DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of KR 10-2020-0130107 filed August 10, 2020 and of KR 10-2021-0132934 filed October 7, 2021 as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Receipt is also acknowledged of WO 2022/075791, the WIPO publication of PCT/KR2021/013844 filed October 8, 2021.
Response to Restriction Election
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species I-A, claims 1-3, in the reply filed on September 23, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventive group or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xue (Xue and Islam. Improving corrosion and wear resistance of A36 steel by laser cladding of FeCrBSi and FeCrNiCoMoBCuSi alloys. Surface Modification Technologies XII, Proceedings of the International Conference on Surface Modification Technologies, 12th, Rosemont, Ill. Oct. 12-14, 1998. Pp. 449-456.).
Regarding claim 1, Xue discloses an alloy that falls within the scope of that claimed (FeCrNiCoMoBCuSi powder, Table 1),
with a weight ratio of Fe to 100 parts by weight of the first component of 1.3 to 2.0 times the weight ratio of Ni to 100 parts by weight of the first component (Fe of 60 is 1.5 times Ni of 40).
Component
Parts by Weight
Element
Parts by Weight
Parts by Weight
Wt%
Wt%
First
100
Fe
100
60
28
47
Ni
40
19
Second
90 to 110
Cr
101
68
32
47.4
Co
19
9
Mo
9
4
Cu
5
2.4
Third
5 to 15
Si
11
3
1.4
5.4
B
8
4
P
-
Regarding claim 2, Xue discloses the second component contains Cr (32 wt%), and further contains one or more selected from Co (9 wt%), Mo (4 wt%), and Cu (2.4 wt%) (FeCrNiCoMoBCuSi powder, Table 1).
Regarding claim 3, Xue discloses a weight ratio of Cr to 100 parts by weight of the first component is 0.63 times to 1.39 times the weight ratio of Fe to 100 parts by weight of the first component (Cr of 68 is 0.88 times Fe of 60) (FeCrNiCoMoBCuSi powder, Table 1).
Related Art
Manna (Manna et al. Microstructural evolution of wear-resistant FeCrB and FeCrNiCoB coating alloys during high-energy mechanical attrition. Wear 264 (2008) 940-946.)
Manna discloses FeCrNiCoB (Armacor C) with 32.0 wt% Cr, 19.0 wt% Ni, 9.0 wt.% Co, 4.0 wt% Mo, 2.4 wt.% Cu, 1.4 wt% Si, 0.12 wt% C, 4.0 wt% B, and rest Fe (28.08 wt%) (Table 1).
Burkle- Metastable (Burkle et al. Determination of the Mechanical Properties of Nanocrystalline Fe-Cr-Based Thermal Spray Coatings. Journal of Metastable and Nanocrystalline Materials Vol 13 (2002) pp. 571-576. Trans Tech Publications, Switzerland.)
Burkle- Metastable discloses Armacor C+ with 32 wt% Cr, 19 wt% Ni, 9 wt% Co, 4 wt% Mo, 2.4 wt% Cu, 1.4 wt% Si, 0.12 wt% C, 4 wt% B, and balance Fe (28.08 wt%) (Table 1).
Burkle- Thermal Spray (Burkle et al. Dynamic mechanical analysis of the mechanical properties of Al-and Fe-based thermal spray coatings. Thermal Spray 2001: New Surfaces for a New Millennium, Proceedings of the International Thermal Spray Conference, Singapore, May 28-20, 2001. 999-1002. Editor(s): Berndt et al. ASM International. STN Abstract and Composition.)
Burkle- Thermal Spray discloses an alloy with 30 wt% Cr, 28 wt% Fe, 20 wt% Ni, 10 wt% Co, 4 wt% B, 4 wt% Mo, 3 wt% Cu, and 1.5 wt% Si (STN Composition).
Contact Information
/STEPHANI HILL/Examiner, Art Unit 1735