DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
2. This Office action is considered fully responsive to the amendments filed 03/03/2026. Claims 1-2, 6-8, 14, 16, 18, 20-21, 23, 26-29, 44, 46-49 are pending in the application. Claims 1-2, 6-8, 14, 16, 18, 20-21, 23, 26-29, 44 have been amended, claims 3, 5, 12, 45 have been cancelled, and claims 46-49 have been added.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed on 03/03/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of (US-20150092879-A1) and (US-20170070374-A1).
A) Regarding independent claims 1, 26 and 44, see the U.S.C. 103 rejection below.
B) Regarding all dependent claims, see the U.S.C. 103 rejection below. The Claim Rejections section below details the rejections of the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 2, 14, 18, 20, 21, 23, 26-27, 44 and 46-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al, (US-20200145967-A1) in view of Yeo et al. (US-20210321414-A1), further in view of Mansour et al. (US-20150092879-A1).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Park teaches a baseband processor of a base station, the baseband processor configured to (Fig. 3 shows a BS and a wireless device, [0254]-[0258], [0265], lines 3-16, and [0266] illustrate the baseband processor of a network entity such as the Base Station BS or User Equipment UE, responsible for encoding , processing, modulation, and managing the data across physical layer transmission events: encode a physical layer transmission in a physical layer encapsulation of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) [0273], lines 1-12, states ” A transport channel may be mapped to one or more corresponding physical channels. A UL-SCH 501 may be mapped to a Physical Uplink Shared CHannel (PUSCH) 503. A RACH 502 may be mapped to a PRACH 505. A DL-SCH 511 and a PCH 512 may be mapped to a Physical Downlink Shared CHannel (PDSCH) 514”, where PDSCH can be used for transmitting the data to the UE as stated in [0287], lines 15-18, [0275], lines 1-4. Figs. 4 and [0265], lines 3-16 states “The one or more functions may comprise: scrambling of coded bits in a codeword to be transmitted on a physical channel (e.g., by Scrambling); modulation of scrambled bits to generate complex-valued modulation symbols (e.g., by a Modulation mapper); mapping of the complex-valued modulation symbols ….. may be implemented) which describes encoding data before modulation as a part of physical layer transmission process, figure 4 (A-C) show the scrambling, modulation, transform precoding, and resource mapping. [0231], lines 13-21, [0296], lines 12-14, [0468], lines 18-21, describe the process of physical layer encapsulation of PDSCH and PUSCH, which can include scrambling, modulation, precoding, signal generation, and reference signals for coherent demodulation), and provide the physical layer transmission via the PDSCH (Fig. 5B and [0273], lines 9-12, states “ A DL-SCH 511 and a PCH 512 may be mapped to a Physical Downlink Shared CHannel (PDSCH) 514. A BCH 513 may be mapped to a Physical Broadcast CHannel (PBCH) 516.” [0274], lines 1-14 and [0287] states “The wireless device may receive one or more downlink data packets on one or more PDSCH scheduled by the one or more PDCCHs, for example, if the wireless device successfully detects the one or more PDCCHs.” That implies providing physical layer transmission mechanisms in the radio network by using PDSCH).
Park does not explicitly teach the physical layer encapsulation comprising a first transport block (TB) and a second TB with unequal protection levels.
However, Yeo teaches the physical layer encapsulation comprising a first transport block (TB) and a second TB with unequal protection levels (Fig. 11 and [0119], state “one PDSCH may include a plurality of TBs, and the TBs may be mapped to different frequency bands to be transmitted” and describe an example of two TBs, which may include the first and second TBs, are simultaneously transmitted and mapped to different frequency bands. [0028], describes TBs are allocated to resource regions with different channel conditions which allows the BS to apply several levels of protection to each TB, such as: [0060], lines 1-7 modulation and coding schemes MCSs, [0119] using SINR with stronger error protections and [0073] encoded with MCs which determines the modulation order e.g., QPSK, 16QAM, 64QAM, or 256QAM, and a coding rate value capable of indicating TBS and channel coding information may be indicated. [0015] and Fig. 5 illustrates an example in which coding is performed by applying outer code, as states in [0105] “the second channel code may refer to Reed-Solomon code, BCH code, Raptor code, parity bit generation code, or the like”. Using Code blocks CBs as states in [0108] which states “an example in which one TB is divided into a plurality of CBs, and a second channel code or outer code is applied to the CBs to generate one or more parity code blocks,”. [0066] describes how to apply a dynamic scheduling via DCI for the TBs for enabling unequal protection based on channel conditions of the allocated resources , claim 1 , lines 3-5. [0153] and [0151] illustrate using the layer based mapping and frequency resources allocation for unequal protection of TBs. [0119] states an example “assuming that TB 1 is mapped to a domain having a high reception SINR and TB 2 is mapped to a domain having a low reception SINR, TB 1 and TB 2 may be respectively coded with a high MCS and a low MCS and then transmitted.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park to include the physical layer encapsulation comprising different transport blocks (TBs) based on an unequal protection between the different TBs in the physical layer encapsulation of the PDSCH,, as taught by Yeo, in combination with the system of Park, to optimize the transmission of TBs, ensuring the reliability with maximizing data rates in preferred conditions (Yeo, [0117], lines 12-15).
Park and Yeo do not explicitly teach encode the first TB based on a least significant bit of a constellation point; encode the second TB based on one or more remaining bits of the constellation point to provide the second TB with a lesser protection level relative to the first TB.
However, Mansour teaches encode the first TB based on a least significant bit of a constellation point; encode the second TB based on one or more remaining bits of the constellation point to provide the second TB with a lesser protection level relative to the first TB. ([0021] states “in reality, more protection is needed for the least significant bits in the data being transmitted, [0022] states “stronger protection can be provided to a number of least significant bits in the symbols being transmitted, which are the bits more vulnerable to errors. Weaker protection can be provided to at least some of the remaining bits in the data being transmitted, which are the bits less vulnerable to errors.” That implies the least significant bits of the constellation points are more likely to be changed between the neighbor symbols (more exposed to error), hence, needs high level of protection (strongest coding) for the data to be transmission (e.g., first TB), which can be achieved using different coding techniques, such as LDPC for the LSBs and BCH to the remaining bits, as described in [0022] and claim 9. Moreover, [0023] provides this technique allowing the system to prioritize reliability for specific bits or TBs, see also [0058] and [0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park in view of Yeo to include encoding, via the processor, the first TB based on a least significant bit of a constellation point; encoding, via the processor, the second TB based on one or more remaining bits of the constellation point to provide the second TB with a lesser protection level relative to the first TB, as taught by Mansour, in combination with the system of Park and Yeo, to provide a flexible choice between many levels of protection for different bits, which helps to improve spectral efficiency and increase system speed and throughput. (Mansour, [0023] and [0066]).
Regarding claim 2 (Currently Amended), Park, Yeo and Mansour teach the baseband processor of claim 1.
Park further teaches wherein the first and second TBs are medium access control protocol data units (MAC PDUs) ([0239], lines 25-29, states “The MAC layer at the wireless device may multiplex one or more MAC CEs and/or one or more MAC SDUs (e.g., logical channel) in a MAC PDU (e.g., transport block). “ that is the MAC layer multiplexes MAC SDUs (service data units) and MAC Control Elements CES into MAC PDUs (e.g., transport blocks) which are then delivered to the physical layer for transmission
of physical layer encapsulation of PDSCH and PUSCH, which can include scrambling, modulation, precoding, signal generation, and reference signals for coherent demodulation).
Regarding claim 14 (Currently Amended), Park, Yeo and Mansour teach the baseband processor of claim 1.
Park further teaches wherein the baseband processor is further configured to: partition the first and second TBs of the physical layer encapsulation with different portions of at least one of ([0443], lines 14-20, describe the partitioning the TBs, which include first and second TBs, into different portion using different mechanisms, [0507] states “Radio resources may be partitioned between the first cell and the second cell. The radio resources may be partitioned, for example, based on at least one of a TDM, an FDM, and/or an SDM (e.g., spatial multiplexing, beam based multiplexing)): spatial, time or frequency resources among the first and second TBs of the physical layer encapsulation ([0297], lines 6-8 and lines 11-12, [0348], lines 7-10, [0462], lines 1-18, and [0493], lines 3-5, TBs, which include first and second TBs, may be partitioning including different types based on special (beams), time slots or frequency partitioning as states “The radio resources may be partitioned, for example, based on TDM, FDM, and/or SDM (e.g., spatial multiplexing, beam based multiplexing, etc.)”).
Regarding claim 18 (Currently Amended), Park, Yeo and Mansour teach the baseband processor of claim 1.
Park further teaches wherein the baseband processor is further configured to partition different spatial layers with the first and second TBs of the physical layer encapsulation ([0486], lines 10-32 describes antenna port field that specified the spatial layers (antenna ports) used for transmitting TBs, which includes first and second TBs, to enable the partitioning of TBs through different layers using TCI , [0298] also states “ A base station 120 may sweep a set of different Tx beams, for example, for beamforming at a base station 120 (such as shown in the top row, in a counter-clockwise direction).“ That indicates mapping TBs for specific spatial layers or beams), wherein the first TB is associated with a first set of spatial layers having a greater reliability than a second set of spatial layers associated with the second TB ([0214], [0282], lines 5-13, states “Different types of services may have different service requirements (e.g., data rate, latency, reliability), which may be suitable for transmission via different component carriers having different subcarrier spacing and/or different bandwidth.” [0293], lines 5-15, and [0294], lines 1-4, antenna port configurations and special Quis-Co-Location (QCL) can be used for special multiplexing, Transmission Configuration Indication (TCL) can indicate the special transmission configuration for different layers. Different component carrier can be configured with varying characteristics like reliability, latency and data rate. The PDCH can be monitored on multiple beam pair links with using higher layer signaling and special QCL parameters), wherein the first set of spatial layers comprises two spatial layers associated with one or more demodulation reference signal (DMRS) indices of the first TB and the second set of spatial layers comprises another two spatial layers ([0265]-[0266], lines 7-15 , [0269], lines 3-19, [0278], lines 1-4 and 14-16, and [0293], lines 11-21, the special layers may share similar large scale channel such as Doppler shift, and delay spread, Using DMRS (506) for mapping a specific set of spatial layers in order to enable accurate channel estimation for coherent demodulation of data transmitted over the special layers. [0350] states “Priority services, such as services that may be sensitive to timing and/or reliabilities, may use communication protocols that may facilitate high quality transmission, reception, and/or data processing with low latencies and/or low error rate. The priority services may correspond to applications such as self-driving automobiles, industrial IoT devices, remote surgery facilities, drone control systems, interactive gaming services, etc. Various communication protocols (e.g., 5G NR URLLC services) may be integrated with various mechanisms described herein for improved transmission quality and reliability.” Which indicates using prioritize reliability for different TBs [0515], lines 9-18).
Regarding claim 20 (Currently Amended), Park, Yeo and Mansour teach the baseband processor of claim 1.
Park further teaches wherein the baseband processor is further configured to receive a spatial layer-to-TB mapping via at least one of: an RRC signaling, a MAC CE, or a dynamic grant signaling to partition the first and second TBs of the physical layer encapsulation based on the spatial layer-to-TB mapping (Fig. 38, [0266] lines 12-15, [0431], [0250], lines 10-15, [0291], lines 3-9, [0296], lines 11-14, and [0303], [0336], lines 4-18, [0461], lines 5-7, [0462], these configurations can be used for channel estimation and spatial layer identification and for update spatial layer to TB mapping via provide instructions of mapping special layers to transport blocks, such as first and second TBs ).
Regarding claim 21 (Currently Amended), Park, Yeo and Mansour teach the baseband processor of claim 1
Park further teaches wherein the baseband processor is further configured to generate the unequal protection to the first and second TBs by partitioning repetitions among a transmission opportunity unequally, ([0462], lines 1-18, [0501], lines 4-7, [0513], lines 12-16, DCI dynamically allocates (specify different time/frequency domine resources for TBs, which may include first and second TBs, transmissions for unequal reputation opportunities, different resources blocks across the time slots to ensure unequal protection), wherein a first TB comprises more repetitions than a second TB of the physical layer encapsulation ([0458], lines 30-35, [0462], [0482], lines 1-4, more repetition ( e.g., more slots or more Code Block Groups, CBGs, priority services) can be translated to high priority of TB, first TB, comparing with the other in the same physical layer encapsulation, e.g., second TB).
Regarding claim 23 (Currently Amended), Park, Yeo and Mansour teach the baseband processor of claim 1.
Park further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: in response to transmitting, or receiving two or more TBs multiplexed into the physical layer encapsulation via one physical channel: receive, or transmit a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARO) feedback for the first TB configured based on a high priority HARO codebook and another HARO feedback for the second TB configured based on a low priority HARO codebook that is lower in priority than the high priority HARO codebook ( Figs 37 and 38A and 38B, [0480], lines 1-9, [0475], lines 5-7, [0483], lines 1-4, [0484], lines 1-4, [0291], lines 3-9, [0278], lines 5-7, [0237], lines 10-23, [0350], lines 1-5, and [0435], lines 4-5, for the first TBs, CBG based HARQ feedback can be used to ensure selective retransmission of code block, allocated more bits for feedback. The device may report HARQ ACK/NACK bits for each CBG, allowing faster retransmission of certain portions of the TB and reporting HARQ feedback for the TB. High priority HARQ codebook can be utilized to manage HARQ feedback, e.g., ultra-reliable and low-latency communications (URLLC) for the TBs that assigned with priority services (first TB), HARQ feedback can be considered the size of TB for efficient retransmission strategies and priority services. [0480], lines 3-6, [0480], lines 1-3, if the CBG based transmission, HARQ feedback can provided for both TB separately or (single/multi-bit HARQ feedback)); receive, or transmit the HARO feedback only for the first TB configured based on the high priority HARO codebook or receive or transmit the HARO feedback only for the second TB configured based on the low priority HARO codebook ([0291], lines 3-10, [0480], lines 1-3, [0480], lines 6-8, [0484], lines 1-4, if the CBG based transmission, HARQ feedback can provided for one TB or if a certain TB is transmitted (due to constraints or prioritization), HRAQ feedback may be provided for that single TB, the wireless device be informed to report one HARQ ACK bit for the TB even if CBG based transmission is enabled).
Regarding claim 26 (Currently Amended), Park teaches a baseband processor of a user equipment (UE), configured to: receive a physical layer transmission via a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Fig. 3, [0255], describe the baseband processor and its functions, Figs. 5b, [0239], lines 5-10, [0247], lines 20-25, the baseband processor can receive a physical layer transmission via a download physical channels PDSCH); and decode a physical layer encapsulation in the physical layer transmission of the PDSCH ([0273], lines 1-12, [0275], lines 1-4, [0265], lines 3-16, Figs. 4A, 4C, 4D and 5A-5B, the encoding and decoding of the physical layer transmission in a physical layer encapsulation of PDSCH and PUSCH. The figures show the scrambling, modulation, transform precoding and resource mapping, [0231], lines 13-21, [0296], lines 12-14, [0468], lines 18-21, the process of physical layer encapsulation of PDSCH and PUSCH can include scrambling, modulation, precoding, signal generation, and reference signals for coherent demodulation).
Park does not explicitly teach the physical layer encapsulation comprising a first transport block (TB) and a second TB with unequal protection levels.
However, Yeo teaches the physical layer encapsulation comprising a first transport block (TB) and a second TB with unequal protection levels (Fig. 11 and [0119], state “one PDSCH may include a plurality of TBs, and the TBs may be mapped to different frequency bands to be transmitted” and describe an example of two TBs, which may include the first and second TBs, are simultaneously transmitted and mapped to different frequency bands. [0028], describes TBs are allocated to resource regions with different channel conditions which allows the BS to apply several levels of protection to each TB, such as: [0060], lines 1-7 modulation and coding schemes MCSs, [0119] using SINR with stronger error protections and [0073] encoded with MCs which determines the modulation order e.g., QPSK, 16QAM, 64QAM, or 256QAM, and a coding rate value capable of indicating TBS and channel coding information may be indicated. [0015] and Fig. 5 illustrates an example in which coding is performed by applying outer code, as states in [0105] “the second channel code may refer to Reed-Solomon code, BCH code, Raptor code, parity bit generation code, or the like”. Using Code blocks CBs as states in [0108] which states “an example in which one TB is divided into a plurality of CBs, and a second channel code or outer code is applied to the CBs to generate one or more parity code blocks,”. [0066] describes how to apply a dynamic scheduling via DCI for the TBs for enabling unequal protection based on channel conditions of the allocated resources , claim 1 , lines 3-5. [0153] and [0151] illustrate using the layer based mapping and frequency resources allocation for unequal protection of TBs. [0119] states an example “assuming that TB 1 is mapped to a domain having a high reception SINR and TB 2 is mapped to a domain having a low reception SINR, TB 1 and TB 2 may be respectively coded with a high MCS and a low MCS and then transmitted.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park to include the physical layer encapsulation comprising different transport blocks (TBs) based on an unequal protection between the different TBs in the physical layer encapsulation of the PDSCH, as taught by Yeo, in combination with the system of Park, to optimize the transmission of TBs, ensuring the reliability with maximizing data rates in preferred conditions (Yeo, [0117], lines 12-15).
Park and Yeo do not explicitly teach decode the first TB based on a least significant bit of a constellation point; and decode the second TB based on one or more remaining bits of the constellation point, the second TB having a lesser protection level relative to the first TB
However, Mansour teaches decode the first TB based on a least significant bit of a constellation point; and decode the second TB based on one or more remaining bits of the constellation point, the second TB having a lesser protection level relative to the first TB (Fig2. 2-3, [0007]-[0008], [0033] describe first decoder 308 to decode two or more least significant bits per symbol and generate two or more decoded least significant bits 316a per symbol for each decoded output block 320 and [0043] states “A first decoding scheme is applied to the extracted decoding information at step 506. This could include, for example, the decoder 308 decoding various least significant bits using the LLR values.” That implies the decoding the first TB with the LSBs of constellation point using strongest decoding technique. [0044] and Fig. 3 illustrates the decoding of the second extractor 310 with using BCH 318, weaker technique, to recovering the second data or TB, as also provided by [0043] and claim 22. [0046] states “As shown in FIGS. 2 through 5, different coding techniques are used with different bits being transmitted over one or more communication channels. This increases the effective code rate (and hence the speed and throughput of the system) by assigning more protection to more vulnerable bits and less protection to more reliable bits.” Which implies the second TB having a lesser protection level relative to the first TB.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park in view of Yeo to include encoding, via the processor, the first TB based on a least significant bit of a constellation point; encoding, via the processor, the second TB based on one or more remaining bits of the constellation point to provide the second TB with a lesser protection level relative to the first TB, as taught by Mansour, in combination with the system of Park and Yeo, to provide a flexible choice between many levels of protection for different bits, which helps to improve spectral efficiency and increase system speed and throughput. (Mansour, [0023] and [0066]).
Regarding claim 27 (Currently Amended), Park, Yeo and Mansour teach the baseband processor of claim 26.
Park further teaches wherein the first and second TBs are medium access control protocol data units (MAC PDUs), ([0239], lines 25-29, states “The MAC layer at the wireless device may multiplex one or more MAC CEs and/or one or more MAC SDUs (e.g., logical channel) in a MAC PDU (e.g., transport block). “ that is the MAC layer multiplexes MAC SDUs (service data units) and MAC Control Elements CES into MAC PDUs (e.g., transport blocks, may include first and second TBs) which are then delivered to the physical layer for transmission).
Regarding claim 44 (Currently amended), Park teaches a method of a user equipment (UE) comprising (Fig. 3, [0255], describe the baseband processor for the UE and its functions, Figs. 5b, [0239], lines 5-10, [0247], lines 20-25, the baseband processor can receive a physical layer transmission via a download physical channels PDSCH): processing, via a processor ([0255], lines 9-16, [0265], lines 3-16, and [0266] Baseband processor of a network entity such as the Base Station BS or User Equipment UE, responsible for encoding , processing, and managing the data across physical layer transmission events), and providing, via the processor, the physical layer transmission via the PUSCH (Fig. 5B, [0289], lines 12-15, the wireless device may send (provide) the data packets via one or more PUSCH, [0274], lines 1-14, [0269], lines 15-19, [0278], lines 14-17).
Park does not explicitly teach a physical layer transmission comprising first transport block (TB) and second TB multiplexed into a physical layer encapsulation of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), first TB and second TB having unequal protection levels;
However, Yeo teaches a physical layer transmission comprising first transport block (TB) and second TB multiplexed into a physical layer encapsulation of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), first TB and second TB having unequal protection levels ([0079] explicitly states “For PUSCH transmission, time domain resource assignment may be indicated by using information of a slot on which a PUSCH is transmitted, and S that is a start symbol position in the slot and L that is the number of symbols to which the PUSCH is mapped. ”That implies the UE can process multiple TBs, which can include first and second TBs, and use the PUSCH for uplink data transmission. [0061] illustrates that the UE uses DCI to determine the resource allocation and modulation and coding schemes MCS for each TB. Fig. 7 and [0108], illustrates “one TB is divided into a plurality of CBs, and a second channel code or outer code is applied to the CBs to generate one or more parity code blocks.” . [0066] describes how to apply a dynamic scheduling via DCI for the TBs for enabling unequal protection based on channel conditions of the allocated resources , claim 1 , lines 3-5. [0153] and [0151] illustrate using the layer based mapping and frequency resources allocation for unequal protection of TBs. [0119] states an example “assuming that TB 1 is mapped to a domain having a high reception SINR and TB 2 is mapped to a domain having a low reception SINR, TB 1 and TB 2 may be respectively coded with a high MCS and a low MCS and then transmitted.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park to include the physical layer encapsulation comprising different transport blocks (TBs) based on an unequal protection between the different TBs in the physical layer encapsulation of the PDSCH, as taught by Yeo, in combination with the system of Park, to optimize the transmission of TBs, ensuring the reliability with maximizing data rates in preferred conditions (Yeo, [0117], lines 12-15).
Park and Yeo do not explicitly teach encoding, via the processor, the first TB based on a least significant bit of a constellation point; encoding, via the processor, the second TB based on one or more remaining bits of the constellation point to provide the second TB with a lesser protection level relative to the first TB.
However, Mansour teaches encoding, via the processor, the first TB based on a least significant bit of a constellation point; encoding, via the processor, the second TB based on one or more remaining bits of the constellation point to provide the second TB with a lesser protection level relative to the first TB ([0021] states “in reality, more protection is needed for the least significant bits in the data being transmitted, [0022] states “stronger protection can be provided to a number of least significant bits in the symbols being transmitted, which are the bits more vulnerable to errors. Weaker protection can be provided to at least some of the remaining bits in the data being transmitted, which are the bits less vulnerable to errors.” That implies the least significant bits of the constellation points are more likely to be changed between the neighbor symbols (more exposed to error), hence, needs high level of protection (strongest coding) for the data to be transmission (e.g., first TB), which can be achieved using different coding techniques, such as LDPC for the LSBs and BCH to the remaining bits, as described in [0022] and claim 9. Moreover, [0023] provides this technique allowing the system to prioritize reliability for specific bits or TBs, see also [0058] and [0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park in view of Yeo to include encoding, via the processor, the first TB based on a least significant bit of a constellation point; encoding, via the processor, the second TB based on one or more remaining bits of the constellation point to provide the second TB with a lesser protection level relative to the first TB, as taught by Mansour, in combination with the system of Park and Yeo, to provide a flexible choice between many levels of protection for different bits, which helps to improve spectral efficiency and increase system speed and throughput. (Mansour, [0023] and [0066]).
Regarding claim 46 (New), Park, Yeo and Mansour teach the baseband processor of claim 1, wherein the baseband processor is further configured to:
Park further teaches partition different spatial layers with the first and second TBs of the physical layer encapsulation ([0486], lines 10-32 describes antenna port field that specified the spatial layers (antenna ports) used for transmitting TBs, which includes first and second TBs, to enable the partitioning of TBs through different layers using TCI , [0298] also states “ A base station 120 may sweep a set of different Tx beams, for example, for beamforming at a base station 120 (such as shown in the top row, in a counter-clockwise direction). “ That indicates mapping TBs for specific spatial layers or beams), wherein the first TB is associated with a first set of spatial layers having a greater reliability than a second set of spatial layers associated with the second TB ([0214], [0282], lines 5-13, states “Different types of services may have different service requirements (e.g., data rate, latency, reliability), which may be suitable for transmission via different component carriers having different subcarrier spacing and/or different bandwidth.” [0293], lines 5-15, and [0294], lines 1-4, antenna port configurations and special Quis-Co-Location (QCL) can be used for special multiplexing, Transmission Configuration Indication (TCL) can indicate the special transmission configuration for different layers. Different component carrier can be configured with varying characteristics like reliability, latency and data rate. The PDCH can be monitored on multiple beam pair links with using higher layer signaling and special QCL parameters. [0350] states “Priority services, such as services that may be sensitive to timing and/or reliabilities, may use communication protocols that may facilitate high quality transmission, reception, and/or data processing with low latencies and/or low error rate. The priority services may correspond to applications such as self-driving automobiles, industrial IoT devices, remote surgery facilities, drone control systems, interactive gaming services, etc. Various communication protocols (e.g., 5G NR URLLC services) may be integrated with various mechanisms described herein for improved transmission quality and reliability.” Which indicates using prioritize reliability for different TBs [0515], lines 9-18).
Park does not explicitly teach wherein the first set of spatial layers comprises less spatial layers than the second set of spatial layers.
However, Yeo teaches wherein the first set of spatial layers comprises less spatial layers than the second set of spatial layers ([0032], [0038] and [0041] provide that the BS configure different layers for multiple TBs via DCI that includes information about the number of layers. [0155] states “As in Table 2, when the number of layers is 1 to 4, only one TB may be mapped, and when the number of layers is 5 to 8, two TBs may be divided by a total number of layers and mapped” and [0156]-[0157] illustrate that for two TBs, the mapping adjusted according to the number of layers, where the number of layers for each TB can be different as shown in Table 3, when the number of layers is 5 or 7, see also claim 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park to include the physical layer encapsulation comprising different transport blocks (TBs) based on an unequal protection between the different TBs in the physical layer encapsulation of the PDSCH,, as taught by Yeo, in combination with the system of Park, to optimize the transmission of TBs, ensuring the reliability with maximizing data rates in preferred conditions (Yeo, [0117], lines 12-15).
Regarding claim 47 (New), Park, Yeo and Mansour teach the baseband processor of claim 1,
Park and Yeo do not explicitly teach wherein the second TB is encoded based on two or four bits of the constellation point.
However, Mansour teaches wherein the second TB is encoded based on two or four bits of the constellation point (Claim 6 states “generating the symbols comprises mapping the first and second encoded bits to symbols of a circular quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) constellation, the circular QAM constellation having 2.times.2 or 4.times.4 cells of constellation points.” and [0031] lines 11-16 and [0056] describe that MLC-2 for QAM symbol has 4 bits, the first two bits (LSBs) are assigned to the first TB while the remaining, two bits, are assigned to the second TB. Table 1, [0056] and [0058] explain constellation mapping in MLC-2 and MLC-4, the constellation points are grouped in to 2x2 and 4x4 cells, and the remaining bits (after LSBs) can be 2 and 4, respectively, used for the second TB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park in view of Yeo to include encoding, via the processor, the first TB based on a least significant bit of a constellation point; encoding, via the processor, the second TB based on one or more remaining bits of the constellation point to provide the second TB with a lesser protection level relative to the first TB, as taught by Mansour, in combination with the system of Park and Yeo, to provide a flexible choice between any levels of protection for different bits, which helps to improve spectral efficiency and increase system speed and throughput. (Mansour, [0023] and [0066]).
6. Claims 6, 7, 16, 28, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al, (US-20200145967-A1) in view of Yeo et al. (US-20210321414-A1) in view of Mansour et al. (US-20150092879-A1), further in view of Davydov et al. (US 20190045390 A1).
Regarding claim 6 (Currently Amended), Park, Yeo and Mansour teach the baseband processor of claim 1.
Park, Yeo and Mansour do not explicitly teach, but Davydov teaches wherein the baseband processor is further configured to: configure a total TB coded bit number of the physical layer encapsulation based on a predefined formula ([0056], lines 15-24, provides a formula to calculate the total number of coded bits for a transport block during physical layer encapsulation), : configure a first TB size of the first TB ; and configure a second TB size of the second TB based on a second percentage of the total TB coded bit number ([0036], lines 6-13 and claim 3, TBS determination formula is described and can be used to calculate transmit block size. TBS the formula based on total coded bits since it involves size computation of the TB for modulation, coding rate, resource allocation, and additional overhead such as cyclic redundancy check and code block segmentation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park in view of Yeo in view of Mansour to include wherein the baseband processor is further configured to determine a total TB coded bit number of the physical layer encapsulation based on a predefined formula and a first TB size of a first TB of the different TBs based on a first percentage of the total TB coded bit number and a second TB size of a second TB of the different TBs based on a second percentage of the total TB coded bit number, as taught by Davydov, in combination with the system of Park in view of Yeo in view of Mansour, to ensure efficient availability of resources while meeting quality of service (QoS) requirements (Davydov , [0082], lines 14-16).
Regarding claim 7 (Currently Amended), Park, Yeo and Mansour teach the baseband processor of claim 1.
Park, Yeo and Mansour do not explicitly teach, but Davydov teaches wherein the baseband processor is further configured to receive a parameter to determine the unequal protection among the first and second TBs of the physical layer encapsulation via a media access control (MAC) control element (MAC CE), a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, or a higher layer signaling (Abstract, lines 2-4, [0059], lines 18-20, [0106], lines 11-12, and [0115], describe an approach to unequal protection among different TBs, which can include first and second TBs, via MAC, RCC, or higher layer signaling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park in view of Yeo in view of Mansour to include wherein the baseband processor is further configured to determine a total TB coded bit number of the physical layer encapsulation based on a predefined formula and a first TB size of a first TB of the different TBs based on a first percentage of the total TB coded bit number and a second TB size of a second TB of the different TBs based on a second percentage of the total TB coded bit number, as taught by Davydov, in combination with the system of Park in view of Yeo in view of Mansour, to ensure efficient availability of resources while meeting quality of service (QoS) requirements (Davydov , [0082], lines 14-16).
Regarding claim 16 (previously Amended), Park, Yeo and Mansour teach the baseband processor of claim 1.
Park further teaches wherein the baseband processor is further configured to partition the first and second TBs based on at least one of: a wideband partitioning or a distributed partitioning (Fig. 10 [0301], [0348], lines 7-10, [0350], lines 8-11, [03929-11] and [0490], lines 9-11, these sections described the mechanisms for partitioning TBs, which can include first and second TBs, based on wideband partitioning or a distributed partitioning),
Park, Yeo and Mansour do not explicitly teach, but Davydov teaches wherein the wideband partitioning comprises configuring a predefined number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) to the first TB and a remainder of PRBs of frequency resources to the second TB ([0035] and [0061], lines 6-15, “this technique can involve determining of a reference number of resource elements Res per physical resource block PRB based on the first number of assigned RES, and at least a reference number of PRBs for the TB”), and the distributed partitioning comprises configuring a first number of resource elements of a PRB to the first TB and a second number of resource elements of the PRB to the second TB ( [0033], lines 3-7, [0151], lines 8-11, and [0129], lines 6-23, spreads the resource elements (Res) within a single Physical Resource Block between two different transport blocks TBs)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park in view of Yeo in view of Mansour to include wherein the baseband processor is further configured to determine a total TB coded bit number of the physical layer encapsulation based on a predefined formula and a first TB size of a first TB of the different TBs based on a first percentage of the total TB coded bit number and a second TB size of a second TB of the different TBs based on a second percentage of the total TB coded bit number, as taught by Davydov, in combination with the system of Park in view of Yeo in view of Mansour, to ensure efficient availability of resources while meeting quality of service (QoS) requirements (Davydov , [0082], lines 14-16).
Regarding claim 28 (Currently Amended), Park, Yeo and Mansour teach the baseband processor of claim 26.
Park, Yeo and Mansour do not explicitly teach, but Davydov teaches determine a first TB size of the first TB based on a first percentage of a total TB coded bit number; and determine a second TB size of the second TB based on a second percentage of the total TB coded bit number ([0036], lines 6-13 and claim 3, TBS determination formula is described and can be used to calculate transmit block size. TBS the formula based on total coded bits since it involves size computation of the TB for modulation, coding rate, resource allocation, and additional overhead such as cyclic redundancy check and code block segmentation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park in view of Yeo in view of Mansour to include wherein the baseband processor is further configured to determine a total TB coded bit number of the physical layer encapsulation based on a predefined formula and a first TB size of a first TB of the different TBs based on a first percentage of the total TB coded bit number and a second TB size of a second TB of the different TBs based on a second percentage of the total TB coded bit number, as taught by Davydov, in combination with the system of Park in view of Yeo in view of Mansour, to ensure efficient availability of resources while meeting quality of service (QoS) requirements (Davydov , [0082], lines 14-16).
Regarding claim 29 (Currently Amended ), Park, Yeo and Mansour teach the baseband processor of claim 26.
Park, Yeo and Mansour do not explicitly teach, but Davydov teaches determine a parameter to encode the unequal protection among the first and second TBs of the physical layer encapsulation based on a media access control (MAC) control element (MAC CE), a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, or a higher layer signaling (Abstract, lines 2-4, [0059], lines 18-20, [0106], lines 11-12, and [0115], describe an approach to unequal protection among different TBs, which can include first and second TBs, via MAC, RCC, or higher layer signaling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park in view of Yeo in view of Mansour to include wherein the baseband processor is further configured to determine a total TB coded bit number of the physical layer encapsulation based on a predefined formula and a first TB size of a first TB of the different TBs based on a first percentage of the total TB coded bit number and a second TB size of a second TB of the different TBs based on a second percentage of the total TB coded bit number, as taught by Davydov, in combination with the system of Park in view of Yeo in view of Mansour, to ensure efficient availability of resources while meeting quality of service (QoS) requirements (Davydov , [0082], lines 14-16).
7. Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al, (US-20200145967-A1) in view of Yeo et al. (US-20210321414-A1) in view of Mansour et al. (US-20150092879-A1), further in view of Porat et al. (US 10659977 B2).
Regarding claim 8 (Original), Park, Yeo and Mansour teach the baseband processor of claim 1.
Park, Yeo and Mansour do not explicitly teach but, Porat teaches wherein the baseband processor is further configured to: encode the first TB with a first modulation and coding scheme (MCS) level; and encode the second TB with a second MCS level different than the first MCS level to provide the unequal protection levels of the first and second TBs (Figs. 5-6, encoding schemes and modulation and symbol mapping for different TBs, such as first and second TBs, of the physical layer encapsulation. Col 8, lines 3-5, TB or transmission stream is encoding using MCS levels. Col. 6, lines 59- 62, and Col 15, lines 40-50, the first transmission streams , e.g., (TB1) is encoding using different MCS level (more robust level ), uses lower order modulation, to ensure a high reliability. Also, Col 9, lines 18-22 and Col. 17, lines 1-2, the second transmission streams , e.g., (TB2) is encoding using different MCS level (less robust level ), uses higher order modulation, to ensure a high throughput. Col. 6, lines 59-62, Col. 9, lines 8-11, Col. 12, lines 57-62, and Col 13, lines 7-13, are describe some of the different protections to the different TBs within the physical layer encapsulation, which means unequal protection level for each TB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park in view of Yeo in view of Mansour to include encoding one or more first TBs of the different TBs with a first MCS level and one or more second TBs of the different TBs with a second MCS level that is different than the first MCS level to provide different protections to the different TBs within the physical layer encapsulation, as taught by Porat, in combination with the system of Park in view of Yeo in view of Mansour, to optimize the robustness and the efficiency of data transmission based on the communication environment (Porat , Col. 15, lines 40-47).
8. Claim 48 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al, (US-20200145967-A1) in view of Yeo et al. (US-20210321414-A1) in view of Mansour et al. (US-20150092879-A1), further in view of AHN et al. (US-20210067266-A1).
Regarding claim 48 (New), Park, Yeo and Mansour teach the baseband processor of claim 26, wherein the baseband processor is further configured to:
Park further teaches receive a downlink control information (DCI) transmission to configure a first modulation and coding scheme (MCS) level ([0270] and [0279] states “for example, by a combination of RRC signaling and/or an association with one or more parameters used for other purposes (e.g., MCS) which may be indicated by the DCI.” See also [0291]).
Park, Yeo and Mansour do not explicitly teach wherein decoding the first TB is further based on the first MCS level; and determine a second MCS level based on the first MCS level and an adjustment factor, wherein decoding the second TB is further based on the second MCS level.
However, AHN teaches wherein decoding the first TB is further based on the first MCS level ([0110] states “an MCS index table may be used for transmission/ reception operations of a transmitting node and a receiving node. As described with reference to Table 1, in an exemplary embodiment of the MCS index table, each MCS index may correspond to one modulation order and one target code rate.” That implies the decoding the first TB based on the first MCS level/code rate as both transmitter (encoding) and receiver (decoding) use this parameter to ensure correct recovery of data, Table 1 shows how MCS index directly determine the MCS level or code rate, see also [0073]); and determine a second MCS level based on the first MCS level and an adjustment factor ([0111] and [0118] provides that how the system determined/adjust the MCS for repeated transmissions with using offset value (adjustment factor) between two transmissions, e.g., second TB. That implies the modulation order, for the second TB, can be increased relatively to the first one, based on an offset value, as stated in [0109] and [0111] “Each MCS index may correspond to a higher modulation order Qm′ in addition to a modulation order Qm described in the MCS index table. Here, Qm′ may be selected as a value greater than Qm among modulation orders supported by the 5G NR system. For example, Qm′ may be defined as Qm+2, Qm+4, Qm+6, or the like. Specifically, in the third exemplary embodiment of the repetitive transmission method according to the present disclosure, an offset value O.sub.Q of the modulation order corresponding to a difference between Qm and Qm′ may be configured. Here, O.sub.Q may be defined as in Equation 4.”see also [0117]. That confirm the second MCS level for the second TB can be calculated using the first MCS of the first TB and the adjustment factor(index offset/modulation order offset, [0112]), wherein decoding the second TB is further based on the second MCS level ([0110] states “an MCS index table may be used for transmission/reception operations of a transmitting node and a receiving node. As described with reference to Table 1, in an exemplary embodiment of the MCS index table, each MCS index may correspond to one modulation order and one target code rate.” That implies the decoding the first TB based on the second MCS level/index as both transmitter (encoding) and receiver (decoding) use this parameter to ensure correct recovery of data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park in view of Yeo in view of Mansour to include wherein determine a second MCS level based on the first MCS level and an adjustment factor, wherein decoding the second TB is further based on the second MCS level, as taught by AHN, in combination with the system of Park in view of Yeo in view of Mansour, to improve the reliability levels across transmissions (AHN, [0005]).
9. Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al, (US-20200145967-A1) in view of Yeo et al. (US-20210321414-A1) in view of Mansour et al. (US-20150092879-A1), further in view of Nakamura et al. (US-20170070374-A1).
Regarding claim 49 (New), Park, Yeo and Mansour teach the baseband processor of claim 26, wherein the baseband processor is further configured to:
Park does not explicitly teach receive radio resource control (RRC) signaling including a set of modulation and coding scheme (MCS) level pairs ; receive a downlink control information (DCI) transmission including an MCS field; and select an MCS pair from the set of MCS pairs based on the MCS field in the DCI, wherein decoding the first TB and the second TB is further based on respective MCSs in the selected MCS pair.
However, Yeo teaches receive a downlink control information (DCI) transmission including an MCS field ([0133] states “The multiple MCS information may be interpreted according to a value configured via higher layer signaling or a particular bit field of the DCI” that implies the DCI transmission include a field for MCS that can be used for recognize the multiple MCS information, see also [0120]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park to include the physical layer encapsulation comprising different transport blocks (TBs) based on an unequal protection between the different TBs in the physical layer encapsulation of the PDSCH, as taught by Yeo, in combination with the system of Park, to optimize the transmission of TBs, ensuring the reliability with maximizing data rates in preferred conditions (Yeo, [0117], lines 12-15).
Park, Yeo and Mansour do not explicitly teach receive radio resource control (RRC) signaling including a set of modulation and coding scheme (MCS) level pairs ; and select an MCS pair from the set of MCS pairs based on the MCS field in the DCI, wherein decoding the first TB and the second TB is further based on respective MCSs in the selected MCS pair.
However, Nakamura teaches receive radio resource control (RRC) signaling including a set of modulation and coding scheme (MCS) level pairs ([0053] states “the RRC setting unit 808 performs a process to set a control parameter. For example, based on the modulation mode setting notified via the RRC signaling, the RRC setting unit 808 determines a subframe (a subframe set) to which the 64-QAM mode is to be applied, and a subframe (a subframe set) to which the 256-QAM mode is to be applied.” Claim 18 lines 14-22 states “wherein the first MCS table and the second MCS table each include an MCS index, a modulation method, and a TBS (Transport Block Size) index, the modulation method included in the first MCS table includes information associated with QPSK, 16-QAM, and 64-QAM, and the modulation method included in the second MCS table includes information associated with QPSK, 16-QAM, 64-QAM, and 256-QAM.” That implies the setting information received by RCC unit can include the set of MCS level pairs, including the index for each, which then used for demodulation/decoding, see also [0058] and claim 13); and select an MCS pair from the set of MCS pairs based on the MCS field in the DCI ( [0003] explicitly states that “The base station apparatus has a table called an MCS table, and selects one MCS from the MCS table. The base station apparatus notifies the terminal apparatus of an index of the selected MCS, and performs data transmission using PDSCH (Physical Downlink Shared CHannel) generated using the notified MCS. Note that in the MCS table in LTE, a modulation scheme and a value of a TBS (Transport Block Size) are defined instead of defining the modulation scheme and the coding rate. A coding rate is determined from the TBS and an allocated radio resource.” That implies selecting an MCS pair from the set of MCS pairs based on the MCS field, where the control information extraction unit 803 extracts a radio resource by which information associated with control information (downlink control information, DCI format) from the received signal was transmitted. The control information extraction unit 803 applies blind decoding to the extracted radio resource [0044] and [0049]), wherein decoding the first TB and the second TB is further based on respective MCSs in the selected MCS pair ([0003] and [0050] states “the PDSCH demodulation unit 804 selects an MCS table to be referred based on the modulation mode setting (64-QAM mode, 256-QAM mode) input from the RRC setting unit 808, determines the MCS from the selected MCS table and the notified MCS index, and uses the determined MCS in the demodulation.” See also [0042] and [0013] that states “wherein the PDSCH demodulation unit selects a predetermined MCS table from a plurality of MCS tables in accordance with the C-RNTI information used in the decoding.” That indicates the decoding the data such as Transport Blocks based on the respective MCS selected pair, see also Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park in view of Yeo in view of Mansour to include wherein decoding the first TB and the second TB is further based on respective MCSs in the selected MCS pair, as taught by Nakamura, in combination with the system of Park in view of Yeo in view of Mansour, to maximize the data throughput and the reliability levels across transmissions (Nakamura, [0003]).
Relevant Prior Art
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
James et al (US 11044049 B1), Kenney et al. (US 10090964 B2), Xiong et al. (US 20210022143 A1), NIU et al. (WO-2018226411-A1) and Zhang et al. (US 20190222366 A1) teach different methods and techniques to improve unequal protection of data streams.
Conclusion
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANAA AL SAMAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463