DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on November 24, 2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III, claims 16-23 in the reply filed on November 24, 2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on March 17, 2023; May 14, 2024; November 5, 2024; December 12, 2024; February 7, 2025; July 17, 2025 have/has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner. Initialed copies of supplied IDS(s) forms are included in this correspondence.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
a) displaying one more test stimuli (claim 16)
b) swimming goggles, motorcycle helmet (claim 20)
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a) adjustable components…include components adjustable to set one or more… in claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-18, 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Katzman et al. (US 2005/0041209 - Katzman).
As to claim 16, Katzman teaches A method for capturing anthropometric data of a person using an adjustable eyeglasses frame (Katzman Fig. 1A - 10, 12), the adjustable eyeglasses frame holding a pair of lenses (Katzman Fig. 1A - 24; para. [0028]; Fig. 2A - 24), at least one of the lenses associated with a virtual display (Katzman Fig. 1A - 24; para. [0028], [0032], [0034] - A person versed in the art will appreciate that the image may be a reality image or a virtual image), the method comprising
assembling a test adjustable eyeglasses frame in a respective geometric configuration using adjustable components from a kit (Katzman Fig. 2A - 12, 20, 24, 36, 38, 40, 52; para. [0031]);
in an iterative fitting procedure, placing the test adjustable eyeglasses frame on the person to hold the at least one of the lenses associated with a virtual display in front of the person's eyes (Katzman Figs. 1A, 2A - 24, 76; para. [0041], [0042]);
displaying one or more test stimuli on the virtual display (Katzman Figs. 3A-3C; para. [0040]);
when the person's perceptions of the displayed one or more test stimuli match target perceptions of the one or more test stimuli, determining the geometric configuration of the test adjustable frame as being a best-fit geometric configuration of the test adjustable eyeglasses frame (Katzman Fig. 1B; Fig. 2A; para. [0041]-[0044] - At the end of the measurement process, processor 30 generates the coordinates of the pupils 76 with respect to the true position of the eyeglass frame 12, based on the processed data registered by the processor 30);
when the person's perceptions of the displayed one or more test stimuli do not match the target perceptions of the one or more test stimuli, readjusting the respective geometric configuration of the adjustable test eyeglasses frame, and repeating the iterative fitting procedure (Katzman Fig. 2A; para. [0040]-[0044] - The graphic image displayed on the display modules 24 is displaceable about the display module and is controllable by means of a controlling assembly (e.g. in FIG. 1A comprising processor 30 ad controller 32) which in the present embodiment is by wireless means and for that purpose a receiver/transmitter unit 64 is mounted on the frame 46…The process may repeat several times (using the same graphic images or different ones at each time and optionally changing the size and distance of the target mark) and each time the graphic image intercepts with the individual's line of vision a point of interception is registered into the processor 30, e.g. by use of the control unit 32);
recording results of the iterative fitting procedure (Katzman para. [0044]);
building an eyewear device having a fixed geometry for the person based on anthropometric data extracted from the results of the iterative fitting procedure (Katzman para. [0046]).
As to claim 17, Katzman teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 16, and Katzman further teaches the adjustable components from the kit include components adjustable to set one or more of interpupillary distance, nose-to-eye pupil distance, face wrap, head width, and ear position of the test adjustable eyeglasses frame (Katzman Fig. 2A - 36, 40, 24; para. [0008], [0015], [0031] - setting and determining pupil position (PP)).
As to claim 18, Katzman teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 16, and Katzman further teaches the adjustable components from the kit include nose bridges adjustable to set one or more of interpupillary distance, wrap angles, and cyclo-rotations of the test adjustable eyeglasses frame (Katzman Fig. 2A - 36, 40, 24; para. [0008], [0015], [0031] - setting and determining pupil position (PP)).
As to claim 21, Katzman teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 16, and Katzman further teaches displaying one or more test stimuli on the virtual display includes displaying one or more of:
optometric test images and test patterns including one or more of color patterns to assess color uniformity, line patterns to assess distortion, and dot patterns to assess focus (Katzman Figs. 3A-C).
As to claim 22, Katzman teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 16, and Katzman further teaches the target perceptions of the one or more test stimuli include one or more of:
seeing a full size the virtual display; uniform brightness, color, sharpness, contrast across the virtual display; uniformity of focus across the virtual display; vertical and horizontal alignment, absence of image distortions; and keystone defect-free image (Katzman Figs. 3A-C; para. [0033]).
As to claim 23, Katzman teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 16, and Katzman further teaches building an eyewear device with a fixed geometry for the person based on anthropometric data extracted from the results of the iterative fitting procedure includes building a fixed- geometry eyeglasses frame that matches the best-fit geometric configuration of the test adjustable eyeglasses frame, building swimming goggles, or building a motorcycle helmet (Katzman para. [0016]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katzman as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Castaneda et al. (US 11,113,889 - Castaneda).
As to claim 19, Katzman teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 16, but doesn’t specify the adjustable components from the kit include nose pads adjustable to set to set a height of the test adjustable eyeglasses frame when worn by the person.
In the same field of endeavor Castaneda teaches a kit for adjustable eyewear with nose pads adjustable to set a height of the test adjustable eyeglasses frame when worn by a person (Castaneda Figs. 8-9 - 280, 294; col. 5:21-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide adjustable nose pads since, as taught by Castaneda, adjustable nose pads are well known in the art for the purpose of setting the height of the eyewear lenses/displays (Castaneda Figs. 8-9 - 280, 294; col. 5:21-40).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katzman as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Allione (US 2018/0129068; cited by Applicant).
As to claim 20, Katzman teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 16, but doesn’t specify the adjustable components from the kit include replaceable fixed-geometry nose bridges, each replaceable fixed-geometry nose bridge corresponding to a fixed inter-frame separation distance and a fixed wrap angle of the test adjustable eyeglasses frame.
In the same field of endeavor Allione teaches kits of eyewear with replaceable fixed-geometry nose bridges, each replaceable fixed-geometry nose bridge corresponding to a fixed inter-frame separation distance and a fixed wrap angle of the test adjustable eyeglasses frame (Allione Fig. 1 - 131, 132, 133, 134, 120, 110; para. [0071], [0076], [0077]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide relaceable nose bridges since, as taught by Allione, such elements allow for specially adapting the nose bridge to wearer (Allione para. [0077]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Castaneda et al. (US 2021/0366198); Hayashi et al. (US 6,257,721); Gauvreau (US 6,132,045) are cited as additional examples of method of fitting eyewear with adjustable glasses.
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 December 19, 2025