DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein the attachment formation is configured to engage teeth of the pedal-driven sprocket of the drivetrain” of claim 5 must be shown or the features canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitations “a plurality of first slots” and “a plurality of second slots” are unclear whether these are different slots from the elongate aperture in parent claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by KR 19990068826 (henceforth KR-826).
Regarding claim 1, KR-826 teaches an auxiliary drive arrangement (Abstract, the electric device is installed on a general bicycle for conversion to an electrically-powered bicycle) for a pedal-powered vehicle having a drivetrain comprising a drive loop for connecting pedals 9 to a driven wheel 3 via a pedal-driven sprocket, the auxiliary drive arrangement comprising: an electric motor 21 arranged to be mounted to the vehicle (Paragraph 14); and a sprocket 17 (note that sprocket 17 refers to the sprocket labeled 17a in the annotated Fig. 3 below; the pedal-driven sprocket refers to the other sprocket labeled 17 in the figure below) member configured to be attachable via an attachment formation to the pedal-driven sprocket within the drive train of the vehicle (See annotated Fig. 3 below; Paragraph 14), wherein the sprocket member 17 comprising a sprocket configured to be operatively connected to the electric motor 21 (Paragraph 15).
Regarding claim 4, KR-826 teaches wherein the sprocket member 17 is configured to be mounted about a rotation axis of the pedal-driven sprocket via an attachment formation (See annotated Fig. 3 below).
Regarding claim 17, KR-826 teaches wherein the attachment formation comprises a fastener received within an aperture on the sprocket member, the fastener selectively engageable with the aperture to prevent relative movement there-between (See annotated Fig. 3 below).
Regarding claim 20, KR-826 as teaches sprocket member 17 is annular in form and comprises a central aperture configured to permit a pedal of the vehicle to pass therethrough (See annotated Fig. 3 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR-826 in view of Stefanos (US 2457430).
Regarding claim 2, KR-826 teaches wherein the drive loop provides a drive path from the electric motor 21 to a further sprocket 14on the driven wheel 3 of the vehicle via the sprocket member 17 (Paragraphs 14 and 30, Fig. 1). KR-826 does not teach wherein the drive loop comprises a single chain.
However, Stefanos teaches an auxiliary drive means for a conventional bicycle (Col. 1, lines 1-2 of Stefanos) wherein the drive loop comprises a single chain 39 and provides a drive path from the electric motor 30 to a further sprocket 13 on the driven wheel 11 of the vehicle via the sprocket member 10 (Fig. 1 of Stefanos).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the auxiliary drive kit of KR-826 to comprise a single chain which connects the three components in order to advantageously provide a quick means of mounting an electrical propulsion means to a conventional bicycle (Col. 1, lines 1-2 of Stefanos).
Regarding claim 12, KR-826 does not teach the motor being mounted to the seat tube.
However, Stefanos teaches a bicycle drive kit wherein the electric motor 30 is mounted to a seat tube 8 of the vehicle or a housing tube for a saddle post (Col. 2, lines 18-19, Fig. 1 of Stefanos).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the auxiliary drive kit of KR-826 to mount the motor on the seat tube as is taught by Stefanos in order to advantageously provide a quick means of mounting an electrical propulsion means to a conventional bicycle (Col. 1, lines 1-2 of Stefanos).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR-826 in view of Nonoshita (US 20070129193).
Regarding claim 5, KR-826 does not teach the attachment formation engaging teeth of the pedal-driven sprocket.
However, Nonoshita teaches a bicycle sprocket wherein an attachment formation between the outer sprocket ring 691 and the inner member 693 is configured to engage teeth 693f of the inner member 693 ([0116], Fig. 23 of Nonoshita.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify attachable sprocket of KR-826 to be a sprocket ring attached to the outer teeth of an inner toothed member as Nonoshita teaches in order to advantageously provide a removable sprocket which does not reduce fastening strength (Abstract of Nonoshita).
While Nonoshita does not expressly teach “wherein the attachment formation is configured to engage teeth of the pedal-driven sprocket of the drivetrain”, the question is what would result from the combined teachings of the references. See in re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425 (CCPA 1981). Here, that result would be the sprocket ring of Nonoshita being mounted on the outer circumference of the pedal-driven sprocket of KR-826 by an attachment formation comprising the inner teach of the sprocket ring engaging the outer teeth of the pedal-driven sprocket.
Claims 6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR-826 in view of Song (KR 20150100445).
Regarding claim 6, KR-826 teaches the electric motor comprises a motor gear 23 (Paragraph 15, Fig. 1). KR-826 is silent on the motor gear comprising a ratchet device.
However, Song teaches the motor gear being connected to an output shaft of the motor 30 via a ratchet device 23 (Paragraph 39, Fig. 7 of Song).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of KR-826 to have the ratcheted output gear of Song in order to advantageously prevent counterforce from acting against the drive force of the motor.
Regarding claim 9, KR-826 does not teach the claimed adjustment means.
However, Song teaches an auxiliary kit for converting a bicycle into an electric bicycle (Abstract of Song); the auxiliary drive arrangement comprising an adjustment means 345, 634a, and 634b configured to provide adjustment of the position of the electric motor 30 and/or motor gear relative to the sprocket member 50 (Paragraphs 25-26 and 32-33 of Song).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the mounting means of KR-826 to be mounted by the adjustable plates and bolt members of Song in order to advantageously adjust the coupling length (Paragraph 32 of Song).
Additionally, for claim 10 rejection below, note that the adjustment means of Song is adjustable relative to a mounting means 600 (Fig. 8)
Regarding claim 10, KR-826 teaches the auxiliary drive arrangement comprising a mounting means 231 for mounting the electric motor 21 to the vehicle (Paragraph 38). KR-826 as modified teaches the adjustment means provides adjustment of the position of the electric motor and/or motor gear relative to the mounting means (See claim 9 rejection above).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR-826 in view of KR-826.
Regarding claim 11, KR-826 teaches wherein an angle subtended between the motor gear 23, the sprocket member 17 and a drive gear 14 of the driven wheel 3 is roughly around 110 degrees (Fig. 1 of KR-826).
KR-826 discloses the claimed invention except for “wherein an angle subtended between the motor gear, the sprocket member and a drive gear of the driven wheel is less than 110 degrees”. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the position of the motor to decrease the angle between it, the pedal, and the rear wheel to less than 110 degrees, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR-826 in view of Hadley (US 20100117327).
Regarding claim 7, KR-826 does not teach the axis of rotation of the motor gear being offset from the rotation axis of the motor.
However, Hadley teaches a mountable drive kit for a bicycle wherein an axis of rotation of the motor gear 132 is offset from an axis of rotation of the electric motor 130 ([0021], Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of KR-826 to have the motor gear offset as is taught by Hadley in order to advantageously provide a gear reducer to the motor of the auxiliary drive system ([0021] of Hadley).
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR-826 in view of Sano (JP H1179059).
Regarding claim 13, KR-826 does not teach the claimed guide mechanism.
However, Sano teaches the auxiliary drive arrangement comprising a guide mechanism 29 configured to be mounted on the electric motor 25 and to deflect the path of the drive loop in the vicinity of the motor 25 (Fig. 2 of Sano).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the auxiliary drive arrangement of KR-826 to have the guide mechanism of Sano in order to advantageously provide an active chain tensioner to the drive loop (Paragraph 31 of Sano).
Additionally, regarding claim 15 rejection below, note that the guide mechanism defines a serpentine path for the drive loop (Fig. 2 of Sano).
Regarding claim 15, KR-826 as modified teaches wherein the guide mechanism defines a serpentine path for the drive loop in conjunction with the motor gear (See claim 13 rejection above; Fig. 2 of Sano).
Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR-826 in view of Gravel Cyclist (Jom, Gravel Cyclist, Review: White Industries MR30 Crankset - 1x or 2x and Low Gear Options, https://www.gravelcyclist.com/bicycle-tech/review-white-industries-mr30-crankset-1x-or-2x-and-low-gear-options/, September 15, 2017).
Regarding claim 16, KR-826 teaches wherein the attachment formation comprises a plurality of members (See annotated Fig. 3 below) but does not teach them being displaceable in a radial or circumferential direction.
However, Gravel Cyclist teaches connectable sprockets with attachment formations that comprise a plurality of members selectively displaceable in a radial direction and/or circumferential direction (See NPL_Gravel_cyclist.pdf, retrieved from https://www.gravelcyclist.com/bicycle-tech/review-white-industries-mr30-crankset-1x-or-2x-and-low-gear-options/; the variable bolt circle allows the bolts [members] to be displaceable in a radial direction along the mounting slots for connecting one sprocket to the other).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the attachment formation of KR-826 to allow the plurality of members to be displaceable in a direction as is taught by Gravel Cyclist in order to advantageously set up various tooth configurations on the cycle (See NPL_Gravel_cyclist.pdf).
Regarding claim 18, KR-826 does not teach the aperture being elongate.
However, Gravel Cyclist teaches wherein the aperture is elongate, in the form of a slot and the fastener is movable along the aperture such that the attachment formation is range-taking. direction (See NPL_Gravel_cyclist.pdf, retrieved from https://www.gravelcyclist.com/bicycle-tech/review-white-industries-mr30-crankset-1x-or-2x-and-low-gear-options/; the variable bolt circle allows the bolts [members] to be displaceable in a radial direction along the mounting slots for connecting one sprocket to the other).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the attachment formation of KR-826 to be elongated as is taught by Gravel Cyclist in order to advantageously provide a sprocket which can set up various tooth configurations on the cycle (See NPL_Gravel_cyclist.pdf).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR-826 in view of Nonoshita and Kurita (US 20040231905).
Regarding claim 21, KR-826 teaches the attachment formation mounting the sprocket 17 to the pedal-driven sprocket in a side-by-side manner (Fig. 3) rather than mounting the sprocket on an outer peripheral surface of the pedal-driven sprocket.
However, Nonoshita teaches a bicycle sprocket wherein an attachment formation between the outer sprocket ring 691 and the inner member 693 is configured to engage teeth 693f of the inner member 693 ([0116], Fig. 23 of Nonoshita.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify attachable sprocket of KR-826 to be a sprocket ring attached to the outer teeth of an inner toothed member as Nonoshita teaches in order to advantageously provide a removable sprocket which does not reduce fastening strength (Abstract of Nonoshita).
KR-826 as modified does not teach wherein the sprocket member is rotatably mounted to the attachment formation of the sprocket member via a ratchet device configured to allow relative movement there between in a first direction and prevent relative movement there between in an opposing direction.
However, Kurita teaches an electric assisted bicycle wherein a sprocket member 104a is rotatably mounted to an inner member by a ratchet mechanism ([0055] of Kurita).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sprocket of KR-826 to have a ratchet between the outer teeth and the attachment formation in order to advantageously provide a sprocket which will not transmit reverse input torque form the shaft to the chain ([0055] of Kurita).
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR-826 in view of Ohashi (US 20160297499).
Regarding claim 22, KR-826 does not teach user controls for adjusting the level of power supplied by the motor.
However, Ohashi teaches an bicycle drive arrangement further comprising user controls 41 arranged to control the level of power supplied to the motor 30 from the power source 12 ([0057] of Ohashi) and/or the speed of the motor 30 ([0031], [0040]-[0041], [0043], Figs. 1 and 3 of Ohashi).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the auxiliary drive arrangement of KR-826 to include a control unit for selecting the level of power supplied by the motor as is taught by Ohashi in order to advantageously provide a plurality of selectable drive states to the user (Abstract of Ohashi).
Regarding claim 23, KR-826 teaches the auxiliary drive arrangement provided in the form of a kit of parts for retrofit to an existing pedal-powered vehicle (Abstract), the kit of parts comprising: the electric motor 30; a power source 20; and the sprocket member 17 (Paragraph 14).
KR-826 does not teach the kit comprising an electronic controller for the motor and/or a manual controller.
However, Ohashi teaches a bicycle drive arrangement which comprises an electric motor 30, a power source 12 ([0057] of Ohashi), a sprocket member 17 ([0034 of Ohashi), and an electronic controller 40 for the motor 30 ([0040]-[0041], Fig. 1 of Ohashi).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the auxiliary drive arrangement of KR-826 to include the electronic controller of Ohashi in order to advantageously provide a plurality of selectable drive states to the user (Abstract of Ohashi).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR-826 in view of Kurita.
Regarding claim 26, KR-826 teaches a sprocket member 17 for a pedal-powered vehicle having a pedal assembly comprising pedals mounted for rotation about a pedal axis (Fig. 1), the sprocket member 17 comprising a sprocket and an attachment formation for mounting of sprocket to the pedal assembly about the pedal axis (See annotated Fig. 3 below).
KR-826 does not teach a wherein the sprocket member comprises a ratchet mechanism between the common attachment formation and the sprocket.
However, Kurita teaches an electric assisted bicycle wherein a sprocket member 104a is rotatably mounted to an inner member by a ratchet mechanism ([0055] of Kurita).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sprocket of KR-826 to have a ratchet between the outer teeth and the attachment formation in order to advantageously provide a sprocket which will not transmit reverse input torque form the shaft to the chain ([0055] of Kurita).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20140221151 teaches a ratcheted sprocket and bicycle drive unit.
US 20110168471 teaches a motor unit configured to pivot relative to a stationary mounting bracket by an arm.
US 5758735 teaches a snaking bicycle drive unit with a single chain connecting the drive unit, sprocket, driven wheel, and guiding mechanism.
/N.W.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/JOHN OLSZEWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3617