DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s reply filed on 9/2/26 is acknowledged. Claims 1-7 are pending. Claims 1 and 2 have been amended. Claims 1-7 are under consideration.
Rejections Withdrawn
The rejection of Claims 1, 2, 4 and 6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nazrul et al. (JP 2004/067535 A) in view of Abiko et al. (US 2015/0005393) and Ultrus Prospector (“Now Trending in Search: Talc Alternatives” 2016) are withdrawn in view of the amended claims.
The rejection of Claims 3, 5 and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nazrul et al. (JP 2004/067535 A) in view of Abiko et al. (US 2015/0005393) and Ultrus Prospector (“Now Trending in Search: Talc Alternatives” 2016), as applied to claims 1, 2, 4 and 6 and further in view of Hagino (JP 2016/185925) are withdrawn in view of the amended claims.
Rejections Maintained and New Grounds of Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 3 recites that “least one of the mica (A) and the mica (B) is mica with a surface treated with a silicone elastomer or a metallic soap”, however this broadens claim 1 which has been limited to specific micas “selected from the group consisting of synthetic fluorphlogopite iron, elastomer-treated synthetic fluorphlogopite iron, magnesium stearate-treated synthetic fluorphlogopite, synthetic fluorphlogopite, and natural muscovite”. It is suggested to amend claim 3 to “least one of the mica (A) and the mica (B) is elastomer-treated synthetic fluorphlogopite iron or magnesium stearate-treated synthetic fluorphlogopite”, or similar.
Claim 5 recites that “wherein the mica is mica with a surface treated with a silicone elastomer or a metallic soap”, however this broadens claim 2 which has been limited to specific micas “selected from the group consisting of synthetic fluorphlogopite iron, elastomer-treated synthetic fluorphlogopite iron, magnesium stearate-treated synthetic fluorphlogopite, synthetic fluorphlogopite, and natural muscovite”. It is suggested to amend claim 5 to “wherein the mica is elastomer-treated synthetic fluorphlogopite iron or magnesium stearate-treated synthetic fluorphlogopite”, or similar.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonoyama et al. (US 2017/0216154) as evidenced by Tate et al. (WO 2017/142057) and in view of and Ultrus Prospector (“Now Trending in Search: Talc Alternatives” 2016).
Sonoyama et al. teach a solid powder cosmetic excellent in impact resistance and usability (e.g. abstract).
Sonoyama et al. exemplify a solid powder cosmetic comprising:
- dimethylpolysiloxane (i.e. an oily component);
- 20 wt% synthetic fluorphlogopite iron PDM-FE (which as evidenced by Tate et al. has an average particle size of 5-8 µm (page 5), i.e. less than 15 µm); and
- 10 wt% synthetic fluorphlogopite PDM-9WA (which as evidenced by Tate et al. has an average particle size of 10-13 µm (page 5), i.e. greater than 10 µm); and
- 7 wt% spherical nylon powder (e.g. paragraphs 0122, 0107 and 0112).
Sonoyama et al. also exemplify a solid powder cosmetic comprising:
dimethylpolysiloxane (i.e. an oily component);
20 wt% synthetic fluorphlogopite iron PDM-FE (which as evidenced by Tate et al. has an average particle size of 5-8 µm (page 5), i.e. less than 15 µm); and
20 wt% muscovite (which as evidenced by the instant Specification has a particle size of 10 µm) (e.g. paragraphs 0116, 0107 and 0112).
Sonoyama et al. do not teach that the compositions are free of talc. This is made up for by the teachings of Ultrus Prospector.
Ultrus Prospector teaches that cosmetics consumers are actively seeking products made without controversial ingredients, like talc, and formulators may also want to avoid talc to increase their products’ global reach, as talc is now restricted in the EU (e.g. page 1). Ultrus Prospector teaches that talc alternatives include silica, zinc oxide, and kaolin (e.g. pages 3-4).
Regarding Claims 1, 2, 4, 6 and 7, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to replace the talc of Sonoyama with the alternatives disclosed by Ultrus Prospector. Given the trend to avoid talc, as taught by Ultrus Prospector, one of ordinary skill in the art would have replaced the talc of the Example of Sonoyama with other suitable alternatives also disclosed by Sonoyama, including kaolin, silica, and zinc oxide (e.g. paragraph 0031). One of ordinary skill in the art would have predicted success as Sonoyama teach them as suitable options. In addition, regarding Claim 2, it is noted that the limitation “the powdery solid cosmetic produced by a wet forming method” is a product-by-process limitation. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. Sonoyama teaches the ingredients and amounts thereof required in claim 2, therefore the claim has been met.
Regarding Claims 3 and 5, Sonoyama et al. teach that the synthetic fluorphlogopite iron may be treated with a silicones or metal soap (e.g. paragraph 0025).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Togashi (US 2018/0235850) as evidenced by IMCD (“PDM 5L” < https://www.imcd.tn/product/pdm-5l/01t6900000AXm99AAD?business-group=beauty-personal-care>) and in view of and Ultrus Prospector (“Now Trending in Search: Talc Alternatives” 2016).
Togashi teaches a cosmetic product which includes a powder cosmetic layer and a support, wherein the powder cosmetic layer has sufficient adherence to the support, excellent dispensing properties, and a smooth texture during application, and in which generation of color unevenness is sufficiently suppressed (e.g. abstract).
Togashi exemplifies an eyeshadow (i.e. powdery solid cosmetic) comprising:
Simethicone KS-66 (i.e. an oily component);
46.32 wt% synthetic phlogopite PDM-5L (which as evidenced by IMCD is Synthetic Fluorphlogopite of an average particle size of 7 µm) (e.g. paragraphs 0082-0083).
Togashi does not teach that the composition is free of talc. This is made up for by the teachings of Ultrus Prospector.
Ultrus Prospector teaches that cosmetics consumers are actively seeking products made without controversial ingredients, like talc, and formulators may also want to avoid talc to increase their products’ global reach, as talc is now restricted in the EU (e.g. page 1). Ultrus Prospector teaches that talc alternatives include silica, zinc oxide, and kaolin (e.g. pages 3-4).
Regarding Claim 2, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to replace the talc of Togashi with the alternatives disclosed by Ultrus Prospector. Given the trend to avoid talc, as taught by Ultrus Prospector, one of ordinary skill in the art would have replaced the talc of the Example of Togashi with other suitable alternatives also disclosed by Togashi, including kaolin, silica, and zinc oxide (e.g. paragraph 0031). One of ordinary skill in the art would have predicted success as Togashi teach them as suitable options.
In addition, it is noted that the limitation “the powdery solid cosmetic produced by a wet forming method” is a product-by-process limitation. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. Togashi teaches the ingredients and amounts thereof required in claim 2, therefore the claim has been met.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE P BABSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619