DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of species a) figures 1a-7, claims 1-7, 12, 15-18, 28, and 33 in the reply filed on 12/22/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 8-11, and 13-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/22/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: reference numeral 165 is not shown in the drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hiles (US 20140221924 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hiles discloses a needle bending device 1 comprising:
a base 2;
a hollow slider conduit 2.1; and
a bending element 2.5.
Regarding claim 2, Hiles discloses wherein the base 2 comprises a needle hub housing (connection between needle bub 2.2 and delivery device 1; [0020]) at a proximal end of a shaft 1.1.
Regarding claim 3, Hiles discloses wherein the needle hub housing is configured to receive a needle 2.3 and engage a needle hub 2.2.
Regarding claim 6, Hiles discloses wherein the hollow slider conduit 2.1 has an open distal end.
Regarding claim 33, Hiles discloses a method comprising bending a needle using the device of claim 1.
Claims 1, 7 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reenstierna (US 4332323 A).
Regarding claim 1, Reenstierna discloses a needle bending device comprising:
a base 6;
a hollow slider conduit 5 (figs 1-2); and
a bending element 9.
Regarding claim 7, Reenstierna discloses wherein the hollow slider conduit 5 has a closed distal end comprising an aperture 10.
Regarding claim 33, Reenstierna discloses a method comprising bending a needle using the device of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reenstierna (US 4332323 A) in view of Mayer (US 4485918 A).
Reenstierna discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, it fails to disclose a kit including device of claim 1, a needle and a container.
Mayer teaches a needle 14 and a container 40 for safe needle disposal. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Reenstierna with Mayer teachings of a needle and container for safely dispose a needle after using Reenstierna’s bending device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 12, 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/Cris L. Rodriguez/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3783