DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a first recording unit, a receiving unit, a measured vibration feature data generation unit, a first arithmetic unit and a second arithmetic unit in claim 7. The limitations are disclosed as being implemented by a programmed computer (Figure 6, pars. 52-68).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 13 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claim 13 (and dependent claims 18-20) is directed to one or more computer-readable media, which includes transitory embodiments such as signals, which are non-statutory (MPEP 2106.03, Subsection I). Amending claim 13 to be directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium would overcome this rejection.
Claims 7 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Per step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test (See MPEP 2106), claim 7 is directed to a device, which is a product and falls within a statutory category (See MPEP 2106.03).
Per step 2A, prong 1, claim 7 recites a first recording unit having a trained autoencoder recorded therein, wherein the trained autoencoder is obtained by performing pre-training of an autoencoder that encodes input data being predetermined data and then decodes the encoded predetermined data to obtain data having the same dimensions as dimensions of the input data, wherein the input data is stationary vibration feature data generated from stationary vibration data that is data having a specific duration about stationary vibration including vibration generated in a stationary state from an object for which detection of non-stationarity is performed based on vibration, the stationary vibration feature data being data about a feature of stationary vibration identified by the stationary vibration data, and output data is estimated stationary vibration feature data, and wherein the pre-training is performed by inputting a plurality of pieces of the stationary vibration feature data so that a difference between the stationary vibration feature data being the input data and the estimated stationary vibration feature data being the output data with respect to the input data is minimized. The claim limitation for how the trained autoencoder is obtained describes encoding and decoding data, which requires processing data through an autoencoder which includes weights at various stages of the model, which falls into the mathematical processes grouping. The description of the input data as stationary data simply describes the type of data that is being processed by the autoencoder. The pretraining further d escribes a mathematical process because it recites inputting data to the autoencoder till a difference is minimized (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I).
Claim 7 further recites configured to receive measured vibration data that is data having a specific duration about measured vibration including vibration generated from the object for which detection of non-stationarity based on vibration is performed; … configured to generate, from the measured vibration data received by the receiving unit, measured vibration feature data that is data about a feature of measured vibration identified by the measured vibration data, by the same method as a method of generating the stationary vibration feature data from the stationary vibration data in pre-training; … configured to read the trained autoencoder recorded in the first recording unit and to input the measured vibration feature data generated by the measured vibration feature data generation unit to the trained autoencoder to obtain estimated measured vibration feature data that is an output from the trained autoencoder in response to the input measured vibration feature data; and … configured to obtain a difference between the measured vibration feature data generated by the measured vibration feature data generation unit and the estimated measured vibration feature data generated from the measured vibration feature data by the first arithmetic unit and to determine, when the difference is larger than a predetermined range, that measured vibration identified by measured vibration data from which the measured vibration feature data is derived is non- stationary vibration and generate result data indicating occurrence of non-stationary vibration. Receiving the measured vibration data and generating, from the measured vibration data, measured vibration feature data is disclosed as a spectrogram (par. 56). Generating a spectrogram is a calculation that falls into the mathematical concepts grouping. Processing the feature data through the encoder and obtaining a difference between the measured vibration feature and the feature data generated using the autoencoder requires calculations as described above with regard to training the autoencoder. Therefore, claim 7 also recites a mathematical concept.
The additional elements in claim 7 are a first recording unit, a receiving unit, a measured vibration feature data generation unit, a first arithmetic unit and a second arithmetic unit.
Per step 2A, prong 2, as discussed above, each of these units are disclosed as a computer programmed to perform the recited functions. The recitation of the units amounts to instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, the recited additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Per step 2B, the additional elements recited in claim 7 do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea for the same reason.
Claims 9-11 depend from claim 7. Claims 9-11 recite further details of the abstract idea. Claims 9-11 do not recite any additional elements, and are rejected for the same reason.
Claims 12 and 13 recite a similar abstract idea to the abstract idea recited in claim 7 and does not recite any additional elements. Therefore, claims 12 and 13 are rejected for the same reason.
Claims 15-17 depend from claim 12 and claims 18-20 depend from claim 13. Claims 15-17 and 18-20 recite further details of the abstract idea. Claims 15-17 and 18-20 do not recite any further additional elements, and are rejected for the same reason.
Claim 14 recites a similar abstract idea to that recited in claim 7 with similar additional elements. Claim 14 further recites a step A of inputting, to the trained autoencoder, the stationary vibration feature data generated from the stationary vibration data not used for training of the trained autoencoder, the stationary vibration feature data being data about a feature of stationary vibration identified by the stationary vibration data, to obtain the estimated stationary vibration feature data as an output of the trained autoencoder; a step B of generating a loss function for a difference between the stationary vibration feature data input to the trained autoencoder in the step A and the estimated stationary vibration feature data generated from the stationary vibration feature data by the trained autoencoder; and a step C of determining the threshold value based on a mean and a variance of an amplitude related to an error of the loss function obtained in the step B. Similar to the previously discussed limitations, inputting data to an encoder requires mathematical calculations. The step of generating a loss function and determining a threshold value based on a mean and a variance are also mathematical functions, which fall into the mathematical concepts grouping.
The only additional elements are the units, which are disclosed to be a programmed computer. As discussed above, the recitation of the units amounts to instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer. Therefore, the recited additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, and further do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7, 9, 10, 12, 13, 15, 16, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2021/0327456 to Yamaguchi et al. (Yamaguchi).
Claims 7, 12, and 13
With regard to a first recording unit having a trained autoencoder recorded therein, Yamaguchi teaches a recording unit used to store the program to carry out the functions (Fig. 24, recording unit 2020; pars. 273, 274).
With regard to wherein the trained autoencoder is obtained by performing pre-training of an autoencoder that encodes input data being predetermined data and then decodes the encoded predetermined data to obtain data having the same dimensions as dimensions of the input data, Yamaguchi teaches an autoencoder learning apparatus that includes an input generating unit and a loss function calculating unit (Fig. 9, autoencoder learning apparatus 400, input generating unit 110, normal sound recording unit 910, pars. 163, 164).
With regard to wherein the input data is stationary vibration feature data generated from stationary vibration data that is data having a specific duration about stationary vibration including vibration generated in a stationary state from an object for which detection of non-stationarity is performed based on vibration, Yamaguchi teaches an input generating unit generating input data from the normal sound (pars. 165, 166; Fig. 9, input generating unit 110).
With regard to wherein the stationary vibration feature data being data about a feature of stationary vibration identified by the stationary vibration data; Yamaguchi teaches a normal sound recording unit (par. 165).
With regard to wherein output data is estimated stationary vibration feature data; Yamaguchi teaches that input data is generated from the normal sound data (par. 166).
With regard to wherein the pre-training is performed by inputting a plurality of pieces of the stationary vibration feature data so that a difference between the stationary vibration feature data being the input data and the estimated stationary vibration feature data being the output data with respect to the input data is minimized; Yamaguchi teaches that the restored data is output from the autoencoder and used in a loss function calculating unit and updating a parameter of the autoencoder to minimize the value of the loss function (Fig. 9, blocks 420, 430, 440, 450; pars. 166-175).
With regard to a receiving unit configured to receive measured vibration data that is data having a specific duration about measured vibration including vibration generated from the object for which detection of non-stationarity based on vibration is performed; Yamaguchi teaches that an anomaly detection target sound is input to the input data generating unit (Fig. 13, input data generating unit 110; par. 184, 185).
With regard to a measured vibration feature data generation unit configured to generate, from the measured vibration data received by the receiving unit, measured vibration feature data that is data about a feature of measured vibration identified by the measured vibration data, by the same method as a method of generating the stationary vibration feature data from the stationary vibration data in pre-training; Yamaguchi teaches that the input data generating unit generates input data from the anomaly detection target sound (Fig. 13, input data generating unit 110, par. 185).
With regard to a first arithmetic unit configured to read the trained autoencoder recorded in the first recording unit and to input the measured vibration feature data generated by the measured vibration feature data generation unit to the trained autoencoder to obtain estimated measured vibration feature data that is an output from the trained autoencoder in response to the input measured vibration feature data; Yamaguchi teaches a restored input calculating unit (Fig. 5, restored input calculating unit 621; Fig. 13, blocks 620, 63; pars. 156-158).
With regard to a second arithmetic unit configured to obtain a difference between the measured vibration feature data generated by the measured vibration feature data generation unit and the estimated measured vibration feature data generated from the measured vibration feature data by the first arithmetic unit and to determine, when the difference is larger than a predetermined range, that measured vibration identified by measured vibration data from which the measured vibration feature data is derived is non- stationary vibration and generate result data indicating occurrence of non-stationary vibration, Yamaguchi teaches determining whether equipment is abnormal based on a calculation using the restored input data (pars. 187-189).
With regard to wherein, in order to obtain the difference between the measured vibration feature data generated by the measured vibration feature data generation unit and the estimated measured vibration feature data generated from the measured vibration feature data by the first arithmetic unit, the second arithmetic unit is configured to generate a loss function for the measured vibration feature data and the estimated measured vibration feature data, and determine that measured vibration identified by measured vibration data from which the measured vibration feature data is derived is non-stationary vibration when the number of values of the loss function which exceed a predetermined threshold value is a predetermined number or more; Yamaguchi teaches determining an anomaly degree and comparing the anomaly degree to a threshold to determine if the sound is abnormal (par. 63). The threshold corresponds to the predetermined threshold. In this case, only one instance of exceeding the threshold is sufficient and corresponds to a predetermined number.
Claims 9, 15 and 18
Yamaguchi teaches that the measured vibration feature data is a frequency spectrogram generated from the measured vibration data (par. 15, logarithmic amplitude spectrum).
Claim 10, 16 and 19
Yamaguchi teaches that the measured vibration is a sound generated during a period in which detection of non-stationarity based on vibration is performed (Fig. 4, normal sound recording unit 910).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi in view of admitted prior art.
Claims 11, 17 and 20
Yamaguchi teaches all the limitations of claim 10 upon which claim 11 depends, claim 16 upon which claim 17 depends and claim 19 upon which claim 20 depends.. Yamaguchi does not teach that the stationary vibration feature data is a mel-frequency spectrogram generated from the stationary vibration data. Paragraph 42 of the specification states that obtaining sound feature data, which is the mel-frequency spectrogram is well known as a data format for representing a feature of a sound. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the anomaly detection, as taught by Yamaguchi, to include using mel-frequency spectrogram to determine the sound features, because then well known data format with well known methods for determination would have been available to determine the sound features.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 31 October 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
35 U.S.C. § 101
Applicant states that claim was amended to recite one or more computer-readable media. However, a computer-readable media includes transitory embodiments which are non-statutory (MPEP 2106.03, Subsection I).
Applicant states that claims the amended claims are not directed to an abstract idea at least because of the features associated with measurement of vibration of an object (e.g., machine or bridge, as described at paragraphs [0025-0026] of the present published application), the determination of non-stationary vibration (e.g., indicative of malfunction), and the generation of results indicating occurrence of non-stationary vibration, which features are not in the form of the mathematical processes discussed in the Office Action. However, the only non-abstract elements (additional elements) are the various recited units, which are disclosed as a computer programmed to perform the recited functions.
Applicant refers to the 2024 Guidance, at Section III(A)(1)(A), that states "A claim does not recite a mathematical concept (i.e., the claim limitations do not fall within the mathematical concept grouping) if it is only based on or involves a mathematical concept." However, the claims limitations do not merely involve a mathematical concept. The claim limitations require calculations. An autoencoder necessarily requires mathematical calculations to process the inputs. Encoding the input data as a spectrogram requires mathematical calculations (Specification par. 56). And obtaining a difference is a mathematical calculation.
Applicant states that under Step 2A, Prong Two, the claims recite additional elements that integrate the exceptions into a practical application by "implementing a judicial exception with, or using a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(b)" (MPEP §2106.04(d)), such that the relevant elements are a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim. Applicant further states that In the present application, the additional elements recited in claims 7 and 9-15, as amended, reflect an improvement to a computer or other technology described in the specification and cover a particular solution to a problem or a particular way to achieve a desired outcome. However, the only additional elements recited are the various units which are disclosed as a programmed computer (Fig. 6, pars. 52-68). The recitation of a programmed computer is recited at a high level of generality and is not a particular machine.
With regard to Step 2B, Applicant states that processing is well beyond what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, and therefore represents an inventive concept for which claims 7 and 9-15 are patent eligible. However, the claimed processing steps are directed to an abstract idea. The “inventive concept” is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05, subsection I). The only additional elements are the units which are disclosed as a programmed computer. As discussed above, the recitation of a programmed computer amounts to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea, which is not significantly more (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103
Applicant states that Yamaguchi fails to teach or suggest at least the aspects of counting a number of values of a loss function exceeding a threshold value to determine whether or not a vibration is non-stationary vibration, as recited in amended independent claims 7, 12, and 13. However, the claim requires that determining a non-stationary vibration when the number of the values of the loss function which exceed a predetermined threshold is a predetermined number or more. In Yamaguchi that number may be 1.
It is noted that claim 14 recites additional limitations that are not found in claims 7, 12 and 13. These limitations include steps A, B and C f a method for determining a threshold.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANUEL L BARBEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857