DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-5, 7-16 and 41) and species human serum in the reply filed on 1/8/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Status of the Claims
Claims 19-21, 23, 25-26, 28-30, and 32-40 have been withdraw as being directed to a non-elected invention. Claims 14-16 have been withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected species. Claims 1-5, 7-13 and 41 are under examination at this time.
Priority
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/080939 (filed 9/21/2020), fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112 for one or more claims of this application. Specifically, the prior application does not disclose the subject matter of claims 2-5, 7-13 and 41. Further, prior application 63107896 (filed 10/30/2020) does not disclose the subject matter of claim 41. Thus, priority has been determined as follows:
Priority of 9/21/2020 Claim 1
Priority of 10/30/2020 Claims 2-5, and 7-13
Priority of 9/21/2021 Claim 41.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Crawford et al. (Viruses, 2020, 12:513; published May 6, 2020).
The instant claims are directed to a pseudotyped lentiviral vector particle bearing a SARS-CoV-2 S protein.
Crawford et al. teaches a protocol and reagents for pseudotyping lentiviral particles with the SARS-CoV-2 Spike protein. The Spike-psuedotyped lentiviral particles also comprise a heterologous polynucleotide that encodes the fluorescent protein luciferase (see, for example, Figure 1A).
Thus, Crawford et al. anticipates claims 1, 4 and 5.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson et al. (bioRxiv, May 29, 2020, DOI: https://www.biorxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.05.28.122671v1).
The instant claims are directed to a pseudotyped lentiviral vector particle bearing a SARS-CoV-2 S protein.
Johnson et al. teaches pseudotyped particles that were generated with SARS-CoV-2 Spike protein, a truncated SARS-CoV-2 Spike protein and VSV-G incorporated in glycoprotein-defective MLV, HIV-1 and VSV particles (See Figure 1 ). To avoid potential false positive signal, a reporter system was utilized where the Cre recombinase gene is also expressed by the HIV-1 and MLV particles (see page 3). The recombinase gene is an enzyme (claims 4 and 5).
Thus, Johnson et al. anticipates claims 1, 4, 5 and 41.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crawford et al. (Viruses, 2020, 12:513; published May 6, 2020) as applied to claims 1, 4 and 5 above, and further in view of Qin et al. (CN111088283; published May 1, 2020).
The instant claims are directed to the pseudotyped lentiviral vector of claim 1 where the Spike protein has an amino acid sequence at least 95% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1.
The teachings of Crawford et al. are outline above and incorporated herein. Crawford et al. does not teach that the Spike protein has an amino acid sequence at least 95% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1. However, Qin et al. teaches a Spike protein sequence that is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (see alignment below).
Qy 1 MFVFLVLLPLVSSQCVNLTTRTQLPPAYTNSFTRGVYYPDKVFRSSVLHSTQDLFLPFFS 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MFVFLVLLPLVSSQCVNLTTRTQLPPAYTNSFTRGVYYPDKVFRSSVLHSTQDLFLPFFS 60
Qy 61 NVTWFHAIHVSGTNGTKRFDNPVLPFNDGVYFASTEKSNIIRGWIFGTTLDSKTQSLLIV 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 NVTWFHAIHVSGTNGTKRFDNPVLPFNDGVYFASTEKSNIIRGWIFGTTLDSKTQSLLIV 120
Qy 121 NNATNVVIKVCEFQFCNDPFLGVYYHKNNKSWMESEFRVYSSANNCTFEYVSQPFLMDLE 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 NNATNVVIKVCEFQFCNDPFLGVYYHKNNKSWMESEFRVYSSANNCTFEYVSQPFLMDLE 180
Qy 181 GKQGNFKNLREFVFKNIDGYFKIYSKHTPINLVRDLPQGFSALEPLVDLPIGINITRFQT 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 GKQGNFKNLREFVFKNIDGYFKIYSKHTPINLVRDLPQGFSALEPLVDLPIGINITRFQT 240
Qy 241 LLALHRSYLTPGDSSSGWTAGAAAYYVGYLQPRTFLLKYNENGTITDAVDCALDPLSETK 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 LLALHRSYLTPGDSSSGWTAGAAAYYVGYLQPRTFLLKYNENGTITDAVDCALDPLSETK 300
Qy 301 CTLKSFTVEKGIYQTSNFRVQPTESIVRFPNITNLCPFGEVFNATRFASVYAWNRKRISN 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 CTLKSFTVEKGIYQTSNFRVQPTESIVRFPNITNLCPFGEVFNATRFASVYAWNRKRISN 360
Qy 361 CVADYSVLYNSASFSTFKCYGVSPTKLNDLCFTNVYADSFVIRGDEVRQIAPGQTGKIAD 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 CVADYSVLYNSASFSTFKCYGVSPTKLNDLCFTNVYADSFVIRGDEVRQIAPGQTGKIAD 420
Qy 421 YNYKLPDDFTGCVIAWNSNNLDSKVGGNYNYLYRLFRKSNLKPFERDISTEIYQAGSTPC 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 YNYKLPDDFTGCVIAWNSNNLDSKVGGNYNYLYRLFRKSNLKPFERDISTEIYQAGSTPC 480
Qy 481 NGVEGFNCYFPLQSYGFQPTNGVGYQPYRVVVLSFELLHAPATVCGPKKSTNLVKNKCVN 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 481 NGVEGFNCYFPLQSYGFQPTNGVGYQPYRVVVLSFELLHAPATVCGPKKSTNLVKNKCVN 540
Qy 541 FNFNGLTGTGVLTESNKKFLPFQQFGRDIADTTDAVRDPQTLEILDITPCSFGGVSVITP 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 541 FNFNGLTGTGVLTESNKKFLPFQQFGRDIADTTDAVRDPQTLEILDITPCSFGGVSVITP 600
Qy 601 GTNTSNQVAVLYQDVNCTEVPVAIHADQLTPTWRVYSTGSNVFQTRAGCLIGAEHVNNSY 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 601 GTNTSNQVAVLYQDVNCTEVPVAIHADQLTPTWRVYSTGSNVFQTRAGCLIGAEHVNNSY 660
Qy 661 ECDIPIGAGICASYQTQTNSPRRARSVASQSIIAYTMSLGAENSVAYSNNSIAIPTNFTI 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 661 ECDIPIGAGICASYQTQTNSPRRARSVASQSIIAYTMSLGAENSVAYSNNSIAIPTNFTI 720
Qy 721 SVTTEILPVSMTKTSVDCTMYICGDSTECSNLLLQYGSFCTQLNRALTGIAVEQDKNTQE 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 721 SVTTEILPVSMTKTSVDCTMYICGDSTECSNLLLQYGSFCTQLNRALTGIAVEQDKNTQE 780
Qy 781 VFAQVKQIYKTPPIKDFGGFNFSQILPDPSKPSKRSFIEDLLFNKVTLADAGFIKQYGDC 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 781 VFAQVKQIYKTPPIKDFGGFNFSQILPDPSKPSKRSFIEDLLFNKVTLADAGFIKQYGDC 840
Qy 841 LGDIAARDLICAQKFNGLTVLPPLLTDEMIAQYTSALLAGTITSGWTFGAGAALQIPFAM 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 841 LGDIAARDLICAQKFNGLTVLPPLLTDEMIAQYTSALLAGTITSGWTFGAGAALQIPFAM 900
Qy 901 QMAYRFNGIGVTQNVLYENQKLIANQFNSAIGKIQDSLSSTASALGKLQDVVNQNAQALN 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 901 QMAYRFNGIGVTQNVLYENQKLIANQFNSAIGKIQDSLSSTASALGKLQDVVNQNAQALN 960
Qy 961 TLVKQLSSNFGAISSVLNDILSRLDKVEAEVQIDRLITGRLQSLQTYVTQQLIRAAEIRA 1020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 961 TLVKQLSSNFGAISSVLNDILSRLDKVEAEVQIDRLITGRLQSLQTYVTQQLIRAAEIRA 1020
Qy 1021 SANLAATKMSECVLGQSKRVDFCGKGYHLMSFPQSAPHGVVFLHVTYVPAQEKNFTTAPA 1080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1021 SANLAATKMSECVLGQSKRVDFCGKGYHLMSFPQSAPHGVVFLHVTYVPAQEKNFTTAPA 1080
Qy 1081 ICHDGKAHFPREGVFVSNGTHWFVTQRNFYEPQIITTDNTFVSGNCDVVIGIVNNTVYDP 1140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1081 ICHDGKAHFPREGVFVSNGTHWFVTQRNFYEPQIITTDNTFVSGNCDVVIGIVNNTVYDP 1140
Qy 1141 LQPELDSFKEELDKYFKNHTSPDVDLGDISGINASVVNIQKEIDRLNEVAKNLNESLIDL 1200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1141 LQPELDSFKEELDKYFKNHTSPDVDLGDISGINASVVNIQKEIDRLNEVAKNLNESLIDL 1200
Qy 1201 QELGKYEQYIKWPWYIWLGFIAGLIAIVMVTIMLCCMTSCCSCLKGCCSCGSCCKFDEDD 1260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1201 QELGKYEQYIKWPWYIWLGFIAGLIAIVMVTIMLCCMTSCCSCLKGCCSCGSCCKFDEDD 1260
Qy 1261 SEPVLKGVKLHYT 1273
|||||||||||||
Db 1261 SEPVLKGVKLHYT 1273
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use known Spike protein sequences, including the sequence taught by Qin et al., in the construct of Crawford et al. and the result would be predictable [expression of the Spike protein by the lentiviral vector].
Thus, the invention as a whole was clearly prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crawford et al. (Viruses, 2020, 12:513; published May 6, 2020) as applied to claims 1, 4 and 5 above, and further in view of GenBank Accession No. MT380725.1. (first publicly available April 27, 2020).
The instant claims are directed to the pseudotyped lentiviral vector of claim 1 wherein the SARS-CoV-2 S protein is expressed from a coding sequence having a nucleotide sequence at least 80% identical to SEQ ID NO: 2.
The teachings of Crawford et al. are outline above and incorporated herein. Crawford et al. does not teach that the Spike protein is encoded by a nucleic acid that is at least 80% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 2. However, GenBank Accession No. MT 380725.1 discloses a Spike nucleic acid sequence that is 80.8% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 2 (see alignment below).
Qy 1 ATGTTCGTGTTTCTGGTGCTGCTGCCACTGGTGTCCAGTCAGTGCGTGAACCTGACCACA 60
|||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||| ||||| |||||||||||||||
Db 1 ATGTTCGTGTTTCTGGTGCTGCTGCCTCTGGTGTCCAGCCAGTGTGTGAACCTGACCACA 60
Qy 61 CGAACACAGCTGCCACCAGCCTACACCAATAGCTTCACCCGCGGAGTGTACTACCCCGAC 120
|||| |||||||| |||||||||||||| ||||| ||| | || |||||||||||||||
Db 61 AGAACCCAGCTGCCTCCAGCCTACACCAACAGCTTTACCAGAGGCGTGTACTACCCCGAC 120
Qy 121 AAGGTGTTCCGCAGCAGCGTGCTGCATAGCACCCAGGATCTGTTTCTGCCCTTCTTCAGC 180
||||||||| | |||||||||||| |||||||| ||||| ||||| |||||||||
Db 121 AAGGTGTTCAGATCCAGCGTGCTGCACTCTACCCAGGACCTGTTCCTGCCTTTCTTCAGC 180
Qy 181 AACGTGACCTGGTTCCACGCCATCCACGTGTCCGGCACCAATGGCACCAAGCGCTTCGAT 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| | |||||
Db 181 AACGTGACCTGGTTCCACGCCATCCACGTGTCCGGCACCAATGGCACCAAGAGATTCGAC 240
Qy 241 AATCCCGTGCTGCCCTTCAACGATGGCGTGTACTTTGCCAGCACCGAGAAGTCCAATATC 300
|| |||||||||||||||||||| || ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||
Db 241 AACCCCGTGCTGCCCTTCAACGACGGGGTGTACTTTGCCAGCACCGAGAAGTCCAACATC 300
Qy 301 ATCCGCGGCTGGATCTTCGGCACCACACTGGATAGCAAGACCCAGAGCCTGCTGATCGTG 360
||| | |||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 ATCAGAGGCTGGATCTTCGGCACCACACTGGACAGCAAGACCCAGAGCCTGCTGATCGTG 360
Qy 361 AACAACGCCACCAACGTGGTCATCAAAGTGTGCGAGTTCCAGTTCTGCAACGACCCCTTC 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 AACAACGCCACCAACGTGGTCATCAAAGTGTGCGAGTTCCAGTTCTGCAACGACCCCTTC 420
Qy 421 CTGGGCGTCTACTACCACAAGAACAACAAGAGCTGGATGGAAAGCGAGTTCCGCGTGTAC 480
|||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||
Db 421 CTGGGCGTCTACTATCACAAGAACAACAAGAGCTGGATGGAAAGCGAGTTCCGGGTGTAC 480
Qy 481 AGCAGCGCCAACAACTGCACCTTCGAGTACGTGTCCCAGCCATTCCTGATGGACCTGGAA 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||
Db 481 AGCAGCGCCAACAACTGCACCTTCGAGTACGTGTCCCAGCCTTTCCTGATGGACCTGGAA 540
Qy 541 GGCAAGCAGGGCAACTTCAAGAACCTGCGCGAGTTCGTGTTCAAGAACATCGACGGCTAC 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 541 GGCAAGCAGGGCAACTTCAAGAACCTGCGCGAGTTCGTGTTCAAGAACATCGACGGCTAC 600
Qy 601 TTCAAAATCTACAGCAAGCACACCCCAATCAACCTCGTGCGCGATCTGCCACAGGGATTC 660
||||| |||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||| |||||||| ||||| |||
Db 601 TTCAAGATCTACAGCAAGCACACCCCTATCAACCTCGTGCGGGATCTGCCTCAGGGCTTC 660
Qy 661 AGTGCTCTGGAACCCCTGGTGGATCTGCCCATCGGCATCAACATTACCCGCTTTCAGACA 720
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||| |||||||||
Db 661 TCTGCTCTGGAACCCCTGGTGGATCTGCCCATCGGCATCAACATCACCCGGTTTCAGACA 720
Qy 721 CTGCTGGCCCTGCACCGCAGTTACTTGACACCAGGCGATAGCAGCAGTGGATGGACAGCT 780
||||||||||||||| | || ||| ||||||| |||||||||||||| ||||||||||||
Db 721 CTGCTGGCCCTGCACAGAAGCTACCTGACACCTGGCGATAGCAGCAGCGGATGGACAGCT 780
Qy 781 GGTGCCGCCGCTTACTACGTTGGATATCTGCAGCCACGCACCTTTCTGCTGAAGTACAAC 840
||||||||||||||||| || || || |||||||| | |||||||||||||||||||||
Db 781 GGTGCCGCCGCTTACTATGTGGGCTACCTGCAGCCTAGAACCTTTCTGCTGAAGTACAAC 840
Qy 841 GAGAACGGCACCATCACCGACGCCGTGGATTGTGCTCTCGATCCCCTGAGCGAGACAAAG 900
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||| |||||||||||||||
Db 841 GAGAACGGCACCATCACCGACGCCGTGGATTGTGCTCTGGATCCTCTGAGCGAGACAAAG 900
Qy 901 TGCACCCTGAAGTCCTTCACCGTCGAGAAGGGCATCTACCAGACCAGCAATTTCCGCGTG 960
||||||||||||||||||||||| || ||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||| |||
Db 901 TGCACCCTGAAGTCCTTCACCGTGGAAAAGGGCATCTACCAGACCAGCAACTTCCGGGTG 960
Qy 961 CAGCCCACCGAGAGCATCGTGCGCTTCCCCAATATCACCAATCTGTGCCCCTTCGGCGAG 1020
||||||||||| ||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 961 CAGCCCACCGAATCCATCGTGCGGTTCCCCAATATCACCAATCTGTGCCCCTTCGGCGAG 1020
Qy 1021 GTGTTCAATGCCACACGCTTTGCCTCCGTGTACGCCTGGAATCGCAAGCGCATTAGCAAC 1080
|||||||||||||| | || ||||| |||||||||||||| || ||||| || |||||
Db 1021 GTGTTCAATGCCACCAGATTCGCCTCTGTGTACGCCTGGAACCGGAAGCGGATCAGCAAT 1080
Qy 1081 TGCGTGGCCGACTACTCCGTGCTGTACAATAGCGCCAGCTTCAGCACCTTCAAGTGCTAC 1140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1081 TGCGTGGCCGACTACTCCGTGCTGTACAACTCCGCCAGCTTCAGCACCTTCAAGTGCTAC 1140
Qy 1141 GGCGTGTCACCCACCAAGCTGAACGACCTGTGCTTCACCAATGTGTACGCCGACAGCTTC 1200
|||||||| || |||||||||||||||||||||||||| || ||||||||||||||||||
Db 1141 GGCGTGTCCCCTACCAAGCTGAACGACCTGTGCTTCACAAACGTGTACGCCGACAGCTTC 1200
Qy 1201 GTGATCCGCGGAGATGAAGTGCGACAGATTGCCCCAGGCCAGACCGGCAAGATCGCCGAC 1260
|||||||| |||||||||||||| ||||||||||| || ||||| |||||||||||||||
Db 1201 GTGATCCGGGGAGATGAAGTGCGGCAGATTGCCCCTGGACAGACAGGCAAGATCGCCGAC 1260
Qy 1261 TACAATTACAAGCTGCCCGACGACTTCACCGGCTGCGTGATCGCCTGGAACAGCAACAAC 1320
||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||| ||||||||||||||||||
Db 1261 TACAACTACAAGCTGCCCGACGACTTCACCGGCTGTGTGATTGCCTGGAACAGCAACAAC 1320
Qy 1321 CTGGATTCCAAAGTCGGCGGCAACTACAACTACCTGTACCGCCTGTTCCGCAAGAGCAAT 1380
||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||| |||||||| ||| ||||
Db 1321 CTGGACTCCAAAGTCGGCGGCAACTACAATTACCTGTACCGGCTGTTCCGGAAGTCCAAT 1380
Qy 1381 CTGAAGCCCTTCGAGCGCGACATCAGCACCGAAATCTACCAGGCCGGAAGCACCCCATGC 1440
||||||||||||||||| |||||| |||||| ||||| |||||||| |||||||| ||
Db 1381 CTGAAGCCCTTCGAGCGGGACATCTCCACCGAGATCTATCAGGCCGGCAGCACCCCTTGT 1440
Qy 1441 AACGGCGTGGAAGGCTTCAACTGCTACTTCCCACTGCAGTCCTACGGATTTCAGCCCACA 1500
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||
Db 1441 AACGGCGTGGAAGGCTTCAACTGCTACTTCCCACTGCAGTCCTACGGCTTTCAGCCCACA 1500
Qy 1501 AATGGCGTGGGCTACCAGCCATATCGAGTGGTGGTGCTGAGCTTCGAACTGCTGCATGCT 1560
|||||||||||||| ||||| || ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1501 AATGGCGTGGGCTATCAGCCCTACAGAGTGGTGGTGCTGAGCTTCGAACTGCTGCATGCC 1560
Qy 1561 CCAGCTACCGTGTGCGGCCCCAAGAAGAGTACCAACCTGGTCAAGAACAAATGCGTGAAC 1620
|| || || ||||||||||| ||||| || ||||| || || ||||||||||||||||||
Db 1561 CCTGCCACAGTGTGCGGCCCTAAGAAAAGCACCAATCTCGTGAAGAACAAATGCGTGAAC 1620
Qy 1621 TTCAACTTCAACGGCCTGACCGGAACCGGCGTGCTGACCGAGAGTAACAAGAAGTTCCTG 1680
||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||| ||||| |||||||||||||||
Db 1621 TTCAACTTCAACGGCCTGACCGGCACCGGCGTGCTGACAGAGAGCAACAAGAAGTTCCTG 1680
Qy 1681 CCATTCCAGCAGTTTGGCCGCGACATTGCCGATACAACCGATGCCGTTCGCGATCCCCAG 1740
|||||||||||||||||||| || || |||||||| || || |||||| | |||||||||
Db 1681 CCATTCCAGCAGTTTGGCCGGGATATCGCCGATACCACAGACGCCGTTAGAGATCCCCAG 1740
Qy 1741 ACCTTGGAGATCCTGGATATTACCCCATGCTCCTTCGGCGGCGTGTCCGTGATTACACCA 1800
|| |||| |||||||| || ||||| ||| ||||||||| ||||| ||||| || ||
Db 1741 ACACTGGAAATCCTGGACATCACCCCTTGCAGCTTCGGCGGAGTGTCTGTGATCACCCCT 1800
Qy 1801 GGCACCAATACCAGCAACCAGGTGGCCGTTCTGTACCAGGATGTGAATTGCACAGAGGTG 1860
|||||||| |||||||| |||||||| || ||||||||||| ||||| || || || |||
Db 1801 GGCACCAACACCAGCAATCAGGTGGCAGTGCTGTACCAGGACGTGAACTGTACCGAAGTG 1860
Qy 1861 CCCGTGGCCATTCACGCCGATCAATTGACACCAACATGGCGCGTGTACTCCACCGGCAGC 1920
||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||| |||||||| ||||||||||||||||||
Db 1861 CCCGTGGCCATTCACGCCGATCAGCTGACACCTACATGGCGGGTGTACTCCACCGGCAGC 1920
Qy 1921 AATGTGTTTCAAACCCGCGCTGGATGCCTGATTGGAGCCGAGCACGTGAACAATAGCTAC 1980
||||||||||| ||| | || || || ||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1921 AATGTGTTTCAGACCAGAGCCGGCTGTCTGATCGGAGCCGAGCACGTGAACAATAGCTAC 1980
Qy 1981 GAGTGCGATATCCCCATCGGAGCCGGAATCTGCGCCTCCTATCAGACCCAGACCAATAGT 2040
|||||||| ||||||||||| || || ||||| ||| ||| ||||| ||||| || ||
Db 1981 GAGTGCGACATCCCCATCGGCGCTGGCATCTGTGCCAGCTACCAGACACAGACAAACAGC 2040
Qy 2041 CCACGACGAGCCCGAAGTGTGGCCAGCCAGAGCATCATTGCCTATACCATGAGCCTGGGC 2100
| || ||||||||||||||||||||||||||| || ||| ||||||
Db 2041 C---------CCGCCTCTGTGGCCAGCCAGAGCATCATTGCCTACACAATGTCTCTGGGC 2091
Qy 2101 GCCGAGAATAGCGTGGCCTACTCCAACAACAGCATTGCTATCCCCACCAACTTCACCATC 2160
|||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||| || ||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2092 GCCGAGAACAGCGTGGCCTACTCCAACAACTCTATCGCTATCCCCACCAACTTCACCATC 2151
Qy 2161 AGCGTGACCACCGAGATCCTGCCAGTGTCCATGACCAAGACCAGCGTGGACTGCACCATG 2220
||||||||||| ||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2152 AGCGTGACCACAGAGATCCTGCCTGTGTCCATGACCAAGACCAGCGTGGACTGCACCATG 2211
Qy 2221 TACATCTGCGGAGATAGCACCGAGTGCAGCAACCTGCTGCTGCAGTACGGAAGTTTCTGC 2280
||||||||||| ||| |||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||| || ||||||
Db 2212 TACATCTGCGGCGATTCCACCGAGTGCTCCAACCTGCTGCTGCAGTACGGCAGCTTCTGC 2271
Qy 2281 ACCCAGCTGAATCGCGCCCTGACAGGCATTGCCGTGGAACAGGATAAGAACACCCAAGAG 2340
|||||||||||| | ||||||||||| || |||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||
Db 2272 ACCCAGCTGAATAGAGCCCTGACAGGGATCGCCGTGGAACAGGACAAGAACACCCAAGAG 2331
Qy 2341 GTGTTCGCCCAAGTGAAGCAAATCTACAAGACCCCACCAATCAAGGATTTCGGCGGCTTC 2400
|||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||| || |||||||| ||||||||||||
Db 2332 GTGTTCGCCCAAGTGAAGCAGATCTACAAGACCCCTCCTATCAAGGACTTCGGCGGCTTC 2391
Qy 2401 AATTTCAGCCAGATTCTGCCCGATCCAAGCAAGCCCAGCAAGCGCAGCTTCATCGAGGAC 2460
|||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||
Db 2392 AATTTCAGCCAGATTCTGCCCGATCCTAGCAAGCCCAGCAAGCGGAGCTTCATCGAGGAC 2451
Qy 2461 CTGCTGTTCAACAAAGTGACACTGGCCGACGCCGGATTCATCAAGCAGTATGGCGATTGC 2520
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2452 CTGCTGTTCAACAAAGTGACACTGGCCGACGCCGGCTTCATCAAGCAGTATGGCGATTGT 2511
Qy 2521 CTGGGCGATATTGCCGCACGCGATCTGATTTGCGCCCAGAAGTTTAACGGACTGACCGTC 2580
|||||||| |||||||| | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||
Db 2512 CTGGGCGACATTGCCGCCAGGGATCTGATTTGCGCCCAGAAGTTTAACGGACTGACAGTG 2571
Qy 2581 CTGCCACCACTGCTGACAGATGAGATGATCGCCCAGTACACAAGTGCCCTGCTGGCCGGA 2640
||||| || |||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||
Db 2572 CTGCCTCCTCTGCTGACCGATGAGATGATCGCCCAGTACACATCTGCCCTGCTGGCCGGC 2631
Qy 2641 ACCATTACCAGCGGATGGACATTTGGAGCCGGTGCCGCTCTGCAGATTCCCTTCGCTATG 2700
|| || || ||||| |||||||||||||| || |||||||||||||| ||||| ||||||
Db 2632 ACAATCACAAGCGGCTGGACATTTGGAGCTGGCGCCGCTCTGCAGATCCCCTTTGCTATG 2691
Qy 2701 CAGATGGCCTACCGCTTCAATGGCATTGGCGTGACCCAGAATGTGCTGTACGAGAACCAG 2760
|||||||||||||| ||||| ||||| || ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2692 CAGATGGCCTACCGGTTCAACGGCATCGGAGTGACCCAGAATGTGCTGTACGAGAACCAG 2751
Qy 2761 AAGCTGATCGCCAACCAGTTCAACAGCGCCATCGGCAAGATTCAGGACAGCCTGAGTAGT 2820
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||| ||
Db 2752 AAGCTGATCGCCAACCAGTTCAACAGCGCCATCGGCAAGATCCAGGACAGCCTGAGCAGC 2811
Qy 2821 ACCGCCAGCGCTCTGGGAAAGCTGCAGGATGTGGTCAACCAGAACGCTCAGGCCCTGAAC 2880
|| || ||||| ||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||| || ||||| ||||||
Db 2812 ACAGCAAGCGCCCTGGGAAAGCTGCAGGACGTGGTCAACCAGAATGCCCAGGCACTGAAC 2871
Qy 2881 ACCCTGGTTAAGCAGCTGAGCAGCAACTTCGGCGCCATCAGTAGCGTGCTGAACGATATC 2940
|||||||| ||||||||| | |||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||
Db 2872 ACCCTGGTCAAGCAGCTGTCCTCCAACTTCGGCGCCATCAGCTCTGTGCTGAACGATATC 2931
Qy 2941 CTGAGCCGCCTGGATAAGGTGGAAGCCGAGGTGCAGATCGATCGCCTGATTACCGGACGC 3000
|||||| | ||||| |||||||||||||||||||| | ||||| |||||| |
Db 2932 CTGAGCAGACTGGACCCTCCTGAAGCCGAGGTGCAGATCGACAGACTGATCACCGGAAGG 2991
Qy 3001 CTGCAGTCCCTGCAGACCTATGTGACACAGCAGCTGATCCGAGCCGCCGAGATTCGAGCT 3060
|||||||||||||||||||| || || |||||||||||| |||||||||||||| ||||
Db 2992 CTGCAGTCCCTGCAGACCTACGTTACCCAGCAGCTGATCAGAGCCGCCGAGATTAGAGCC 3051
Qy 3061 AGTGCTAATCTGGCCGCCACCAAGATGAGCGAATGTGTGCTGGGACAGAGCAAGCGCGTG 3120
||| ||||||||||||||||||||| || ||||||||||| ||||||||| | |||
Db 3052 TCTGCCAATCTGGCCGCCACCAAGATGTCTGAGTGTGTGCTGGGCCAGAGCAAGAGAGTG 3111
Qy 3121 GACTTTTGCGGCAAGGGATACCACCTGATGAGCTTCCCACAGAGTGCTCCACACGGCGTG 3180
||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||| ||| ||| || |||||||||
Db 3112 GACTTTTGCGGCAAGGGCTACCACCTGATGAGCTTCCCTCAGTCTGCCCCTCACGGCGTG 3171
Qy 3181 GTGTTTCTGCATGTGACCTACGTGCCCGCTCAAGAGAAGAATTTCACCACCGCTCCAGCC 3240
||||||||||| ||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3172 GTGTTTCTGCACGTGACATACGTGCCCGCTCAAGAGAAGAATTTCACCACCGCTCCAGCC 3231
Qy 3241 ATCTGCCACGACGGAAAGGCCCATTTTCCACGCGAGGGCGTGTTCGTTAGCAACGGCACT 3300
|||||||||||||| || ||||| ||||| | || ||||||||||| |||||||||
Db 3232 ATCTGCCACGACGGCAAAGCCCACTTTCCTAGAGAAGGCGTGTTCGTGTCCAACGGCACC 3291
Qy 3301 CATTGGTTCGTCACCCAGCGCAACTTCTACGAGCCCCAGATCATCACCACCGACAACACC 3360
||||||||||| |||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3292 CATTGGTTCGTGACCCAGCGGAACTTCTACGAGCCCCAGATCATCACCACCGACAACACC 3351
Qy 3361 TTCGTCAGCGGCAACTGCGACGTCGTGATCGGCATTGTGAACAACACCGTGTACGATCCA 3420
||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||| ||
Db 3352 TTCGTGTCTGGCAACTGCGACGTCGTGATCGGCATTGTGAACAATACCGTGTACGACCCT 3411
Qy 3421 CTGCAGCCCGAGCTGGACAGCTTCAAAGAGGAACTGGACAAGTACTTTAAGAACCACACA 3480
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3412 CTGCAGCCCGAGCTGGACAGCTTCAAAGAGGAACTGGATAAGTACTTTAAGAACCACACA 3471
Qy 3481 AGCCCCGACGTGGACCTGGGAGACATTAGCGGAATCAACGCCAGCGTGGTCAACATCCAG 3540
|||||||||||||||||||| || || ||||||||||| |||||||| || |||||||||
Db 3472 AGCCCCGACGTGGACCTGGGCGATATCAGCGGAATCAATGCCAGCGTCGTGAACATCCAG 3531
Qy 3541 AAAGAGATTGACCGCCTGAACGAGGTGGCCAAGAATCTGAACGAGAGCCTGATCGACCTG 3600
|||||||| ||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3532 AAAGAGATCGACCGGCTGAACGAGGTGGCCAAGAATCTGAACGAGAGCCTGATCGACCTG 3591
Qy 3601 CAAGAACTGGGCAAATACGAGCAGTACATTAAGTGGCCCTGGTACATCTGGCT 3653
||||||||||| || |||||||||||||| ||||||||| | | || | |
Db 3592 CAAGAACTGGGGAAGTACGAGCAGTACATCAAGTGGCCCAGCGGCCGCTTGGT 3644
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use known Spike nucleic acid sequences, including the sequence taught by GenBank Accession No. MT 380725.1, in the construct of Crawford et al. and the result would be predictable [expression of the Spike protein by the lentiviral vector].
Thus, the invention as a whole was clearly prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 7, 9, 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crawford et al. (Viruses, 2020, 12:513; published May 6, 2020).
The instant claims are directed to a composition, kit or system, comprising the pseudotyped lentiviral vector particle according to claim 1, and a mammalian cell expressing an Angiotensin-converting Enzyme 2 (ACE2) protein, wherein the mammalian cell is a human cell (claim 9) such as 293T or HeLa (claim 10) and further comprising a human serum (claim 13).
The teachings of Crawford et al. are outline above and incorporated herein. Crawford et al. further teaches a neutralization assay using plasma from a confirmed SARS-CoV-2-infected patient collected at 19 days post-symptom onset, and with soluble ACE2 protein fused to an IgG Fc domain (which neutralizes SARS-CoV-2 by acting as a decoy receptor). As negative controls (not expected to neutralize), Crawford et al. used sera collected prior to the emergence of SARS-CoV-2 in late 2019. For these assays, Crawford et al. first made serial dilutions of the plasma, sera, or soluble ACE2-Fc in a 96-well plate. Crawford et al. then incubated these dilutions for 60 min with a volume of pseudotyped lentiviral particles sufficient to achieve 2 X 105 RLUs of luciferase signal per well. Finally, Crawford et al. added the mix to a pre-seeded plate of 293T-ACE2 cells and measured the luciferase signal at 60 h post-infection (see page 6 of 15). Crawford et al. also found that the presence of naïve human serum enhanced the luciferase signal in the neutralization assays (see Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to package the Spike-pseudotyped lentiviral particles, 293T cells expressing ACE2, soluble ACE2, and naïve human serum into a kit for performing neutralization assays. One would be motivated to do this for commercial exploitation of the invention by providing convenience for the end user.
Thus, the invention as a whole was clearly prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crawford et al. (Viruses, 2020, 12:513; published May 6, 2020), as applied to claims 7, 9, 10 and 13 above, and further in view of Hoffmann et al. (Cell, April 16, 2020, 181: 271–280).
The instant claim is directed to the composition, kit or system of claim 7, wherein the mammalian cell further expresses the serine protease TMPRSS2.
The teachings of Crawford et al. are outline above and incorporated herein. Crawford et al. does not teach that the 203T cells also express the serine protease TMPRSS2. However, Hoffman et al. teaches that SARS-CoV-2 cell entry depends on both ACE2 and TMPRSS2 (see, for example, the Summary).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the 293T cells to also express the serine protease TMPRSS2. One would have been motivated to do so and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the teachings and finding of Hoffman et al. (Cell entry of coronaviruses depends on binding of the viral spike (S) proteins to cellular receptors (e.g., ACE2) and on S protein priming by host cell proteases (e.g., TMPRSS2)).
Thus, the invention as a whole was clearly prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crawford et al. (Viruses, 2020, 12:513; published May 6, 2020) as applied to claims 7, 9, 10 and 13 above, and further in view of Piddington et al. (WO200070032; published May 23, 2000).
The instant claims are directed to the composition, kit or system according to any one of claim 7,wherein the ACE2 protein has an amino acid sequence at least 95% identical to SEQ ID NO: 3.
The teachings of Crawford et al. are outline above and incorporated herein. Crawford et al. does not teach that the ACE2 protein has an amino acid sequence at least 95% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 3. However, Piddington et al. teaches a ACE2 protein sequence that is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 3 (see alignment below).
Qy 1 MSSSSWLLLSLVAVTAAQSTIEEQAKTFLDKFNHEAEDLFYQSSLASWNYNTNITEENVQ 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MSSSSWLLLSLVAVTAAQSTIEEQAKTFLDKFNHEAEDLFYQSSLASWNYNTNITEENVQ 60
Qy 61 NMNNAGDKWSAFLKEQSTLAQMYPLQEIQNLTVKLQLQALQQNGSSVLSEDKSKRLNTIL 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 NMNNAGDKWSAFLKEQSTLAQMYPLQEIQNLTVKLQLQALQQNGSSVLSEDKSKRLNTIL 120
Qy 121 NTMSTIYSTGKVCNPDNPQECLLLEPGLNEIMANSLDYNERLWAWESWRSEVGKQLRPLY 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 NTMSTIYSTGKVCNPDNPQECLLLEPGLNEIMANSLDYNERLWAWESWRSEVGKQLRPLY 180
Qy 181 EEYVVLKNEMARANHYEDYGDYWRGDYEVNGVDGYDYSRGQLIEDVEHTFEEIKPLYEHL 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 EEYVVLKNEMARANHYEDYGDYWRGDYEVNGVDGYDYSRGQLIEDVEHTFEEIKPLYEHL 240
Qy 241 HAYVRAKLMNAYPSYISPIGCLPAHLLGDMWGRFWTNLYSLTVPFGQKPNIDVTDAMVDQ 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 HAYVRAKLMNAYPSYISPIGCLPAHLLGDMWGRFWTNLYSLTVPFGQKPNIDVTDAMVDQ 300
Qy 301 AWDAQRIFKEAEKFFVSVGLPNMTQGFWENSMLTDPGNVQKAVCHPTAWDLGKGDFRILM 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 AWDAQRIFKEAEKFFVSVGLPNMTQGFWENSMLTDPGNVQKAVCHPTAWDLGKGDFRILM 360
Qy 361 CTKVTMDDFLTAHHEMGHIQYDMAYAAQPFLLRNGANEGFHEAVGEIMSLSAATPKHLKS 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 CTKVTMDDFLTAHHEMGHIQYDMAYAAQPFLLRNGANEGFHEAVGEIMSLSAATPKHLKS 420
Qy 421 IGLLSPDFQEDNETEINFLLKQALTIVGTLPFTYMLEKWRWMVFKGEIPKDQWMKKWWEM 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 IGLLSPDFQEDNETEINFLLKQALTIVGTLPFTYMLEKWRWMVFKGEIPKDQWMKKWWEM 480
Qy 481 KREIVGVVEPVPHDETYCDPASLFHVSNDYSFIRYYTRTLYQFQFQEALCQAAKHEGPLH 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 481 KREIVGVVEPVPHDETYCDPASLFHVSNDYSFIRYYTRTLYQFQFQEALCQAAKHEGPLH 540
Qy 541 KCDISNSTEAGQKLFNMLRLGKSEPWTLALENVVGAKNMNVRPLLNYFEPLFTWLKDQNK 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 541 KCDISNSTEAGQKLFNMLRLGKSEPWTLALENVVGAKNMNVRPLLNYFEPLFTWLKDQNK 600
Qy 601 NSFVGWSTDWSPYADQSIKVRISLKSALGDKAYEWNDNEMYLFRSSVAYAMRQYFLKVKN 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 601 NSFVGWSTDWSPYADQSIKVRISLKSALGDKAYEWNDNEMYLFRSSVAYAMRQYFLKVKN 660
Qy 661 QMILFGEEDVRVANLKPRISFNFFVTAPKNVSDIIPRTEVEKAIRMSRSRINDAFRLNDN 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 661 QMILFGEEDVRVANLKPRISFNFFVTAPKNVSDIIPRTEVEKAIRMSRSRINDAFRLNDN 720
Qy 721 SLEFLGIQPTLGPPNQPPVSIWLIVFGVVMGVIVVGIVILIFTGIRDRKKKNKARSGENP 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 721 SLEFLGIQPTLGPPNQPPVSIWLIVFGVVMGVIVVGIVILIFTGIRDRKKKNKARSGENP 780
Qy 781 YASIDISKGENNPGFQNTDDVQTSF 805
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 781 YASIDISKGENNPGFQNTDDVQTSF 805
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use known ACE2 protein sequences, including the sequence taught by Piddington et al., in the 293T cells of Crawford et al. and the result would be predictable [expression of the ACE2 protein by the 293T cells].
Thus, the invention as a whole was clearly prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crawford et al. (Viruses, 2020, 12:513; published May 6, 2020) as applied to claims 7, 9, 10 and 13 above, and further in view of GenBank Accession No. BC048094. (first publicly available March 20, 2003).
The instant claims are directed to the composition, kit or system according to claim 7, wherein the ACE2 protein is expressed from a coding sequence having a nucleotide sequence at least 80% identical to SEQ ID NO: 4.
The teachings of Crawford et al. are outline above and incorporated herein. Crawford et al. does not teach that the ACE2 protein is encoded by a nucleic acid that is at least 80% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 4. However, GenBank Accession No. BC048094 discloses an ACE2 nucleic acid sequence that is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 4 (see alignment below).
Qy 1 ATGTCAAGCTCTTCCTGGCTCCTTCTCAGCCTTGTTGCTGTAACTGCTGCTCAGTCCACC 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 35 ATGTCAAGCTCTTCCTGGCTCCTTCTCAGCCTTGTTGCTGTAACTGCTGCTCAGTCCACC 94
Qy 61 ATTGAGGAACAGGCCAAGACATTTTTGGACAAGTTTAACCACGAAGCCGAAGACCTGTTC 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 95 ATTGAGGAACAGGCCAAGACATTTTTGGACAAGTTTAACCACGAAGCCGAAGACCTGTTC 154
Qy 121 TATCAAAGTTCACTTGCTTCTTGGAATTATAACACCAATATTACTGAAGAGAATGTCCAA 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 155 TATCAAAGTTCACTTGCTTCTTGGAATTATAACACCAATATTACTGAAGAGAATGTCCAA 214
Qy 181 AACATGAATAATGCTGGGGACAAATGGTCTGCCTTTTTAAAGGAACAGTCCACACTTGCC 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 215 AACATGAATAATGCTGGGGACAAATGGTCTGCCTTTTTAAAGGAACAGTCCACACTTGCC 274
Qy 241 CAAATGTATCCACTACAAGAAATTCAGAATCTCACAGTCAAGCTTCAGCTGCAGGCTCTT 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 275 CAAATGTATCCACTACAAGAAATTCAGAATCTCACAGTCAAGCTTCAGCTGCAGGCTCTT 334
Qy 301 CAGCAAAATGGGTCTTCAGTGCTCTCAGAAGACAAGAGCAAACGGTTGAACACAATTCTA 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 335 CAGCAAAATGGGTCTTCAGTGCTCTCAGAAGACAAGAGCAAACGGTTGAACACAATTCTA 394
Qy 361 AATACAATGAGCACCATCTACAGTACTGGAAAAGTTTGTAACCCAGATAATCCACAAGAA 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 395 AATACAATGAGCACCATCTACAGTACTGGAAAAGTTTGTAACCCAGATAATCCACAAGAA 454
Qy 421 TGCTTATTACTTGAACCAGGTTTGAATGAAATAATGGCAAACAGTTTAGACTACAATGAG 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 455 TGCTTATTACTTGAACCAGGTTTGAATGAAATAATGGCAAACAGTTTAGACTACAATGAG 514
Qy 481 AGGCTCTGGGCTTGGGAAAGCTGGAGATCTGAGGTCGGCAAGCAGCTGAGGCCATTATAT 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 515 AGGCTCTGGGCTTGGGAAAGCTGGAGATCTGAGGTCGGCAAGCAGCTGAGGCCATTATAT 574
Qy 541 GAAGAGTATGTGGTCTTGAAAAATGAGATGGCAAGAGCAAATCATTATGAGGACTATGGG 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 575 GAAGAGTATGTGGTCTTGAAAAATGAGATGGCAAGAGCAAATCATTATGAGGACTATGGG 634
Qy 601 GATTATTGGAGAGGAGACTATGAAGTAAATGGGGTAGATGGCTATGACTACAGCCGCGGC 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 635 GATTATTGGAGAGGAGACTATGAAGTAAATGGGGTAGATGGCTATGACTACAGCCGCGGC 694
Qy 661 CAGTTGATTGAAGATGTGGAACATACCTTTGAAGAGATTAAACCATTATATGAACATCTT 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 695 CAGTTGATTGAAGATGTGGAACATACCTTTGAAGAGATTAAACCATTATATGAACATCTT 754
Qy 721 CATGCCTATGTGAGGGCAAAGTTGATGAATGCCTATCCTTCCTATATCAGTCCAATTGGA 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 755 CATGCCTATGTGAGGGCAAAGTTGATGAATGCCTATCCTTCCTATATCAGTCCAATTGGA 814
Qy 781 TGCCTCCCTGCTCATTTGCTTGGTGATATGTGGGGTAGATTTTGGACAAATCTGTACTCT 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 815 TGCCTCCCTGCTCATTTGCTTGGTGATATGTGGGGTAGATTTTGGACAAATCTGTACTCT 874
Qy 841 TTGACAGTTCCCTTTGGACAGAAACCAAACATAGATGTTACTGATGCAATGGTGGACCAG 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 875 TTGACAGTTCCCTTTGGACAGAAACCAAACATAGATGTTACTGATGCAATGGTGGACCAG 934
Qy 901 GCCTGGGATGCACAGAGAATATTCAAGGAGGCCGAGAAGTTCTTTGTATCTGTTGGTCTT 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 935 GCCTGGGATGCACAGAGAATATTCAAGGAGGCCGAGAAGTTCTTTGTATCTGTTGGTCTT 994
Qy 961 CCTAATATGACTCAAGGATTCTGGGAAAATTCCATGCTAACGGACCCAGGAAATGTTCAG 1020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 995 CCTAATATGACTCAAGGATTCTGGGAAAATTCCATGCTAACGGACCCAGGAAATGTTCAG 1054
Qy 1021 AAAGCAGTCTGCCATCCCACAGCTTGGGACCTGGGGAAGGGCGACTTCAGGATCCTTATG 1080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1055 AAAGCAGTCTGCCATCCCACAGCTTGGGACCTGGGGAAGGGCGACTTCAGGATCCTTATG 1114
Qy 1081 TGCACAAAGGTGACAATGGACGACTTCCTGACAGCTCATCATGAGATGGGGCATATCCAG 1140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1115 TGCACAAAGGTGACAATGGACGACTTCCTGACAGCTCATCATGAGATGGGGCATATCCAG 1174
Qy 1141 TATGATATGGCATATGCTGCACAACCTTTTCTGCTAAGAAATGGAGCTAATGAAGGATTC 1200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1175 TATGATATGGCATATGCTGCACAACCTTTTCTGCTAAGAAATGGAGCTAATGAAGGATTC 1234
Qy 1201 CATGAAGCTGTTGGGGAAATCATGTCACTTTCTGCAGCCACACCTAAGCATTTAAAATCC 1260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1235 CATGAAGCTGTTGGGGAAATCATGTCACTTTCTGCAGCCACACCTAAGCATTTAAAATCC 1294
Qy 1261 ATTGGTCTTCTGTCACCCGATTTTCAAGAAGACAATGAAACAGAAATAAACTTCCTGCTC 1320
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1295 ATTGGTCTTCTGTCACCCGATTTTCAAGAAGACAATGAAACAGAAATAAACTTCCTGCTC 1354
Qy 1321 AAACAAGCACTCACGATTGTTGGGACTCTGCCATTTACTTACATGTTAGAGAAGTGGAGG 1380
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1355 AAACAAGCACTCACGATTGTTGGGACTCTGCCATTTACTTACATGTTAGAGAAGTGGAGG 1414
Qy 1381 TGGATGGTCTTTAAAGGGGAAATTCCCAAAGACCAGTGGATGAAAAAGTGGTGGGAGATG 1440
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1415 TGGATGGTCTTTAAAGGGGAAATTCCCAAAGACCAGTGGATGAAAAAGTGGTGGGAGATG 1474
Qy 1441 AAGCGAGAGATAGTTGGGGTGGTGGAACCTGTGCCCCATGATGAAACATACTGTGACCCC 1500
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1475 AAGCGAGAGATAGTTGGGGTGGTGGAACCTGTGCCCCATGATGAAACATACTGTGACCCC 1534
Qy 1501 GCATCTCTGTTCCATGTTTCTAATGATTACTCATTCATTCGATATTACACAAGGACCCTT 1560
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1535 GCATCTCTGTTCCATGTTTCTAATGATTACTCATTCATTCGATATTACACAAGGACCCTT 1594
Qy 1561 TACCAATTCCAGTTTCAAGAAGCACTTTGTCAAGCAGCTAAACATGAAGGCCCTCTGCAC 1620
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1595 TACCAATTCCAGTTTCAAGAAGCACTTTGTCAAGCAGCTAAACATGAAGGCCCTCTGCAC 1654
Qy 1621 AAATGTGACATCTCAAACTCTACAGAAGCTGGACAGAAACTGTTCAATATGCTGAGGCTT 1680
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1655 AAATGTGACATCTCAAACTCTACAGAAGCTGGACAGAAACTGTTCAATATGCTGAGGCTT 1714
Qy 1681 GGAAAATCAGAACCCTGGACCCTAGCATTGGAAAATGTTGTAGGAGCAAAGAACATGAAT 1740
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1715 GGAAAATCAGAACCCTGGACCCTAGCATTGGAAAATGTTGTAGGAGCAAAGAACATGAAT 1774
Qy 1741 GTAAGGCCACTGCTCAACTACTTTGAGCCCTTATTTACCTGGCTGAAAGACCAGAACAAG 1800
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1775 GTAAGGCCACTGCTCAACTACTTTGAGCCCTTATTTACCTGGCTGAAAGACCAGAACAAG 1834
Qy 1801 AATTCTTTTGTGGGATGGAGTACCGACTGGAGTCCATATGCAGACCAAAGCATCAAAGTG 1860
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1835 AATTCTTTTGTGGGATGGAGTACCGACTGGAGTCCATATGCAGACCAAAGCATCAAAGTG 1894
Qy 1861 AGGATAAGCCTAAAATCAGCTCTTGGAGATAAAGCATATGAATGGAACGACAATGAAATG 1920
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1895 AGGATAAGCCTAAAATCAGCTCTTGGAGATAAAGCATATGAATGGAACGACAATGAAATG 1954
Qy 1921 TACCTGTTCCGATCATCTGTTGCATATGCTATGAGGCAGTACTTTTTAAAAGTAAAAAAT 1980
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1955 TACCTGTTCCGATCATCTGTTGCATATGCTATGAGGCAGTACTTTTTAAAAGTAAAAAAT 2014
Qy 1981 CAGATGATTCTTTTTGGGGAGGAGGATGTGCGAGTGGCTAATTTGAAACCAAGAATCTCC 2040
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2015 CAGATGATTCTTTTTGGGGAGGAGGATGTGCGAGTGGCTAATTTGAAACCAAGAATCTCC 2074
Qy 2041 TTTAATTTCTTTGTCACTGCACCTAAAAATGTGTCTGATATCATTCCTAGAACTGAAGTT 2100
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2075 TTTAATTTCTTTGTCACTGCACCTAAAAATGTGTCTGATATCATTCCTAGAACTGAAGTT 2134
Qy 2101 GAAAAGGCCATCAGGATGTCCCGGAGCCGTATCAATGATGCTTTCCGTCTGAATGACAAC 2160
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2135 GAAAAGGCCATCAGGATGTCCCGGAGCCGTATCAATGATGCTTTCCGTCTGAATGACAAC 2194
Qy 2161 AGCCTAGAGTTTCTGGGGATACAGCCAACACTTGGACCTCCTAACCAGCCCCCTGTTTCC 2220
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2195 AGCCTAGAGTTTCTGGGGATACAGCCAACACTTGGACCTCCTAACCAGCCCCCTGTTTCC 2254
Qy 2221 ATATGGCTGATTGTTTTTGGAGTTGTGATGGGAGTGATAGTGGTTGGCATTGTCATCCTG 2280
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2255 ATATGGCTGATTGTTTTTGGAGTTGTGATGGGAGTGATAGTGGTTGGCATTGTCATCCTG 2314
Qy 2281 ATCTTCACTGGGATCAGAGATCGGAAGAAGAAAAATAAAGCAAGAAGTGGAGAAAATCCT 2340
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2315 ATCTTCACTGGGATCAGAGATCGGAAGAAGAAAAATAAAGCAAGAAGTGGAGAAAATCCT 2374
Qy 2341 TATGCCTCCATCGATATTAGCAAAGGAGAAAATAATCCAGGATTCCAAAACACTGATGAT 2400
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2375 TATGCCTCCATCGATATTAGCAAAGGAGAAAATAATCCAGGATTCCAAAACACTGATGAT 2434
Qy 2401 GTTCAGACCTCCTTT 2415
|||||||||||||||
Db 2435 GTTCAGACCTCCTTT 2449
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use known ACE2 nucleic acid sequences, including the sequence taught by GenBank Accession No. BC048094, in the 293T cells of Crawford et al. and the result would be predictable [expression of the ACE2 protein by the 293T cells].
Thus, the invention as a whole was clearly prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (bioRxiv, May 29, 2020, DOI: https://www.biorxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.05.28.122671v1) as applied to claims 1, 4, 5 and 41 above, and further in view of Qin et al. (CN111088283; published May 1, 2020).
The instant claims are directed to the pseudotyped lentiviral vector of claim 1 where the Spike protein has an amino acid sequence at least 95% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1.
The teachings of Johnson et al. are outline above and incorporated herein. Johnson et al. does not teach that the Spike protein has an amino acid sequence at least 95% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1. However, Qin et al. teaches a Spike protein sequence that is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (see alignment below).
Qy 1 MFVFLVLLPLVSSQCVNLTTRTQLPPAYTNSFTRGVYYPDKVFRSSVLHSTQDLFLPFFS 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MFVFLVLLPLVSSQCVNLTTRTQLPPAYTNSFTRGVYYPDKVFRSSVLHSTQDLFLPFFS 60
Qy 61 NVTWFHAIHVSGTNGTKRFDNPVLPFNDGVYFASTEKSNIIRGWIFGTTLDSKTQSLLIV 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 NVTWFHAIHVSGTNGTKRFDNPVLPFNDGVYFASTEKSNIIRGWIFGTTLDSKTQSLLIV 120
Qy 121 NNATNVVIKVCEFQFCNDPFLGVYYHKNNKSWMESEFRVYSSANNCTFEYVSQPFLMDLE 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 NNATNVVIKVCEFQFCNDPFLGVYYHKNNKSWMESEFRVYSSANNCTFEYVSQPFLMDLE 180
Qy 181 GKQGNFKNLREFVFKNIDGYFKIYSKHTPINLVRDLPQGFSALEPLVDLPIGINITRFQT 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 GKQGNFKNLREFVFKNIDGYFKIYSKHTPINLVRDLPQGFSALEPLVDLPIGINITRFQT 240
Qy 241 LLALHRSYLTPGDSSSGWTAGAAAYYVGYLQPRTFLLKYNENGTITDAVDCALDPLSETK 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 LLALHRSYLTPGDSSSGWTAGAAAYYVGYLQPRTFLLKYNENGTITDAVDCALDPLSETK 300
Qy 301 CTLKSFTVEKGIYQTSNFRVQPTESIVRFPNITNLCPFGEVFNATRFASVYAWNRKRISN 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 CTLKSFTVEKGIYQTSNFRVQPTESIVRFPNITNLCPFGEVFNATRFASVYAWNRKRISN 360
Qy 361 CVADYSVLYNSASFSTFKCYGVSPTKLNDLCFTNVYADSFVIRGDEVRQIAPGQTGKIAD 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 CVADYSVLYNSASFSTFKCYGVSPTKLNDLCFTNVYADSFVIRGDEVRQIAPGQTGKIAD 420
Qy 421 YNYKLPDDFTGCVIAWNSNNLDSKVGGNYNYLYRLFRKSNLKPFERDISTEIYQAGSTPC 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 YNYKLPDDFTGCVIAWNSNNLDSKVGGNYNYLYRLFRKSNLKPFERDISTEIYQAGSTPC 480
Qy 481 NGVEGFNCYFPLQSYGFQPTNGVGYQPYRVVVLSFELLHAPATVCGPKKSTNLVKNKCVN 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 481 NGVEGFNCYFPLQSYGFQPTNGVGYQPYRVVVLSFELLHAPATVCGPKKSTNLVKNKCVN 540
Qy 541 FNFNGLTGTGVLTESNKKFLPFQQFGRDIADTTDAVRDPQTLEILDITPCSFGGVSVITP 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 541 FNFNGLTGTGVLTESNKKFLPFQQFGRDIADTTDAVRDPQTLEILDITPCSFGGVSVITP 600
Qy 601 GTNTSNQVAVLYQDVNCTEVPVAIHADQLTPTWRVYSTGSNVFQTRAGCLIGAEHVNNSY 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 601 GTNTSNQVAVLYQDVNCTEVPVAIHADQLTPTWRVYSTGSNVFQTRAGCLIGAEHVNNSY 660
Qy 661 ECDIPIGAGICASYQTQTNSPRRARSVASQSIIAYTMSLGAENSVAYSNNSIAIPTNFTI 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 661 ECDIPIGAGICASYQTQTNSPRRARSVASQSIIAYTMSLGAENSVAYSNNSIAIPTNFTI 720
Qy 721 SVTTEILPVSMTKTSVDCTMYICGDSTECSNLLLQYGSFCTQLNRALTGIAVEQDKNTQE 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 721 SVTTEILPVSMTKTSVDCTMYICGDSTECSNLLLQYGSFCTQLNRALTGIAVEQDKNTQE 780
Qy 781 VFAQVKQIYKTPPIKDFGGFNFSQILPDPSKPSKRSFIEDLLFNKVTLADAGFIKQYGDC 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 781 VFAQVKQIYKTPPIKDFGGFNFSQILPDPSKPSKRSFIEDLLFNKVTLADAGFIKQYGDC 840
Qy 841 LGDIAARDLICAQKFNGLTVLPPLLTDEMIAQYTSALLAGTITSGWTFGAGAALQIPFAM 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 841 LGDIAARDLICAQKFNGLTVLPPLLTDEMIAQYTSALLAGTITSGWTFGAGAALQIPFAM 900
Qy 901 QMAYRFNGIGVTQNVLYENQKLIANQFNSAIGKIQDSLSSTASALGKLQDVVNQNAQALN 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 901 QMAYRFNGIGVTQNVLYENQKLIANQFNSAIGKIQDSLSSTASALGKLQDVVNQNAQALN 960
Qy 961 TLVKQLSSNFGAISSVLNDILSRLDKVEAEVQIDRLITGRLQSLQTYVTQQLIRAAEIRA 1020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 961 TLVKQLSSNFGAISSVLNDILSRLDKVEAEVQIDRLITGRLQSLQTYVTQQLIRAAEIRA 1020
Qy 1021 SANLAATKMSECVLGQSKRVDFCGKGYHLMSFPQSAPHGVVFLHVTYVPAQEKNFTTAPA 1080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1021 SANLAATKMSECVLGQSKRVDFCGKGYHLMSFPQSAPHGVVFLHVTYVPAQEKNFTTAPA 1080
Qy 1081 ICHDGKAHFPREGVFVSNGTHWFVTQRNFYEPQIITTDNTFVSGNCDVVIGIVNNTVYDP 1140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1081 ICHDGKAHFPREGVFVSNGTHWFVTQRNFYEPQIITTDNTFVSGNCDVVIGIVNNTVYDP 1140
Qy 1141 LQPELDSFKEELDKYFKNHTSPDVDLGDISGINASVVNIQKEIDRLNEVAKNLNESLIDL 1200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1141 LQPELDSFKEELDKYFKNHTSPDVDLGDISGINASVVNIQKEIDRLNEVAKNLNESLIDL 1200
Qy 1201 QELGKYEQYIKWPWYIWLGFIAGLIAIVMVTIMLCCMTSCCSCLKGCCSCGSCCKFDEDD 1260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1201 QELGKYEQYIKWPWYIWLGFIAGLIAIVMVTIMLCCMTSCCSCLKGCCSCGSCCKFDEDD 1260
Qy 1261 SEPVLKGVKLHYT 1273
|||||||||||||
Db 1261 SEPVLKGVKLHYT 1273
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use known Spike protein sequences, including the sequence taught by Qin et al., in the construct of Johnson et al. and the result would be predictable [expression of the Spike protein by the lentiviral vector].
Thus, the invention as a whole was clearly prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (bioRxiv, May 29, 2020, DOI: https://www.biorxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.05.28.122671v1) as applied to claims 1, 4, 5 and 41 above, and further in view of GenBank Accession No. MT380725.1. (first publicly available April 27, 2020).
The instant claims are directed to the pseudotyped lentiviral vector of claim 1 wherein the SARS-CoV-2 S protein is expressed from a coding sequence having a nucleotide sequence at least 80% identical to SEQ ID NO: 2.
The teachings of Johnson et al. are outline above and incorporated herein. Johnson et al. does not teach that the Spike protein is encoded by a nucleic acid that is at least 80% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 2. However, GenBank Accession No. MT 380725.1 discloses a Spike nucleic acid sequence that is 80.8% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 2 (see alignment below).
Qy 1 ATGTTCGTGTTTCTGGTGCTGCTGCCACTGGTGTCCAGTCAGTGCGTGAACCTGACCACA 60
|||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||| ||||| |||||||||||||||
Db 1 ATGTTCGTGTTTCTGGTGCTGCTGCCTCTGGTGTCCAGCCAGTGTGTGAACCTGACCACA 60
Qy 61 CGAACACAGCTGCCACCAGCCTACACCAATAGCTTCACCCGCGGAGTGTACTACCCCGAC 120
|||| |||||||| |||||||||||||| ||||| ||| | || |||||||||||||||
Db 61 AGAACCCAGCTGCCTCCAGCCTACACCAACAGCTTTACCAGAGGCGTGTACTACCCCGAC 120
Qy 121 AAGGTGTTCCGCAGCAGCGTGCTGCATAGCACCCAGGATCTGTTTCTGCCCTTCTTCAGC 180
||||||||| | |||||||||||| |||||||| ||||| ||||| |||||||||
Db 121 AAGGTGTTCAGATCCAGCGTGCTGCACTCTACCCAGGACCTGTTCCTGCCTTTCTTCAGC 180
Qy 181 AACGTGACCTGGTTCCACGCCATCCACGTGTCCGGCACCAATGGCACCAAGCGCTTCGAT 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| | |||||
Db 181 AACGTGACCTGGTTCCACGCCATCCACGTGTCCGGCACCAATGGCACCAAGAGATTCGAC 240
Qy 241 AATCCCGTGCTGCCCTTCAACGATGGCGTGTACTTTGCCAGCACCGAGAAGTCCAATATC 300
|| |||||||||||||||||||| || ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||
Db 241 AACCCCGTGCTGCCCTTCAACGACGGGGTGTACTTTGCCAGCACCGAGAAGTCCAACATC 300
Qy 301 ATCCGCGGCTGGATCTTCGGCACCACACTGGATAGCAAGACCCAGAGCCTGCTGATCGTG 360
||| | |||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 ATCAGAGGCTGGATCTTCGGCACCACACTGGACAGCAAGACCCAGAGCCTGCTGATCGTG 360
Qy 361 AACAACGCCACCAACGTGGTCATCAAAGTGTGCGAGTTCCAGTTCTGCAACGACCCCTTC 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 AACAACGCCACCAACGTGGTCATCAAAGTGTGCGAGTTCCAGTTCTGCAACGACCCCTTC 420
Qy 421 CTGGGCGTCTACTACCACAAGAACAACAAGAGCTGGATGGAAAGCGAGTTCCGCGTGTAC 480
|||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||
Db 421 CTGGGCGTCTACTATCACAAGAACAACAAGAGCTGGATGGAAAGCGAGTTCCGGGTGTAC 480
Qy 481 AGCAGCGCCAACAACTGCACCTTCGAGTACGTGTCCCAGCCATTCCTGATGGACCTGGAA 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||
Db 481 AGCAGCGCCAACAACTGCACCTTCGAGTACGTGTCCCAGCCTTTCCTGATGGACCTGGAA 540
Qy 541 GGCAAGCAGGGCAACTTCAAGAACCTGCGCGAGTTCGTGTTCAAGAACATCGACGGCTAC 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 541 GGCAAGCAGGGCAACTTCAAGAACCTGCGCGAGTTCGTGTTCAAGAACATCGACGGCTAC 600
Qy 601 TTCAAAATCTACAGCAAGCACACCCCAATCAACCTCGTGCGCGATCTGCCACAGGGATTC 660
||||| |||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||| |||||||| ||||| |||
Db 601 TTCAAGATCTACAGCAAGCACACCCCTATCAACCTCGTGCGGGATCTGCCTCAGGGCTTC 660
Qy 661 AGTGCTCTGGAACCCCTGGTGGATCTGCCCATCGGCATCAACATTACCCGCTTTCAGACA 720
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||| |||||||||
Db 661 TCTGCTCTGGAACCCCTGGTGGATCTGCCCATCGGCATCAACATCACCCGGTTTCAGACA 720
Qy 721 CTGCTGGCCCTGCACCGCAGTTACTTGACACCAGGCGATAGCAGCAGTGGATGGACAGCT 780
||||||||||||||| | || ||| ||||||| |||||||||||||| ||||||||||||
Db 721 CTGCTGGCCCTGCACAGAAGCTACCTGACACCTGGCGATAGCAGCAGCGGATGGACAGCT 780
Qy 781 GGTGCCGCCGCTTACTACGTTGGATATCTGCAGCCACGCACCTTTCTGCTGAAGTACAAC 840
||||||||||||||||| || || || |||||||| | |||||||||||||||||||||
Db 781 GGTGCCGCCGCTTACTATGTGGGCTACCTGCAGCCTAGAACCTTTCTGCTGAAGTACAAC 840
Qy 841 GAGAACGGCACCATCACCGACGCCGTGGATTGTGCTCTCGATCCCCTGAGCGAGACAAAG 900
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||| |||||||||||||||
Db 841 GAGAACGGCACCATCACCGACGCCGTGGATTGTGCTCTGGATCCTCTGAGCGAGACAAAG 900
Qy 901 TGCACCCTGAAGTCCTTCACCGTCGAGAAGGGCATCTACCAGACCAGCAATTTCCGCGTG 960
||||||||||||||||||||||| || ||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||| |||
Db 901 TGCACCCTGAAGTCCTTCACCGTGGAAAAGGGCATCTACCAGACCAGCAACTTCCGGGTG 960
Qy 961 CAGCCCACCGAGAGCATCGTGCGCTTCCCCAATATCACCAATCTGTGCCCCTTCGGCGAG 1020
||||||||||| ||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 961 CAGCCCACCGAATCCATCGTGCGGTTCCCCAATATCACCAATCTGTGCCCCTTCGGCGAG 1020
Qy 1021 GTGTTCAATGCCACACGCTTTGCCTCCGTGTACGCCTGGAATCGCAAGCGCATTAGCAAC 1080
|||||||||||||| | || ||||| |||||||||||||| || ||||| || |||||
Db 1021 GTGTTCAATGCCACCAGATTCGCCTCTGTGTACGCCTGGAACCGGAAGCGGATCAGCAAT 1080
Qy 1081 TGCGTGGCCGACTACTCCGTGCTGTACAATAGCGCCAGCTTCAGCACCTTCAAGTGCTAC 1140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1081 TGCGTGGCCGACTACTCCGTGCTGTACAACTCCGCCAGCTTCAGCACCTTCAAGTGCTAC 1140
Qy 1141 GGCGTGTCACCCACCAAGCTGAACGACCTGTGCTTCACCAATGTGTACGCCGACAGCTTC 1200
|||||||| || |||||||||||||||||||||||||| || ||||||||||||||||||
Db 1141 GGCGTGTCCCCTACCAAGCTGAACGACCTGTGCTTCACAAACGTGTACGCCGACAGCTTC 1200
Qy 1201 GTGATCCGCGGAGATGAAGTGCGACAGATTGCCCCAGGCCAGACCGGCAAGATCGCCGAC 1260
|||||||| |||||||||||||| ||||||||||| || ||||| |||||||||||||||
Db 1201 GTGATCCGGGGAGATGAAGTGCGGCAGATTGCCCCTGGACAGACAGGCAAGATCGCCGAC 1260
Qy 1261 TACAATTACAAGCTGCCCGACGACTTCACCGGCTGCGTGATCGCCTGGAACAGCAACAAC 1320
||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||| ||||||||||||||||||
Db 1261 TACAACTACAAGCTGCCCGACGACTTCACCGGCTGTGTGATTGCCTGGAACAGCAACAAC 1320
Qy 1321 CTGGATTCCAAAGTCGGCGGCAACTACAACTACCTGTACCGCCTGTTCCGCAAGAGCAAT 1380
||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||| |||||||| ||| ||||
Db 1321 CTGGACTCCAAAGTCGGCGGCAACTACAATTACCTGTACCGGCTGTTCCGGAAGTCCAAT 1380
Qy 1381 CTGAAGCCCTTCGAGCGCGACATCAGCACCGAAATCTACCAGGCCGGAAGCACCCCATGC 1440
||||||||||||||||| |||||| |||||| ||||| |||||||| |||||||| ||
Db 1381 CTGAAGCCCTTCGAGCGGGACATCTCCACCGAGATCTATCAGGCCGGCAGCACCCCTTGT 1440
Qy 1441 AACGGCGTGGAAGGCTTCAACTGCTACTTCCCACTGCAGTCCTACGGATTTCAGCCCACA 1500
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||
Db 1441 AACGGCGTGGAAGGCTTCAACTGCTACTTCCCACTGCAGTCCTACGGCTTTCAGCCCACA 1500
Qy 1501 AATGGCGTGGGCTACCAGCCATATCGAGTGGTGGTGCTGAGCTTCGAACTGCTGCATGCT 1560
|||||||||||||| ||||| || ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1501 AATGGCGTGGGCTATCAGCCCTACAGAGTGGTGGTGCTGAGCTTCGAACTGCTGCATGCC 1560
Qy 1561 CCAGCTACCGTGTGCGGCCCCAAGAAGAGTACCAACCTGGTCAAGAACAAATGCGTGAAC 1620
|| || || ||||||||||| ||||| || ||||| || || ||||||||||||||||||
Db 1561 CCTGCCACAGTGTGCGGCCCTAAGAAAAGCACCAATCTCGTGAAGAACAAATGCGTGAAC 1620
Qy 1621 TTCAACTTCAACGGCCTGACCGGAACCGGCGTGCTGACCGAGAGTAACAAGAAGTTCCTG 1680
||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||| ||||| |||||||||||||||
Db 1621 TTCAACTTCAACGGCCTGACCGGCACCGGCGTGCTGACAGAGAGCAACAAGAAGTTCCTG 1680
Qy 1681 CCATTCCAGCAGTTTGGCCGCGACATTGCCGATACAACCGATGCCGTTCGCGATCCCCAG 1740
|||||||||||||||||||| || || |||||||| || || |||||| | |||||||||
Db 1681 CCATTCCAGCAGTTTGGCCGGGATATCGCCGATACCACAGACGCCGTTAGAGATCCCCAG 1740
Qy 1741 ACCTTGGAGATCCTGGATATTACCCCATGCTCCTTCGGCGGCGTGTCCGTGATTACACCA 1800
|| |||| |||||||| || ||||| ||| ||||||||| ||||| ||||| || ||
Db 1741 ACACTGGAAATCCTGGACATCACCCCTTGCAGCTTCGGCGGAGTGTCTGTGATCACCCCT 1800
Qy 1801 GGCACCAATACCAGCAACCAGGTGGCCGTTCTGTACCAGGATGTGAATTGCACAGAGGTG 1860
|||||||| |||||||| |||||||| || ||||||||||| ||||| || || || |||
Db 1801 GGCACCAACACCAGCAATCAGGTGGCAGTGCTGTACCAGGACGTGAACTGTACCGAAGTG 1860
Qy 1861 CCCGTGGCCATTCACGCCGATCAATTGACACCAACATGGCGCGTGTACTCCACCGGCAGC 1920
||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||| |||||||| ||||||||||||||||||
Db 1861 CCCGTGGCCATTCACGCCGATCAGCTGACACCTACATGGCGGGTGTACTCCACCGGCAGC 1920
Qy 1921 AATGTGTTTCAAACCCGCGCTGGATGCCTGATTGGAGCCGAGCACGTGAACAATAGCTAC 1980
||||||||||| ||| | || || || ||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1921 AATGTGTTTCAGACCAGAGCCGGCTGTCTGATCGGAGCCGAGCACGTGAACAATAGCTAC 1980
Qy 1981 GAGTGCGATATCCCCATCGGAGCCGGAATCTGCGCCTCCTATCAGACCCAGACCAATAGT 2040
|||||||| ||||||||||| || || ||||| ||| ||| ||||| ||||| || ||
Db 1981 GAGTGCGACATCCCCATCGGCGCTGGCATCTGTGCCAGCTACCAGACACAGACAAACAGC 2040
Qy 2041 CCACGACGAGCCCGAAGTGTGGCCAGCCAGAGCATCATTGCCTATACCATGAGCCTGGGC 2100
| || ||||||||||||||||||||||||||| || ||| ||||||
Db 2041 C---------CCGCCTCTGTGGCCAGCCAGAGCATCATTGCCTACACAATGTCTCTGGGC 2091
Qy 2101 GCCGAGAATAGCGTGGCCTACTCCAACAACAGCATTGCTATCCCCACCAACTTCACCATC 2160
|||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||| || ||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2092 GCCGAGAACAGCGTGGCCTACTCCAACAACTCTATCGCTATCCCCACCAACTTCACCATC 2151
Qy 2161 AGCGTGACCACCGAGATCCTGCCAGTGTCCATGACCAAGACCAGCGTGGACTGCACCATG 2220
||||||||||| ||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2152 AGCGTGACCACAGAGATCCTGCCTGTGTCCATGACCAAGACCAGCGTGGACTGCACCATG 2211
Qy 2221 TACATCTGCGGAGATAGCACCGAGTGCAGCAACCTGCTGCTGCAGTACGGAAGTTTCTGC 2280
||||||||||| ||| |||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||| || ||||||
Db 2212 TACATCTGCGGCGATTCCACCGAGTGCTCCAACCTGCTGCTGCAGTACGGCAGCTTCTGC 2271
Qy 2281 ACCCAGCTGAATCGCGCCCTGACAGGCATTGCCGTGGAACAGGATAAGAACACCCAAGAG 2340
|||||||||||| | ||||||||||| || |||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||
Db 2272 ACCCAGCTGAATAGAGCCCTGACAGGGATCGCCGTGGAACAGGACAAGAACACCCAAGAG 2331
Qy 2341 GTGTTCGCCCAAGTGAAGCAAATCTACAAGACCCCACCAATCAAGGATTTCGGCGGCTTC 2400
|||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||| || |||||||| ||||||||||||
Db 2332 GTGTTCGCCCAAGTGAAGCAGATCTACAAGACCCCTCCTATCAAGGACTTCGGCGGCTTC 2391
Qy 2401 AATTTCAGCCAGATTCTGCCCGATCCAAGCAAGCCCAGCAAGCGCAGCTTCATCGAGGAC 2460
|||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||
Db 2392 AATTTCAGCCAGATTCTGCCCGATCCTAGCAAGCCCAGCAAGCGGAGCTTCATCGAGGAC 2451
Qy 2461 CTGCTGTTCAACAAAGTGACACTGGCCGACGCCGGATTCATCAAGCAGTATGGCGATTGC 2520
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2452 CTGCTGTTCAACAAAGTGACACTGGCCGACGCCGGCTTCATCAAGCAGTATGGCGATTGT 2511
Qy 2521 CTGGGCGATATTGCCGCACGCGATCTGATTTGCGCCCAGAAGTTTAACGGACTGACCGTC 2580
|||||||| |||||||| | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||
Db 2512 CTGGGCGACATTGCCGCCAGGGATCTGATTTGCGCCCAGAAGTTTAACGGACTGACAGTG 2571
Qy 2581 CTGCCACCACTGCTGACAGATGAGATGATCGCCCAGTACACAAGTGCCCTGCTGGCCGGA 2640
||||| || |||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||
Db 2572 CTGCCTCCTCTGCTGACCGATGAGATGATCGCCCAGTACACATCTGCCCTGCTGGCCGGC 2631
Qy 2641 ACCATTACCAGCGGATGGACATTTGGAGCCGGTGCCGCTCTGCAGATTCCCTTCGCTATG 2700
|| || || ||||| |||||||||||||| || |||||||||||||| ||||| ||||||
Db 2632 ACAATCACAAGCGGCTGGACATTTGGAGCTGGCGCCGCTCTGCAGATCCCCTTTGCTATG 2691
Qy 2701 CAGATGGCCTACCGCTTCAATGGCATTGGCGTGACCCAGAATGTGCTGTACGAGAACCAG 2760
|||||||||||||| ||||| ||||| || ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2692 CAGATGGCCTACCGGTTCAACGGCATCGGAGTGACCCAGAATGTGCTGTACGAGAACCAG 2751
Qy 2761 AAGCTGATCGCCAACCAGTTCAACAGCGCCATCGGCAAGATTCAGGACAGCCTGAGTAGT 2820
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||| ||
Db 2752 AAGCTGATCGCCAACCAGTTCAACAGCGCCATCGGCAAGATCCAGGACAGCCTGAGCAGC 2811
Qy 2821 ACCGCCAGCGCTCTGGGAAAGCTGCAGGATGTGGTCAACCAGAACGCTCAGGCCCTGAAC 2880
|| || ||||| ||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||| || ||||| ||||||
Db 2812 ACAGCAAGCGCCCTGGGAAAGCTGCAGGACGTGGTCAACCAGAATGCCCAGGCACTGAAC 2871
Qy 2881 ACCCTGGTTAAGCAGCTGAGCAGCAACTTCGGCGCCATCAGTAGCGTGCTGAACGATATC 2940
|||||||| ||||||||| | |||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||
Db 2872 ACCCTGGTCAAGCAGCTGTCCTCCAACTTCGGCGCCATCAGCTCTGTGCTGAACGATATC 2931
Qy 2941 CTGAGCCGCCTGGATAAGGTGGAAGCCGAGGTGCAGATCGATCGCCTGATTACCGGACGC 3000
|||||| | ||||| |||||||||||||||||||| | ||||| |||||| |
Db 2932 CTGAGCAGACTGGACCCTCCTGAAGCCGAGGTGCAGATCGACAGACTGATCACCGGAAGG 2991
Qy 3001 CTGCAGTCCCTGCAGACCTATGTGACACAGCAGCTGATCCGAGCCGCCGAGATTCGAGCT 3060
|||||||||||||||||||| || || |||||||||||| |||||||||||||| ||||
Db 2992 CTGCAGTCCCTGCAGACCTACGTTACCCAGCAGCTGATCAGAGCCGCCGAGATTAGAGCC 3051
Qy 3061 AGTGCTAATCTGGCCGCCACCAAGATGAGCGAATGTGTGCTGGGACAGAGCAAGCGCGTG 3120
||| ||||||||||||||||||||| || ||||||||||| ||||||||| | |||
Db 3052 TCTGCCAATCTGGCCGCCACCAAGATGTCTGAGTGTGTGCTGGGCCAGAGCAAGAGAGTG 3111
Qy 3121 GACTTTTGCGGCAAGGGATACCACCTGATGAGCTTCCCACAGAGTGCTCCACACGGCGTG 3180
||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||| ||| ||| || |||||||||
Db 3112 GACTTTTGCGGCAAGGGCTACCACCTGATGAGCTTCCCTCAGTCTGCCCCTCACGGCGTG 3171
Qy 3181 GTGTTTCTGCATGTGACCTACGTGCCCGCTCAAGAGAAGAATTTCACCACCGCTCCAGCC 3240
||||||||||| ||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3172 GTGTTTCTGCACGTGACATACGTGCCCGCTCAAGAGAAGAATTTCACCACCGCTCCAGCC 3231
Qy 3241 ATCTGCCACGACGGAAAGGCCCATTTTCCACGCGAGGGCGTGTTCGTTAGCAACGGCACT 3300
|||||||||||||| || ||||| ||||| | || ||||||||||| |||||||||
Db 3232 ATCTGCCACGACGGCAAAGCCCACTTTCCTAGAGAAGGCGTGTTCGTGTCCAACGGCACC 3291
Qy 3301 CATTGGTTCGTCACCCAGCGCAACTTCTACGAGCCCCAGATCATCACCACCGACAACACC 3360
||||||||||| |||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3292 CATTGGTTCGTGACCCAGCGGAACTTCTACGAGCCCCAGATCATCACCACCGACAACACC 3351
Qy 3361 TTCGTCAGCGGCAACTGCGACGTCGTGATCGGCATTGTGAACAACACCGTGTACGATCCA 3420
||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||| ||
Db 3352 TTCGTGTCTGGCAACTGCGACGTCGTGATCGGCATTGTGAACAATACCGTGTACGACCCT 3411
Qy 3421 CTGCAGCCCGAGCTGGACAGCTTCAAAGAGGAACTGGACAAGTACTTTAAGAACCACACA 3480
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3412 CTGCAGCCCGAGCTGGACAGCTTCAAAGAGGAACTGGATAAGTACTTTAAGAACCACACA 3471
Qy 3481 AGCCCCGACGTGGACCTGGGAGACATTAGCGGAATCAACGCCAGCGTGGTCAACATCCAG 3540
|||||||||||||||||||| || || ||||||||||| |||||||| || |||||||||
Db 3472 AGCCCCGACGTGGACCTGGGCGATATCAGCGGAATCAATGCCAGCGTCGTGAACATCCAG 3531
Qy 3541 AAAGAGATTGACCGCCTGAACGAGGTGGCCAAGAATCTGAACGAGAGCCTGATCGACCTG 3600
|||||||| ||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3532 AAAGAGATCGACCGGCTGAACGAGGTGGCCAAGAATCTGAACGAGAGCCTGATCGACCTG 3591
Qy 3601 CAAGAACTGGGCAAATACGAGCAGTACATTAAGTGGCCCTGGTACATCTGGCT 3653
||||||||||| || |||||||||||||| ||||||||| | | || | |
Db 3592 CAAGAACTGGGGAAGTACGAGCAGTACATCAAGTGGCCCAGCGGCCGCTTGGT 3644
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use known Spike nucleic acid sequences, including the sequence taught by GenBank Accession No. MT 380725.1, in the construct of Johnson et al. and the result would be predictable [expression of the Spike protein by the lentiviral vector].
Thus, the invention as a whole was clearly prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 7,8, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (bioRxiv, May 29, 2020, DOI: https://www.biorxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.05.28.122671v1).
The instant claims are directed to a composition, kit or system, comprising the pseudotyped lentiviral vector particle according to claim 1, and a mammalian cell expressing an Angiotensin-converting Enzyme 2 (ACE2) protein, where the mammalian cell further expresses TMPRSS2 (claim 8), and wherein the mammalian cell is a human cell (claim 9) such as 293T or HeLa (claim 10).
The teachings of Johnson et al. are outline above and incorporated herein. Johnson et al. further teaches an assay for determining the infectivity of Spike pseudotyped viral particles, e.g., lentiviral particles such as HIV-1, where 293FT cells expressing ACE2 are used as host cells for the Spike pseudotyped viral particles carrying the Cre recombinase gene to avoid potential false positive signals. When these Spike pseudotyped viral particles transduce the Cre reporter cell line, the recombinase protein causes a recombination in an engineered reporter element that results in GFP expression (see page 3). Johnson et al. found that TMPRSS2 expression in 293FT/ACE2 cells enhances susceptibility of cells to the Spike pseudotyped viral particles (see page 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to package the Spike-pseudotyped viral particles and 293FT cells expressing ACE2 and TMPRSS2 into a kit for performing infectivity assays. One would be motivated to do this for commercial exploitation of the invention by providing convenience for the end user.
Thus, the invention as a whole was clearly prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (bioRxiv, May 29, 2020, DOI: https://www.biorxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.05.28.122671v1) as applied to claims 7, 8, 9 and 10 above, and further in view of Piddington et al. (WO200070032; published May 23, 2000).
The instant claims are directed to the composition, kit or system according to any one of claim 7,wherein the ACE2 protein has an amino acid sequence at least 95% identical to SEQ ID NO: 3.
The teachings of Johnson et al. are outline above and incorporated herein. Johnson et al. does not teach that the ACE2 protein has an amino acid sequence at least 95% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 3. However, Piddington et al. teaches a ACE2 protein sequence that is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 3 (see alignment below).
Qy 1 MSSSSWLLLSLVAVTAAQSTIEEQAKTFLDKFNHEAEDLFYQSSLASWNYNTNITEENVQ 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MSSSSWLLLSLVAVTAAQSTIEEQAKTFLDKFNHEAEDLFYQSSLASWNYNTNITEENVQ 60
Qy 61 NMNNAGDKWSAFLKEQSTLAQMYPLQEIQNLTVKLQLQALQQNGSSVLSEDKSKRLNTIL 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 NMNNAGDKWSAFLKEQSTLAQMYPLQEIQNLTVKLQLQALQQNGSSVLSEDKSKRLNTIL 120
Qy 121 NTMSTIYSTGKVCNPDNPQECLLLEPGLNEIMANSLDYNERLWAWESWRSEVGKQLRPLY 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 NTMSTIYSTGKVCNPDNPQECLLLEPGLNEIMANSLDYNERLWAWESWRSEVGKQLRPLY 180
Qy 181 EEYVVLKNEMARANHYEDYGDYWRGDYEVNGVDGYDYSRGQLIEDVEHTFEEIKPLYEHL 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 EEYVVLKNEMARANHYEDYGDYWRGDYEVNGVDGYDYSRGQLIEDVEHTFEEIKPLYEHL 240
Qy 241 HAYVRAKLMNAYPSYISPIGCLPAHLLGDMWGRFWTNLYSLTVPFGQKPNIDVTDAMVDQ 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 HAYVRAKLMNAYPSYISPIGCLPAHLLGDMWGRFWTNLYSLTVPFGQKPNIDVTDAMVDQ 300
Qy 301 AWDAQRIFKEAEKFFVSVGLPNMTQGFWENSMLTDPGNVQKAVCHPTAWDLGKGDFRILM 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 AWDAQRIFKEAEKFFVSVGLPNMTQGFWENSMLTDPGNVQKAVCHPTAWDLGKGDFRILM 360
Qy 361 CTKVTMDDFLTAHHEMGHIQYDMAYAAQPFLLRNGANEGFHEAVGEIMSLSAATPKHLKS 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 CTKVTMDDFLTAHHEMGHIQYDMAYAAQPFLLRNGANEGFHEAVGEIMSLSAATPKHLKS 420
Qy 421 IGLLSPDFQEDNETEINFLLKQALTIVGTLPFTYMLEKWRWMVFKGEIPKDQWMKKWWEM 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 IGLLSPDFQEDNETEINFLLKQALTIVGTLPFTYMLEKWRWMVFKGEIPKDQWMKKWWEM 480
Qy 481 KREIVGVVEPVPHDETYCDPASLFHVSNDYSFIRYYTRTLYQFQFQEALCQAAKHEGPLH 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 481 KREIVGVVEPVPHDETYCDPASLFHVSNDYSFIRYYTRTLYQFQFQEALCQAAKHEGPLH 540
Qy 541 KCDISNSTEAGQKLFNMLRLGKSEPWTLALENVVGAKNMNVRPLLNYFEPLFTWLKDQNK 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 541 KCDISNSTEAGQKLFNMLRLGKSEPWTLALENVVGAKNMNVRPLLNYFEPLFTWLKDQNK 600
Qy 601 NSFVGWSTDWSPYADQSIKVRISLKSALGDKAYEWNDNEMYLFRSSVAYAMRQYFLKVKN 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 601 NSFVGWSTDWSPYADQSIKVRISLKSALGDKAYEWNDNEMYLFRSSVAYAMRQYFLKVKN 660
Qy 661 QMILFGEEDVRVANLKPRISFNFFVTAPKNVSDIIPRTEVEKAIRMSRSRINDAFRLNDN 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 661 QMILFGEEDVRVANLKPRISFNFFVTAPKNVSDIIPRTEVEKAIRMSRSRINDAFRLNDN 720
Qy 721 SLEFLGIQPTLGPPNQPPVSIWLIVFGVVMGVIVVGIVILIFTGIRDRKKKNKARSGENP 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 721 SLEFLGIQPTLGPPNQPPVSIWLIVFGVVMGVIVVGIVILIFTGIRDRKKKNKARSGENP 780
Qy 781 YASIDISKGENNPGFQNTDDVQTSF 805
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 781 YASIDISKGENNPGFQNTDDVQTSF 805
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use known ACE2 protein sequences, including the sequence taught by Piddington et al., in the 293FT cells of Johnson et al. and the result would be predictable [expression of the ACE2 protein by the 293FT cells].
Thus, the invention as a whole was clearly prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (bioRxiv, May 29, 2020, DOI: https://www.biorxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.05.28.122671v1) as applied to claims 7, 8, 9 and 10 above, and further in view of GenBank Accession No. BC048094. (first publicly available March 20, 2003).
The instant claims are directed to the composition, kit or system according to claim 7, wherein the ACE2 protein is expressed from a coding sequence having a nucleotide sequence at least 80% identical to SEQ ID NO: 4.
The teachings of Johnson et al. are outline above and incorporated herein. Johnson et al. does not teach that the ACE2 protein is encoded by a nucleic acid that is at least 80% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 4. However, GenBank Accession No. BC048094 discloses an ACE2 nucleic acid sequence that is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 4 (see alignment below).
Qy 1 ATGTCAAGCTCTTCCTGGCTCCTTCTCAGCCTTGTTGCTGTAACTGCTGCTCAGTCCACC 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 35 ATGTCAAGCTCTTCCTGGCTCCTTCTCAGCCTTGTTGCTGTAACTGCTGCTCAGTCCACC 94
Qy 61 ATTGAGGAACAGGCCAAGACATTTTTGGACAAGTTTAACCACGAAGCCGAAGACCTGTTC 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 95 ATTGAGGAACAGGCCAAGACATTTTTGGACAAGTTTAACCACGAAGCCGAAGACCTGTTC 154
Qy 121 TATCAAAGTTCACTTGCTTCTTGGAATTATAACACCAATATTACTGAAGAGAATGTCCAA 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 155 TATCAAAGTTCACTTGCTTCTTGGAATTATAACACCAATATTACTGAAGAGAATGTCCAA 214
Qy 181 AACATGAATAATGCTGGGGACAAATGGTCTGCCTTTTTAAAGGAACAGTCCACACTTGCC 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 215 AACATGAATAATGCTGGGGACAAATGGTCTGCCTTTTTAAAGGAACAGTCCACACTTGCC 274
Qy 241 CAAATGTATCCACTACAAGAAATTCAGAATCTCACAGTCAAGCTTCAGCTGCAGGCTCTT 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 275 CAAATGTATCCACTACAAGAAATTCAGAATCTCACAGTCAAGCTTCAGCTGCAGGCTCTT 334
Qy 301 CAGCAAAATGGGTCTTCAGTGCTCTCAGAAGACAAGAGCAAACGGTTGAACACAATTCTA 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 335 CAGCAAAATGGGTCTTCAGTGCTCTCAGAAGACAAGAGCAAACGGTTGAACACAATTCTA 394
Qy 361 AATACAATGAGCACCATCTACAGTACTGGAAAAGTTTGTAACCCAGATAATCCACAAGAA 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 395 AATACAATGAGCACCATCTACAGTACTGGAAAAGTTTGTAACCCAGATAATCCACAAGAA 454
Qy 421 TGCTTATTACTTGAACCAGGTTTGAATGAAATAATGGCAAACAGTTTAGACTACAATGAG 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 455 TGCTTATTACTTGAACCAGGTTTGAATGAAATAATGGCAAACAGTTTAGACTACAATGAG 514
Qy 481 AGGCTCTGGGCTTGGGAAAGCTGGAGATCTGAGGTCGGCAAGCAGCTGAGGCCATTATAT 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 515 AGGCTCTGGGCTTGGGAAAGCTGGAGATCTGAGGTCGGCAAGCAGCTGAGGCCATTATAT 574
Qy 541 GAAGAGTATGTGGTCTTGAAAAATGAGATGGCAAGAGCAAATCATTATGAGGACTATGGG 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 575 GAAGAGTATGTGGTCTTGAAAAATGAGATGGCAAGAGCAAATCATTATGAGGACTATGGG 634
Qy 601 GATTATTGGAGAGGAGACTATGAAGTAAATGGGGTAGATGGCTATGACTACAGCCGCGGC 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 635 GATTATTGGAGAGGAGACTATGAAGTAAATGGGGTAGATGGCTATGACTACAGCCGCGGC 694
Qy 661 CAGTTGATTGAAGATGTGGAACATACCTTTGAAGAGATTAAACCATTATATGAACATCTT 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 695 CAGTTGATTGAAGATGTGGAACATACCTTTGAAGAGATTAAACCATTATATGAACATCTT 754
Qy 721 CATGCCTATGTGAGGGCAAAGTTGATGAATGCCTATCCTTCCTATATCAGTCCAATTGGA 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 755 CATGCCTATGTGAGGGCAAAGTTGATGAATGCCTATCCTTCCTATATCAGTCCAATTGGA 814
Qy 781 TGCCTCCCTGCTCATTTGCTTGGTGATATGTGGGGTAGATTTTGGACAAATCTGTACTCT 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 815 TGCCTCCCTGCTCATTTGCTTGGTGATATGTGGGGTAGATTTTGGACAAATCTGTACTCT 874
Qy 841 TTGACAGTTCCCTTTGGACAGAAACCAAACATAGATGTTACTGATGCAATGGTGGACCAG 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 875 TTGACAGTTCCCTTTGGACAGAAACCAAACATAGATGTTACTGATGCAATGGTGGACCAG 934
Qy 901 GCCTGGGATGCACAGAGAATATTCAAGGAGGCCGAGAAGTTCTTTGTATCTGTTGGTCTT 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 935 GCCTGGGATGCACAGAGAATATTCAAGGAGGCCGAGAAGTTCTTTGTATCTGTTGGTCTT 994
Qy 961 CCTAATATGACTCAAGGATTCTGGGAAAATTCCATGCTAACGGACCCAGGAAATGTTCAG 1020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 995 CCTAATATGACTCAAGGATTCTGGGAAAATTCCATGCTAACGGACCCAGGAAATGTTCAG 1054
Qy 1021 AAAGCAGTCTGCCATCCCACAGCTTGGGACCTGGGGAAGGGCGACTTCAGGATCCTTATG 1080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1055 AAAGCAGTCTGCCATCCCACAGCTTGGGACCTGGGGAAGGGCGACTTCAGGATCCTTATG 1114
Qy 1081 TGCACAAAGGTGACAATGGACGACTTCCTGACAGCTCATCATGAGATGGGGCATATCCAG 1140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1115 TGCACAAAGGTGACAATGGACGACTTCCTGACAGCTCATCATGAGATGGGGCATATCCAG 1174
Qy 1141 TATGATATGGCATATGCTGCACAACCTTTTCTGCTAAGAAATGGAGCTAATGAAGGATTC 1200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1175 TATGATATGGCATATGCTGCACAACCTTTTCTGCTAAGAAATGGAGCTAATGAAGGATTC 1234
Qy 1201 CATGAAGCTGTTGGGGAAATCATGTCACTTTCTGCAGCCACACCTAAGCATTTAAAATCC 1260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1235 CATGAAGCTGTTGGGGAAATCATGTCACTTTCTGCAGCCACACCTAAGCATTTAAAATCC 1294
Qy 1261 ATTGGTCTTCTGTCACCCGATTTTCAAGAAGACAATGAAACAGAAATAAACTTCCTGCTC 1320
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1295 ATTGGTCTTCTGTCACCCGATTTTCAAGAAGACAATGAAACAGAAATAAACTTCCTGCTC 1354
Qy 1321 AAACAAGCACTCACGATTGTTGGGACTCTGCCATTTACTTACATGTTAGAGAAGTGGAGG 1380
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1355 AAACAAGCACTCACGATTGTTGGGACTCTGCCATTTACTTACATGTTAGAGAAGTGGAGG 1414
Qy 1381 TGGATGGTCTTTAAAGGGGAAATTCCCAAAGACCAGTGGATGAAAAAGTGGTGGGAGATG 1440
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1415 TGGATGGTCTTTAAAGGGGAAATTCCCAAAGACCAGTGGATGAAAAAGTGGTGGGAGATG 1474
Qy 1441 AAGCGAGAGATAGTTGGGGTGGTGGAACCTGTGCCCCATGATGAAACATACTGTGACCCC 1500
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1475 AAGCGAGAGATAGTTGGGGTGGTGGAACCTGTGCCCCATGATGAAACATACTGTGACCCC 1534
Qy 1501 GCATCTCTGTTCCATGTTTCTAATGATTACTCATTCATTCGATATTACACAAGGACCCTT 1560
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1535 GCATCTCTGTTCCATGTTTCTAATGATTACTCATTCATTCGATATTACACAAGGACCCTT 1594
Qy 1561 TACCAATTCCAGTTTCAAGAAGCACTTTGTCAAGCAGCTAAACATGAAGGCCCTCTGCAC 1620
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1595 TACCAATTCCAGTTTCAAGAAGCACTTTGTCAAGCAGCTAAACATGAAGGCCCTCTGCAC 1654
Qy 1621 AAATGTGACATCTCAAACTCTACAGAAGCTGGACAGAAACTGTTCAATATGCTGAGGCTT 1680
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1655 AAATGTGACATCTCAAACTCTACAGAAGCTGGACAGAAACTGTTCAATATGCTGAGGCTT 1714
Qy 1681 GGAAAATCAGAACCCTGGACCCTAGCATTGGAAAATGTTGTAGGAGCAAAGAACATGAAT 1740
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1715 GGAAAATCAGAACCCTGGACCCTAGCATTGGAAAATGTTGTAGGAGCAAAGAACATGAAT 1774
Qy 1741 GTAAGGCCACTGCTCAACTACTTTGAGCCCTTATTTACCTGGCTGAAAGACCAGAACAAG 1800
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1775 GTAAGGCCACTGCTCAACTACTTTGAGCCCTTATTTACCTGGCTGAAAGACCAGAACAAG 1834
Qy 1801 AATTCTTTTGTGGGATGGAGTACCGACTGGAGTCCATATGCAGACCAAAGCATCAAAGTG 1860
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1835 AATTCTTTTGTGGGATGGAGTACCGACTGGAGTCCATATGCAGACCAAAGCATCAAAGTG 1894
Qy 1861 AGGATAAGCCTAAAATCAGCTCTTGGAGATAAAGCATATGAATGGAACGACAATGAAATG 1920
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1895 AGGATAAGCCTAAAATCAGCTCTTGGAGATAAAGCATATGAATGGAACGACAATGAAATG 1954
Qy 1921 TACCTGTTCCGATCATCTGTTGCATATGCTATGAGGCAGTACTTTTTAAAAGTAAAAAAT 1980
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1955 TACCTGTTCCGATCATCTGTTGCATATGCTATGAGGCAGTACTTTTTAAAAGTAAAAAAT 2014
Qy 1981 CAGATGATTCTTTTTGGGGAGGAGGATGTGCGAGTGGCTAATTTGAAACCAAGAATCTCC 2040
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2015 CAGATGATTCTTTTTGGGGAGGAGGATGTGCGAGTGGCTAATTTGAAACCAAGAATCTCC 2074
Qy 2041 TTTAATTTCTTTGTCACTGCACCTAAAAATGTGTCTGATATCATTCCTAGAACTGAAGTT 2100
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2075 TTTAATTTCTTTGTCACTGCACCTAAAAATGTGTCTGATATCATTCCTAGAACTGAAGTT 2134
Qy 2101 GAAAAGGCCATCAGGATGTCCCGGAGCCGTATCAATGATGCTTTCCGTCTGAATGACAAC 2160
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2135 GAAAAGGCCATCAGGATGTCCCGGAGCCGTATCAATGATGCTTTCCGTCTGAATGACAAC 2194
Qy 2161 AGCCTAGAGTTTCTGGGGATACAGCCAACACTTGGACCTCCTAACCAGCCCCCTGTTTCC 2220
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2195 AGCCTAGAGTTTCTGGGGATACAGCCAACACTTGGACCTCCTAACCAGCCCCCTGTTTCC 2254
Qy 2221 ATATGGCTGATTGTTTTTGGAGTTGTGATGGGAGTGATAGTGGTTGGCATTGTCATCCTG 2280
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2255 ATATGGCTGATTGTTTTTGGAGTTGTGATGGGAGTGATAGTGGTTGGCATTGTCATCCTG 2314
Qy 2281 ATCTTCACTGGGATCAGAGATCGGAAGAAGAAAAATAAAGCAAGAAGTGGAGAAAATCCT 2340
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2315 ATCTTCACTGGGATCAGAGATCGGAAGAAGAAAAATAAAGCAAGAAGTGGAGAAAATCCT 2374
Qy 2341 TATGCCTCCATCGATATTAGCAAAGGAGAAAATAATCCAGGATTCCAAAACACTGATGAT 2400
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2375 TATGCCTCCATCGATATTAGCAAAGGAGAAAATAATCCAGGATTCCAAAACACTGATGAT 2434
Qy 2401 GTTCAGACCTCCTTT 2415
|||||||||||||||
Db 2435 GTTCAGACCTCCTTT 2449
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use known ACE2 nucleic acid sequences, including the sequence taught by GenBank Accession No. BC048094, in the 293T cells of Johnson et al. and the result would be predictable [expression of the ACE2 protein by the 293T cells].
Thus, the invention as a whole was clearly prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/NICOLE KINSEY WHITE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1672