Detailed Office Action
Prior Art Rejections
3. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2008/140246 A1 in view of Mayer et al. (US 2006/0149020 A1.
WO 2008/140246 A1 discloses a method for producing waterborne polyurethane compositions, suitable for producing such items as gloves. The method comprises the steps of reacting a polyol with a stoichiometric deficient amount of polyisocyanate to form a hydroxyl-terminated prepolymer, then this prepolymer is reacted with a stoichiometric excessive amount of polyisocyanate to yield an isocyanate-terminated prepolymer, which is then neutralized, then emulsified, and reacted with an amine to chain extend the prepolymer. See Figure 1, abstract ,and pages 6+ within the reference, including paragraph [25], page 6, and paragraph [27], pages 6 and 7, (disclosing the claimed hydrophilic chain extender and small-molecule chain extender, as amended). The reference discloses that the method is advantageous in that it allows polyurethane particle behavior to be adjusted in a waterborne processing procedure. Though the disclosed method differs from the instantly claimed method in terms of the stage of incorporation of the hydrophilic reactant and chain extender into the prepolymer, the reference discloses within paragraph [66], page 13, that the method may be modified by the skilled artisan. Furthermore, it is noted that it is disclosed within paragraph [48], page11 that the process yields products that do not contain hazardous material, such that they may directly contact the body.
4. Though the primary reference fails to teach such claimed features as the claimed combination of macromolecular diol and triol, the claimed solids content, the aforementioned sequence of addition of the low molecular reactants, the use of the method to produce condoms, and the claimed properties possessed by the produced condoms, the examiner notes that the secondary reference, Mayer et al., also discloses aqueous polyurethane compositions based on isocyanate terminated prepolymers that are specifically useful for producing condoms, wherein a blend of diol and triol, corresponding to that clamed, along with hydrophilic and conventional chain extenders are disclosed as being components of the composition. Within Mayer et al., see abstract and paragraphs [0046], [0047], [0051]+, [0063], and [0065]. Given these teachings and the analogous methods and applications with respect to each reference, the position is taken that one would have been motivated to employ the reactants of the secondary reference in ratios suitable for the production of the respective prepolymers of the primary reference, so as to arrive at the claimed method. Furthermore, since the compositions of the secondary reference are specifically drawn to the production of such articles as condoms, one would have reasonably expected the disclosed compositions to possess the claimed properties to adequately function as intended.
5. Applicants’ response and amendment have been carefully considered; however, they are insufficient to overcome the prior art rejection. Firstly, in response to applicants’ remarks of 29 January 2026 concerning their amendment to claim 1, it is noted that paragraphs [25] and [27] of the primary reference disclose the use of the specifically claimed chain extenders. Secondly, applicants have argued that the primary reference fails to teach the reaction of the claimed hydrophilic and small-molecule chain extenders with the claimed second prepolymer. The examiner has noted this difference; however, the primary reference further discloses within paragraph [66] that the method may be modified, and the position is maintained, given this teaching that it would have been obvious to incorporate the extenders within any reaction step of the disclosed method. The examiner has further considered the examples of the instant invention for a showing of criticalness attributable to the sequence of addition of the extenders; however, the examples do not demonstrate any unexpected result attributable to this aspect of the invention. Furthermore, it is noted that the examples are not representative of the claimed invention for at least the reason that the examples do not employ the claimed small-molecule chain extender.
Conclusion
6. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RABON A SERGENT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765