DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed on 2/13/2026.
Claims 23-42 remain pending. Claims 23-42 have been examined and are rejected.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/CN2021/111731 filed 8/10/2021 and claims foreign priority to application CN202010988834.3 filed 9/18/2020.
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. The following limitations appear to be missing from any corresponding flow chart figures (e.g. Figs. 6, 10, & 14):
Claim 26 "before receiving, by the first device, the network configuration information from the second device, the method further comprises: broadcasting, by the first device, second configuration indication information to the second device"
Claim 26 “after receiving, by the first device, the network configuration information from the second device, connecting the first device to the network device based on the network configuration information”
Claim 27 “before sending, by the first device, the network configuration information to the at least one third device, the method further comprises: broadcasting, by the first device, third configuration indication information to the at least one third device”
Claim 30 “broadcasting, by the first device, second authentication information to the second device through the first antenna, wherein the second authentication information is used by the second device to establish a second communication connection to the first device”
Therefore, the above missing features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the communications above have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-25, 27-34, 36-37, & 39-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (US 2020/0412530 A1) in view of Suumaki (US 2013/0036231 A1) in view of Miyabayashi et al. (US 2009/0222659 A1).
With regard to Claim 23, Kumar teaches:
A method, comprising:
receiving, by a first device, first authentication information that is broadcast by a third device through a first protocol, wherein the first authentication information comprises a personal identification number (PIN) or an advanced encryption standard (AES)-based key; (device 202 (i.e. third device) generates a time-stamped one-time password (TOTP) using an advanced encryption scheme (AES) and transmits the TOTP to provisioner 204 (i.e. first device) [Kumar: 0027]);
establishing, by the first device, a first communication connection to the third device; (provisioner 204 and device 202 communicate over a non-secure communication channel 203 [Kumar: 0030]);
receiving, by the first device, network configuration information from a second device; (in step 222, remote server 206 (i.e. second device) may provide onboarding messages to provisioner 204 (i.e. first device) comprising MessageProvisioner and MessageDevice [Kumar: 0029; 0043; Fig. 2B]);
and sending, by the first device, the network configuration information to the third device; (in step 230, provisioner 204 (i.e. first device) may send MessageCredentials to device 202 (i.e. third device) [Kumar: 0031; 0045; Fig. 2C]);
wherein the network configuration information is configured to be used to connect the first device or the third device to a network device; (MessageCredentials may be an encrypted message using OnboardingKey, including an SSID, passphrase, the ProvisionerID, and the provisioner TOTP which is used by device 202 (i.e. third device) to join the network in step 234 [Kumar: 0031; 0045; Fig. 2C]);
the third device comprises the first protocol, third device further comprises a second protocol, a transmit range of the first protocol is less than a transmit range of the second protocol; (device 302 communicates with provisioner 304 over a non-secure channel 303 utilizing a first wireless protocol (such as Bluetooth or Bluetooth Low-energy (BLE) protocol) via a first wireless communication interface, wherein device 302 utilizes a second wireless protocol (such as Wi-Fi) via a second wireless communication interface to join the network including remote server 206 [Kumar: 0009; 0034; 0031; Fig. 3]. Examiner notes that WiFi has a significantly longer transmit range than Bluetooth/BLE).
However, Kumar does not teach (where underlining indicates the portion of each limitation not taught):
receiving, by a first device, first authentication information in plaintext that is broadcast by a third device through a first antenna, wherein the first authentication information comprises a personal identification number (PIN) or an advanced encryption standard (AES)-based key;
establishing, by the first device, a first communication connection to the third device based on the first authentication information;
the third device comprises a first antenna, third device further comprises a second antenna, a transmit power of the first antenna is less than a preset first power threshold, a longest transmit distance of the first antenna is a preset first distance threshold, and a transmit power of the second antenna is greater than the preset first power threshold.
In a similar field of endeavor involving utilizing a provisioned device to provide network credentials to an unprovisioned device, Suumaki discloses:
the third device comprises a first antenna, third device further comprises a second antenna, a transmit power of the first antenna is less than a preset first power threshold, a longest transmit distance of the first antenna is a preset first distance threshold, and a transmit power of the second antenna is greater than the preset first power threshold; (device B (i.e. third device) is equipped with an out-of-band NFC transceiver 12B (i.e. first antenna) and an IEEE 802.11 transceiver 10B (i.e. second antenna), wherein the NFC radio operates within the unlicensed radio frequency ISM band of 13.56 MHz, with a bandwidth of approximately 2 MHz over a typical distance of a few centimeters [Suumaki: 0207; 0182; Fig. 2]. Examiner notes that 802.11 Wi-Fi transceivers operate with a far greater transmit power and transmit distance than NFC transceivers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kumar in view of Suumaki in order to provide a third device comprising a first antenna and further comprising a second antenna, a transmit power of the first antenna is less than a preset first power threshold, a longest transmit distance of the first antenna is a preset first distance threshold, and a transmit power of the second antenna is greater than the preset first power threshold in the system of Kumar.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kumar with Suumaki as doing so would allow NFC-compatible devices in close proximity to utilize a power efficient protocol to perform a gesture used to exchange specific information for another communications protocol, which may then be used to create an actual connection in the other communications protocol, such as Bluetooth or wireless local area network (WLAN) [Suumaki: 0005].
However, Kumar-Suumaki does not teach (where underlining indicates the portion of each limitation not taught):
receiving, by a first device, first authentication information in plaintext that is broadcast by a third device through a first antenna, wherein the first authentication information comprises a personal identification number (PIN) or an advanced encryption standard (AES)-based key;
establishing, by the first device, a first communication connection to the third device based on the first authentication information;
In a similar field of endeavor involving BT/WLAN setup methods employing NFC communication, Miyabayashi discloses:
receiving, by a first device, first authentication information in plaintext that is broadcast by a third device through a first antenna, wherein the first authentication information comprises a personal identification number (PIN) or an advanced encryption standard (AES)-based key; (transmitting a 16-byte data string set to the passkey in a plain-text state between the communication devices 100 and 200 [Miyabayashi: 0096; 0107; 0170]);
establishing, by the first device, a first communication connection to the third device based on the first authentication information; (upon authentication processing being completed, pairing is established between the communication devices 100 and 200 [Miyabayashi: 0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kumar-Suumaki in view of Miyabayashi in order to broadcast authentication information in plaintext, and establish a communication connection based on the first authentication information in the system of Kumar-Suumaki.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kumar-Suumaki with Miyabayashi as doing so would communicate the authentication information with greater device compatibility and power efficiency while providing alternate security measures [Miyabayashi: 0107-08], and would further enhance security by allowing communications from unauthenticated devices to be rejected.
With regard to Claim 24, Kumar-Suumaki-Miyabayashi teaches:
The method according to claim 23, wherein before sending, by the first device, the network configuration information to the third device, the method further comprises: receiving, by the first device, first configuration indication information broadcast by the third device, wherein the first configuration indication information indicates that the third device is in an unconfigured state; and determining, by the first device based on the first configuration indication information, that the third device is in the unconfigured state; (in step 211, device 202 advertises on a non-secure wireless medium the intention to onboard and be provisioned on a secure wireless network, wherein provisioner 204 receives the advertisement (beacon) from device 202 and records device 202′s unicast/MAC address and begins provisioning [Kumar: 0026-27; 0040; Fig. 2A]).
With regard to Claim 25, Kumar-Suumaki-Miyabayashi teaches:
The method according to claim 24, wherein receiving, by the first device, the first configuration indication information broadcast by the third device comprises: receiving, by the first device based on a Wireless Fidelity (Wi-Fi) protocol or a Bluetooth protocol, the first configuration indication information broadcast by the any third device; (the non-secure channel 303 may utilize Bluetooth or Bluetooth Low-energy (BLE) protocol [Kumar: 0034; Claim 29]).
With regard to Claim 27, Kumar-Suumaki-Miyabayashi teaches:
The method according to claim 23, wherein before sending, by the first device, the network configuration information to the third device, the method further comprises: broadcasting, by the first device, third configuration indication information to the third device, wherein the third configuration indication information triggers the third device to receive the network configuration information; (in step 224, provisioner 204 may send MessageDevice to device 202 causing device 202 to fetch the ProvisionerID the OnboardingKey, and ServerResponse in step 228 [Kumar: 0029; 0043-44; Fig. 2C]).
With regard to Claim 28, Kumar-Suumaki-Miyabayashi teaches:
The method according to claim 23, wherein sending, by the first device, the network configuration information to the third device comprises: sending, by the first device, the network configuration information to the third device based on the first communication connection; (non-secure communication channel 203 may be a discrete connection between provisioner 204 and device 202 [Kumar: 0030; Fig. 2A]).
With regard to Claim 29, Kumar-Suumaki-Miyabayashi teaches:
The method according to claim 28, wherein receiving, by the first device, the first authentication information in plaintext broadcast by the third device through the first antenna comprises: receiving, by the first device based on a Wi-Fi protocol or a Bluetooth protocol, the first authentication information in plaintext broadcast by the any third device through the first antenna; (device 202 advertises on a non-secure wireless medium the intention to onboard and be provisioned on a secure wireless network in step 211, wherein device 202 has stored in its memory a device universally unique identifier (UUID), a device key, and a server uniform resource identifier (URI), wherein the device UUID may be stored in the device memory during manufacturing, such that it is a trusted UUID, and wherein in step 212, provisioner 204 receives the advertisement (beacon) from device 202 and records device 202′s unicast/MAC address and begins provisioning [Kumar: 0026; Fig. 2A], wherein the non-secure channel 303 may utilize Bluetooth or Bluetooth Low-energy (BLE) protocol [Kumar: 0034; Claim 29]. Miyabayashi teaches transmitting a 16-byte data string set to the passkey in a plain-text state between the communication devices 100 and 200 [Miyabayashi: 0096; 0107; 0170]);
and wherein establishing, by the first device, the first communication connection to the third device based on the first authentication information comprises: establishing, by the first device, the first communication connection to the third device based on the Wi-Fi protocol or the Bluetooth protocol and the first authentication information; (non-secure communication channel 203 may be a discrete connection between provisioner 204 and device 202 [Kumar: 0030; Fig. 2A] and may utilize Bluetooth or Bluetooth Low-energy (BLE) protocol [Kumar: 0034; Claim 29]).
With regard to Claim 30, Kumar-Suumaki-Miyabayashi teaches:
The method according to claim 23, wherein the first device comprises a third antenna; (device A (i.e. first device) is equipped with an out-of-band NFC transceiver 12A (i.e. third antenna) [Suumaki: 0207; Fig. 2]);
a transmit power of the third antenna is less than the preset first power threshold, a longest transmit distance of the third antenna is the preset first distance threshold; (device B (i.e. third device) is equipped with an out-of-band NFC transceiver 12B (i.e. third antenna), wherein the NFC radio operates within the unlicensed radio frequency ISM band of 13.56 MHz, with a bandwidth of approximately 2 MHz over a typical distance of a few centimeters [Suumaki: 0207; 0182; Fig. 2]. Examiner notes that 802.11 Wi-Fi transceivers operate with a far greater transmit power and transmit distance than NFC transceivers);
and before receiving, by the first device, the network configuration information from the second device, the method further comprises: broadcasting, by the first device, second authentication information to the second device through the third antenna, wherein the second authentication information is used by the second device to establish a second communication connection to the first device; (In step 216, provisioner 204 sends the device UUID and MessageServer from device 202 to remote server 206 where the remote server verifies the UUID received from the provisioner and matches the device timestamp-based one-time password (TOTP) with its own TOTP to authenticate the provisioner in step 221 [Kumar: 0028-29; 0008; Fig. 2B]. Kumar further teaches that non-secure channel 303 and secure connection 305 may be over the same protocol such as Bluetooth or Bluetooth Low-energy (BLE) [Kumar: 0034]);
and wherein receiving, by the first device, the network configuration information from the second device comprises: receiving, by the first device based on the second communication connection, the network configuration information sent by the second device; (the secure connection between provisioner 304 and remote server 306 may utilize Wi-Fi [Kumar: 0034; Fig. 2B]).
With regard to Claim 31, Kumar-Suumaki-Miyabayashi teaches:
The method according to claim 23, wherein the first device comprises a third antenna; (device A (i.e. first device) is equipped with an out-of-band NFC transceiver 12A (i.e. first antenna) [Suumaki: 0207; Fig. 2]);
a transmit power of the third antenna is less than the preset first power threshold, a longest transmit distance of the third antenna is the preset first distance threshold; (device B (i.e. third device) is equipped with an out-of-band NFC transceiver 12B (i.e. third antenna), wherein the NFC radio operates within the unlicensed radio frequency ISM band of 13.56 MHz, with a bandwidth of approximately 2 MHz over a typical distance of a few centimeters [Suumaki: 0207; 0182; Fig. 2]. Examiner notes that 802.11 Wi-Fi transceivers operate with a far greater transmit power and transmit distance than NFC transceivers);
and sending, by the first device, the network configuration information to the third device comprises: broadcasting, by the first device, the network configuration information to the third device through the third antenna; (in step 230, provisioner 204 may send MessageCredentials to device 202 [Kumar: 0031; 0045; Fig. 2C]).
With regard to Claim 32, Kumar-Suumaki-Miyabayashi teaches:
The method according to claim 23, wherein the network configuration information comprises a device identifier of the network device and a password of the network device; (MessageCredentials may be an encrypted message using OnboardingKey, including an SSID, passphrase, the ProvisionerID, and the provisioner TOTP [Kumar: 0031]).
With regard to Claim 33, Kumar-Suumaki-Miyabayashi teaches:
The method according to claim 23, wherein the network device comprises a routing device, a gateway device, or a controlling device; (MessageCredentials may be an encrypted message using OnboardingKey, including an SSID, passphrase, the ProvisionerID, and the provisioner TOTP [Kumar: 0031]. Examiner notes that an SSID is utilized to connect a device to a wireless router).
With regard to Claim 34, Kumar-Suumaki-Miyabayashi teaches:
The method according to claim 23, wherein at least one of the first device and the third device is an Internet of things (IoT) device; (connecting devices such as dishwashers, refrigerators, and TVs [Kumar: 0003]).
With regard to Claims 36-37 & 39-42, they appear substantially similar to the limitations recited by claims 23-24, 27-28, & 30-31 and consequently do not appear to teach or further define over the citations provided for said claims. Accordingly, claims 36-37 & 39-42 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claims 23-24, 27-28, & 30-31.
Claims 26 & 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (US 2020/0412530 A1) in view of Suumaki (US 2013/0036231 A1) as applied to Claims 23 & 36 above, and further in view of Jiang et al. (US 2020/0221296 A1).
With regard to Claim 26, Kumar-Suumaki-Miyabayashi teaches:
The method according to claim 23, wherein the second device comprises a third antenna, a transmit power of the third antenna is greater than the preset first power threshold; (the access point device (i.e. second device) comprises an IEEE 802.11 transceiver 10AP (i.e. third antenna) [Suumaki: 0244; 0113; Figs. 6B & 8A]. Examiner notes that 802.11 Wi-Fi transceivers operate with a far greater transmit power and transmit distance than NFC transceivers);
and wherein before receiving, by the first device, the network configuration information from the second device, the method further comprises: broadcasting, by the first device, second configuration indication information to the second device, wherein the second configuration indication information indicates that the first device is in an unconfigured state; (in step 215, Device 202 responds to provisioner 204 with a message to the remote server 206 (MessageServer), wherein MessageServer is provided to provisioner 204 to pass on to remote server 206 in step 216 [Kumar: 0027]);
and after receiving, by the first device, the network configuration information from the second device, connecting the third device to the network device based on the network configuration information; (device 202 may join the network including remote server 206 in step 234 using the MessageCredentials provided by device 204 [Kumar: 0031; Fig. 2C]).
However, Kumar-Suumaki-Miyabayashi does not teach (where underlining indicates the portion of each limitation not taught):
and after receiving, by the first device, the network configuration information from the second device, connecting the first device to the network device based on the network configuration information.
In a similar field of endeavor involving provisioning IoT devices or WiFi clients to onboard devices to a network, Jiang discloses:
and after receiving, by the first device, the network configuration information from the second device, connecting the first device to the network device based on the network configuration information; (centralized configurator server 220 may configure AP 230A (first device) to authorize connectivity between AP 230A and other WiFi client devices, wherein once the configuration object is configured to AP 230A, the network discovery phase of DPP provisioning may commence [Jiang: 0034], wherein AP 230A, may act as a proxy for relaying DPP frames used for exchanging DPP messaging and DPP-related information between centralized configurator server 220 and each of the IoT devices/WiFi clients [Jiang: 0036-37; 0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kumar-Suumaki-Miyabayashi in view of Jiang in order to connect the first device to the network device based on the network configuration information in the system of Kumar-Suumaki-Miyabayashi.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kumar-Suumaki-Miyabayashi with Jiang as doing so would parallel DPP provisioning of multiple enrollees, simultaneously [Jiang: 0049-50].
With regard to Claim 38, it appears substantially similar to the limitations recited by claim 26 and consequently does not appear to teach or further define over the citations provided for said claim. Accordingly, claim 38 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 26.
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (US 2020/0412530 A1) in view of Suumaki (US 2013/0036231 A1) as applied to Claim 34 above, and further in view of Zakaria (US 2020/0213307 A1).
With regard to Claim 35, Kumar-Suumaki-Miyabayashi teaches the method according to claim 34, but does not teach:
wherein the second device is an IoT device.
In a similar field of endeavor involving automatically providing network credentials to IoT devices, Zakaria discloses:
wherein the second device is an IoT device; (new IoT device 1300 utilizes BTLE to search for any enabled devices within coverage (e.g., IoT Hub 1202 or other IoT devices) and provides a credentials request including data identifying the WiFI access point/router 1200 to which the IoT device 1300 would like to connect, wherein IoT hub 1202 will subsequently obtain and provide network credentials to the IoT device 1300 which will utilize the network credentials to automatically establish a secure connection to the WiFi access point/router 1200, wherein the IoT device 1300 may connect through another IoT device if the lot hub 1202 is not within range [Zakaria: 0100-102; Fig. 13]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kumar-Suumaki-Miyabayashi in view of Zakaria in order to allow the second device to be an IoT device in the system of Kumar-Suumaki-Miyabayashi.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kumar-Suumaki-Miyabayashi with Zakaria as doing so would allow the other IoT device (which is connected to the IoT hub) to couple the new IoT device to the credentials management module 1210 on the IoT hub 1202 in the event the lot hub 1202 is not within range of the new IoT device [Zakaria: 0102].
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated any new grounds of rejection presented in this office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ilsar et al. (US 2015/0071216 A1) which teaches an onboarder device receives updated network configuration parameters for a local wireless network, and sends the updated network configuration parameters and a delay parameter to one or more onboardee devices, wherein the one or more user devices reconnect to the local wireless network using the updated network configuration parameters at a time indicated by the delay parameter.
In the case of amendments, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/AUSTIN J MOREAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446