DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Amendment dated 08 September 2025. Claims 7-9 and 11-14 are amended. Claims 1-6, 10 and 15 have been cancelled. Claims 16-23 have been added. Claims 7-9, 11-14, and 16-23 remain pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “usually” in claims 7 and 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “usually” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Dependent claims 8, 9, 12-14, and 16-23 are rejected for incorporating the deficiencies of their base claims.
Claims Interpreted as Invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f)/Sixth Paragraph
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9, 11-14, and 16-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Celico Fadini et al. (US 2020/0340878 A1, hereinafter: C-F) in view of Wallgren (US 2016/0195868 A1) and further in view of Zucker (US 2021/0393337 A1) and further in view of Chen et. al (US 2010/0324837 A1).
As for independent claim 11, C-F teaches a plant comprising:
equipped with a plurality of automatic screwdrivers (12), and a control system controlling the tightening operations performed by the screwdrivers [(e.g. see C-F paragraphs 0005, 0012, 0022 and Fig. 1) ”FIG. 1 shows an overview scheme of a test bench for verifying industrial screwdrivers … The driving program, once an operator has selected the brake to be used for testing the screwdriver, is able to progressively increase the braking capacity of the brakes by adjusting the pressure, until reaching a complete stop of the electronic screwdriver … The hydraulic distributor D comprises a number of solenoid valves E1 . . . En corresponding to the number of braking devices present F1 . . . Fn. The electronic processing unit programs the electronic board that enables exclusively the valve associated with the brake selected for the test. Thereby, the hydraulic power flows from the manifold only to the braking device involved in the test”].
a test device (10) for testing automatic screwdrivers in the robotic station [(e.g. see C-F paragraphs 0002, 0020) ”the operator has selected the brake to be used for testing the screwdriver A … Such screwdrivers are tested on test benches, like the one illustrated in FIG. 1, which comprises a plurality of hydraulic brakes F1-Fn, with which the screwdriver is associated”].
a plurality of screwdriver test heads (21) arranged on the frame (20) to be able to be reached by the automatic screwdrivers of the robotic station when the test device is in the robotic station [(e.g. C-F paragraphs 0007, 0022, 0023) ”The hydraulic distributor D comprises a number of solenoid valves E1 . . . En corresponding to the number of braking devices present F1 . . . Fn. The electronic processing unit programs the electronic board that enables exclusively the valve associated with the brake selected for the test. Thereby, the hydraulic power flows from the manifold only to the braking device involved in the test … the pressure is adjusted individually for each brake, thus carrying out a dedicated control on each of them … using a given number of standard test braking actions that serve to generate the right pressure ramp to which there corresponds a braking action simulating a tightening operation of the screwdriver to be tested”].
a control unit (24) connected to the test heads (21) in order to control the operation of the test heads (21) and detect tightening parameters of screwdrivers applied to the test heads (21) by the robotic station, the robotic station being controllable so as to apply the automatic screwdrivers (12) to the test heads (21) of the test device (10) when the test device (10) enters the robotic station (11) in place of an object (17) [(e.g. see C-F paragraphs 0007, 0020, 0022, 0023) ”The driving program, once the operator has selected the brake to be used for testing the screwdriver A, is able to modulate the braking capacity of the brakes by adjusting the pressure, until reaching a complete stop of the electronic screwdriver … the pressure is adjusted individually for each brake, thus carrying out a dedicated control on each of them … using a given number of standard test braking actions that serve to generate the right pressure ramp to which there corresponds a braking action simulating a tightening operation of the screwdriver to be tested … The electronic processing unit programs the electronic board that enables exclusively the valve associated with the brake selected for the test. Thereby, the hydraulic power flows from the manifold only to the braking device involved in the test”].
C-F does not specifically teach intended to execute tightening operations on tighten elements (18) of an object (17) entering the robotic station, a transport system (15) for sequential transporting of such objects inside the robotic station to execute the tightening operation and outside the robotic station (11) once the tightening operation has been completed, for tightening elements of the object handled in the robotic station, wherein the test device includes: a transport frame intended to be coupled with the transport system for sequential transporting of the objects inside and outside the robotic station, so as to be transported inside and outside the robotic station in place of an object usually processed in the robotic station, or a frame (20) on the transport frame suitable for being inserted in the robotic station with the transport frame instead of the object being handled in the robotic station. However, in the same field of invention, Wallgren teaches:
intended to execute tightening operations on tighten elements (18) of an object (17) entering the robotic station [(e.g. see Wallgren paragraph 0010) ”an assembly station for an object to be assembled and a system for determining the actual position of a power tool 12 used for the assembly work within the area. Although the assembly line illustrated in the drawing shows three objects travelling through the assembly station the following description of the system will be related to just one of those objects, namely the object identified by the numeral 10. The same assembly process, though, will be applied on all of the objects successively passing through the assembly station, namely the application of the power tool 12 on a number of critical points 11a,b on the object 10. In the illustrated example the power tool 12 is a power wrench, and the critical points 11a,b on the object 10 comprise screw joints to be tightened by the power wrench 12”].
a transport system (15) for sequential transporting of such objects inside the robotic station to execute the tightening operation and outside the robotic station (11) once the tightening operation has been completed [(e.g. see Wallgren paragraph 0017 and Fig. 1 numeral 20) ”In an assembly line application, as the one illustrated in the drawing, the object 10 is carried on a travelling support 20, and the power tool position locating system also comprises a signal sender unit 22 attached to the object 10 being assembled, wherein the receivers 14,15 pick up signals also from that sender unit 22. In this case the system for determining the position of the power tool is able to take into account the successively changing position of the object 10 and the critical points 11a,b to be worked by the power tool 12 and to determine the position of the power tool 12 in relation to these points 11a,b”].
for tightening elements of the object handled in the robotic station, wherein the test device includes: a transport frame intended to be coupled with the transport system for sequential transporting of the objects inside and outside the robotic station, so as to be transported inside and outside the robotic station in place of an object usually processed in the robotic station [(e.g. see Wallgren paragraphs 0010, 0017 and Fig. 1 numerals 10, 12 and 20) ”an assembly station for an object to be assembled and a system for determining the actual position of a power tool 12 used for the assembly work within the area. Although the assembly line illustrated in the drawing shows three objects travelling through the assembly station the following description of the system will be related to just one of those objects, namely the object identified by the numeral 10. The same assembly process, though, will be applied on all of the objects successively passing through the assembly station, namely the application of the power tool 12 on a number of critical points 11a,b on the object 10. In the illustrated example the power tool 12 is a power wrench, and the critical points 11a,b on the object 10 comprise screw joints to be tightened by the power wrench 12 … In an assembly line application, as the one illustrated in the drawing, the object 10 is carried on a travelling support 20, and the power tool position locating system also comprises a signal sender unit 22 attached to the object 10 being assembled, wherein the receivers 14,15 pick up signals also from that sender unit 22. In this case the system for determining the position of the power tool is able to take into account the successively changing position of the object 10 and the critical points 11a,b to be worked by the power tool 12 and to determine the position of the power tool 12 in relation to these points 11a,b”].
a frame (20) on the transport frame suitable for being inserted in the robotic station with the transport frame instead of the object being handled in the robotic station [(e.g. see Wallgren paragraph 0010 and Fig. 1 numeral 10) ”Although the assembly line illustrated in the drawing shows three objects travelling through the assembly station the following description of the system will be related to just one of those objects, namely the object identified by the numeral 10. The same assembly process, though, will be applied on all of the objects successively passing through the assembly station, namely the application of the power tool 12 on a number of critical points 11a,b on the object 10”].
Therefore, considering the teachings of C-F and Wallgren, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add intended to execute tightening operations on tighten elements (18) of an object (17) entering the robotic station, a transport system (15) for sequential transporting of such objects inside the robotic station to execute the tightening operation and outside the robotic station (11) once the tightening operation has been completed, for tightening elements of the object handled in the robotic station, wherein the test device includes: a transport frame intended to be coupled with the transport system for sequential transporting of the objects inside and outside the robotic station, so as to be transported inside and outside the robotic station in place of an object usually processed in the robotic station, and a frame (20) on the transport frame suitable for being inserted in the robotic station with the transport frame instead of the object being handled in the robotic station, as taught by Wallgren, to the teachings of C-F because it allows the quality of the object to be acceptable, approved and guaranteed (e.g. see Wallgren paragraph 0015).
C-F and Wallgren do not specifically teach at least one robotic station (11). However, in the same field of invention, Zucker teaches:
at least one robotic station (11) [(e.g. see Zucker paragraphs 0044, 0045, 0048) ”The robot 140 may comprise a base that supports a robotic arm configured to hold the power tool 132. The robot 140 may comprise one or more robotic arms, each of which may be configured to hold a power tool such as the power tool 132 … The power tool 132 may be a power drill, power screwdriver, or any other device that generates torque for the purpose of accomplishing mechanical work … The power tool 132 comprises a torque sensor 136 and a communication interface 138. In some embodiments, the torque sensor 136 and the communication interface 138 may comprise a single device within or otherwise secured to the power tool 132. The torque sensor 136 may be configured to measure one or more torque characteristics during use of the power tool 132 for a given drilling, tapping, screw insertion, or other procedure, such as peak torque, accumulated torque, and/or root mean square, or “RMS,” torque”].
Therefore, considering the teachings of C-F, Wallgren and Zucker, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add at least one robotic station (11), as taught by Zucker, to the teachings of C-F and Wallgren because it allows for autonomous operation without any human input (e.g. see Zucker paragraph 0002).
C-F, Wallgren and Zucker do not specifically teach a plurality of automatic screwdrivers (12) mounted on positioning units of the robotic station. However, in the same field of invention, Chen teaches:
a plurality of automatic screwdrivers (12) mounted on positioning units of the robotic station [(e.g. see Chen paragraph 0012 and Figs. 1 and 2) ”The torque testing system 100 includes a first screwdriver 10, a first height measuring device 20, a first clamp 30, a second screwdriver 40, a second height measuring device 50, a second clamp 60, a processor 70, and a conveyor belt 80. The first screwdriver 10, the first height measuring device 20, the first clamp 30, the second screwdriver 40, the second height measuring device 50, and the second clamp 60 are arranged sequentially along the moving direction of the conveyor belt 80”].
Therefore, considering the teachings of C-F, Wallgren, Zucker and Chen, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a plurality of automatic screwdrivers (12) mounted on positioning units of the robotic station, as taught by Chen, to the teachings of C-F, Wallgren and Zucker because it allows multiple devices to be torque tested simultaneously to verify a requirement (e.g. see Chen paragraph 0002 and Figs. 1 and 2).
For dependent claim 18, the fact that the independent and dependent claims are in different statutory classes does not, in itself, render the latter improper. See MPEP 608.01(n)(III).
As for dependent claim 18, C-F, Wallgren, Zucker and Chen teach the plant as described in claim 11 and C-F further teaches:
providing the test device (10) equipped with the plurality of screwdriver test heads (21) and the control unit (24) for controlling the test heads (21) so as to perform screwdriver tests [(e.g. see C-F paragraphs 0005, 0012, 0022 and Fig. 1) ”FIG. 1 shows an overview scheme of a test bench for verifying industrial screwdrivers … The driving program, once an operator has selected the brake to be used for testing the screwdriver, is able to progressively increase the braking capacity of the brakes by adjusting the pressure, until reaching a complete stop of the electronic screwdriver … The hydraulic distributor D comprises a number of solenoid valves E1 . . . En corresponding to the number of braking devices present F1 . . . Fn. The electronic processing unit programs the electronic board that enables exclusively the valve associated with the brake selected for the test. Thereby, the hydraulic power flows from the manifold only to the braking device involved in the test”].
introducing the test device (10) into the robotic station in place of an object normally handled in the station [(e.g. see C-F paragraphs 0002, 0020) ”the operator has selected the brake to be used for testing the screwdriver A … Such screwdrivers are tested on test benches, like the one illustrated in FIG. 1, which comprises a plurality of hydraulic brakes F1-Fn, with which the screwdriver is associated”].
and starting a test cycle of the screwdrivers in the station which results in the robotic station coupling the screwdrivers together with corresponding heads of the test device and performing tightening cycles on the test heads [(e.g. see C-F paragraphs 0007, 0020, 0023) ”The driving program, once the operator has selected the brake to be used for testing the screwdriver A, is able to modulate the braking capacity of the brakes by adjusting the pressure, until reaching a complete stop of the electronic screwdriver … the pressure is adjusted individually for each brake, thus carrying out a dedicated control on each of them … using a given number of standard test braking actions that serve to generate the right pressure ramp to which there corresponds a braking action simulating a tightening operation of the screwdriver to be tested”].
C-F does not specifically teach testing automatic screwdrivers (12) performing the tightening of elements (18) of an object (17) normally sequentially handled in the robotic station (11). However, in the same field of invention, Wallgren teaches:
testing automatic screwdrivers (12) performing the tightening of elements (18) of an object (17) normally sequentially handled in the robotic station (11) [(e.g. see Wallgren paragraph 0010) ”an assembly station for an object to be assembled and a system for determining the actual position of a power tool 12 used for the assembly work within the area. Although the assembly line illustrated in the drawing shows three objects travelling through the assembly station the following description of the system will be related to just one of those objects, namely the object identified by the numeral 10. The same assembly process, though, will be applied on all of the objects successively passing through the assembly station, namely the application of the power tool 12 on a number of critical points 11a,b on the object 10. In the illustrated example the power tool 12 is a power wrench, and the critical points 11a,b on the object 10 comprise screw joints to be tightened by the power wrench 12”].
Therefore, considering the teachings of C-F and Wallgren, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add testing automatic screwdrivers (12) performing the tightening of elements (18) of an object (17) normally sequentially handled in the robotic station (11), as taught by Wallgren, to the teachings of C-F because it allows the quality of the object to be acceptable, approved and guaranteed (e.g. see Wallgren paragraph 0015).
C-F and Wallgren do not specifically teach having a robotic station (11). However, in the same field of invention, Zucker teaches:
having a robotic station (11) [(e.g. see Zucker paragraphs 0044, 0045, 0048) ”The robot 140 may comprise a base that supports a robotic arm configured to hold the power tool 132. The robot 140 may comprise one or more robotic arms, each of which may be configured to hold a power tool such as the power tool 132 … The power tool 132 may be a power drill, power screwdriver, or any other device that generates torque for the purpose of accomplishing mechanical work … The power tool 132 comprises a torque sensor 136 and a communication interface 138. In some embodiments, the torque sensor 136 and the communication interface 138 may comprise a single device within or otherwise secured to the power tool 132. The torque sensor 136 may be configured to measure one or more torque characteristics during use of the power tool 132 for a given drilling, tapping, screw insertion, or other procedure, such as peak torque, accumulated torque, and/or root mean square, or “RMS,” torque”].
Therefore, considering the teachings of C-F, Wallgren and Zucker, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add having a robotic station (11), as taught by Zucker, to the teachings of C-F and Wallgren because it allows for autonomous operation without any human input (e.g. see Zucker paragraph 0002).
As for dependent claim 19, C-F, Wallgren, Zucker and Chen teach the method as described in claim 18, but C-F does not specifically teach the following limitation. However, Wallgren teaches:
characterized in that the test device (10) is made to enter into and exit from the robotic station by means of the transport system (15) which is the same system designed to perform the entry into and exit from the robotic station of the objects normally handled in the station [(e.g. see Wallgren paragraph 0017 and Fig. 1 numeral 20) ”In an assembly line application, as the one illustrated in the drawing, the object 10 is carried on a travelling support 20, and the power tool position locating system also comprises a signal sender unit 22 attached to the object 10 being assembled, wherein the receivers 14,15 pick up signals also from that sender unit 22. In this case the system for determining the position of the power tool is able to take into account the successively changing position of the object 10 and the critical points 11a,b to be worked by the power tool 12 and to determine the position of the power tool 12 in relation to these points 11a,b”].
The motivation to combine is the same as that used for claim 18.
As for dependent claim 20, C-F, Wallgren, Zucker and Chen teach the method as described in claim 19, but C-F does not specifically teach the following limitation. However, Wallgren teaches:
characterized in that the test device (10), in order to enter into and exit from the robotic station, is equipped with the transport frame (16) similar to a transport frame used for the entry into or exit from the robotic station of an object normally handled in the robotic station [(e.g. see Wallgren paragraph 0010 and Fig. 1 numeral 10) ”Although the assembly line illustrated in the drawing shows three objects travelling through the assembly station the following description of the system will be related to just one of those objects, namely the object identified by the numeral 10. The same assembly process, though, will be applied on all of the objects successively passing through the assembly station, namely the application of the power tool 12 on a number of critical points 11a,b on the object 10”].
The motivation to combine is the same as that used for claim 18.
As for dependent claim 21, C-F, Wallgren, Zucker and Chen teach the method as described in claim 18 and C-F further teaches:
characterized in that the control unit (24) of the test device receives or includes in a memory (27) test parameters to be applied to the test heads depending on the robotic station in which the test device is introduced [(e.g. see C-F paragraphs 0019, 0020, 0022, 0023) ”A computer that communicates with such board comprises a suitable driving program stored thereon … The driving program, once the operator has selected the brake to be used for testing the screwdriver A, is able to modulate the braking capacity of the brakes by adjusting the pressure, until reaching a complete stop of the electronic screwdriver … The hydraulic distributor D comprises a number of solenoid valves E1 . . . En corresponding to the number of braking devices present F1 . . . Fn. The electronic processing unit programs the electronic board that enables exclusively the valve associated with the brake selected for the test. Thereby, the hydraulic power flows from the manifold only to the braking device involved in the test … the pressure is adjusted individually for each brake, thus carrying out a dedicated control on each of them”].
As for dependent claim 22, C-F, Wallgren, Zucker and Chen teach the method as described in claim 18 and C-F further teaches:
so as to set the test heads (12) for testing the screwdrivers of this station [(e.g. C-F paragraphs 0007, 0022, 0023) ” The hydraulic distributor D comprises a number of solenoid valves E1 . . . En corresponding to the number of braking devices present F1 . . . Fn. The electronic processing unit programs the electronic board that enables exclusively the valve associated with the brake selected for the test. Thereby, the hydraulic power flows from the manifold only to the braking device involved in the test … the pressure is adjusted individually for each brake, thus carrying out a dedicated control on each of them … using a given number of standard test braking actions that serve to generate the right pressure ramp to which there corresponds a braking action simulating a tightening operation of the screwdriver to be tested”].
C-F does not specifically teach characterized in the that the control unit (24) of the test device (10) is equipped with means (28) for recognizing the station into which it enters. However, Wallgren teaches:
characterized in the that the control unit (24) of the test device (10) is equipped with means (28) for recognizing the station into which it enters [(e.g. see Wallgren paragraphs 0010, 0011) ”the system is situated in a local area and comprises a power tool 12 provided with a sender unit 13 arranged to emit localization signals, two receivers 14,15 located in the local area and intended to receive the signals from the sender unit 13, and a processing unit 18 arranged to calculate and monitor the position … As illustrated in the drawing the local area includes an assembly station for an object to be assembled and a system for determining the actual position of a power tool 12 used for the assembly work within the area. Although the assembly line illustrated in the drawing shows three objects travelling through the assembly station the following description of the system will be related to just one of those objects, namely the object identified by the numeral 10. The same assembly process, though, will be applied on all of the objects successively passing through the assembly station, namely the application of the power tool 12 on a number of critical points 11a,b on the object 10”].
The motivation to combine is the same as that used for claim 18.
As for dependent claim 23, C-F, Wallgren, Zucker and Chen teach the method as described in claim 18 and C-F further teaches:
characterized in that, upon entry of the test device (10) in a station, the robotic station is set to perform a test cycle with the test heads (12) of the test device [(e.g. see C-F paragraphs 0005-0008, 0012, 0022 and Fig. 1) ”FIG. 1 shows an overview scheme of a test bench for verifying industrial screwdrivers … The driving program, once an operator has selected the brake to be used for testing the screwdriver, is able to progressively increase the braking capacity of the brakes by adjusting the pressure, until reaching a complete stop of the electronic screwdriver … The hydraulic distributor D comprises a number of solenoid valves E1 . . . En corresponding to the number of braking devices present F1 . . . Fn. The electronic processing unit programs the electronic board that enables exclusively the valve associated with the brake selected for the test. Thereby, the hydraulic power flows from the manifold only to the braking device involved in the test … using a given number of standard test braking actions that serve to generate the right pressure ramp to which there corresponds a braking action simulating a tightening operation of the screwdriver to be tested … The test braking actions are used for successive corrections to generate a torque/angle curve corresponding to the joint to be simulated”].
As for independent claim 7, C-F, Wallgren, Zucker and Chen teach a device. Claim 7 discloses substantially the same limitations as claims 11 and 18. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claims 11 and 18.
As for dependent claim 8, C-F, Wallgren, Zucker and Chen teach the device as described in claim 7; further, claim 8 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 21. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 21.
As for dependent claim 9, C-F, Wallgren, Zucker and Chen teach the device as described in claim 7; further, claim 9 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 22. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 22.
As for dependent claim 12, C-F, Wallgren, Zucker and Chen teach the apparatus as described in claim 11; further, claim 12 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 21. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 21.
As for dependent claim 13, C-F, Wallgren, Zucker and Chen teach the apparatus as described in claim 11; further, claim 13 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 21. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 21.
As for dependent claim 14, C-F, Wallgren, Zucker and Chen teach the apparatus as described in claim 11; further, claim 14 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 22. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 22.
As for dependent claim 16, C-F, Wallgren, Zucker and Chen teach the device as described in claim 7, but C-F does not specifically teach the following limitation. However, Wallgren teaches:
characterized in that the test heads are movable on the frame of the test device to change the position on the test device [(e.g. see Wallgren paragraphs 0002, 0017) ”the power tool is able to take into account the successively changing position of the object 10 and the critical points 11a,b to be worked by the power tool 12 and to determine the position of the power tool 12 in relation to these points 11a,b … in all critical points and locations on the assembled object”]. Examiner notes that, as described, the critical points can have changing positions.
The motivation to combine is the same as that used in claim 11.
As for dependent claim 17, C-F, Wallgren, Zucker and Chen teach the device as described in claim 7, but C-F does not specifically teach the following limitation. However, Wallgren teaches:
characterized in that the frame is made with longitudinal and transverse frame elements which are connected together in order to form a grid-like frame structure [(e.g. see Wallgren paragraph 0010) ”the assembly line illustrated in the drawing shows three objects travelling through the assembly station the following description of the system will be related to just one of those objects, namely the object identified by the numeral 10. The same assembly process, though, will be applied on all of the objects successively passing through the assembly station, namely the application of the power tool 12 on a number of critical points 11a,b on the object 10. In the illustrated example the power tool 12 is a power wrench, and the critical points 11a,b on the object 10 comprise screw joints to be tightened by the power wrench 12”]. Examiner notes that, as depicted in Fig. 1, the frame (e.g. object) is depicted as a box/cube comprising sides situated lengthwise and across forming at least 3 grids (as depicted) for the critical points to be positioned.
The motivation to combine is the same as that used for claim 11.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 08 September 2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that [“The combination of C-F, Wallgren, and Zucker fails to disclose a “[t]est device (10) for testing automatic screwdrivers in a robotic station equipped with a plurality of automatic screwdrivers mounted on positioning units (13) of the robotic station and intended to execute for tightening operation on elements of an object entering and handled in the robotic station, wherein the test device (10) comprises: a transport frame intended to be coupled with a transport system for sequential transporting of the objects inside and outside the robotic station, so as to be transported inside and outside the robotic station in place of an object usually processed in the robotic station; a frame (20) on the transport frame having a plurality of screwdriver test heads (21) arranged and directed on the frame (20) to be able to be reached by the automatic screwdrivers of the robotic station when the test device is in the robotic station” as recited in claim 7” (Page 7)].
The argument described above, in paragraph number 11, with respect to the newly added limitations to the independent claims has been considered, but is moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Applicant argues that [“Wallgren merely discloses an assembly station and positioning and application of multiple power tools along the assembly line to perform operations on objects travelling through the assembly station. This is different from “testing automatic screwdrivers in a robotic station equipped with a plurality of automatic screwdrivers mounted on positioning units (13) of the robotic station and intended to execute for tightening operation on elements of an object entering and handled in the robotic station” as recited in claim 1 … In the present case, neither C-F, Wallgren, nor Zucker provides any teaching or motivation to combine their respective teachings in the manner required by the above feature of claim 1” (Pages 8-9).].
Examiner respectfully disagrees as independent claim 1 was cancelled from the claim set.
Applicant argues that [“the combination of C-F, Wallgren, and Zucker is improper based on impermissible hindsight reconstruction” (Page 9).].
Examiner respectfully disagrees. "[a]ny judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based on hindsight reasoning, but so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made and does not include knowledge gleaned only from applicant’s disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper." In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 1395, 170 USPQ 209, 212 (CCPA 1971).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. PGPub 2018/0136060 A1 issued to Boccellato et al. on 17 May 2018. The subject matter disclosed therein is pertinent to that of claims 7-9, 11-14, and 16-23 (e.g. screwdriver test bench).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER J FIBBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174