DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to application No. 18/245,871 filed on 03/25/2026. Claim(s) 8-9, 20-21, and 32-33 are canceled. Claim(s) 1-7, 10-19, 22-31, and 34-39 is/are pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A) Applicants assert on P.2-3 that “Keen does not teach an interface control combined with the IFE and "the electronic sponsor page includes the interface control to access an electronic file provided by the white listed electronic page stored on a content server off-board the aircraft, wherein the electronic file is accessible to the client device via the electronic sponsor page and using the internet connection available onboard the aircraft"… Keen does not teach "to access an electronic file provided by the white listed electronic page stored on a content server off-board the aircraft". Keen also does not teach an interface control to access a white listed electronic sponsor page and electronic file. Keen's web content for an electronic retail supplier is not the same as an interface control that enables access to a white listed electronic sponsor page and electronic file for a sponsor. Further, Keen does not teach "the electronic sponsor page includes a sub-interface enabling access to one or more electronic objects and the electronic sponsor page is a customized channel containing sponsor content that is associated with a sponsor." The web pages of Keen are for purchasing products and services from an electronic retail supplier but do not include an interface control for accessing the electronic objects in an electronic sponsor page that is a customized channel associated with a sponsor… Keen does not teach an electronic sponsor page that is a customized channel integrated into an IFE. A sponsor is an entity that controls the content of the entire sponsor page whereas an electronic shopping page in an IFE generally contains products from many suppliers or manufacturers…The electronic retail supplier web pages of Keene are different than an electronic sponsor page that is a customized channel containing sponsor content, as claimed. Enabling purchase of a product or service does not teach an electronic sponsor page that is a customized channel containing sponsor content, as amended in claim 1. Keen also does not teach a user interface control combined with the IFE that enables access to an electronic sponsor site.”
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Keen alone was not used to teach the entirety of the limitations. It was the combination of Keen, Fisher, and Becotte IV that was used to teach the claimed limitation(s).
Keen was used to teach wherein the electronic sponsor page includes a sub-interface enabling access to one or more electronic objects, wherein content is accessible to the client device using the internet connection available onboard the aircraft. While the remaining limitation(s) were taught by the combination of Fisher and Becotte IV. (See Office Action below)
Additionally Applicant in arguments mention that “A sponsor is an entity that controls the content of the entire sponsor page”. However the claims only claim “an electronic sponsor page” and does not detail or explicitly claim that a sponsor is an entity that controls the content of the entire sponsor page. Therefore, as Applicant has not further defined and/or narrowed what constitutes an electronic sponsor page, it does not preclude interpretation taken by the examiner as seen below in the rejection based on the combination of Keen, Fisher, and Becotte IV.
B) Applicant asserts on P.3 that “Fisher does not teach or suggest that "the electronic sponsor page includes the interface control to access an electronic file provided by the white listed electronic page stored on a content server off-board the aircraft, wherein the electronic file is accessible to the client device via the electronic sponsor page and using an internet connection available onboard the aircraft". Fisher does not teach an electronic sponsor page that is a customized channel integrated into an IFE. A sponsor is an entity that controls the content of the entire sponsor page whereas a content portal only has content or information about a specific topic in the portal and a content portal is not content controlled by a sponsor. Fisher's content portal does not teach or suggest a sponsor page that is a customized channel and electronic objects in the sponsor page.”
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Fisher was used to teach “wherein an electronic sponsor page includes an interface control to access a electronic page stored on a content server off-board an aircraft, and the electronic page is accessible to a client device via the electronic sponsor page; the electronic sponsor page is a customized channel containing sponsor content that is associated with a sponsor and the electronic sponsor page includes an interface control to access an electronic file provided by the electronic page stored on a content server off-board the aircraft, wherein the electronic file is accessible to the client device via the electronic sponsor page”. Please see Office Action below.
Also note that as Applicant has not further narrowed what constitutes and electronic file, under broadest reasonable interpretation, it can be, but not limited to the purchase screen that is provided a port to the sponsor’s web page that allows them to place an order for the desired product. Additionally, links to third parties to an advertiser’s website, includes Amazon.com. The sponsors in the figures are a DVD retailer or a sponsor that sells books, allowing for purchase of DVDs or books. As reference does allow for retailer to be Amazon.com, thus, when Amazon.com is a retailer sponsor, the products sold can be digital products, as Amazon was already selling digital products at the time.
Additionally Applicant in arguments mention that “A sponsor is an entity that controls the content of the entire sponsor page”. However the claims only claim “an electronic sponsor page” and does not detail or explicitly claim that a sponsor is an entity that controls the content of the entire sponsor page. Therefore, as Applicant has not further defined and/or narrowed what constitutes an electronic sponsor page, it does not preclude interpretation taken by the examiner as seen below in the rejection based on the combination of Keen, Fisher, and Becotte IV.
C) Applicant asserts on P.3-4 that “Becotte IV does not teach or suggest "the electronic sponsor page includes the interface control to access an electronic file provided by the white listed electronic page stored on a content server off-board the aircraft, wherein the electronic file is accessible to the client device via the electronic sponsor page and using the internet connection available onboard the aircraft". Becotte IV does not teach or suggest access to a white listed electronic object and an electronic file stored on a content server off-board the aircraft… In addition, the sponsor page is a customized channel containing sponsor content. The combination of Keene, Fisher and Becotte IV does not teach orsuggest electronic objects accessed through an electronic sponsor page that is a white listed electronic page associated with a sponsor and therefore claim 1 should be allowed.”
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Becotte IV alone was not used to teach the entirety of the limitations. It was the combination of Keen, Fisher, and Becotte IV that was used to teach the claimed limitation(s).
Becotte IV was only use to teach wherein electronic page is a white listed electronic page. Please see Office Action below and Examiner’s response in parts (A) and (B) above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 12, 14-19, 24, 26-31, and 37-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keen et al. (US 2014/0282684), in view of Fisher et al. (US 2005/0229220), and further in view of Becotte IV et al. (US 2018/0365034).
Consider claim 1, Keen teaches a method for providing electronic sponsor pages to passengers on an aircraft (Fig.6, Paragraph 0110-0113), comprising:
combining, at a server on the aircraft, an interface control and an inflight interactive environment, wherein the interface control enables a passenger on the aircraft to access an electronic sponsor page through the inflight interactive environment, wherein the electronic sponsor page includes the interface control to access a electronic page (Figs.5&6, Paragraph 0109 teaches data memory cache 155 of server 162, may cache predetermined web pages to be browsed. Paragraph 0110 teaches the stored web pages may be directed to a particular topic or theme, such as services and products. Paragraph 0112 teaches data memory cache 155 may be configured to push common data related to services and products to PEDs, or permit PEDs to pull the common data related to the services and products therefrom. Paragraph 0113-0114 teaches in addition to products and services, common data is directed towards interactive maps, allowing users to interact with an interactive map, as well as displaying the current location and position of the aircraft. Destination information such as arriving gate number, connecting gate numbers, baggage claim information, hotels, rental car agencies, restaurants, etc can be displayed. Paragraph 0115 teaches categories titled Hotels 211, Rental Cars 213, Restaurants 215, and Entertainment 217 are available for viewing by the passenger. Paragraph 0119 teaches once web pages are stored in the data memory cache 155, passenger using PED 130 can access and browse the web pages for on-board shopping while the aircraft 120 is airborne), and using an internet connection available onboard the aircraft when the aircraft is in the air (Paragraph 0128 teaches satellite 230 provides Internet access to the PEDs 130, Paragraph 0129 teaches web pages requested by the passenger, via their PED 130, is provided over the air-to-ground interface 200. Satellite 230 transmits the requested web pages to the aircraft 120 over satellite link 252 upon receiving the request from the ground. Paragraph 0233 teaches at least one aircraft transceiver 670 may be used to communicate external the aircraft, such as to the Internet service provider 672. At least one aircraft transceiver 670 may be configured as one or more airborne data links for communicating external the aircraft 122 for when the aircraft is airborne);
sending the inflight interactive environment from the server to a client device onboard the aircraft over a network connection for display (Paragraph 0119, 0121, 0156);
receiving, at the server, a selection of the interface control included in the inflight interactive environment; and sending, in response to the selection of the interface control, the electronic sponsor page from the server to the client device for display, wherein the electronic sponsor page includes a sub-interface enabling access to one or more electronic objects (Figs.5&6, Paragraph 0109 teaches data memory cache 155 of server 162, may cache predetermined web pages to be browsed. Paragraph 0110 teaches the stored web pages may be directed to a particular topic or theme, such as services and products. Paragraph 0111 teaches web content may be directed to an electronic retail suppliers, where passengers may be able to shop for a variety of different items. Paragraph 0113-0114 teaches in addition to products and services, common data is directed towards interactive maps, allowing users to interact with an interactive map, as well as displaying the current location and position of the aircraft. Destination information such as arriving gate number, connecting gate numbers, baggage claim information, hotels, rental car agencies, restaurants, etc can be displayed. Paragraph 0115 teaches categories titled Hotels 211, Rental Cars 213, Restaurants 215, and Entertainment 217 are available for viewing by the passenger. Paragraph 0116 teaches passengers can select a desired or preferred hotel from category 211, allowing user to make hotel reservation while in flight. Likewise, rental car reservation can be made while in flight if a car is needed. Paragraph 0119 teaches once web pages are stored in the data memory cache 155, passenger using PED 130 can access and browse the web pages for on-board shopping while the aircraft 120 is airborne. Paragraph 0222-0223 teaches various advertisements on various products and services may be selected for purchase by a passenger using their PED) and the electronic sponsor page is associated with a sponsor (Paragraph 0208 teaches airline may provide special offers and incentives to users. Paragraph 0109-0114 teaches web pages that are directed to services and products, electronic retail suppliers, etc. Web pages meet the criteria regarding electronic sponsor pages, providing a sub-interface that enables access to one or more electronic objects. Sponsor in case, under broadest reasonable interpretation, may be, including, but not limited to the airline and/or entity in control of provision of web pages. As the airline and/or entity is supporting and/or providing the means of carrying out the provision of the web page for user access), wherein content is accessible to the client device using the internet connection available onboard the aircraft (Paragraph 0125, 0128-0129, 0393, 0396).
Keen does not explicitly teach wherein the electronic sponsor page includes the interface control to access a white listed electronic page stored on a content server off-board the aircraft, and the white listed electronic page is accessible to a client device via the electronic sponsor page;
the electronic sponsor page is a customized channel containing sponsor content that is associated with a sponsor and the electronic sponsor page includes the interface control to access an electronic file provided by the white listed electronic page stored on a content server off-board the aircraft, wherein the electronic file is accessible to the client device via the electronic sponsor page.
In an analogous art, Fisher teaches wherein an electronic sponsor page includes an interface control to access a electronic page stored on a content server off-board an aircraft, and the electronic page is accessible to a client device via the electronic sponsor page; the electronic sponsor page is a customized channel containing sponsor content that is associated with a sponsor and the electronic sponsor page includes an interface control to access an electronic file provided by the electronic page stored on a content server off-board the aircraft, wherein the electronic file is accessible to the client device via the electronic sponsor page (Paragraph 0049 teaches there may be servers at third party sites which store, for example, Web site or Internet destinations to which the EOD Video Services Platform 10 will direct the consumers 20. Paragraph 0055-0056 teaches server 15 may contain any number of portals and will direct the consumer to the correct portal screen. Paragraph 0057 teaches providing the consumer with the ability to link through to the Web retailer, such as a Web based retailer such as Amazon.com. Fig.6, Paragraph 0061 teaches a portal entry screen 200 for a network channel portal. Paragraph 0062 teaches a sponsor logo 210 which is a name and/or logo to indicate the primary paid sponsor for the portal. The consumer at any time may select the sponsor logo 210 and the Web browser application will retrieve information from the server 15 showing the latest products, services, or special offers from the sponsor. Fig.8, Paragraph 0080 teaches sponsor logo 210, along with sponsor 1 280, sponsor 2 290, and sponsor 3 300. Along with ads for these sponsors that reference to specific products, 281-284 for sponsor 1, 291-294 for sponsor 2, and products 301-304 for sponsor 3. Products 281-284 may be books written by Mario Puzo. The products 291-294 may be DVDs based on Mario Puzo’s books. Paragraph 0082 teaches consumer may either select the sponsor button or the specific product button to display a purchase screen. By selecting the appropriate buttons, the consumer may display a purchase screen that allows them to purchase the product they desire. The purchase screen may be a port to the sponsor’s Web page. EOD Video Services Platform 10 may have a communication link with third party data feeds 55. These third party data feeds 55 may be, for example, a link through the public Internet or a "walled garden" Web environment to an advertiser's 50 Website. This link allows the consumer 20 to make purchases at the advertiser's 50 Web site via the EOD Video Services Platform 10. As Applicant has not further narrowed what constitutes and electronic file, under broadest reasonable interpretation, it can be, but not limited to the purchase screen that is provided a port to the sponsor’s web page that allows them to place an order for the desired product. Additionally, links to third parties to an advertiser’s website, includes Amazon.com. The sponsors in the figures are a DVD retailer or a sponsor that sells books, allowing for purchase of DVDs or books. As reference does allow for retailer to be Amazon.com, thus, when Amazon.com is a retailer sponsor, the products sold can be digital products, as Amazon was already selling digital products at the time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Keen to include wherein an electronic sponsor page includes an interface control to access a electronic page stored on a content server off-board an aircraft, and the electronic page is accessible to a client device via the electronic sponsor page; the electronic sponsor page is a customized channel containing sponsor content that is associated with a sponsor and the electronic sponsor page includes an interface control to access an electronic file provided by the electronic page stored on a content server off-board the aircraft, wherein the electronic file is accessible to the client device via the electronic sponsor page, as taught by Fisher, for the advantage of allowing the consumer to interact with the portal to make purchases of the products that they desire (Fisher – Paragraph 0082), giving them a convenient location in which to peruse through various offerings, and be instantly connected to advertisers to make their purchase(s) in real time.
Keen and Fisher do not explicitly teach wherein electronic page is a white listed electronic page.
In an analogous art, Becotte IV teaches wherein electronic page is a white listed electronic page (Paragraph 0069 teaches candidate destination pages may only include webpages from a pre-defined collection of merchants, e.g. such that a destination page is chosen from a pre-defined “whitelist”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Keen and Fisher to include wherein electronic page is a white listed electronic page, as taught by Becotte IV, for the advantage of favoring pre-existing relationships with particular merchants, particular merchants that may be more trustworthy than others, prefer those merchants over others, providing from a pre-defined collection of merchants (Becotte IV – Paragraph 0069), allowing the system to selectively curate access to preferred merchants, based on desired criteria, providing greater control over what content is accessed.
Consider claim 14, Keen teaches a non-transitory machine readable storage medium having instructions embodied thereon, the instructions when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform a process (Fig.1, Paragraph 0097; Fig.11, Paragraph 0169) including:
receiving, at a server on an aircraft, an electronic sponsor page that includes one or more electronic objects (Paragraph 0109 teaches data memory cache 155 caches predetermined web pages to be browsed. Web pages are received while the aircraft is on the ground such as via a wireless airport data link 172. Paragraph 0118 teaches when aircraft 120 lands at a different airport, the web pages can be updated or refreshed over the ground data link interface 180), wherein the electronic sponsor page includes an interface control to access a electronic page (Figs.5&6, Paragraph 0109 teaches data memory cache 155 of server 162, may cache predetermined web pages to be browsed. Paragraph 0110 teaches the stored web pages may be directed to a particular topic or theme, such as services and products. Paragraph 0112 teaches data memory cache 155 may be configured to push common data related to services and products to PEDs, or permit PEDs to pull the common data related to the services and products therefrom. Paragraph 0113-0114 teaches in addition to products and services, common data is directed towards interactive maps, allowing users to interact with an interactive map, as well as displaying the current location and position of the aircraft. Destination information such as arriving gate number, connecting gate numbers, baggage claim information, hotels, rental car agencies, restaurants, etc can be displayed. Paragraph 0115 teaches categories titled Hotels 211, Rental Cars 213, Restaurants 215, and Entertainment 217 are available for viewing by the passenger. Paragraph 0119 teaches once web pages are stored in the data memory cache 155, passenger using PED 130 can access and browse the web pages for on-board shopping while the aircraft 120 is airborne), and using an internet connection available onboard the aircraft when the aircraft is in the air (Paragraph 0128 teaches satellite 230 provides Internet access to the PEDs 130, Paragraph 0129 teaches web pages requested by the passenger, via their PED 130, is provided over the air-to-ground interface 200. Satellite 230 transmits the requested web pages to the aircraft 120 over satellite link 252 upon receiving the request from the ground. Paragraph 0233 teaches at least one aircraft transceiver 670 may be used to communicate external the aircraft, such as to the Internet service provider 672. At least one aircraft transceiver 670 may be configured as one or more airborne data links for communicating external the aircraft 122 for when the aircraft is airborne);
combining, at the server, an interface control and an inflight interactive environment, wherein the interface control is associated with the electronic sponsor page and enables a passenger on the aircraft to access the electronic sponsor page through the inflight interactive environment (Figs.5&6, Paragraph 0109 teaches data memory cache 155 of server 162, may cache predetermined web pages to be browsed. Paragraph 0110 teaches the stored web pages may be directed to a particular topic or theme, such as services and products. Paragraph 0112 teaches data memory cache 155 may be configured to push common data related to services and products to PEDs, or permit PEDs to pull the common data related to the services and products therefrom. Paragraph 0113-0114 teaches in addition to products and services, common data is directed towards interactive maps, allowing users to interact with an interactive map, as well as displaying the current location and position of the aircraft. Destination information such as arriving gate number, connecting gate numbers, baggage claim information, hotels, rental car agencies, restaurants, etc can be displayed. Paragraph 0115 teaches categories titled Hotels 211, Rental Cars 213, Restaurants 215, and Entertainment 217 are available for viewing by the passenger. Paragraph 0119 teaches once web pages are stored in the data memory cache 155, passenger using PED 130 can access and browse the web pages for on-board shopping while the aircraft 120 is airborne);
storing the inflight interactive environment that includes the interface control on a data store that resides on the aircraft (data memory cache 155-Fig.1, Paragraph 0097, 0108-0109, 0113, 0119);
sending, from the server, the inflight interactive environment to a client device onboard the aircraft over a network connection for display on the client device (Paragraph 0119, 0121, 0156), wherein the electronic sponsor page is accessible through the interface control included in the inflight interactive environment (Paragraph 0110-0116, 0222-0223); and
sending, in response to a selection of the interface control, the electronic sponsor page from the server to the client device for display, wherein the electronic sponsor page includes a sub-interface enabling access to the one or more electronic objects (Figs.5&6, Paragraph 0109 teaches data memory cache 155 of server 162, may cache predetermined web pages to be browsed. Paragraph 0110 teaches the stored web pages may be directed to a particular topic or theme, such as services and products. Paragraph 0111 teaches web content may be directed to an electronic retail suppliers, where passengers may be able to shop for a variety of different items. Paragraph 0113-0114 teaches in addition to products and services, common data is directed towards interactive maps, allowing users to interact with an interactive map, as well as displaying the current location and position of the aircraft. Destination information such as arriving gate number, connecting gate numbers, baggage claim information, hotels, rental car agencies, restaurants, etc can be displayed. Paragraph 0115 teaches categories titled Hotels 211, Rental Cars 213, Restaurants 215, and Entertainment 217 are available for viewing by the passenger. Paragraph 0116 teaches passengers can select a desired or preferred hotel from category 211, allowing user to make hotel reservation while in flight. Likewise, rental car reservation can be made while in flight if a car is needed. Paragraph 0119 teaches once web pages are stored in the data memory cache 155, passenger using PED 130 can access and browse the web pages for on-board shopping while the aircraft 120 is airborne. Paragraph 0222-0223 teaches various advertisements on various products and services may be selected for purchase by a passenger using their PED) and the electronic sponsor page is associated with a sponsor (Paragraph 0208 teaches airline may provide special offers and incentives to users. Paragraph 0109-0114 teaches web pages that are directed to services and products, electronic retail suppliers, etc. Web pages meet the criteria regarding electronic sponsor pages, providing a sub-interface that enables access to one or more electronic objects. Sponsor in case, under broadest reasonable interpretation, may be, including, but not limited to the airline and/or entity in control of provision of web pages. As the airline and/or entity is supporting and/or providing the means of carrying out the provision of the web page for user access), wherein content is accessible to the client device using the internet connection available onboard the aircraft (Paragraph 0125, 0128-0129, 0393, 0396).
Keen does not explicitly teach wherein the electronic sponsor page includes an interface control to access a white listed electronic page stored on a content server off-board the aircraft, wherein the white listed electronic page is accessible to a client device via the electronic sponsor page;
the electronic sponsor page is a customized channel containing sponsor content that is associated with a sponsor and the electronic sponsor page includes the interface control to access an electronic file provided by the white listed electronic page stored on a content server off-board the aircraft, wherein the electronic file is accessible to the client device via the electronic sponsor page.
In an analogous art, Fisher teaches wherein an electronic sponsor page includes an interface control to access a electronic page stored on a content server off-board an aircraft, wherein the electronic page is accessible to a client device via the electronic sponsor page; the electronic sponsor page is a customized channel containing sponsor content that is associated with a sponsor and the electronic sponsor page includes an interface control to access an electronic file provided by the electronic page stored on a content server off-board the aircraft, wherein the electronic file is accessible to the client device via the electronic sponsor page (Paragraph 0049 teaches there may be servers at third party sites which store, for example, Web site or Internet destinations to which the EOD Video Services Platform 10 will direct the consumers 20. Paragraph 0055-0056 teaches server 15 may contain any number of portals and will direct the consumer to the correct portal screen. Paragraph 0057 teaches providing the consumer with the ability to link through to the Web retailer, such as a Web based retailer such as Amazon.com. Fig.6, Paragraph 0061 teaches a portal entry screen 200 for a network channel portal. Paragraph 0062 teaches a sponsor logo 210 which is a name and/or logo to indicate the primary paid sponsor for the portal. The consumer at any time may select the sponsor logo 210 and the Web browser application will retrieve information from the server 15 showing the latest products, services, or special offers from the sponsor. Fig.8, Paragraph 0080 teaches sponsor logo 210, along with sponsor 1 280, sponsor 2 290, and sponsor 3 300. Along with ads for these sponsors that reference to specific products, 281-284 for sponsor 1, 291-294 for sponsor 2, and products 301-304 for sponsor 3. Products 281-284 may be books written by Mario Puzo. The products 291-294 may be DVDs based on Mario Puzo’s books. Paragraph 0082 teaches consumer may either select the sponsor button or the specific product button to display a purchase screen. By selecting the appropriate buttons, the consumer may display a purchase screen that allows them to purchase the product they desire. The purchase screen may be a port to the sponsor’s Web page. EOD Video Services Platform 10 may have a communication link with third party data feeds 55. These third party data feeds 55 may be, for example, a link through the public Internet or a "walled garden" Web environment to an advertiser's 50 Website. This link allows the consumer 20 to make purchases at the advertiser's 50 Web site via the EOD Video Services Platform 10. As Applicant has not further narrowed what constitutes and electronic file, under broadest reasonable interpretation, it can be, but not limited to the purchase screen that is provided a port to the sponsor’s web page that allows them to place an order for the desired product. Additionally, links to third parties to an advertiser’s website, includes Amazon.com. The sponsors in the figures are a DVD retailer or a sponsor that sells books, allowing for purchase of DVDs or books. As reference does allow for retailer to be Amazon.com, thus, when Amazon.com is a retailer sponsor, the products sold can be digital products, as Amazon was already selling digital products at the time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Keen to include wherein an electronic sponsor page includes an interface control to access a electronic page stored on a content server off-board an aircraft, wherein the electronic page is accessible to a client device via the electronic sponsor page; the electronic sponsor page is a customized channel containing sponsor content that is associated with a sponsor and the electronic sponsor page includes an interface control to access an electronic file provided by the electronic page stored on a content server off-board the aircraft, wherein the electronic file is accessible to the client device via the electronic sponsor page, as taught by Fisher, for the advantage of allowing the consumer to interact with the portal to make purchases of the products that they desire (Fisher – Paragraph 0082), giving them a convenient location in which to peruse through various offerings, and be instantly connected to advertisers to make their purchase(s) in real time.
Keen and Fisher do not explicitly teach wherein electronic page is a white listed electronic page.
In an analogous art, Becotte IV teaches wherein electronic page is a white listed electronic page (Paragraph 0069 teaches candidate destination pages may only include webpages from a pre-defined collection of merchants, e.g. such that a destination page is chosen from a pre-defined “whitelist”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Keen and Fisher to include wherein electronic page is a white listed electronic page, as taught by Becotte IV, for the advantage of favoring pre-existing relationships with particular merchants, particular merchants that may be more trustworthy than others, prefer those merchants over others, providing from a pre-defined collection of merchants (Becotte IV – Paragraph 0069), allowing the system to selectively curate access to preferred merchants, based on desired criteria, providing greater control over what content is accessed.
Consider claim 26, Keen teaches a system, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory device including a data store to store a plurality of data and instructions that, when executed, cause the system (Fig.1, Paragraph 0097; Fig.11, Paragraph 0169) to:
combine an interface control and an inflight interactive environment, wherein the interface control is associated with an electronic sponsor page and enables a passenger on an aircraft to access the electronic sponsor page through the inflight interactive environment, wherein the electronic sponsor page includes an interface control to access a electronic page (Figs.5&6, Paragraph 0109 teaches data memory cache 155 of server 162, may cache predetermined web pages to be browsed. Paragraph 0110 teaches the stored web pages may be directed to a particular topic or theme, such as services and products. Paragraph 0112 teaches data memory cache 155 may be configured to push common data related to services and products to PEDs, or permit PEDs to pull the common data related to the services and products therefrom. Paragraph 0113-0114 teaches in addition to products and services, common data is directed towards interactive maps, allowing users to interact with an interactive map, as well as displaying the current location and position of the aircraft. Destination information such as arriving gate number, connecting gate numbers, baggage claim information, hotels, rental car agencies, restaurants, etc can be displayed. Paragraph 0115 teaches categories titled Hotels 211, Rental Cars 213, Restaurants 215, and Entertainment 217 are available for viewing by the passenger. Paragraph 0119 teaches once web pages are stored in the data memory cache 155, passenger using PED 130 can access and browse the web pages for on-board shopping while the aircraft 120 is airborne), and using an internet connection available onboard the aircraft when the aircraft is in the air (Paragraph 0128 teaches satellite 230 provides Internet access to the PEDs 130, Paragraph 0129 teaches web pages requested by the passenger, via their PED 130, is provided over the air-to-ground interface 200. Satellite 230 transmits the requested web pages to the aircraft 120 over satellite link 252 upon receiving the request from the ground. Paragraph 0233 teaches at least one aircraft transceiver 670 may be used to communicate external the aircraft, such as to the Internet service provider 672. At least one aircraft transceiver 670 may be configured as one or more airborne data links for communicating external the aircraft 122 for when the aircraft is airborne);
send the inflight interactive environment to the client device onboard the aircraft over a network connection for display on the client device (Paragraph 0119, 0121, 0156);
receive a selection of the interface control included in the inflight interactive environment; and send, in response to the selection of the interface control, the electronic sponsor page to the client device for display, wherein the electronic sponsor page includes a sub-interface enabling access to one or more electronic objects (Figs.5&6, Paragraph 0109 teaches data memory cache 155 of server 162, may cache predetermined web pages to be browsed. Paragraph 0110 teaches the stored web pages may be directed to a particular topic or theme, such as services and products. Paragraph 0111 teaches web content may be directed to an electronic retail suppliers, where passengers may be able to shop for a variety of different items. Paragraph 0113-0114 teaches in addition to products and services, common data is directed towards interactive maps, allowing users to interact with an interactive map, as well as displaying the current location and position of the aircraft. Destination information such as arriving gate number, connecting gate numbers, baggage claim information, hotels, rental car agencies, restaurants, etc can be displayed. Paragraph 0115 teaches categories titled Hotels 211, Rental Cars 213, Restaurants 215, and Entertainment 217 are available for viewing by the passenger. Paragraph 0116 teaches passengers can select a desired or preferred hotel from category 211, allowing user to make hotel reservation while in flight. Likewise, rental car reservation can be made while in flight if a car is needed. Paragraph 0119 teaches once web pages are stored in the data memory cache 155, passenger using PED 130 can access and browse the web pages for on-board shopping while the aircraft 120 is airborne. Paragraph 0222-0223 teaches various advertisements on various products and services may be selected for purchase by a passenger using their PED) and the electronic sponsor page is associated with a sponsor (Paragraph 0208 teaches airline may provide special offers and incentives to users. Paragraph 0109-0114 teaches web pages that are directed to services and products, electronic retail suppliers, etc. Web pages meet the criteria regarding electronic sponsor pages, providing a sub-interface that enables access to one or more electronic objects. Sponsor in case, under broadest reasonable interpretation, may be, including, but not limited to the airline and/or entity in control of provision of web pages. As the airline and/or entity is supporting and/or providing the means of carrying out the provision of the web page for user access), wherein content is accessible to the client device using the internet connection available onboard the aircraft (Paragraph 0125, 0128-0129, 0393, 0396).
Keen does not explicitly teach wherein the electronic sponsor page includes an interface control to access a white listed electronic page stored on a content server off-board the aircraft, and the white listed electronic page is accessible to a client device via the electronic sponsor page;
the electronic sponsor page is a customized channel containing sponsor content that is associated with a sponsor and the electronic sponsor page includes the interface control to access an electronic file provided by the white listed electronic page stored on a content server off-board the aircraft, wherein the electronic file is accessible to the client device via the electronic sponsor page.
In an analogous art, Fisher teaches wherein an electronic sponsor page includes an interface control to access a electronic page stored on a content server off-board an aircraft, and the electronic page is accessible to a client device via the electronic sponsor page; the electronic sponsor page is a customized channel containing sponsor content that is associated with a sponsor and the electronic sponsor page includes the interface control to access an electronic file provided by the white listed electronic page stored on a content server off-board the aircraft, wherein the electronic file is accessible to the client device via the electronic sponsor page (Paragraph 0049 teaches there may be servers at third party sites which store, for example, Web site or Internet destinations to which the EOD Video Services Platform 10 will direct the consumers 20. Paragraph 0055-0056 teaches server 15 may contain any number of portals and will direct the consumer to the correct portal screen. Paragraph 0057 teaches providing the consumer with the ability to link through to the Web retailer, such as a Web based retailer such as Amazon.com. Fig.6, Paragraph 0061 teaches a portal entry screen 200 for a network channel portal. Paragraph 0062 teaches a sponsor logo 210 which is a name and/or logo to indicate the primary paid sponsor for the portal. The consumer at any time may select the sponsor logo 210 and the Web browser application will retrieve information from the server 15 showing the latest products, services, or special offers from the sponsor. Fig.8, Paragraph 0080 teaches sponsor logo 210, along with sponsor 1 280, sponsor 2 290, and sponsor 3 300. Along with ads for these sponsors that reference to specific products, 281-284 for sponsor 1, 291-294 for sponsor 2, and products 301-304 for sponsor 3. Products 281-284 may be books written by Mario Puzo. The products 291-294 may be DVDs based on Mario Puzo’s books. Paragraph 0082 teaches consumer may either select the sponsor button or the specific product button to display a purchase screen. By selecting the appropriate buttons, the consumer may display a purchase screen that allows them to purchase the product they desire. The purchase screen may be a port to the sponsor’s Web page. EOD Video Services Platform 10 may have a communication link with third party data feeds 55. These third party data feeds 55 may be, for example, a link through the public Internet or a "walled garden" Web environment to an advertiser's 50 Website. This link allows the consumer 20 to make purchases at the advertiser's 50 Web site via the EOD Video Services Platform 10. As Applicant has not further narrowed what constitutes and electronic file, under broadest reasonable interpretation, it can be, but not limited to the purchase screen that is provided a port to the sponsor’s web page that allows them to place an order for the desired product. Additionally, links to third parties to an advertiser’s website, includes Amazon.com. The sponsors in the figures are a DVD retailer or a sponsor that sells books, allowing for purchase of DVDs or books. As reference does allow for retailer to be Amazon.com, thus, when Amazon.com is a retailer sponsor, the products sold can be digital products, as Amazon was already selling digital products at the time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Keen to include wherein an electronic sponsor page includes an interface control to access a electronic page stored on a content server off-board an aircraft, and the electronic page is accessible to a client device via the electronic sponsor page; the electronic sponsor page is a customized channel containing sponsor content that is associated with a sponsor and the electronic sponsor page includes the interface control to access an electronic file provided by the white listed electronic page stored on a content server off-board the aircraft, wherein the electronic file is accessible to the client device via the electronic sponsor page, as taught by Fisher, for the advantage of allowing the consumer to interact with the portal to make purchases of the products that they desire (Fisher – Paragraph 0082), giving them a convenient location in which to peruse through various offerings, and be instantly connected to advertisers to make their purchase(s) in real time.
Keen and Fisher do not explicitly teach wherein electronic page is a white listed electronic page.
In an analogous art, Becotte IV teaches wherein electronic page is a white listed electronic page (Paragraph 0069 teaches candidate destination pages may only include webpages from a pre-defined collection of merchants, e.g. such that a destination page is chosen from a pre-defined “whitelist”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Keen and Fisher to include wherein electronic page is a white listed electronic page, as taught by Becotte IV, for the advantage of favoring pre-existing relationships with particular merchants, particular merchants that may be more trustworthy than others, prefer those merchants over others, providing from a pre-defined collection of merchants (Becotte IV – Paragraph 0069), allowing the system to selectively curate access to preferred merchants, based on desired criteria, providing greater control over what content is accessed.
Consider claims 2, 15, and 27, Keen, Fisher, and Becotte IV teach wherein the inflight interactive environment includes a plurality of electronic pages, and each electronic page in the plurality of electronic pages includes an interface control to access the electronic sponsor page (Keen - Paragraph 0110-0116, 0222-0223).
Consider claim 3, Keen, Fisher, and Becotte IV teach wherein the inflight interactive environment includes a plurality of electronic pages, and each electronic page in the plurality of electronic pages displays additional interface controls to access at least one of: a home screen, media content, shopping information, moving map information (Keen - Figs.5-6, Paragraph 0110-0116), a function, a service, a web application or an electronic file or destination information.
Consider claims 16 and 28, Keen, Fisher, and Becotte IV teach wherein the inflight interactive environment includes a plurality of electronic pages, and each electronic page in the plurality of electronic pages displays additional interface controls to access at least one of: a home screen, media content, shopping information, moving map information, or destination information (Keen - Figs.5-6, Paragraph 0110-0116).
Consider claim 4, Keen, Fisher, and Becotte IV teach further comprising storing the inflight interactive environment that includes the interface control and the electronic sponsor page on a data store or server on the aircraft (Keen - Figs.5-6, Paragraph 0108-0109).
Consider claim 5, Keen, Fisher, and Becotte IV teach further comprising:
receiving the electronic objects from a sponsor; including the electronic objects in the electronic sponsor page; and loading the electronic sponsor page onto a data store on the aircraft when the aircraft is on the ground (Keen - Paragraph 0109-0111, 0117-0118, 0135).
Consider claims 6, 18, and 30, Keen, Fisher, and Becotte IV teach wherein the electronic sponsor page is an activation page that describes a product or a service offered by a sponsor (Keen - Paragraph 0110-0111, 0116, 0222-0223).
Consider claims 7, 19, and 31, Keen, Fisher, and Becotte IV teach wherein the electronic sponsor page is an acquisition page configured to acquire the passengers on the aircraft as new customers of a sponsor (Keen - Paragraph 0110-0111, 0120, 0222-0223).
Consider claims 12 and 24, Keen, Fisher, and Becotte IV teach wherein the network connection between the server and the client device is a wireless connection established via a wireless access point onboard the aircraft (Keen - Paragraph 0119, 0121, 0156).
Consider claim 17, Keen, Fisher, and Becotte IV teach wherein the electronic sponsor page is created and loaded onto the data store that resides on the aircraft when the aircraft is on the ground (Keen - Paragraph 0109, 0117-0118, 0135).
Consider claim 29, Keen, Fisher, and Becotte IV teach wherein the plurality of data and instructions, when executed, cause the system to: receive the electronic objects from a sponsor; add the electronic objects to the electronic sponsor page; and load the electronic sponsor page onto a data store that resides on the aircraft when the aircraft is on the ground (Keen - Paragraph 0109-0111, 0117-0118, 0135).
Consider claim 37, Keen, Fisher, and Becotte IV teach wherein the electronic object is at least one of: an electronic link, a web page, an application page, text, images (Keen - Figs.5&6, Paragraph 0111, 0113-0114), audio or video, an app, an animations, or a plugins.
Consider claim 38, Keen, Fisher, and Becotte IV teach wherein the electronic sponsor page include access to at least one of: sponsor media content, sponsor shopping, or sponsor information about a product or service and content accessible through the electronic sponsor page may be owned and/or operated by the sponsor (Keen – Figs.5&6, Paragraph 0111, 0113-0116, 0222-0223; Fisher – Fig. 6, Paragraph 0061-0062; Fig.8, Paragraph 0080, 0082).
Claim(s) 10, 22, and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keen et al. (US 2014/0282684), in view of Fisher et al. (US 2005/0229220), in view of Becotte IV et al. (US 2018/0365034), and further in view of Walker et al. (US 2007/0061860).
Consider claims 10, 22, and 34, Keen, Fisher, and Becotte IV teach further comprising:
receiving passenger information from the client device using the electronic sponsor page; and forwarding the passenger information to a server associated with a sponsor when the aircraft is in the air or after the aircraft has landed on the ground, wherein the passenger information enables the sponsor to provide a service to passengers on the aircraft (Keen - Paragraph 0111 teaches passenger selecting an item for purchase, transaction can be completed in real time while being airborne via the purchase acceptance controller. Alternatively, transaction can be initiated, but the actual purchase could be forwarded via ground data link 174 once the aircraft 120 is on the ground. Paragraph 0208 teaches user profile may include e-mail and contact information on the passenger may be provided. Where airline may contact the passenger with special offers and incentives on future travels, allowing unique services to be provided to the passenger. Paragraph 0229 teaches for purchase acceptance controller to accept purchase, additional information such as credit card information and/or frequent flyer information may be needed. Paragraph 0232 teaches transaction can be completed by communicating external the aircraft, where credit card information and/or frequent flyer information may be verified by the authorizing credit card company and/or authorizing airline administering the account. Paragraph 0316 teaches to initiate a purchase, other necessary information to identify the purchaser is provided).
Keen, Fisher, and Becotte IV and do not explicitly teach provide a promotional offer related to a service with a recurring fee.
In an analogous art, Walker teaches provide a promotional offer related to a service with a recurring fee (Paragraph 0029, 0066-0067).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Keen, Fisher, and Becotte IV to include provide a promotional offer related to a service with a recurring fee, as taught by Walker, for the advantage of enticing user(s) with good deals, that also aid provider(s) in signing up user(s), helping to generate more constant revenue.
Claim(s) 11, 23, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keen et al. (US 2014/0282684), in view of Fisher et al. (US 2005/0229220), in view of Becotte IV et al. (US 2018/0365034), and further in view of Spitz et al. (US 2015/0074711).
Consider claims 11, 23, and 35, Keen, Fisher, and Becotte IV teach further comprising enabling access to the electronic sponsor page via the inflight interactive environment to passengers on the aircraft (Keen - Paragraph 0110-0116, 0222-0223), but do not explicitly teach enabling access for a defined period of time based on a marketing campaign duration set by a sponsor.
In an analogous art, Spitz teaches enabling access for a defined period of time based on a marketing campaign duration set by a sponsor (Paragraph 0039).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Keen, Fisher, and Becotte IV to include enabling access for a defined period of time based on a marketing campaign duration set by a sponsor, as taught by Spitz, for the advantage of providing expiry to items, allowing for provision of newer items, and ending of items that are no longer relevant.
Claim(s) 13, 25, and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keen et al. (US 2014/0282684), in view of Fisher et al. (US 2005/0229220), in view of Becotte IV et al. (US 2018/0365034), and further in view of Yip (US 2011/029998).
Consider claims 13 and 25, Keen, Fisher, and Becotte IV do not explicitly teach wherein the client device is a seatback system on the aircraft, and the network connection between the server and the seatback system is a wired or wireless connection.
In an analogous art, Yip teaches wherein the client device is a seatback system on the aircraft, and the network connection between the server and the seatback system is a wired or wireless connection (Paragraph 0014, 0016-0018; Fig.9, Paragraph 0036).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Keen, Fisher, and Becotte IV to include wherein the client device is a seatback system on the aircraft, and the network connection between the server and the seatback system is a wired or wireless connection, as taught by Yip, for the advantage of enabling the user to do everything from the seat display if they wish, providing greater device continuity, and attention.
Consider claim 36, Keen, Fisher, and Becotte IV do not explicitly teach wherein the client device is a seatback system on the aircraft.
In an analogous art, Yip teaches wherein the client device is a seatback system on the aircraft (Paragraph 0014, 0016-0018; Fig.9, Paragraph 0036).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Keen, Fisher, and Becotte IV to include wherein the client device is a seatback system on the aircraft, as taught by Yip, for the advantage of enabling the user to do everything from the seat display if they wish, providing greater device continuity, and attention.
Claim(s) 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keen et al. (US 2014/0282684), in view of Fisher et al. (US 2005/0229220), in view of Becotte IV et al. (US 2018/0365034), and further in view of Cronin et al. (US 9,699,523)
Consider claim 39, Keen, Fisher, and Becotte IV do not explicitly teach wherein the electronic file is at least one of: media files, executable files, word processor documents, image files, database file or spreadsheet files, presentation files, video files, audio files, or animation files.
In an analogous art, Cronin teaches wherein an electronic file is at least one of: media files, executable files (Fig.3, Col 3: lines 44-51, Col 4: lines 6-17; Fig. 4B, Col 5: lines 45-52, Col 6: lines 5-8), word processor documents, image files, database file or spreadsheet files, presentation files, video files, audio files, or animation files.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Keen, Fisher, and Becotte IV to include wherein an electronic file is at least one of: media files, executable files, word processor documents, image files, database file or spreadsheet files, presentation files, video files, audio files, or animation files., as taught by Cronin, for the advantage of allowing the user to easily access desired type of content, providing great convenience and an effortless experience.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON K LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425