DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 7 October 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 10, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
As to claim 21, the claim recites the limitation “two or more porous capillary spacers”. However, a porous capillary spacer” is already recited in claim 1, upon which claim 21 is dependent. Therefore, it is unclear as to if the limitations of claim 21 intend to include the limitation of claim 1 or to refer to new and separate limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 10, 12, 13, 14, 16, 20, 21, 22, 31, 32 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0224668 A1 to Jehle et al. (Jehle) in view of US 5,650,058 to Wenske et al. (Wenske).
As to claims 1 and 12, Jehle teaches an electrochemical cell (100) operating as a synthesis cell for the production of hydrogen and oxygen from water, the cell (100) comprising a first gas diffusion electrode (14) configured to generate a first gas, hydrogen, and to be in contact with and adjacent to a first body (gas chamber) (40) comprising the first gas, a second gas diffusion electrode (16) configured to generate a second gas, oxygen, and to be in contact with and adjacent to a second gas body (gas chamber) (46) comprising the second gas and a porous capillary spacer (22) positioned between the first gas diffusion electrode (14) and the second gas diffusion electrode (16), the porous capillary spacer (22) configured to be filled with a liquid electrolyte and to confine the liquid electrolyte in the porous capillary spacer by a capillary effect (Paragraphs 0023-0027; Figure 1).
However, Jehle is silent as to the specific thickness of the capillary spacer. However, Wenske also discusses capillary electrolysis cells for the production of hydrogen and oxygen from water and teaches that an effective capillary layer thickness is, for example, 0.05 mm (Abstract; Column 1, Lines 11-19; Column 3, Lines 4-16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form the capillary layer of Jehle with a thickness of, for example, 0.05 mm, with the expectation of effectively providing the capillary layer as taught by Wenske.
As to claim 2, the combination of Jehle and Wenske teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Jehle further teaches that the apparatus comprises a reservoir (34/36) configured to contain the liquid electrolyte and to be below the porous capillary spacer (22) during operation, a distal end of the porous spacer in contact with the liquid electrolyte in the reservoir (34/36) (Paragraph 0027; Figure 1).
As to claim 10, the combination of Jehle and Wenske teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Jehle teaches that the first gas diffusion electrode and the second gas diffusion electrode are compressed against the capillary spacer (Figure 1). However, Jehle is silent as to the specific pressure of the compression. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize the compression pressure to ensure appropriate cell contact in view of the operating conditions chosen for the apparatus (MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 13, the combination of Jehle and Wenske teaches the apparatus of claim 1. The apparatus of the combination is capable of operating, based on, for example, the applied voltage, to perform the functional language of “during operation gas bubbles are not visible on at least a part of the first gas diffusion electrode or on at least a part of the second gas diffusion electrode” (MPEP 2114).
As to claim 14, the combination of Jehle and Wenske teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Jehle further teaches that the apparatus comprises an external housing (frame) (18) providing an external gas conduit (42) configured such that during operation the first gas is transported out of the first gas body (40) via the external gas conduit (42) (Paragraph 0024; Figure 1).
As to claim 16, the combination of Jehle and Wenske teaches the apparatus of claim 14. Jehle further teaches that the external housing (frame) (18) provides a second external gas conduit (48) configured such that during operation the second gas is transported out of the second gas body (46) via the external gas conduit (48) (Paragraph 0024; Figure 1).
As to claim 20, the combination of Jehle and Wenske teaches the apparatus of claim 1. The capillary spacer and reservoir of Jehle is capable of holding any number of electrolytes including one with an ionic resistance of less than 140 mΩ cm2 at room temperature (MPEP 2114).
As to claim 21, the combination of Jehle and Wenske teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Jehle further teaches that the apparatus can comprises additional capillary spacer layers (Paragraph 0026).
As to claim 22, the combination of Jehle and Wenske teaches the apparatus of claim 21. Jehle further teaches that the reservoir is two part, a pipe (34) and a water tank (36) and that a distal end of each of the capillary layers are positioned in contact with the pipe (34) (Paragraphs 0026 and 0027; Figure 1).
As to claim 31, the combination of Jehle and Wenske teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Jehle further teaches that an average pore diameter for the capillary layer is, for example, 10 microns (Paragraph 0026).
As to claim 32, the combination of Jehle and Wenske teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Jehle further teaches that the porous capillary spacer comprises a plurality of pores that provide a fluidic pathway between the first gas diffusion electrode and the second gas diffusion electrode (Paragraphs 0026 and 0027).
As to claim 33, the combination of Jehle and Wenske teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Jehle further teaches that the column height, capillary rise, is, for example, at least 2 meters (Paragraph 0009).
Claims 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Jehle, in view of Wenske and further in view of JP 2016-023371 A to Ulrich (Ulrich).
As to claim 23, as discussed above, the combination of Jehle and Wenske teaches the electrochemical cell of claim1. However, Jehle fails to further teach that the electrochemical cell is provided in plurality in a stack. However, Ulrich also discusses capillary electrolysis cells for the production of hydrogen and oxygen from water and teaches that a plurality of capillary cells should be arranged vertically in a stack (Paragraphs 0003 and 0031). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a second cell of Jehle in a stack, as taught by Ulrich, in order to increase capacity. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to electrically connect the cells of the stack, whether in series or in parallel, in order to not require separate power supplies for a single stack.
As to claim 25, Jehle teaches an apparatus comprises an electrochemical cell (100) operating as a synthesis cell for the production of hydrogen and oxygen from water, the cell (100) comprising a first gas diffusion electrode (14) configured to generate a first gas, hydrogen, and to be in contact with and adjacent to a first body (gas chamber) (40) comprising the first gas, a second gas diffusion electrode (16) configured to generate a second gas, oxygen, and to be in contact with and adjacent to a second gas body (gas chamber) (46) comprising the second gas and a porous capillary spacer (22) positioned between the first gas diffusion electrode (14) and the second gas diffusion electrode (16), the porous capillary spacer (22) configured to be filled with a liquid electrolyte and to confine the liquid electrolyte in the porous capillary spacer by a capillary effect (Paragraphs 0023-0027; Figure 1).
However, Jehle is silent as to the specific thickness of the capillary spacer. However, Wenske also discusses capillary electrolysis cells for the production of hydrogen and oxygen from water and teaches that an effective capillary layer thickness is, for example, 0.05 mm (Abstract; Column 1, Lines 11-19; Column 3, Lines 4-16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form the capillary layer of Jehle with a thickness of, for example, 0.05 mm, with the expectation of effectively providing the capillary layer as taught by Wenske.
However, Jehle fails to further teach that the apparatus comprises a second electrochemical cell forming a stack. However, Ulrich also discusses capillary electrolysis cells for the production of hydrogen and oxygen from water and teaches that a plurality of capillary cells should be arranged vertically in a stack (Paragraphs 0003 and 0031). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a second cell of Jehle in a stack, as taught by Ulrich, in order to increase capacity. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to electrically connect the cells of the stack, whether in series or in parallel, in order to not require separate power supplies for a single stack.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 10, 12, 13, 14, 16, 20, 23, 25, 31 and 32 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 15, 18, 22, 23, 24, 28 and 34 of copending Application No. 18/245,874 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the same limitations are claimed in different wording and order. Some functional limitation of the claims have not been specifically claimed, but are not patentably significant (MPEP 2114).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18, 19 and 24 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter is the inclusion of the limitation towards a semi-permeable membrane dividing the reservoir into a first volume for containing a first liquid and a second volume for containing a second liquid. The reservoirs of the prior art for feeding the capillary spacer are not divided and do not comprise a semi-permeable membrane.
Conclusion
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794