DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to applicant’s response filed under 37 C.F.R §1.111 in response to a non-final office action. Claim(s) 16, 18-20, 22, 23, 25-27, 29, and 30 have been amended; Claims 17, 21, 24, and 28 have been canceled; No Claim(s) have been added. Claim(s) 16, 18-19, 20, 22-23, 25-27, and 29-30 are subject to examination.
Acknowledgement is made to the applicant’s amendment to the abstract to obviate the previous objection to the specification. The previous objection to the specification is/are hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Arguments
The applicant argues in substance that there is no motivation to combine ORSINO with WG3#106 to teach “at least one absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCN) value associated with the configuration information for the at least one candidate PSCell, respectively”.
Examiner’s Response
The examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the CPA method of WG#106 uses an Xn message (SN Addition Request Acknowledge) to provide the decided PSCell and other SCG Scells by including the new SCG radio resource configuration and multiple candidate target cells list. ORSINO teaches that new SCG radio resource configurations is conveyed in a CG-Config message (Orsino: para 98-100), along with at least one ARFCN for the candidate cell (Table (“CG-Config message”)). I to would have been obvious to modify the teachings of WG3#106 with the Xn message of ORSINO for the benefit of identifying and coordinating what is to be measured/measurement identities (ORISNO: para 39). Furthermore, other prior arts, such as DASILVA et al. (US 20230209425 A1) teaches that such CG-Config message can be included in a SN Modification Request Acknowledge message (DASILVA: para 81).
Applicant’s Arguments
The applicant argues in substance that ORSINO does not teach that the second message for CPA separately includes 1) configuration information for at least one candidate PSCell, and 2) at least one ARFCN value, but rather than that the ARFCN value is located within the CG-Config message structure which would require decoding to entire CG-Config message to access the value.
Examiner’s Response
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim language does not specifically disclose that ARFCN must be different than CG-config nor does it specifically disclose that ARFCN must be separately decoded from the CG-config. Rather, the claim limitation merely discloses that a second Xn message includes configuration information and at least one ARFCN, both of which is fulfilled via the CG-config including configuration information and the ARFCN. The examiner recommends to include language which differentiate how ARFCN is received as opposed to how configuration information is received.
Regarding all other arguments presented by the applicant, the arguments are substantially the same as those which have already been addressed above and in the interest of brevity; the examiner directs the applicant to those response above.
Double Patenting
Claim 16, 20, 23, and 27 of this application is patentably indistinct from claims 5, 8, 15, and 18, respectively, of Application No. 18774173. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Claims 16, 20, 23, and 27 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5, 8, 15, and 18, respectively, of copending Application No. 18774173 in view of CATT: “TP for TS37.340 BLCR Conditional SN Addition Change Procedure”, R3-196727, 3GPP TSG RAN WG3#106, Reno, NV, USA, 18-22 November 2019, 28 pages, hereby referred to as WG3#106 (see IDS 04/24/2024) and ORSINO et al. (US 20230164609 A1) (see 892 07/14/2025), hereby referred to as ORSINO.
Claims 5, 8, 15, and 18 of the copending application discloses claims 16, 20, 23, and 27 of the instant application except language underlined and bolded. See table below.
Instant Application 18246165
Copending Application 18774173
Claim 16:
A method performed by a first base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a second base station, a first Xn message for conditional primary secondary cell (PSCell) addition (CPA) including measurement results for a plurality of cells, the plurality of cells being determined by the first base station;
receiving, from the second base station, a second Xn message for the CPA including configuration information for at least one candidate PSCell determined by the second base station from among the plurality of cells; and at least one absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCN) value associated with the configuration information for the at least one candidate PSCell, respectively;
and transmitting, to a terminal, a first radio resource control (RRC) message including the configuration information for the at least one candidate PSCell and execution condition information for the CPA associated with at least one candidate PSCell.
Claim 1:
A method performed by a master node (MN) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: …
…transmitting, to a plurality of candidate SNs, an SN addition request message including at least one of a list of PSCell candidates for the plurality of candidate SNs or information on the plurality of candidate SNs;
…receiving, from the plurality of candidate SNs, an SN addition request acknowledge message including at least one of information on at least one PSCell among the list of the PSCell candidates or information on a first execution condition for the at least one PSCell…
Claim 5:
…transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including the first information and the second information.
Claim 20:
A method performed by a second base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a first base station, a first Xn message for a conditional primary secondary cell (PSCell) addition (CPA) including measurement results for a plurality of cells, the plurality of cells being determined by the first base station;
determining at least one candidate PSCell from among a plurality of candidate PSCells;
and transmitting, to the first base station, a second Xn message for the CPA including configuration information for the at least one candidate PSCell, and at least one absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCN) value associated with the configuration information for the at least one candidate PSCell, respectively.
Claim 8:
A method performed by a secondary node (SN) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a master node (MN), an SN addition request message including at least one of a list of PSCell candidates for a plurality of candidate SNs or information on the plurality of candidate SNs;
identifying at least one PSCell among the list of the PSCell candidates;
transmitting, to the MN, an SN addition request acknowledge message including at least one of information on the at least one PSCell or information on a first execution condition for the at least one PSCell…
Claim 23:
A first base station in a wireless communication system, the first base station comprising: a transceiver; and a controller configured to:
transmit, to a second base station via the transceiver, a first Xn message for a conditional primary secondary cell (PSCell) addition (CPA) including measurement results for a plurality of cells, the plurality of cells being determined by the first base station,
receive, from the second base station via the transceiver, a second Xn message for the CPA including configuration information for at least one candidate PSCell determined by the second base station from among the plurality of cells, and at least one absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCN) value associated with the configuration for the at least one candidate PSCell, respectively.
and transmit, to a terminal via the transceiver, a first radio resource control (RRC) message including the configuration information for the at least one candidate PSCell and execution condition information for the at least one candidate PSCell.
Claim 11:
A master node (MN) in a wireless communication system, The MN comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the transceiver and configured to:
transmit, to a plurality of candidate SNs, an SN addition request message including at least one of a list of PSCell candidates for the plurality of candidate SNs or information on the plurality of candidate SNs,
receive, from the plurality of candidate SNs, an SN addition request acknowledge message including at least one of information on at least one PSCell among the list of the PSCell candidates or information on a first execution condition for the at least one PSCell
Claim 15:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including the first information and the second information.
Claim 27:
A second base station in a wireless communication system, the second base station comprising: a transceiver; and a controller configured to:
receive, from a first base station via the transceiver, a first Xn message for conditional primary secondary cell (PSCell) addition (CPA) including measurement results for a plurality of cells, the plurality of cells being determined by the first base station,
determine at least one candidate PSCell from among the plurality of candidate PSCells,
and transmit, to the first base station via the transceiver, a second Xn message for the CPA including: configuration information for the at least one candidate PSCell, and at least one absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCN) value associated with the configuration information for the at least one candidate PSCell, respectively.
Claim 18:
A secondary node (SN) in a wireless communication system, the SN comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the transceiver and configured to:
receive, from a master node (MN), an SN addition request message including at least one of a list of PSCell candidates for a plurality of candidate SNs or information on the plurality of candidate SNs,
identify at least one PSCell among the list of the PSCell candidates,
transmit, to the MN, an SN addition request acknowledge message including at least one of information on the at least one PSCell or information on a first execution condition for the at least one PSCell
WG3#106, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a first Xn message including measurement results of a plurality of cells, wherein the plurality of cells being determined by the base station (WG3#106: pg 5 Figure 10.2.2-1 item 1 (“SN Addition Request”) and pg 5 para 1 (“…MN indicates the requested SCG configuration information, including the entire UE capabilities and the UE capability coordination results. In this case, the MN also provides the latest measurement results for SN to choose and configure the SCG cell(s).”) wherein the CPA/SN addition request includes measurement results of a terminal for a plurality of candidate PSCells determined/recommended by MN), a second Xn message for CPA including configuration information (WG3#106: pg 5 Figure 10.2.2-1 item 2 (“SN Addition Request Acknowledge.”) and pg 6 para 1 (“…SCG radio resource configuration is provided. In case of CPAC, a multiple candidate target cells list is included in the message.”) wherein the second base station sends a second Xn message with configuration information for the candidate PSCells), and a first RRC message including execution condition information for the at least one candidate PSCell (WG3#106: pg 5 Figure 10.2.2-1 item 3 (“RRC reconfiguration message”) and pg 6 para 7 (“In case of CPAC, the CPAC candidate PSCell configuration(s), CPAC execution condition(s) are included in the MN RRC reconfiguration message.”) wherein the first RRC message includes configuration and execution condition of the candidate PSCells).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the copending application with WG3#106 for the benefit of conditional PSCell addition in MR-DC with 5GC (WG3#106: pg 4-5).
However, the copending application in view of WG3#106 does not explicitly disclose and at least one absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCN) value associated with the configuration for the at least one candidate PSCell, respectively (ORSINO: para 99 (“CG-Config…is used to transfer the SCG radio configuration as generated by the SgNB or SeNB…”) and Table (“CG-Config message”) wherein the contents of the second Xn message/CG-Config includes ARFCN as seen in the table).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the copending application with WG3#106 and with ORSINO for the benefit of efficient sharing and coordination of measurement identities supported by a UE between a MN and SN (ORSINO: para 39).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16, 20, 23, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CATT: “TP for TS37.340 BLCR Conditional SN Addition Change Procedure”, R3-196727, 3GPP TSG RAN WG3#106, Reno, NV, USA, 18-22 November 2019, 28 pages, hereby referred to as WG3#106 (see IDS 04/24/2024), in view of ORSINO et al. (US 20230164609 A1) (see 892 07/14/2025), hereby referred to as ORSINO.
Claim 16:
WG3#106 teaches a method performed by a first base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: transmitting, to a second base station, a first Xn message (WG3#106: pg 5 Figure 10.2.2-1 (“MN”) the first base station and (“SN(x)”) the second base station; and pg 5 para 2 (“For MN terminated bear options that require Xn_U resource between the MN and the SN, the MN provides the Xn-U UL….”) wherein messages are related to Xn interface) for conditional primary secondary cell (PSCell) addition (CPA) including measurement results for a plurality of cells, the plurality of cells being determined by the first base station (WG3#106: pg 5 Figure 10.2.2-1 item 1 (“SN Addition Request”) and pg 5 para 1 (“…MN indicates the requested SCG configuration information, including the entire UE capabilities and the UE capability coordination results. In this case, the MN also provides the latest measurement results for SN to choose and configure the SCG cell(s).”) wherein the CPA/SN addition request includes measurement results of a terminal for a plurality of candidate PSCells determined/recommended by MN); receiving, from the second base station, a second Xn message for the CPA including configuration information for at least one candidate PSCell, the at least one candidate PSCell determined by the second base station from among the plurality of candidate PSCells (WG3#106: pg 5 Figure 10.2.2-1 item 2 (“SN Addition Request Acknowledge.”) and pg 6 para 1 (“…SCG radio resource configuration is provided. In case of CPAC, a multiple candidate target cells list is included in the message.”) wherein the second base station sends a second Xn message with configuration information for the candidate PSCells); and transmitting, to a terminal, a first radio resource control (RRC) message including the configuration information for the at least one candidate PSCell and execution condition information for the CPA associated with the at least one candidate PSCell (WG3#106: pg 5 Figure 10.2.2-1 item 3 (“RRC reconfiguration message”) and pg 6 para 7 (“In case of CPAC, the CPAC candidate PSCell configuration(s), CPAC execution condition(s) are included in the MN RRC reconfiguration message.”) wherein the first RRC message includes configuration and execution condition of the candidate PSCells).
However, WG3#106 does not explicitly disclose at least one absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCN) value associated with the configuration information for the at least one candidate PSCell, respectively.
ORSINO, in the same field of endeavor, teaches at least one absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCN) value associated with each of the at least one candidate PSCell, respectively (ORSINO: para 99 (“CG-Config…is used to transfer the SCG radio configuration as generated by the SgNB or SeNB…”) and Table (“CG-Config message”) wherein the contents of the second Xn message/CG-Config includes ARFCN as seen in the table).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified WG3#106 with ORSINO, the combination hereby referred to as WG3#106-ORSINO, for the benefit of efficient sharing and coordination of measurement identities supported by a UE between a MN and SN (ORSINO: para 39).
Claim 20:
WG3#106 teaches a method performed by a second base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a first base station, a first Xn message (WG3#106: pg 5 Figure 10.2.2-1 (“MN”) the first base station and (“SN(x)”) the second base station; and pg 5 para 2 (“For MN terminated bear options that require Xn_U resource between the MN and the SN, the MN provides the Xn-U UL….”) wherein messages are related to Xn interface) for a conditional primary secondary cell (PSCell) addition (CPA) including measurement results for a plurality of cells, the plurality of cells being determined by the first base station (WG3#106: pg 5 Figure 10.2.2-1 item 1 (“SN Addition Request”) and pg 5 para 1 (“…MN indicates the requested SCG configuration information, including the entire UE capabilities and the UE capability coordination results. In this case, the MN also provides the latest measurement results for SN to choose and configure the SCG cell(s).”) wherein the CPA/SN addition request includes measurement results of a terminal for a plurality of candidate PSCells determined/recommended by MN); determining at least one candidate PSCell from among a plurality of candidate PSCells (WG3#106: pg 6 para 1 (“…SCG radio resource configuration is provided. In case of CPAC, a multiple candidate target cells list is included in the message.”) wherein the second base station determines the candidate PSCells); and transmitting, to the first base station, a second Xn message for the CPA including configuration information for the at least one candidate PSCell (WG3#106: pg 5 Figure 10.2.2-1 item 2 (“SN Addition Request Acknowledge.”) and pg 6 para 1 (“…SCG radio resource configuration is provided. In case of CPAC, a multiple candidate target cells list is included in the message.”) wherein the second base station sends a second Xn message with configuration information for the candidate PSCells).
However, WG3#106 does not explicitly disclose at least one absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCN) value associated with the configuration information for the at least one candidate PSCell, respectively.
ORSINO, in the same field of endeavor, teaches at least one absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCN) value associated with each of the at least one candidate PSCell, respectively (ORSINO: para 99 (“CG-Config…is used to transfer the SCG radio configuration as generated by the SgNB or SeNB…”) and Table (“CG-Config message”) wherein the contents of the second Xn message/CG-Config includes ARFCN as seen in the table).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified WG3#106 with ORSINO, the combination hereby referred to as WG3#106-ORSINO, for the benefit of efficient sharing and coordination of measurement identities supported by a UE between a MN and SN (ORSINO: para 39).
Claim 23:
WG3#106 teaches a first base station in a wireless communication system, the first base station comprising: a transceiver; and a controller (WG3#106: pg 5 Figure 10.2.2-1 (“MN”) the first base station which would require at least a transceiver and controller to perform the method).
For further limitations, see rejection for claim 16 above.
Claim 27:
WG3#106 teaches a second base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver: and a controller (WG3#106: Figure 10.2.2-1 item (“SN”) the second base station using transceiver and controller).
For further limitations, see rejection for claim 20 above.
Claim(s) 18-19, 22, 25-26, and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WG3#106 in view of ORSINO, the combination hereby referred to as WG3#106-ORSINO, and in further view of Eklöf et al. (US 20230300691 A1) (see 892 07/14/2025), hereby referred to as EKLOF.
Claim 18:
WG3#106-ORSINO teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising: receiving, from the terminal, a second RRC message including information on identifying a PSCell for execution of the CPA (WG3#106: pg 5 Figure 10.2.2-1 item 4a (“Access Success Indication message”) and pg 6 para 8 (“In case of CPAC…If at least on CPAC candidate PSCell satisfies the corresponding CPAC execution condition, the UE detaches from the source SN, applies the stored corresponding configuration for that selected candidate PSCell and…and completes the CPAC procedure by sending a new access success indication message to the MN. FFS how the new RRC message is defined.”)).
However, WG3#106 does not explicitly disclose a configuration identifier (ID) of a PSCell for execution of the CPA.
EKLOF, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a configuration identifier (ID) of a PSCell for execution of the CPA (EKLOF: Figure 11 item 68 (“Second Identifier (e.g., ID 60-X)”) and para 158 (“…the second identifier 68 is associated to the target cell candidate selected for conditional configuration execution…”) wherein an RRC message contains information on a configuration ID for a PSCell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified WG3#106-ORSINO with EKLOF, the combination hereby referred to as WG3#106-ORSINO EKLOF, for the benefit of ensuring proper communications (EKLOF: para 4).
Claim 19:
WG3#106-ORSINO-EKLOF teaches the method of claim 18, further comprising: in case that the PSCell is not operated by the second base station, transmitting, to the second base station, a fourth Xn to cancel the CPA (WG3#106: Figure 10.4.2-2 item 9 (“UE Context Release”) wherein in the case of the PSCell not operated by the second base station, first base station sends a release/CPA release message to second base station).
However, WG3#106-ORSINO does not explicitly disclose in case that the PSCell is operated by the second base station, transmitting, to the second base station, a third Xn message indicating an RRC reconfiguration completion of the terminal.
EKLOF, in the same field of endeavor, teaches in case that the selected PSCell is operated by the second base station, transmitting, to the second base station, a third Xn message indicating an RRC reconfiguration completion of the terminal (EKLOF: Figure 8 item 10 (“RRCReconfigurationComplete***”) and para 130 (“…when CPC is configured and the target candidate PSCell(s) are within the source SN (S-SN)…”) wherein selected PSCell is operated by the second base station and first base station transmits a Xn message indicating RRC reconfiguration complete).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified WG3#106-ORSINO with EKLOF for the benefit of ensuring proper communications (EKLOF: para 4).
Claim 22:
WG3#106-ORSINO-EKLOF teaches the method of claim 20, further comprising: in case that the PSCell is not operated by the second base station, receiving, from the first base station, a fourth Xn message to cancel the CPA (WG3#106: Figure 10.4.2-2 item 9 (“UE Context Release”) wherein in the case of the PSCell not operated by the second base station, first base station sends a release/CPA release message to second base station).
However, WG3#106-ORSINO does not explicitly disclose in case that the PSCell is operated by the second base station, receiving, from the first base station, a third Xn message indicating a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration completion of a terminal.
EKLOF, in the same field of endeavor, teaches in case that a selected PSCell of which an execution condition is satisfied is operated by the second base station, receiving, from the first base station, a third Xn message indicating a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration complete of the terminal (EKLOF: Figure 8 item 10 (“RRCReconfigurationComplete***”) and para 130 (“…when CPC is configured and the target candidate PSCell(s) are within the source SN (S-SN)…”) wherein selected PSCell is operated by the second base station and first base station transmits a Xn message indicating RRC reconfiguration complete).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified WG3#106-ORSINO with EKLOF for the benefit of ensuring proper communications (EKLOF: para 4).
Claim 25:
WG3#106-ORSINO teaches the method of claim 23. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 18 above.
Claim 26:
WG3#106-ORSINO-ELKOF teaches the method of claim 25. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 19 above.
Claim 29:
WG3#106-ORSINO teaches the method of claim 27, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is further configured to: in case that a PSCell for execution of the CPA is operated by the second base station, receive, from the first base station via the transceiver, a third Xn message indicating a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration completion of a terminal.
ELKOF, in the same field of endeavor, teaches in case that a selected PSCell of which an execution condition is satisfied is operated by the second base station, receiving, from the first base station, a third Xn message indicating a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration complete of the terminal (EKLOF: Figure 8 item 10 (“RRCReconfigurationComplete***”) and para 130 (“…when CPC is configured and the target candidate PSCell(s) are within the source SN (S-SN)…”) wherein selected PSCell is operated by the second base station and first base station transmits a Xn message indicating RRC reconfiguration complete).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified WG3#106-ORSINO with EKLOF, the combination hereby referred to as WG3#106-ORSINO-ELKOF, for the benefit of ensuring proper communications (EKLOF: para 4).
Claim 30:
WG3#106-ORSINO-ELKOF teaches the method of claim 29, wherein the controller is further configured to: in case that the PSCell is not operated by the second base station, receiving, from the first base station, a fourth Xn message to cancel the CPA (WG3#106: Figure 10.4.2-2 item 9 (“UE Context Release”)wherein in the case of the PSCell not operated by the second base station, first base station sends a release/CPA release message to second base station).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.T.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416