DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 11 September 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20, 22 and 29 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 20, the claim recites the limitation “the second side of the first gas diffusion electrode”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Further as to claim 20, the claim recites the limitation “the second side of the second gas diffusion electrode”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, in particular for both “the second side” and “the second gas diffusion electrode” parts of the limitation.
As to claim 22, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
As to claim 29, the claim recites that the first electrochemical cell and the second electrochemical cell are the cell according to claim 1. However, claim 1 recites a plurality of limitations that are already recited in claim 28, upon which claim 29 is dependent, including, a reservoir, a first gas diffusion electrode, a second electrode and a porous capillary spacer. Therefore, it is unclear as to if these identical new limitations intend to refer back to the limitations of claim 28 or to new and separate limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 8, 9, 14, 15, 16, 18, 23, 24 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2014/0224668 A1 to Jehle et al. (Jehle).
As to claim 1, Jehle teaches an electrochemical cell (100) operating as a synthesis cell for the production of hydrogen and oxygen from water, the cell (100) comprising a reservoir (34/36) for containing a liquid electrolyte, a first gas diffusion electrode (14) positioned outside the reservoir, a second gas diffusion electrode (16) positioned outside the reservoir (34/36) and a porous capillary spacer (22) sandwiched between the first gas diffusion electrode (14) and the second gas diffusion electrode (16), the porous capillary spacer (22) having an end that extends into the reservoir (the capillary layer contacts the liquid electrolyte in the reservoir and is thus considered extending into the reservoir, i.e. the bottom of the porous capillary spacer forms a part of the reservoir) such that the porous capillary layer is able to fill itself with the liquid electrolyte when the end of the porous capillary spacer is in liquid contact with the liquid electrolyte in the reservoir (Paragraphs 0023-0027; Figure 1).
As to claim 3, Jehle teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Jehle further teaches that the first and second electrodes (14/16) are separated from the liquid electrolyte in the reservoir (34/36) (Figure 1).
As to claim 8, Jehle teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Jehle further teaches that during operation liquid electrolyte contacts the first and second electrode only after first being transported along the porous capillary spacer form the reservoir (Paragraph 0027).
As to claim 9, Jehle teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Jehle further teaches that the first and second electrodes (14/16) are spaced apparat from the reservoir (34/36) (Figure 1).
As to claim 14, Jehle teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Jehle further teaches that the first gas diffusion electrode is a porous nickel sheet, thus a metallic perforated plate (Paragraph 0023).
As to claim 15, Jehle teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Jehle further teaches that the first gas diffusion electrode (14) configured to generate a first gas, hydrogen, to form a first gas body (gas chamber) (40), a first side of the capillary spacer (22) adjacent to a first side of the first gas diffusion electrode (14), a second side of the porous capillary spacer is adjacent a fist side of the second electrode (16) and a second side of the first gas diffusion electrode (14) is adjacent the first gas body (40) (Paragraphs 0023-0027; Figure 1).
As to claim 16, Jehle teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Jehle further teaches that the second gas diffusion electrode is a porous nickel sheet, thus a metallic perforated plate (Paragraph 0023).
As to claim 18, Jehle teaches the apparatus of claim 16. Jehle further teaches that the second gas diffusion electrode (16) is configured to generate a second gas, oxygen, to form a second gas body (gas chamber) (46), a second side of the second gas diffusion electrode (16) is adjacent the second gas body (46) (Paragraphs 0023-0027; Figure 1).
As to claim 23 and 24, Jehle teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Jehle further teaches that the average pore diameter of the porous capillary spacer is, for example, 10 microns (Paragraph 0026).
As to claim 27, Jehle teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Jehle further teaches that the porous capillary spacer (membrane) is made from a polysulfone (Paragraph 0005).
Claims 1, 3, 8, 9, 10, 20, 22, 23, 24, 27, 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2016-023371 A to Ulrich (Ulrich).
As to claim 1, Ulrich teaches an electrochemical cell operating as a synthesis cell for the production of hydrogen and oxygen from water, the cell comprising a reservoir (4) for containing a liquid electrolyte, a first gas diffusion electrode (21/22) positioned outside the reservoir, a second gas diffusion electrode (31/32) positioned outside the reservoir (4) and a porous capillary spacer (13) sandwiched between the first gas diffusion electrode (21/22) and the second gas diffusion electrode (31/32), the porous capillary spacer (13) having an end that extends into the reservoir (4) such that the porous capillary layer is able to fill itself with the liquid electrolyte when the end of the porous capillary spacer is in liquid contact with the liquid electrolyte in the reservoir (Paragraphs 0003-0005 and 0028-0030; Figures 1 and 3).
As to claim 3, Ulrich teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Ulrich further teaches that the first and second electrodes (21/22/31/32) are separated from the liquid in the reservoir (4) (Paragraph 0030; Figure 3).
As to claim 8, Ulrich teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Ulrich further teaches that during operation the liquid electrolyte contacts the electrodes (21/22/31/32) only after being transported along the porous capillary spacer (13) form the reservoir (4) (Paragraph 0030; Figure 3).
As to claim 9, Ulrich teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Ulrich further teaches that the first and second electrodes (21/22/31/32) are spaced apart from the reservoir (4) (Paragraph 0030; Figure 3).
As to claim 10, Ulrich teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Ulrich further teaches that an area of contact between the first gas diffusion electrode (21/22) and the capillary spacer (13) is outside the reservoir (4) and an area of contact between the second gas diffusion electrode (31/32) and the capillary spacer (13) is outside the reservoir (4) (Figure 3).
As to claim 20, Ulrich teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Ulrich further teaches that the cell comprises gas capillary structures (23/33) at a second side of each of the first and second electrodes (21/22/31/32) (Paragraph 0029; Figure 3).
As to claim 22, Ulrich teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Ulrich further teaches that the cell is a zero-gap cell, i.e. the electrodes (21/22/31/32) contact the membrane structure including the capillary spacer layer (13) and that the capillary spacer layer is, for example, 0.25 mm thick (250 micron) (Paragraph 0013; Figure 3).
As to claims 23 and 24, Ulrich teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Ulrich further teaches that the average pore size of the capillary layer is from 100 nm to 10 microns (Paragraph 0022).
As to claim 27, Ulrich teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Ulrich further teaches that the capillary layer is formed form, for example, PTFE (Paragraphs 0010 and 0019).
As to claims 28 and 29, Ulrich teaches an electrochemical cell operating as a synthesis cell for the production of hydrogen and oxygen from water, the cell comprising a reservoir (4) for containing a liquid electrolyte, a first gas diffusion electrode (21/22) positioned outside the reservoir, a second gas diffusion electrode (31/32) positioned outside the reservoir (4) and a porous capillary spacer (13) sandwiched between the first gas diffusion electrode (21/22) and the second gas diffusion electrode (31/32), the porous capillary spacer (13) having an end that extends into the reservoir (4) such that the porous capillary layer is able to fill itself with the liquid electrolyte when the end of the porous capillary spacer is in liquid contact with the liquid electrolyte in the reservoir (Paragraphs 0003-0005 and 0028-0030; Figures 1 and 3). Ulrich further teaches that the cell should be provided in plurality in a stack, a PEM stack would be electrically connected, whether in parallel or in series (Paragraph 0031).
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 10 2013 214 392 A1 to Schellback (Schellback).
As to claim 1, Schellback teaches an electrochemical cell, such as a synthesis cell for generating gases from electrolyte, the cell comprising a reservoir (5) for containing a liquid electrolyte, a first gas diffusion electrode (1) positioned fully outside the reservoir, a second electrode (2) positioned partially outside the reservoir and a porous capillary spacer (2a) having an end that extends into the reservoir (5), wherein the first gas diffusion layer (1) and the second electrode (2) are sandwiched against opposite sides of the porous capillary spacer (2a), the porous capillary spacer (2a) is able to fill itself with the liquid electrolyte when the end of the porous capillary spacer is in liquid contact with the liquid electrolyte in the reservoir (5) (Paragraphs 0001 and 0049-0051; Figure 1).
As to claim 4, Schellback teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Schellback teaches that the second electrode (2) extends into the reservoir (5) and thus contacts the liquid electrolyte in the reservoir at a top edge of the reservoir (5) (Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jehle as applied to claim 1 above, and as further discussed below.
As to claim 13, Jehle teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Jehle fails to teach the specific geometric surface area of the first and second electrodes. However, mere changes in size/proportion are not patentably significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV A).
As to claim 34, Jehle teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Jehle teaches that the first gas diffusion electrode and the second gas diffusion electrode are compressed against the capillary spacer (Figure 1). However, Jehle is silent as to the specific pressure of the compression. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize the compression pressure to ensure appropriate cell contact in view of the operating conditions chosen for the apparatus (MPEP 2144.05).
Claims 13 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ulrich as applied to claim 1 above, and as further discussed below.
As to claim 13, Ulrich teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Ulrich fails to teach the specific geometric surface area of the first and second electrodes. However, mere changes in size/proportion are not patentably significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV A).
As to claim 34, Ulrich teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Ulrich teaches that the first gas diffusion electrode and the second gas diffusion electrode are compressed against the capillary spacer (Figure 1). However, Ulrich is silent as to the specific pressure of the compression. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize the compression pressure to ensure appropriate cell contact in view of the operating conditions chosen for the apparatus (MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794