DETAILED ACTION
Location of Application
The location of the subject application has changed. The subject application is now located in Workgroup 1680, Art Unit 1682, and has been docketed to Primary Examiner Bradley L. Sisson.
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because:
The shading in Figure(s) 1 is of poor quality and does not sufficiently contrast with the rest of the drawing(s). See 37 CFR 1.84(m).
The images/photographs are not of sufficient quality so that all details in the photographs are reproducible in printed patent- FIG(s) 1 and 3. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(1).
In Figure(s) 1-4 the reference characters, sheet numbers, and view numbers are not all oriented in the same direction so as to avoid having to rotate the sheet. See 37 CFR 1.84(p)(1).
The numbering of the sheets of drawings bearing FIG(s). 1-4 is not in compliance with all aspects of 37 CFR 1.84(t).
Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
INFORMATION ON HOW TO EFFECT DRAWING CHANGES
Replacement Drawing Sheets
Drawing changes must be made by presenting replacement sheets which incorporate the desired changes and which comply with 37 CFR 1.84. An explanation of the changes made must be presented either in the drawing amendments section, or remarks, section of the amendment paper. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). A replacement sheet must include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of the amended drawing(s) must not be labeled as “amended.” If the changes to the drawing figure(s) are not accepted by the examiner, applicant will be notified of any required corrective action in the next Office action. No further drawing submission will be required, unless applicant is notified.
Identifying indicia, if provided, should include the title of the invention, inventor’s name, and application number, or docket number (if any) if an application number has not been assigned to the application. If this information is provided, it must be placed on the front of each sheet and within the top margin.
Annotated Drawing Sheets
A marked-up copy of any amended drawing figure, including annotations indicating the changes made, are required by the examiner. The annotated drawing sheet(s) must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheet” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings.
Timing of Corrections
Applicant is required to submit acceptable corrected drawings within the time period set in the Office action. See 37 CFR 1.85(a). Failure to take corrective action within the set period will result in ABANDONMENT of the application.
If corrected drawings are required in a Notice of Allowability (PTOL-37), the new drawings MUST be filed within the THREE MONTH shortened statutory period set for reply in the “Notice of Allowability.” Extensions of time may NOT be obtained under the provisions of 37 CFR 1.136 for filing the corrected drawings after the mailing of a Notice of Allowability.
Claim Interpretation
Attention is directed to MPEP 904.01 [R-08.2012].
The breadth of the claims in the application should always be carefully noted; that is, the examiner should be fully aware of what the claims do not call for, as well as what they do require. During patent examination, the claims are given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification. See In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 44 USPQ2d 1023 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP § 2111 - § 2116.01 for case law pertinent to claim analysis.
It is noted with particularity that narrowing limitations found in the specification cannot be inferred in the claims where the elements not set forth in the claims are linchpin of patentability. In re Philips Industries v. State Stove & Mfg. Co, Inc., 186 USPQ 458 (CA6 1975). While the claims are to be interpreted in light of the specification, it does not follow that limitations from the specification may be read into the claims. On the contrary, claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow. See Ex parte Oetiker, 23 USPQ2d 1641 (BPAI, 1992). In added support of this position, attention is directed to MPEP 2111 [R-11.2013], where, citing In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-51 (CCPA 1969), is stated:
The court explained that “reading a claim in light of the specification, to thereby interpret limitations explicitly recited in the claim, is a quite different thing from ‘reading limitations of the specification into a claim,’ to thereby narrow the scope of the claim by implicitly adding disclosed limitations which have no express basis in the claim.” The court found that applicant was advocating the latter, i.e., the impermissible importation of subject matter from the specification into the claim.
Additionally, attention is directed to MPEP 2111.01 [R-01.2024], wherein is stated:
II. IT IS IMPROPER TO IMPORT CLAIM LIMITATIONS FROM THE SPECIFICATION
“Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim. For example, a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment.” Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Attention is also directed to MPEP 2111.02 II [R-07.2022]. As stated herein:
II. PREAMBLE STATEMENTS RECITING PURPOSE OR INTENDED USE
The claim preamble must be read in the context of the entire claim. The determination of whether preamble recitations are structural limitations or mere statements of purpose or use "can be resolved only on review of the entirety of the [record] to gain an understanding of what the inventors actually invented and intended to encompass by the claim" as drafted without importing "'extraneous' limitations from the specification." Corning Glass Works, 868 F.2d at 1257, 9 USPQ2d at 1966. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (The court found that the preamble in one patent’s claim is limiting but is not in a related patent); Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation")… (Emphasis added)
Attention is directed to MPEP 2111 [R-10.2019]. As stated therein:
During patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." The Federal Circuit’s en banc decision in Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005) expressly recognized that the USPTO employs the "broadest reasonable interpretation" standard:
The Patent and Trademark Office ("PTO") determines the scope of claims in patent applications not solely on the basis of the claim language, but upon giving claims their broadest reasonable construction "in light of the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art." In re Am. Acad. of Sci. Tech. Ctr., 367 F.3d 1359, 1364[, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1830] (Fed. Cir. 2004). Indeed, the rules of the PTO require that application claims must "conform to the invention as set forth in the remainder of the specification and the terms and phrases used in the claims must find clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description." 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1). (Emphasis added).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, (b) / Second Paragraph
Standard for Definiteness.
Attention is directed to MPEP 2171 [R-11.2013]:
Two separate requirements are set forth in 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, namely that:
(A) the claims must set forth the subject matter that the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention; and
(B) the claims must particularly point out and distinctly define the metes and bounds of the subject matter to be protected by the patent grant.
The first requirement is a subjective one because it is dependent on what the inventor or a joint inventor for a patent regards as his or her invention. Note that although pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, uses the phrase "which applicant regards as his invention," pre-AIA 37 CFR 1.41(a) provides that a patent is applied for in the name or names of the actual inventor or inventors.
The second requirement is an objective one because it is not dependent on the views of the inventor or any particular individual, but is evaluated in the context of whether the claim is definite — i.e., whether the scope of the claim is clear to a hypothetical person possessing the ordinary level of skill in the pertinent art.
Attention is directed to MPEP 2173.02 I [R-07.2022]:
During prosecution, applicant has an opportunity and a duty to amend ambiguous claims to clearly and precisely define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. The claim places the public on notice of the scope of the patentee’s right to exclude. See, e.g., Johnson & Johnston Assoc. Inc. v. R.E. Serv. Co., 285 F.3d 1046, 1052, 62 USPQ2d 1225, 1228 (Fed. Cir. 2002) (en banc). As the Federal Circuit stated in Halliburton Energy Servs., Inc. v. M-I LLC, 514 F.3d 1244, 1255, 85 USPQ2d 1654, 1663 (Fed. Cir. 2008):
“We note that the patent drafter is in the best position to resolve the ambiguity in the patent claims, and it is highly desirable that patent examiners demand that applicants do so in appropriate circumstances so that the patent can be amended during prosecution rather than attempting to resolve the ambiguity in litigation.”
***
During examination, after applying the broadest reasonable interpretation to the claim, if the metes and bounds of the claimed invention are not clear, the claim is indefinite and should be rejected. Packard, 751 F.3d at 1310 (“[W]hen the USPTO has initially issued a well-grounded rejection that identifies ways in which language in a claim is ambiguous, vague, incoherent, opaque, or otherwise unclear in describing and defining the claimed invention, and thereafter the applicant fails to provide a satisfactory response, the USPTO can properly reject the claim as failing to meet the statutory requirements of § 112(b).”); Zletz, 893 F.2d at 322, 13 USPQ2d at 1322.
Attention is also directed to MPEP 2173.02 III B, which states in part:
To comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, applicants are required to make the terms that are used to define the invention clear and precise, so that the metes and bounds of the subject matter that will be protected by the patent grant can be ascertained. See MPEP § 2173.05(a), subsection I. It is important that a person of ordinary skill in the art be able to interpret the metes and bounds of the claims so as to understand how to avoid infringement of the patent that ultimately issues from the application being examined. See MPEP § 2173.02, subsection II (citing Morton Int ’l, Inc. v. Cardinal Chem. Co., 5 F.3d 1464, 1470 (Fed. Cir. 1993)); see also Halliburton Energy Servs., 514 F.3d at 1249, 85 USPQ2d at 1658 (“Otherwise, competitors cannot avoid infringement, defeating the public notice function of patent claims.”). Examiners should bear in mind that “[a]n essential purpose of patent examination is to fashion claims that are precise, clear, correct, and unambiguous. Only in this way can uncertainties of claim scope be removed, as much as possible, during the administrative process.” Zletz, 893 F.2d at 322, 13 USPQ2d at 1322 [Fed. Cir. 1989]. (Emphasis added)
Attention is also directed to MPEP 2173.04 [R-10.2019], which states in part:
A broad claim is not indefinite merely because it encompasses a wide scope of subject matter provided the scope is clearly defined. But a claim is indefinite when the boundaries of the protected subject matter are not clearly delineated and the scope is unclear. For example, a genus claim that covers multiple species is broad, but is not indefinite because of its breadth, which is otherwise clear. But a genus claim that could be interpreted in such a way that it is not clear which species are covered would be indefinite (e.g., because there is more than one reasonable interpretation of what species are included in the claim). (Emphasis added)
Holding and Rationale
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12, 14-15, 17, 19-21, 23-25, and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite with respect to what constitutes the metes and bounds of “an effective amount” and “a sample”.
Claim 1 is deemed to be incomplete as the claim is to “a method of removing RNA from a sample” yet there is no step where anything is removed from any sample. Rather, the claim comprise but a single step and then something more is added to the sample.
Claim 1 is indefinite with respect to just which type(s) of RNA, e.g., mRNA, rRNA, tRNA, viral RNA, mitochondrial RNA, is/are encompassed by the claim.
Claim 1 is indefinite with respect to just how much of which type(s) of RNA is removed.
Claims 2-5, 7-10, 12, 14-15, 17, 19-21, and 23-24, which depend from claim 1, fail to overcome the above identified issues and are similarly rejected.
Claims 20, 21, 25, and 53 are indefinite with respect to just which DNA sequence(s) from which organism(s), if any, is/are encompassed by the claims. Said claims are also deemed to be indefinite with respect to whether the DNA sequence(s) is/are coding or non-coding sequence(s), and if coding, just which gene(s) in which organism(s) is/are encompassed by the claims.
The term "about" in claims 10, 12, 15 and 17 is a relative term which renders the claim(s) indefinite. The term "about” is not defined by the claim(s), the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Attention is directed to MPEP 2173.05(b) III A, which states in part:
In determining the range encompassed by the term "about", one must consider the context of the term as it is used in the specification and claims of the application. Ortho-McNeil Pharm., Inc. v. Caraco Pharm. Labs., Ltd., 476 F.3d 1321, 1326, 81 USPQ2d 1427, 1432 (Fed. Cir. 2007). In< W. L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), the court held that a limitation defining the stretch rate of a plastic as “exceeding about 10% per second” is definite because infringement could clearly be assessed through the use of a stopwatch. However, the court held that claims reciting “at least about” were invalid for indefiniteness where there was close prior art and there was nothing in the specification, prosecution history, or the prior art to provide any indication as to what range of specific activity is covered by the term “about.” Amgen, Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., 927 F.2d 1200, 18 USPQ2d 1016 (Fed. Cir. 1991).
"The use of the word 'about,' avoids a strict numerical boundary to the specified parameter." Ortho-McNeil Pharmaceutical, Inc. v. Caraco Pharmaceutical Laboratories, Ltd., 476 F.3d 1321, 1326 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (quoting Pall Corp. v. Micron Separations, Inc., 66 F.3d 1211, 1217 (Fed. Cir. 1995)); see also In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343 (Fed. Cir. 2005) ("[U]se of the term 'about' shows that the applicants did not intend to limit the claimed ranges to their exact end-points."). However, "the word 'about' does not have a universal meaning in patent claims[;]" rather, "the meaning depends on the technological facts of the particular case." Pall Corp., 66 F.3d at 1217; see also Eiselstein v. Frank, 52 F.3d 1035, 1040 (Fed. Cir. 1995) ("The meaning of the word 'about' is dependent on the facts of a case, the nature of the invention, and the knowledge imparted by the totality of the.., disclosure to those skilled in the art."). Thus, in evaluating the scope of the "about," it is appropriate to look how the Specification and other claims use the term, as well as considering the effects of varying the parameter described by the term. Pall Corp., 66 F.3d at 1217.
Claim 53 is indefinite with respect to just which type(s) of “probes” and “reagents” is/are encompassed by the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, Written Description
Standard for Written Description.
Attention is directed to MPEP 2163.02 Standard for Determining Compliance With the Written Description Requirement [R-07-2022]:
An objective standard for determining compliance with the written description requirement is, "does the description clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed." In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989). Under Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1117 (Fed. Cir. 1991), to satisfy the written description requirement, an applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention, and that the invention, in that context, is whatever is now claimed. (Emphasis added)
Attention is also set directed to MPEP 2161.01 I [R-07-2022], wherein is stated:
For instance, generic claim language in the original disclosure does not satisfy the written description requirement if it fails to support the scope of the genus claimed. Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1349-50, 94 USPQ2d at 1171 ("[A]n adequate written description of a claimed genus requires more than a generic statement of an invention’s boundaries.") (citing Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1405-06); Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe, Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 968, 63 USPQ2d 1609, 1616 (Fed. Cir. 2002) (holding that generic claim language appearing in ipsis verbis in the original specification did not satisfy the written description requirement because it failed to support the scope of the genus claimed); Fiers v. Revel, 984 F.2d 1164, 1170, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (Fed. Cir. 1993) (rejecting the argument that "only similar language in the specification or original claims is necessary to satisfy the written description requirement").
As set forth in Fiers v. Revel 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1604-5 (CAFC, January 1993):
We thus determined that, irrespective of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation employed, conception of a DNA, like conception of any chemical substance, requires a definition of that substance other than by its functional utility.
Fiers' attempt to distinguish Amgen therefore is incorrect. We also reject Fiers' argument that the existence of a workable method for preparing a DNA establishes conception of that material. (Emphasis added)
Conception of a substance claimed per se without reference to a process requires conception of its structure, name, formula, or definitive chemical or physical properties...
The difficulty that would arise if we were to hold that a conception occurs when one has only an idea of a compound, defining it by its hoped-for function, is that would-be inventors would file patent applications before they had made their inventions and before they could describe them. That is not consistent with the statute or the policy behind the statute, which is to promote disclosure of inventions.
Attention is also directed to MPEP 2163 Guidelines for the Examination of Patent Applications Under the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or Pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, “Written Description” Requirement [R-01-2024], at part II ii):
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice (see i)(A) above), reduction to drawings (see i)(B) above), or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the inventor was in possession of the claimed genus (see i)(C) above). See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406. See Juno Therapeutics, Inc. v. Kite Pharma, Inc., 10 F.4th 1330, 1337, 2021 USPQ2d 893 (Fed. Cir. 2021) ( "[T]he written description must lead a person of ordinary skill in the art to understand that the inventor possessed the entire scope of the claimed invention. Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1353–54 ('[T]he purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the scope of the right to exclude, as set forth in the claims, does not overreach the scope of the inventor's contribution to the field of art as described in the patent specification.' (internal quotation marks omitted).") (Emphasis added)
Attention is also directed to the decision of University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co. (CA FC, July 1997) 43 USPQ2d 1398 wherein is stated:
In claims involving chemical materials, generic formulas usually indicate with specificity what the generic claims encompass. One skilled in the art can distinguish such a formula from others and can identify many of the species that the claims encompass. Accordingly, such a formula is normally an adequate written description of the claimed genus. In claims to genetic material, however, a generic statement such as “vertebrate insulin cDNA” or “mammalian cDNA,” without more, is not an adequate written description of the genus because it does not distinguish the claimed genus from others, except by function. It does not specifically define any of the genes that fall within its definition. It does not define any structural features commonly possessed by members of the genus that distinguish them from others. One skilled in the art therefore cannot, as one can do with a fully described genus, visualize or recognize the identity of the members of the genus. A definition by function, as we have previously indicated, does not suffice to define the genus because it is only an indication of what the gene does, rather than what it is See Fiers, 984 F.2d at 1169-71, 25 USPQ2d at 1605-06 (discussing Amgen). It is only a definition of a useful result rather than a definition of what it achieves as a result. Many such genes may achieve that result. The description requirement of the patent statute requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention. See In re Wilder, 736 F.2d 1516, 222 USPQ 369, 372-373 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (affirming rejection because the specification does “little more than outlin[e] goals appellants hope the claimed invention achieves and the problems the invention will hopefully ameliorate.”). Accordingly, naming a type of material generally known to exist, in the absence of knowledge as to what that material consists of, is not a description of that material.
Thus, as we have previously held, a cDNA is not defined or described by the mere name cDNA,” even if accompanied by the name of the protein that it encodes, but requires a kind of specificity usually achieved by means of the recitation of the sequence of nucleotides that make up the cDNA. See Fiers, 984 F.2d at 1171, 25 USPQ2d at 1606.
Acknowledgement is made of the fact that claims 1-5, 7-10, 12, 14-15, 17, 19-21, and 23-25 are to a method and not to a product. However, it is well settled that in order to satisfy the written description for a method, one must also disclose the molecules required to perform the method. In support of this position attention is directed to University of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co. 68 USPQ2D 1424 (W.D.N.Y. 2003) at 1433 (affirmed; University of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co. 69 USPQ2d 1886 (Fed. Cir. 2004)):
Plaintiff also argues that the requirements for written descriptions of claims to chemical compounds are irrelevant to this case because the '850 patent does not claim a compound, but a method of treatment by targeting PGHS-2 activity over PGHS-1 activity. Virtually any compound claim could be transformed into a method claim, however, simply by means of wording the claim in terms of a method of using the compound. With respect to the issue before the Court, then, this is little more than a semantic distinction without a difference. The claimed method depends upon finding a compound that selectively inhibits PGHS-2 activity. Without such a compound, it is impossible to practice the claimed method of treatment. It means little to “invent” a method if one does not have possession of a substance that is essential to practicing that method. Without that substance, the claimed invention is more theoretical than real; it is, as defendants argue, akin to “inventing” a cure for cancer by utilizing a substance that attacks and destroys cancer cells while leaving healthy cells alone. Without possession of such a substance, such a “cure” is illusory, and there is no meaningful possession of the method.
***
What the inventors did not do, however, is succeed in taking the last, critical step of actually isolating such a compound, or at least of developing a process through which one skilled in the art would be directly led to such a compound. Absent that step, their discoveries, valuable though they might have been, did not blossom into a full-fledged, complete invention. Scientific discoveries, and theories based on those discoveries, frequently lay the groundwork for later inventions, but that does not make the discoverer the inventor as well.
Attention is also directed to the decision in Ariad Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co.
(Fed. Cir. 2010) 94 USPQ2d 1161, 1175, which teaches:
In accordance with Rochester, the ?516 patent must adequately describe the claimed methods for reducing NF-?B activity, including adequate description of the molecules that Ariad admits are necessary to perform the methods. (Emphasis added)
Holding and Rationale
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12, 14-15, 17, 19-21, 23-25, and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 2. 20, 21, 25, and 53 are deemed to be representative and, for convenience, are reproduced below.
A review of the disclosure of the instant application fails to find any Sequence Listing, much less a Sequence Listing that comprises a representative number of sequences, be they DNA or RNA, and which are found in virtually any organism and which has a specific and substantial utility. Likewise, the disclosure has not been found to disclose the nucleotide sequence for any probe that would be used to detect any RNA or “target DNA”. Such non-disclosure of such essential materials has not been found to satisfy the written description requirements, and does not reasonably suggest that applicant, as of the effective priority date, was in possession of all aspects of the claimed invention.
In view of the above analysis and in the absence of convincing evidence to the contrary, claims 1-5, 7-10, 12, 14-15, 17, 19-21, 23-25, and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 25 and 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6,503,716 B1 (Lai et al.).
For convenience claims 1, 2, 25 and 53 of the instant application are reproduced below.
Lai et al., in the abstract, teach:
The present invention provides aqueous compositions comprising sodium metasilicate and an ether and methods of using the compositions to extract a nucleic acid from a cell, virus or other source. The extracted nucleic acids can be used for a variety of purposes, including as a source of template DNA for a polymerase chain reaction. (Emphasis added)
Lai et al. clearly teach the active step “contacting the sample with an effective amount of sodium metasilicate” recited in claim 1 and “the sample is a biological sample” recited in claim 2. The preamble “A method of removing RNA from a sample” recited in claim 1 reasonably encompasses “extract a nucleic acid from a cell” taught by US 6,503,716 B1 (Lai et al.).
The aspect of using the composition to extract nucleic acids from a cell is deemed to fairly teach “contacting the sample with sodium metasilicate”.
Below is claim 27 of the Lai et al. patent:
27. A kit, comprising a nucleic acid extraction reagent and a PCR primer, wherein the nucleic acid extraction reagent comprises about 0.1 wt % to about 18 wt sodium metasilicate and about 0.05 wt % to 80 wt % of a water soluble substituted ether having a total of from 2 to 12 carbon atoms and has a pH in the range of about pH 7 to about pH 10.
The ”PCR primer” is deemed to constitute a probe which could be elongated/extended once bound to the target/complementary sequence. At the very least, it clearly does constitute a >>reagent<< that could be used in “detecting a target DNA”.
In view of the above presentation and in the absence of convincing evidence to the contrary, claims 1, 2, 25 and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6,503,716 B1 (Lai et al.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Standard for Obviousness.
Attention is directed to In re Jung, 98 USPQ2d 1174, 1178 (Fed. Cir. 2011) wherein is stated:
There has never been a requirement for an examiner to make an on-the-record claim construction of every term in every rejected claim and to explain every possible difference between the prior art and the claimed invention in order to make out a prima facie rejection. This court declines to create such a burdensome and unnecessary requirement. “[Section 132] does not mandate that in order to establish prima facie anticipation, the PTO must explicitly preempt every possible response to a section 102 rejection. Section 132 merely ensures that an applicant at least be informed of the broad statutory basis for the rejection of his claims, so that he may determine what the issues are on which he can or should produce evidence.” Chester, 906 F.2d at 1578 (internal citation omitted). As discussed above, all that is required of the office to meet its prima facie burden of production is to set forth the statutory basis of the rejection and the reference or references relied upon in a sufficiently articulate and informative manner as to meet the notice requirement of § 132. As the statute itself instructs, the examiner must “notify the applicant,” “stating the reasons for such rejection,” “together with such information and references as may be useful in judging the propriety of continuing prosecution of his application.” 35 U.S.C. § 132.
Attention is directed to the decision in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007):
When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
It is further noted that prior art is not limited to the four corners of the documentary prior art being applied. Prior art includes both the specialized understanding of one of ordinary skill in the art, and the common understanding of the layman. It includes “background knowledge possessed by a person having ordinary skill in the art. . . [A] court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR at 1396.
Suggestion, teaching or motivation does not have to be explicit and “may be found in any number of sources, including common knowledge, the prior art as a whole or the nature of the problem itself’” Pfizer, Inc. v. Apotex, Inc. 480 F.3d 1348, 82 USPQ2d 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2007) citing Dystar Textilfarben GMBH v. C. H. Patrick Co., 464 F.3d 1356 (Fed. Cir. 2006).
Holding and Rationale
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12, 14-15, 17, 19-21, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6,503,716 B1 (Lai et al.), in view of US 8,420,073 B2 (Tsuji et al.) and US 6,387,618 B1 (Kolanko et al.).
Lai et al., in the abstract, teach:
The present invention provides aqueous compositions comprising sodium metasilicate and an ether and methods of using the compositions to extract a nucleic acid from a cell, virus or other source. The extracted nucleic acids can be used for a variety of purposes, including as a source of template DNA for a polymerase chain reaction. (Emphasis added)
Lai et al., at column 4, third paragraph, teach:
In a preferred embodiment, the composition comprises between about 0.85% (w/w) to about 4% (w/w) sodium metasilicate. (Emphasis added)
The aspect of having sodium metasilicate at a concentration that ranges from 0.85 (w/w) to 4% (w/w) is deemed to fairly suggest values of “about 50 mM to about 200 mM” (claim 10).
Lai et al., at column 4, sixth paragraph, teach:
In another preferred embodiment, the composition has a pH in the range of about 7 or greater. (Emphasis added)
The above showing is deemed to fairly suggest limitations of claim 12.
Lai et al., at column 3, last paragraph, bridging to column 4, teach:
The types of biological sources from which a nucleic acid may be isolated using the method of the invention are virtually limitless. For example, the nucleic acid may be isolated from a microorganism such as a bacterium (e.g., a eubacterium or an archaebacterium), virus, retrovirus, or eukaryote (e.g., yeast or other fungus). The microorganism can be a pathogenic microorganism. The nucleic acid also can be isolated from, for example, a plant or animal cell (e.g., a human cell). The cell or virus from which the nucleic acid is isolated can be part of virtually any type of sample. For example, the cell or virus can be part of a food, clinical, forensic, agricultural or environmental sample. These samples can comprise, for example, a bodily fluid (e.g., blood, semen, saliva), a tissue or other sample taken from a subject (e.g., a biopsy), dirt, water, or any other solid or liquid matter known to contain, or suspected of containing, a cell or virus. (Emphasis added)
The above presentation is deemed to fairly suggest limitations of claims 2-4, 7, and 8.
Lai et al., at column 9, last paragraph, teach:
In its broadest sense, the method of the invention extracts all nucleic acids from all sources within the sample. If the operator wishes to separate a particular nucleic acid from the others, one or more additional steps can be added. For example, the isolated nucleic acids can be run on an agarose or polyacrylamide gel to separate the nucleic acids by size or topology. RNA or DNA can be removed by contacting the isolated nucleic acids with, respectively, RNAse or DNAse. Alternatively, the nucleic acid extraction reagent may include an RNAse or DNAse as desired, provided that the contacting step is performed at a temperature that does not denature or otherwise deleteriously affect the activity of the enzyme. A hybridization step can be added to separate nucleic acids according to their sequences. All of these various additional steps are conventional and will be apparent to those of skill in the art. (Emphasis added)
The aspect of removing any and all RNA is deemed to fairly encompass mRNA (claim 24).
The above showing is deemed to fairly suggest limitations of claims 1, 24, and 25.
Lai et al., at column 8, last paragraph, teach including a heating step. As disclosed therein:
Thus, the temperature used should not be so high as to denature or otherwise degrade the nucleic acids to be extracted. Typically, temperatures ranging from ambient (approx. 25.degree. C.) to about 120.degree. C., more typically from about 55.degree. C. to about 100.degree. C. yield good results, although, as indicated above, the method works with temperatures below ambient temperature. The mixture can be heated during the contact step using any method or apparatus known in the art, for example, a heated water bath, a heating block, or a thermocycler. (Emphasis added)
The above showing is deemed to fairly suggest limitations of claims 14 and 15.
While Lai et al., do teach of detecting nucleic acids via hybridization, they have not been found to teach performing DNA in situ hybridization (claim 21).
Tsuji et al., at column 10, paragraphs 6-7, teach:
Examples of the analysis employing the nucleic acid fragment of the present invention as a probe include in situ hybridization and dot blot hybridization. Of these, in situ hybridization is preferred as a rapid analytical method, since it requires no step of extracting nucleic acid contained in a specimen. More preferably, FISH, employing a nucleic acid fragment labeled with a fluorescent dye, is employed.
Specifically, FISH may be performed through the following steps: (1) a step of fixing a specimen with formaldehyde or formalin; (2) a step of applying the fixed specimen onto a glass slide or membrane filter; (3) a step of performing hybridization with a nucleic acid fragment labeled with the fluorescent dye; (4) a step of washing out the nucleic acid fragment remaining after hybridization and non-specifically bound nucleic acid fragments; and (5) a step of visually observing the hybridization results under a fluorescence microscope or taking an image thereof by means of a CCD camera or a similar apparatus.
The above showing is deemed to fairly suggest limitations of claim 20 and 21.
Kolanko et al., at column 5, bridging to column 6, teaches performing a version of an in situ hybridization reaction. As disclosed therein:
Each slide was incubate[d] for 5 minutes at 70° C. on a heating block to denature both cellular and probe DNA and then immediately placed on a second heating block pre-equilibrated to 37° C for 55 minutes. (Emphasis added)
Kolanko et al., in the same paragraph, teach that the slides were subsequently washed.
The above showing is deemed to fairly suggest limitations of claims 14, 15, 17 and 19.
In view of the above presentation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have used sodium metasilicate in a method of removing RNA from a cellular/tissue/biological sample (Lai et al.) and to have subsequently used the treated sample in a variety of assays, including in situ hybridization, as is disclosed by both Tsuji et al., and Kolanko et al. In view of the significant interest in detecting nucleic acids in a variety of different samples, said ordinary artisan would have been amply motivated and would have had a most reasonable expectation of success.
In view of the above analysis and in the absence of convincing evidence to the contrary, claims 1-5, 7-10, 12, 14-15, 17, 19-21, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6,503,716 B1 (Lai et al.), in view of US 8,420,073 B2 (Tsuji et al.) and US 6,387,618 B1 (Kolanko et al.).
Conclusion
/Bradley L. Sisson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682