DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
In regards to applicant’s remarks on pages 8-9 filed on 12/19/2025, applicant states that the search burden is reduced due to overlap of claim limitations. This is not found persuasive because establishment of a search burden is used to determine whether the Office may require restriction in national applications filed under 35 (U.S.C. 111(a). The analysis used to determine whether the Office may require restriction differs in national stage applications submitted under 35 U.S.C. 371 (unity of invention analysis) as compared to national applications filed under 35 U.S.C. 111(a) (independent and distinct analysis). See MPEP Chapter 1800, in particular MPEP § 1850, § 1875, and § 1893.03(d), for a detailed discussion of unity of invention under the Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT).
Claim Interpretation
In regards to claims 12 and 13, the claims are interpreted that the selection of the specific ammonium or phosphorous ion is dependent on what ion is already present in the invention and does not have to include both components.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dinnage (US20120204717A1).
In regards to claim 1, Dinnage teaches the removal of CO2 using a carboxylate (Abstract, “Also, a method and apparatus for capturing CO from flue gas with very low water vapor content”; Para. 0095, “may be carboxylate of the generic form (Vd) R" COO, wherein R' may be one organic, saturated, unsaturated, acyclic, cyclic, aliphatic, aromatic or araliphatic moiety comprising carbon or hydrogen and having one to thirty (30) carbon atoms, which may comprise one or more heteroatoms and/or which may be substituted by one or more functional groups or halogen”)
Where the carboxylate radical can have more than 6 carbon atoms (Para. 0101, “The anion can be written in the form [RCO2-], wherein [RCO2-] is a carboxylate and wherein R is a radical out of the group consisting of C1-C30-alkyl, C3-C12-cy-cloalkyl, C2-C30-alkenyl, C3-C12-cycloalkenyl, C2-C30-alkinyl, aryl and heteroaryl. The moiety or radical R may comprise or include one or more halogen radicals”; Para. 0095, “may be carboxylate of the generic form (Vd) R" COO, wherein R' may be one organic, saturated, unsaturated, acyclic, cyclic, aliphatic, aromatic or araliphatic moiety comprising carbon or hydrogen and having one to thirty (30) carbon atoms, which may comprise one or more heteroatoms and/or which may be substituted by one or more functional groups or halogen”)
And the cation is a quaternary ammonium or a piperidinum ion (Para. 0107, “The cation may be a quaternary or protonated cation chosen from the group consisting of ammonium, phosphonium, Sulfonium, piperidinium, pyrrolidinium and morpho-linium”).
Dinnage also teaches that the substituted groups for the ammonium ion can fuflill the formula as claimed (Para. 0073, “R1, R1`, R2, and R3 may be alkyl, alkenyl, alkinyl, cycloalkyl, cycloalkenyl, aryl or heteroaryl, which may be independently substituted”; Para. 0075).
In regards to claims 9 and 10, Dinnage teaches that the carboxylate radical can have a carbon atom number of 7-20 (Para. 0095, “may be carboxylate of the generic form (Vd) R" COO, wherein R' may be one organic, saturated, unsaturated, acyclic, cyclic, aliphatic, aromatic or araliphatic moiety comprising carbon or hydrogen and having one to thirty (30) carbon atoms, which may comprise one or more heteroatoms and/or which may be substituted by one or more functional groups or halogen”).
In regards to claim 12, Dinnage teaches that the quarternary ammonium ion can be tetramethylammonium and tributylmethl ammonium(Para. 0108, “The cation may be one chosen from the group consisting of trialkylmethylammonium, tetramethylammonium, triethylmethylammonium, tributylmethylammonium, trioctylmethylammonium, trialkylammonium, trimethylammonium, triethylammonium, tributylammonium, and triocty-lammonium. The trialkylmethylammonium may be a C1-C10-trialkylmethylammonium”).
In regards to claim 13, Dinnage teaches an N-substituted piperidinium cation and imidazolium cation which fulfills the structure formula as claimed [0038].
In regards to claim 14, Dinnage teaches that there are straight aliphatic chains with 1-10 carbon atoms, with methyl being an aliphatic chain with 1 carbon as discussed in [0038].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Dinnage (US20120204717A1) is considered to be the closest prior art to the instant invention.
In regards to claim 11, Dinnage does not teach that the carboxylate radical is selected from 2,2-dimethylhexanoate, 2-ethylhexanoate, 2-ethylheptanoate, 2-propylpentanoate, 2- propylhexanoate, 2-propylnonanoate, 2-butyloctanoate and 2-hexyldecanoate.
/JAANZEB C RAJA/Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/STUART L HENDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736