second terminal [Fig 13, Ref 100B], wherein the second terminal is in communication connection with a first terminal [Fig 13, Ref 100A], and the method comprises: receiving a wireless resource of system information from the first terminal; [Par. 0123-0126 discloses TX UE notifies the resource for exchanging control and data with Rx UEs]; receiving the system information at the wireless resource of the system information from the first terminal [Par. 0115], wherein the second terminal is determined as a target second terminal by the first terminal based on the system information [Par. 0115], and the system information is comprised in a message received from the base station [Fig 13, Ref S200] and receiving the system information comprises: receiving updated information of the system information from the first terminal [Fig 7, S13]. However, Wang and Fujishiro fail to disclose receiving a short message transmitted on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) sent by the base station using radio network temporary identity (P-RNTI), wherein the short message comprises system information, and the short message carries an information notification; obtaining the system information corresponding to the short message; determining one or more target second terminals based on the system information; receiving a wireless resource location of system information from the first terminal, receiving the system information at the wireless resource location of the system information from the first terminal, wherein sending the system information to the one or more target second terminals comprises: in a case that the information notification is a system message modification notification, sending updated information of the system information to the one or more target second terminals by unicasting, based on a number of target second terminals being less than a preset threshold; and in a case that the information notification is an emergency message notification, sending emergency message content to the one or more target second terminals by unicasting, based on a number of target second terminals being less than the preset threshold. In the same field of endeavor, Ji [US 2022/0322283] discloses receiving a wireless resource location of system information from the first terminal [Fig 8, Ref S81, Par. 0064, 0072, the relay send a location of wireless resource to the remote in order to allow it to receive system information from relay, Fig 13, Par. 0160-0163, SL group PO has a pointer to point to location of resource for remote to receive system information], receiving the system information at the wireless resource location of the system information from the first terminal [Fig 8, Ref S81, the relay send which location of resource the remote need to monitor in order to receive system information from relay, Fig 13, Par. 0160-0163, SL group PO has a pointer to point to location of resource for remote to receive system information]. However, Wang, Fujishiro and Ji fail to in a case that the information notification is a system message modification notification, sending updated information of the system information to the one or more target second terminals by unicasting, based on a number of target second terminals being less than a preset threshold; and in a case that the information notification is an emergency message notification, sending emergency message content to the one or more target second terminals by unicasting, based on a number of target second terminals being less than the preset threshold. In the same field of endeavor, Kim [US 2019/0349730] discloses in a case that the information notification is a system message modification notification, sending updated information of the system information to the one or more target second terminals by unicasting, based on a number of target second terminals being less than a preset threshold; [Page 13, Table 6, UE-1 may switch from multicast transmission to unicast when the number of peer UEs is less than the threshold] in a case that the information notification is an emergency message notification, sending emergency message content to the one or more target second terminals by unicasting, based on a number of target second terminals being less than the preset threshold [Page 13, Table 6, UE-1 may switch from multicast transmission to unicast when the number of peer UEs is less than the threshold]
Since, a method and system for implementing unicast transmission instead of multicast transmission based on number of UEs is well-known and expected in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for using unicast method for conveying message when number of UE less than a threshold as disclosed by Kim into the teaching of Ji which discloses a relay device send the location of the wireless resource to remote in order to allow the remote to receive message into the system of Wang which discloses a short message transmitted on PDCCH using P-RNTI into a teaching of Fujishiro. The motivation would have been to extension network coverage and improve throughput.
As claims 2 and 27, Wang discloses obtaining the system information corresponding to the short message comprises: obtaining the updated information of the system information, in a case that the information notification is the system message modification notification; obtaining the emergency message content, in a case that the information notification is the emergency message notification [Par. 0070, 0074 discloses obtain update system information based on modification notification, ETWS based on emergency notification].
As claims 3 and 28, Wang discloses sending the system information to the one or more target second terminals further comprises: sending the short message to the one or more target second terminals by unicasting or multicasting [Par. 0074, 0099, send paging message using unicast or multicast].
As claims 5 and 30, Wang discloses sending the system information to the one or more target second terminals further comprises: sending the short message to the one or more target second terminals by at least one of unicasting or multicasting based on the one or more target second terminals comprising at least two second terminals [Par. 0074 and 0099, send paging message using unicast or multicast to one or more target terminals].
As claims 32 and 37, Wang discloses the system information is divided into an MIB and a plurality of SIBs [Par. 0064].
Claim(s) 33-36 and 38-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro, Wang, Ji and Kim as applied to claims 1 and 25 above, and further in view of Cheng [US 2023/02224802].
As claims 33 and 38, Fujishiro, Wang, Ji and Kim fail to disclose what Cheng discloses obtaining the emergency message content comprises: obtaining the emergency message content from part of the plurality of SIBs [Par. 0090 discloses SIBs for ETWS and CMAS].
Since, it is well known in the art SIBs content for ETWS and CMAS. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for including ETWS and CMAS into SIBs as disclosed by Cheng into the teaching of Ji, Kim and Wang. The motivation would have been to extension network coverage and improve throughput.
As claims 34 and 39, Wang, Ji and Kim fail to disclose what Cheng discloses determine second terminals in communication connection with the first terminal as the target second terminals, in a case that the updated information of the system information comprises an MIB and/or an SIB [Par. 0090 discloses determines which second terminals connected to the relay in case SIB or MIB includes new information].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for determine second terminals in communication connection with the first terminal as the target second terminals, in a case that the updated information of the system information comprises an MIB and/or an SIB as disclosed by Sen into the teaching of Ji, Kim and Wang. The motivation would have been to extension network coverage and improve throughput.
As claims 35 and 40, Wang, Ji and Kim fail to disclose what Cheng discloses in a case that the updated information of the system information does not comprise an MIB and/or an SIB, determining the one or more target second terminals based on the updated information of the system information and a preset target information identification of a second terminal [Par. 0090 discloses determining target UE based on updated and preset target ID].
As claims 36 and 41, Wang discloses determining the one or more target second terminals based on the updated information of the system information and the preset target information identification of the second terminal comprises: in a case that a target information identification of a second terminal corresponds to the updated information of the system information, determining the second terminal as a target second terminal [Par. 0090 discloses determining target UE based on updated and preset target ID in order to forward signal to target UE].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sheng [US 2018/0092027] discloses Methods and apparatus are provided for providing system information to a remote/evolved remote UE as well as methods and apparatus for a remote/evolved remote UE to receive system information.
Hahn [US 2023/0180179] discloses a method and a device for paging in sidelink communication are disclosed. An operating method of a transmitting terminal comprises the steps of: receiving SL paging setup information from a base station; receiving a paging DCI from the base station in an SPO indicated by the SL paging setup information; and transmitting an SL paging message to one or more receiving terminals in a sidelink resource indicated by the paging DCI.
Agiwal [US 2019/0306827] discloses A communication method and system for converging a fifth generation (5G) communication system for supporting higher data rates beyond a fourth generation (4G) system with a technology for Internet of things (IoT) are provided. The communication method and system may be applied to intelligent services based on the 5G communication technology and the IoT-related technology, such as smart home, smart building, smart city, smart car, connected car, health care, digital education, smart retail, security and safety services. A method of a terminal receiving a paging message is provided. In addition, a method of a terminal acquiring system information is provided.
/STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414