DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendments, filed on 12/17/2025, have been received and made of record. In response to the most recent Office Action, dated 09/22/2025, claims 1 and 7-9 have been amended, and claims 11 has been cancelled. Claims 1-10 and 12-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Amendments, filed on 12/17/2025, have been entered and fully considered. In light of the amendments, the rejection(s) of claims 1-6 and 13-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miura (JP 2009 291019 A) have been withdrawn. However, the arguments provided in light of the amendments regarding the rejection of claims 1-10 and 13-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akagi (EP 2784927 B1) in view of Miura (JP 2009 291019 A) are not persuasive. The Examiner believes Akagi teaches the newly recited claim limitations and disagrees with the Applicant’s assertion that Akagi does not teach those newly recited limitations. The Applicant in their submitted response provided the following argument (reproduced below for purposes of clarity) in regards to Akagi which can also be found on page 14 of the submitted remarks
Further, the Office Action alleges that in Akagi (EP2784927), DC voltage command value Vc* is disclosed as the command value of the value vaveC obtained by averaging the voltage values of the DC capacitors (see Fig. 9a), and circulating current command value iz* is disclosed as the command value of circulating current iz (see Fig. 9c). The Office Action adds that DC voltage command value Vc* and circulating current command value iz* correspond to the "control command value" of the present invention, and average value vaveC of the DC capacitor voltage and circulating current iz correspond to the "feedback value" of the present invention.
However, all of these command values are those related to control inside the power converter and are different from the control command values in claim 1 of the present application. In other words, the command value disclosed in the Akagi is not a command value related to a state change of the AC power system such as the control command value in claim 1. Therefore, Akagi also fails to disclose or suggest features (a) and (b) as recited in claim 1 as amended.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and would like to start off by reminding the Applicant that that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, Applicant’s point of the quantity of electricity being a system voltage and a calculated value being a reactive current value or active current value based on the system voltage (See page 10 Last Paragraph of the Submitted Remarks) are not read into the claims. Based on that when examining the claims terms are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and currently the claim language of “a control command value for the self-commutated power converter, corresponding to a quantity of electricity of the AC power system or a calculated value based on the quantity of electricity” recites language wherein this can be applied. Such terms like “corresponding” and “based on” do not provide concrete limitations but rather leave a degree of how far this controls an aspect open to broad interpretation. In the most recent Office Action, the Examiner pointed to Figure 9C Component i*z or Figure 9A Component V*c being this control command value. Component i*z meets this claim limitation because as seen in Figure 9C it is based on Component i*Z0 which in turn is based on Component (VaveC)dc as seen in Figure 9A which is a value from the DC capacitors which are based on the quantity of electricity of the AC power system thus Component i*z would be “a calculated value based on the quantity of electricity” and due to the “or” clause present in the claim would meet the claim limitation. Figure 9A Component V*c can also be interpretated as being “a calculated value based on the quantity of electricity” as well because Component V*c is a predetermined DC voltage command value meaning it is a value that was calculated and determined to be a reference point based on the conditions of the system and one of those conditions would be the load or the source and since this system disclosed by Akagi is a bidirectional one then Component V*c was selected based on the AC source. Therefore, based on that interpretation Component V*c can also be seen as a calculated value based on the “quantity of electricity”. The claims as currently recited are broad due to the language of based on and corresponding to both of which do not provide clear concrete definitions of the control parameters relationship to the AC system. The Examiner would suggest amending the claims to properly define this relationship. Based on this reasoning above the Examiner believes that Akagi teaches the newly recited limitations and therefore has provided a modified rejection of claims 1-10 and 13-20 in light of the amendments below.
The Applicant also presents a set of arguments pointing out their rational of how the prior art references do not teach the claim limitations that are recited in claim 12. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant presents the argument that the combination of Miura (JP 2009 291019 A) in view of Aramaki (US 2018/0278046 A1) does not teach the limitations recited in claims 12 and specifically points to the limitation of “wherein the control device performs control to increase a switching frequency of the switching element when a rate of change of a control command value for the self- commutated power converter becomes equal to or greater than a reference rate of change” not being taught by the combination. The Applicant’s argument has been reproduced below for purposes of clarity and can also be found on pages 15 and 16 of the submitted remarks.
Based on paragraphs [0047] to [0050] of Miura, the Office Action alleges that Miura discloses the control for increasing the switching frequency of the switching element when the control command value becomes equal to or larger than the reference value. In this connection, paragraphs [0047] to [0050] disclose that the frequency is increased when the duty ratio is equal to or higher than the threshold value. However, since the duty ratio is a function of a current error which is a deviation between the current control command value Id* or Iq* and the actual current value Id or Iq, it is clear that Miura does not consider the rate of change of the control command value in controlling the switching frequency.
Further, the Office Action alleges that Aramaki (US20180278046) discloses comparing current change rate R1 with reference change rate Rs. However, current change rate R1 is a change rate of the direct current between power converter 5 and direct current line 91, and the direct current is completely different from a "control command value for the self-commutated power converter" as recited in claim 12.
Therefore, Aramaki fails to disclose or suggest comparing a rate of change of the control command value for the self-commutated power converter with a reference rate of change.
In other words, Aramaki is silent with regard to the feature "wherein the control device performs control to increase a switching frequency of the switching element when a rate of change of a control command value for the self-commutated power converter becomes equal to or greater than a reference rate of change" as recited in claim 12.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and would like to start off by pointing out that one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Furthermore, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Miura already teaches the function of increasing the switching frequency when a control command value for the self-commutated power converter becomes equal to or greater than a reference (Paragraph 0047-0050). Aramaki teaches that a comparison does not have to be between two values but can be based on rates of change as well (Paragraph 0035). So the combination is not based on the fact that Aramaki is used in place of the control sequence Miura teaches but rather suggests that Miura can change the instantaneous control and reference parameters to be rate of change parameters instead for the purpose of providing a control scheme that switches along with dynamic conditions of a varying load. Based on the reasoning the Examiner believes the rejection of claim 12 was properly made.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/13/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akagi (EP 2784927 B1) in view of Miura (JP 2009 291019 A – Translation Attached).
Regarding claim 1, Akagi teaches a power conversion device (Figure 7) comprising: a self-commutated power converter (Figure 7 Component 2) to perform power conversion between an AC power system (Figure 7 Component AC source) and a DC power system (Figure 7 Component Vdc); and a control device (Figures 9-10) to control switching operation of a switching element (Figure 7 Components Cells 1-4 each comprise switches; Figures 2A and 2B show two configurations possible to use for each cell) included in the self-commutated power converter (Figure 2 Components SW), wherein the control device calculates a deviation (Figure 9C the comparison between Component i*z and Component iz generates a difference which can be seen as the deviation OR Figure 9A Components V*c and (VaveC)dc is compared and generates a difference as well that can be seen as the deviation) between a control command value (Figure 9B Component i*z OR Figure 9A Component V*c) for the self-commutated power converter, corresponding to a quantity of electricity of the AC power system or a calculated value based on the quantity of electricity (Component i*z meets this claim limitation because as seen in Figure 9C it is based on Component i*Z0 which in turn is based on Component (VaveC)dc as seen in Figure 9A which is a value from the DC capacitors which are based on the quantity of electricity of the AC power system thus Component i*z would be “a calculated value based on the quantity of electricity” and due to the “or” clause present in the claim would meet the claim limitation. Figure 9A Component V*c can also be interpretated as being “a calculated value based on the quantity of electricity” as well because Component V*c is a predetermined DC voltage command value meaning it is a value that was calculated and determined to be a reference point based on the conditions of the system and one of those conditions would be the load or the source and since this system disclosed by Akagi is a bidirectional one then Component V*c was selected based on the AC source. Therefore, based on that interpretation Component V*c can also be seen as a calculated value based on the “quantity of electricity”), and a feedback value (Figure 9B Component iz OR Figure 9A Component (VaveC)dc) from the self-commutated power converter (Figure 9B Component iz is highlighted as being the circulating current that is fedback to the controller).
Akagi does not teach wherein the controller performs first control to increase a switching frequency of the switching element when the deviation becomes equal to or greater than a first threshold value.
Miura teaches a power conversion device (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0017-0024) comprising: a self-commutated power converter (Figure 1 Component 10; Paragraphs 0017-0024) to perform power conversion between an AC circuit (Figure 1 Component M) and a DC circuit (Figure 1 Component B); and a control device (Figure 1 Component 20; Component 20 is seen in further detail in Figure 2) to control switching operation of a switching element (Figure 1 Components E1-E8) included in the self-commutated power converter (Paragraphs 0017-0019), wherein the control device calculates a deviation (Figure 2 Component 54 calculates a deviation of currents from their references and outputs them as Vd* and Vq*) between a control command value (Figure 2 Components Id* and Iq*) for the self-commutated power converter and a feedback value (Figure 2 components Id and Iq are calculated based on feedback values of Iu, Iv and Iw) from the self-commutated power converter (Figure 2 Components 54-58; Paragraphs 0038 and 0040), and performs first control to increase a switching frequency of the switching element when the deviation becomes equal to or greater than a first threshold value (Paragraphs 0047-0050; the duty cycle, among other conditions, depends on the current deviation (see block 54 in fig. 2), whereas a control command value is Id* or lq*, and a feedback value is Id or lq (calculated based on feedback values lu, Iv and Iw), and the duty cycle is a function of said current deviation. Therefore, when the frequency is changed based on the value of the threshold of the duty cycle, it is also implicitly changed based on a corresponding threshold of said error (deviation)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Akagi and incorporate changing the switching frequency based on the deviation as taught by Miura. The advantage of this design is that the power converter can quickly adapt to the changes within the system ensuring less switching loss when dynamic loads are introduced leading to a more efficient system.
Regarding claim 2, Akagi and Miura teach all the limitations claim 1. Akagi does not teach wherein when the deviation becomes less than the first threshold value after the first control is performed, the control device performs second control to reduce the increased switching frequency of the switching element.
Miura teaches a power conversion device (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0017-0024) comprising: a self-commutated power converter (Figure 1 Component 10; Paragraphs 0017-0024) to perform power conversion between an AC circuit (Figure 1 Component M) and a DC circuit (Figure 1 Component B); and a control device (Figure 1 Component 20; Component 20 is seen in further detail in Figure 2) to control switching operation of a switching element (Figure 1 Components E1-E8) included in the self-commutated power converter (Paragraphs 0017-0019), wherein the control device calculates a deviation (Figure 2 Component 54 calculates a deviation of currents from their references and outputs them as Vd* and Vq*) between a control command value (Figure 2 Components Id* and Iq*) for the self-commutated power converter and a feedback value (Figure 2 components Id and Iq are calculated based on feedback values of Iu, Iv and Iw) from the self-commutated power converter (Figure 2 Components 54-58; Paragraphs 0038 and 0040), and performs first control to increase a switching frequency of the switching element when the deviation becomes equal to or greater than a first threshold value (Paragraphs 0047-0050; the duty cycle, among other conditions, depends on the current deviation (see block 54 in fig. 2), whereas a control command value is Id* or lq*, and a feedback value is Id or lq (calculated based on feedback values lu, Iv and Iw), and the duty cycle is a function of said current deviation. Therefore, when the frequency is changed based on the value of the threshold of the duty cycle, it is also implicitly changed based on a corresponding threshold of said error (deviation)), wherein when the deviation becomes less than the first threshold value after the first control is performed, the control device performs second control to reduce the increased switching frequency of the switching element (Paragraphs 0047-0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Akagi and incorporate changing the switching frequency based on the deviation as taught by Miura. The advantage of this design is that the power converter can quickly adapt to the changes within the system ensuring less switching loss when dynamic loads are introduced leading to a more efficient system.
Regarding claim 3, Akagi and Miura teach all the limitations claim 1. Akagi does not teach wherein when the deviation becomes less than a second threshold value smaller than the first threshold value after the first control is performed, the control device performs second control to reduce the increased switching frequency of the switching element (Paragraphs 0047-0050).
Miura teaches a power conversion device (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0017-0024) comprising: a self-commutated power converter (Figure 1 Component 10; Paragraphs 0017-0024) to perform power conversion between an AC circuit (Figure 1 Component M) and a DC circuit (Figure 1 Component B); and a control device (Figure 1 Component 20; Component 20 is seen in further detail in Figure 2) to control switching operation of a switching element (Figure 1 Components E1-E8) included in the self-commutated power converter (Paragraphs 0017-0019), wherein the control device calculates a deviation (Figure 2 Component 54 calculates a deviation of currents from their references and outputs them as Vd* and Vq*) between a control command value (Figure 2 Components Id* and Iq*) for the self-commutated power converter and a feedback value (Figure 2 components Id and Iq are calculated based on feedback values of Iu, Iv and Iw) from the self-commutated power converter (Figure 2 Components 54-58; Paragraphs 0038 and 0040), and performs first control to increase a switching frequency of the switching element when the deviation becomes equal to or greater than a first threshold value (Paragraphs 0047-0050; the duty cycle, among other conditions, depends on the current deviation (see block 54 in fig. 2), whereas a control command value is Id* or lq*, and a feedback value is Id or lq (calculated based on feedback values lu, Iv and Iw), and the duty cycle is a function of said current deviation. Therefore, when the frequency is changed based on the value of the threshold of the duty cycle, it is also implicitly changed based on a corresponding threshold of said error (deviation)), wherein when the deviation becomes less than a second threshold value smaller than the first threshold value after the first control is performed, the control device performs second control to reduce the increased switching frequency of the switching element (Paragraphs 0047-0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Akagi and incorporate changing the switching frequency based on the deviation as taught by Miura. The advantage of this design is that the power converter can quickly adapt to the changes within the system ensuring less switching loss when dynamic loads are introduced leading to a more efficient system.
Regarding claim 4, Akagi and Miura teach all the limitations claim 1. Akagi does not teach wherein the control device performs the first control until a first time period elapses since the deviation becomes equal to or greater than the first threshold value.
Miura teaches a power conversion device (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0017-0024) comprising: a self-commutated power converter (Figure 1 Component 10; Paragraphs 0017-0024) to perform power conversion between an AC circuit (Figure 1 Component M) and a DC circuit (Figure 1 Component B); and a control device (Figure 1 Component 20; Component 20 is seen in further detail in Figure 2) to control switching operation of a switching element (Figure 1 Components E1-E8) included in the self-commutated power converter (Paragraphs 0017-0019), wherein the control device calculates a deviation (Figure 2 Component 54 calculates a deviation of currents from their references and outputs them as Vd* and Vq*) between a control command value (Figure 2 Components Id* and Iq*) for the self-commutated power converter and a feedback value (Figure 2 components Id and Iq are calculated based on feedback values of Iu, Iv and Iw) from the self-commutated power converter (Figure 2 Components 54-58; Paragraphs 0038 and 0040), and performs first control to increase a switching frequency of the switching element when the deviation becomes equal to or greater than a first threshold value (Paragraphs 0047-0050; the duty cycle, among other conditions, depends on the current deviation (see block 54 in fig. 2), whereas a control command value is Id* or lq*, and a feedback value is Id or lq (calculated based on feedback values lu, Iv and Iw), and the duty cycle is a function of said current deviation. Therefore, when the frequency is changed based on the value of the threshold of the duty cycle, it is also implicitly changed based on a corresponding threshold of said error (deviation)), wherein the control device performs the first control (Paragraph 0048; Sf changes from low frequency f1 to high frequency f2) until a first time period elapses (Paragraph 0046; switching signals are determined by each carrier period by calculating the on time of the PWM pulse) since the deviation becomes equal to or greater than the first threshold value (Paragraph 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Akagi and incorporate changing the switching frequency based on the deviation as taught by Miura. The advantage of this design is that the power converter can quickly adapt to the changes within the system ensuring less switching loss when dynamic loads are introduced leading to a more efficient system.
Regarding claim 5, Akagi and Miura teach all the limitations claim 1. Akagi does not teach wherein the control device performs the first control until a first time period elapses since the deviation becomes equal to or greater than the first threshold value, and performs second control to reduce the switching frequency of the switching element that is increased in accordance with the first control, when the deviation is less than the first threshold value when the first time period elapses since the deviation becomes equal to or greater than the first threshold value.
Miura teaches a power conversion device (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0017-0024) comprising: a self-commutated power converter (Figure 1 Component 10; Paragraphs 0017-0024) to perform power conversion between an AC circuit (Figure 1 Component M) and a DC circuit (Figure 1 Component B); and a control device (Figure 1 Component 20; Component 20 is seen in further detail in Figure 2) to control switching operation of a switching element (Figure 1 Components E1-E8) included in the self-commutated power converter (Paragraphs 0017-0019), wherein the control device calculates a deviation (Figure 2 Component 54 calculates a deviation of currents from their references and outputs them as Vd* and Vq*) between a control command value (Figure 2 Components Id* and Iq*) for the self-commutated power converter and a feedback value (Figure 2 components Id and Iq are calculated based on feedback values of Iu, Iv and Iw) from the self-commutated power converter (Figure 2 Components 54-58; Paragraphs 0038 and 0040), and performs first control to increase a switching frequency of the switching element when the deviation becomes equal to or greater than a first threshold value (Paragraphs 0047-0050; the duty cycle, among other conditions, depends on the current deviation (see block 54 in fig. 2), whereas a control command value is Id* or lq*, and a feedback value is Id or lq (calculated based on feedback values lu, Iv and Iw), and the duty cycle is a function of said current deviation. Therefore, when the frequency is changed based on the value of the threshold of the duty cycle, it is also implicitly changed based on a corresponding threshold of said error (deviation)), wherein the control device performs the first control (Paragraph 0048; Sf changes from low frequency f1 to high frequency f2) until a first time period elapses (Paragraph 0046; switching signals are determined by each carrier period by calculating the on time of the PWM pulse) since the deviation becomes equal to or greater than the first threshold value (Paragraph 0047), and performs second control (Paragraph 0048; Sf changes from high frequency f2 to low frequency f1) to reduce the switching frequency of the switching element that is increased in accordance with the first control, when the deviation is less than the first threshold value when the first time period elapses (Paragraph 0046; switching signals are determined by each carrier period by calculating the on time of the PWM pulse) since the deviation becomes equal to or greater than the first threshold value (Paragraph 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Akagi and incorporate changing the switching frequency based on the deviation as taught by Miura. The advantage of this design is that the power converter can quickly adapt to the changes within the system ensuring less switching loss when dynamic loads are introduced leading to a more efficient system.
Regarding claim 6, Akagi and Miura teach all the limitations claim 1. Akagi does not teach wherein the first control includes increasing a switching frequency of the switching element stepwise or continuously.
Miura teaches a power conversion device (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0017-0024) comprising: a self-commutated power converter (Figure 1 Component 10; Paragraphs 0017-0024) to perform power conversion between an AC circuit (Figure 1 Component M) and a DC circuit (Figure 1 Component B); and a control device (Figure 1 Component 20; Component 20 is seen in further detail in Figure 2) to control switching operation of a switching element (Figure 1 Components E1-E8) included in the self-commutated power converter (Paragraphs 0017-0019), wherein the control device calculates a deviation (Figure 2 Component 54 calculates a deviation of currents from their references and outputs them as Vd* and Vq*) between a control command value (Figure 2 Components Id* and Iq*) for the self-commutated power converter and a feedback value (Figure 2 components Id and Iq are calculated based on feedback values of Iu, Iv and Iw) from the self-commutated power converter (Figure 2 Components 54-58; Paragraphs 0038 and 0040), and performs first control to increase a switching frequency of the switching element when the deviation becomes equal to or greater than a first threshold value (Paragraphs 0047-0050; the duty cycle, among other conditions, depends on the current deviation (see block 54 in fig. 2), whereas a control command value is Id* or lq*, and a feedback value is Id or lq (calculated based on feedback values lu, Iv and Iw), and the duty cycle is a function of said current deviation. Therefore, when the frequency is changed based on the value of the threshold of the duty cycle, it is also implicitly changed based on a corresponding threshold of said error (deviation)), wherein the first control includes increasing a switching frequency of the switching element stepwise or continuously (Paragraphs 0047-0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Akagi and incorporate changing the switching frequency based on the deviation as taught by Miura. The advantage of this design is that the power converter can quickly adapt to the changes within the system ensuring less switching loss when dynamic loads are introduced leading to a more efficient system.
Regarding claim 7, Akagi and Miura teach all the limitations claim 1. Akagi further teaches wherein the control command value is a reactive current command value (Figure 9C Component i*z), and the feedback value is a reactive current value calculated based on an AC current and an AC voltage in the AC power system (Figure 9C Component iz).
Regarding claim 8, Akagi and Miura teach all the limitations claim 1. Akagi further teaches wherein the control command value is an active current command value (Figure 9C Component i*z), and the feedback value is an active current value calculated based on an AC current and an AC voltage in the AC power system (Figure 9C Component iz).
Regarding claim 9, Akagi and Miura teach all the limitations claim 1. Akagi further teaches wherein the control command value is a system voltage command value (Figure 9A Component V*C), and the feedback value is a system voltage value of the AC power system (Figure 9A Component (VaveC)dc is a DC voltage generated in the capacitors by the AC circuit).
Regarding claim 10, Akagi and Miura teach all the limitations claim 1. Akagi further teaches wherein the self-commutated power converter includes a plurality of leg circuits, and the leg circuits each include a plurality of converter cells cascaded to each other, and the converter cells each include a capacitor and the switching element (Figure 7 Components Cells 1-4).
Regarding claim 13, Akagi and Miura teach all the limitations claim 2. Akagi does not teach wherein the control device performs the first control until a first time period elapses since the deviation becomes equal to or greater than the first threshold value.
Miura teaches a power conversion device (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0017-0024) comprising: a self-commutated power converter (Figure 1 Component 10; Paragraphs 0017-0024) to perform power conversion between an AC circuit (Figure 1 Component M) and a DC circuit (Figure 1 Component B); and a control device (Figure 1 Component 20; Component 20 is seen in further detail in Figure 2) to control switching operation of a switching element (Figure 1 Components E1-E8) included in the self-commutated power converter (Paragraphs 0017-0019), wherein the control device calculates a deviation (Figure 2 Component 54 calculates a deviation of currents from their references and outputs them as Vd* and Vq*) between a control command value (Figure 2 Components Id* and Iq*) for the self-commutated power converter and a feedback value (Figure 2 components Id and Iq are calculated based on feedback values of Iu, Iv and Iw) from the self-commutated power converter (Figure 2 Components 54-58; Paragraphs 0038 and 0040), and performs first control to increase a switching frequency of the switching element when the deviation becomes equal to or greater than a first threshold value (Paragraphs 0047-0050; the duty cycle, among other conditions, depends on the current deviation (see block 54 in fig. 2), whereas a control command value is Id* or lq*, and a feedback value is Id or lq (calculated based on feedback values lu, Iv and Iw), and the duty cycle is a function of said current deviation. Therefore, when the frequency is changed based on the value of the threshold of the duty cycle, it is also implicitly changed based on a corresponding threshold of said error (deviation)), wherein the control device performs the first control (Paragraph 0048; Sf changes from low frequency f1 to high frequency f2) until a first time period elapses (Paragraph 0046; switching signals are determined by each carrier period by calculating the on time of the PWM pulse) since the deviation becomes equal to or greater than the first threshold value (Paragraph 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Akagi and incorporate changing the switching frequency based on the deviation as taught by Miura. The advantage of this design is that the power converter can quickly adapt to the changes within the system ensuring less switching loss when dynamic loads are introduced leading to a more efficient system.
Regarding claim 14, Akagi and Miura teach all the limitations claim 3. Akagi does not teach wherein the control device performs the first control until a first time period elapses since the deviation becomes equal to or greater than the first threshold value.
Miura teaches a power conversion device (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0017-0024) comprising: a self-commutated power converter (Figure 1 Component 10; Paragraphs 0017-0024) to perform power conversion between an AC circuit (Figure 1 Component M) and a DC circuit (Figure 1 Component B); and a control device (Figure 1 Component 20; Component 20 is seen in further detail in Figure 2) to control switching operation of a switching element (Figure 1 Components E1-E8) included in the self-commutated power converter (Paragraphs 0017-0019), wherein the control device calculates a deviation (Figure 2 Component 54 calculates a deviation of currents from their references and outputs them as Vd* and Vq*) between a control command value (Figure 2 Components Id* and Iq*) for the self-commutated power converter and a feedback value (Figure 2 components Id and Iq are calculated based on feedback values of Iu, Iv and Iw) from the self-commutated power converter (Figure 2 Components 54-58; Paragraphs 0038 and 0040), and performs first control to increase a switching frequency of the switching element when the deviation becomes equal to or greater than a first threshold value (Paragraphs 0047-0050; the duty cycle, among other conditions, depends on the current deviation (see block 54 in fig. 2), whereas a control command value is Id* or lq*, and a feedback value is Id or lq (calculated based on feedback values lu, Iv and Iw), and the duty cycle is a function of said current deviation. Therefore, when the frequency is changed based on the value of the threshold of the duty cycle, it is also implicitly changed based on a corresponding threshold of said error (deviation)), wherein the control device performs the first control (Paragraph 0048; Sf changes from low frequency f1 to high frequency f2) until a first time period elapses (Paragraph 0046; switching signals are determined by each carrier period by calculating the on time of the PWM pulse) since the deviation becomes equal to or greater than the first threshold value (Paragraph 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Akagi and incorporate changing the switching frequency based on the deviation as taught by Miura. The advantage of this design is that the power converter can quickly adapt to the changes within the system ensuring less switching loss when dynamic loads are introduced leading to a more efficient system.
Regarding claim 15, Akagi and Miura teach all the limitations claim 2. Akagi does not teach wherein the control device performs the first control until a first time period elapses since the deviation becomes equal to or greater than the first threshold value, and performs second control to reduce the switching frequency of the switching element that is increased in accordance with the first control, when the deviation is less than the first threshold value when the first time period elapses since the deviation becomes equal to or greater than the first threshold value.
Miura teaches a power conversion device (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0017-0024) comprising: a self-commutated power converter (Figure 1 Component 10; Paragraphs 0017-0024) to perform power conversion between an AC circuit (Figure 1 Component M) and a DC circuit (Figure 1 Component B); and a control device (Figure 1 Component 20; Component 20 is seen in further detail in Figure 2) to control switching operation of a switching element (Figure 1 Components E1-E8) included in the self-commutated power converter (Paragraphs 0017-0019), wherein the control device calculates a deviation (Figure 2 Component 54 calculates a deviation of currents from their references and outputs them as Vd* and Vq*) between a control command value (Figure 2 Components Id* and Iq*) for the self-commutated power converter and a feedback value (Figure 2 components Id and Iq are calculated based on feedback values of Iu, Iv and Iw) from the self-commutated power converter (Figure 2 Components 54-58; Paragraphs 0038 and 0040), and performs first control to increase a switching frequency of the switching element when the deviation becomes equal to or greater than a first threshold value (Paragraphs 0047-0050; the duty cycle, among other conditions, depends on the current deviation (see block 54 in fig. 2), whereas a control command value is Id* or lq*, and a feedback value is Id or lq (calculated based on feedback values lu, Iv and Iw), and the duty cycle is a function of said current deviation. Therefore, when the frequency is changed based on the value of the threshold of the duty cycle, it is also implicitly changed based on a corresponding threshold of said error (deviation)), wherein the control device performs the first control (Paragraph 0048; Sf changes from low frequency f1 to high frequency f2) until a first time period elapses (Paragraph 0046; switching signals are determined by each carrier period by calculating the on time of the PWM pulse) since the deviation becomes equal to or greater than the first threshold value (Paragraph 0047), and performs second control (Paragraph 0048; Sf changes from high frequency f2 to low frequency f1) to reduce the switching frequency of the switching element that is increased in accordance with the first control, when the deviation is less than the first threshold value when the first time period elapses (Paragraph 0046; switching signals are determined by each carrier period by calculating the on time of the PWM pulse) since the deviation becomes equal to or greater than the first threshold value (Paragraph 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Akagi and incorporate changing the switching frequency based on the deviation as taught by Miura. The advantage of this design is that the power converter can quickly adapt to the changes within the system ensuring less switching loss when dynamic loads are introduced leading to a more efficient system.
Regarding claim 16, Akagi and Miura teach all the limitations claim 3. Akagi does not teach wherein the control device performs the first control until a first time period elapses since the deviation becomes equal to or greater than the first threshold value, and performs second control to reduce the switching frequency of the switching element that is increased in accordance with the first control, when the deviation is less than the first threshold value when the first time period elapses since the deviation becomes equal to or greater than the first threshold value.
Miura teaches a power conversion device (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0017-0024) comprising: a self-commutated power converter (Figure 1 Component 10; Paragraphs 0017-0024) to perform power conversion between an AC circuit (Figure 1 Component M) and a DC circuit (Figure 1 Component B); and a control device (Figure 1 Component 20; Component 20 is seen in further detail in Figure 2) to control switching operation of a switching element (Figure 1 Components E1-E8) included in the self-commutated power converter (Paragraphs 0017-0019), wherein the control device calculates a deviation (Figure 2 Component 54 calculates a deviation of currents from their references and outputs them as Vd* and Vq*) between a control command value (Figure 2 Components Id* and Iq*) for the self-commutated power converter and a feedback value (Figure 2 components Id and Iq are calculated based on feedback values of Iu, Iv and Iw) from the self-commutated power converter (Figure 2 Components 54-58; Paragraphs 0038 and 0040), and performs first control to increase a switching frequency of the switching element when the deviation becomes equal to or greater than a first threshold value (Paragraphs 0047-0050; the duty cycle, among other conditions, depends on the current deviation (see block 54 in fig. 2), whereas a control command value is Id* or lq*, and a feedback value is Id or lq (calculated based on feedback values lu, Iv and Iw), and the duty cycle is a function of said current deviation. Therefore, when the frequency is changed based on the value of the threshold of the duty cycle, it is also implicitly changed based on a corresponding threshold of said error (deviation)), wherein the control device performs the first control (Paragraph 0048; Sf changes from low frequency f1 to high frequency f2) until a first time period elapses (Paragraph 0046; switching signals are determined by each carrier period by calculating the on time of the PWM pulse) since the deviation becomes equal to or greater than the first threshold value (Paragraph 0047), and performs second control (Paragraph 0048; Sf changes from high frequency f2 to low frequency f1) to reduce the switching frequency of the switching element that is increased in accordance with the first control, when the deviation is less than the first threshold value when the first time period elapses (Paragraph 0046; switching signals are determined by each carrier period by calculating the on time of the PWM pulse) since the deviation becomes equal to or greater than the first threshold value (Paragraph 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Akagi and incorporate changing the switching frequency based on the deviation as taught by Miura. The advantage of this design is that the power converter can quickly adapt to the changes within the system ensuring less switching loss when dynamic loads are introduced leading to a more efficient system.
Regarding claim 17, Akagi and Miura teach all the limitations claim 2. Akagi does not teach wherein the first control includes increasing a switching frequency of the switching element stepwise or continuously.
Miura teaches a power conversion device (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0017-0024) comprising: a self-commutated power converter (Figure 1 Component 10; Paragraphs 0017-0024) to perform power conversion between an AC circuit (Figure 1 Component M) and a DC circuit (Figure 1 Component B); and a control device (Figure 1 Component 20; Component 20 is seen in further detail in Figure 2) to control switching operation of a switching element (Figure 1 Components E1-E8) included in the self-commutated power converter (Paragraphs 0017-0019), wherein the control device calculates a deviation (Figure 2 Component 54 calculates a deviation of currents from their references and outputs them as Vd* and Vq*) between a control command value (Figure 2 Components Id* and Iq*) for the self-commutated power converter and a feedback value (Figure 2 components Id and Iq are calculated based on feedback values of Iu, Iv and Iw) from the self-commutated power converter (Figure 2 Components 54-58; Paragraphs 0038 and 0040), and performs first control to increase a switching frequency of the switching element when the deviation becomes equal to or greater than a first threshold value (Paragraphs 0047-0050; the duty cycle, among other conditions, depends on the current deviation (see block 54 in fig. 2), whereas a control command value is Id* or lq*, and a feedback value is Id or lq (calculated based on feedback values lu, Iv and Iw), and the duty cycle is a function of said current deviation. Therefore, when the frequency is changed based on the value of the threshold of the duty cycle, it is also implicitly changed based on a corresponding threshold of said error (deviation)), wherein the first control includes increasing a switching frequency of the switching element stepwise or continuously (Paragraphs 0047-0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Akagi and incorporate changing the switching frequency based on the deviation as taught by Miura. The advantage of this design is that the power converter can quickly adapt to the changes within the system ensuring less switching loss when dynamic loads are introduced leading to a more efficient system.
Regarding claim 18, Akagi and Miura teach all the limitations claim 3. Akagi does not teach wherein the first control includes increasing a switching frequency of the switching element stepwise or continuously.
Miura teaches a power conversion device (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0017-0024) comprising: a self-commutated power converter (Figure 1 Component 10; Paragraphs 0017-0024) to perform power conversion between an AC circuit (Figure 1 Component M) and a DC circuit (Figure 1 Component B); and a control device (Figure 1 Component 20; Component 20 is seen in further detail in Figure 2) to control switching operation of a switching element (Figure 1 Components E1-E8) included in the self-commutated power converter (Paragraphs 0017-0019), wherein the control device calculates a deviation (Figure 2 Component 54 calculates a deviation of currents from their references and outputs them as Vd* and Vq*) between a control command value (Figure 2 Components Id* and Iq*) for the self-commutated power converter and a feedback value (Figure 2 components Id and Iq are calculated based on feedback values of Iu, Iv and Iw) from the self-commutated power converter (Figure 2 Components 54-58; Paragraphs 0038 and 0040), and performs first control to increase a switching frequency of the switching element when the deviation becomes equal to or greater than a first threshold value (Paragraphs 0047-0050; the duty cycle, among other conditions, depends on the current deviation (see block 54 in fig. 2), whereas a control command value is Id* or lq*, and a feedback value is Id or lq (calculated based on feedback values lu, Iv and Iw), and the duty cycle is a function of said current deviation. Therefore, when the frequency is changed based on the value of the threshold of the duty cycle, it is also implicitly changed based on a corresponding threshold of said error (deviation)), wherein the first control includes increasing a switching frequency of the switching element stepwise or continuously (Paragraphs 0047-0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Akagi and incorporate changing the switching frequency based on the deviation as taught by Miura. The advantage of this design is that the power converter can quickly adapt to the changes within the system ensuring less switching loss when dynamic loads are introduced leading to a more efficient system.
Regarding claim 19, Akagi and Miura teach all the limitations claim 4. Akagi does not teach wherein the first control includes increasing a switching frequency of the switching element stepwise or continuously.
Miura teaches a power conversion device (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0017-0024) comprising: a self-commutated power converter (Figure 1 Component 10; Paragraphs 0017-0024) to perform power conversion between an AC circuit (Figure 1 Component M) and a DC circuit (Figure 1 Component B); and a control device (Figure 1 Component 20; Component 20 is seen in further detail in Figure 2) to control switching operation of a switching element (Figure 1 Components E1-E8) included in the self-commutated power converter (Paragraphs 0017-0019), wherein the control device calculates a deviation (Figure 2 Component 54 calculates a deviation of currents from their references and outputs them as Vd* and Vq*) between a control command value (Figure 2 Components Id* and Iq*) for the self-commutated power converter and a feedback value (Figure 2 components Id and Iq are calculated based on feedback values of Iu, Iv and Iw) from the self-commutated power converter (Figure 2 Components 54-58; Paragraphs 0038 and 0040), and performs first control to increase a switching frequency of the switching element when the deviation becomes equal to or greater than a first threshold value (Paragraphs 0047-0050; the duty cycle, among other conditions, depends on the current deviation (see block 54 in fig. 2), whereas a control command value is Id* or lq*, and a feedback value is Id or lq (calculated based on feedback values lu, Iv and Iw), and the duty cycle is a function of said current deviation. Therefore, when the frequency is changed based on the value of the threshold of the duty cycle, it is also implicitly changed based on a corresponding threshold of said error (deviation)), wherein the first control includes increasing a switching frequency of the switching element stepwise or continuously (Paragraphs 0047-0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Akagi and incorporate changing the switching frequency based on the deviation as taught by Miura. The advantage of this design is that the power converter can quickly adapt to the changes within the system ensuring less switching loss when dynamic loads are introduced leading to a more efficient system.
Regarding claim 20, Akagi and Miura teach all the limitations claim 5. Akagi does not teach wherein the first control includes increasing a switching frequency of the switching element stepwise or continuously.
Miura teaches a power conversion device (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0017-0024) comprising: a self-commutated power converter (Figure 1 Component 10; Paragraphs 0017-0024) to perform power conversion between an AC circuit (Figure 1 Component M) and a DC circuit (Figure 1 Component B); and a control device (Figure 1 Component 20; Component 20 is seen in further detail in Figure 2) to control switching operation of a switching element (Figure 1 Components E1-E8) included in the self-commutated power converter (Paragraphs 0017-0019), wherein the control device calculates a deviation (Figure 2 Component 54 calculates a deviation of currents from their references and outputs them as Vd* and Vq*) between a control command value (Figure 2 Components Id* and Iq*) for the self-commutated power converter and a feedback value (Figure 2 components Id and Iq are calculated based on feedback values of Iu, Iv and Iw) from the self-commutated power converter (Figure 2 Components 54-58; Paragraphs 0038 and 0040), and performs first control to increase a switching frequency of the switching element when the deviation becomes equal to or greater than a first threshold value (Paragraphs 0047-0050; the duty cycle, among other conditions, depends on the current deviation (see block 54 in fig. 2), whereas a control command value is Id* or lq*, and a feedback value is Id or lq (calculated based on feedback values lu, Iv and Iw), and the duty cycle is a function of said current deviation. Therefore, when the frequency is changed based on the value of the threshold of the duty cycle, it is also implicitly changed based on a corresponding threshold of said error (deviation)), wherein the first control includes increasing a switching frequency of the switching element stepwise or continuously (Paragraphs 0047-0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Akagi and incorporate changing the switching frequency based on the deviation as taught by Miura. The advantage of this design is that the power converter can quickly adapt to the changes within the system ensuring less switching loss when dynamic loads are introduced leading to a more efficient system.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura (JP 2009 291019 A – Translation Attached) in view of Aramaki (US 2018/0278046 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Miura teaches a power conversion device (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0017-0024) comprising: a self-commutated power converter (Figure 1 Component 10; Paragraphs 0017-0024) to perform power conversion between an AC circuit (Figure 1 Component M) and a DC circuit (Figure 1 Component B); and a control device (Figure 1 Component 20; Component 20 is seen in further detail in Figure 2) to control switching operation of a switching element (Figure 1 Components E1-E8) included in the self-commutated power converter (Paragraphs 0017-0019), wherein the control device performs control to increase a switching frequency of the switching element (Paragraphs 0047-0050) when a control command value for the self-commutated power converter becomes equal to or greater than a reference (Paragraph 0047-0050).
Miura does not teach performing a comparison between a rate of change of a control command value and to a reference rate of change value.
Aramaki teaches a control method comprising a comparison between a rate of change of a control command value and to a reference rate of change value (Paragraph 0035 “the absolute value of current change rate R1 is equal to or greater than a reference change rate Rs”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Miura to incorporate comparing a rate of change instead of an instantaneous value as taught by Aramaki. The advantage of this design is that a trend can be seen allowing to a gradual change in switching operations based on dynamic conditions.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Shahzeb K Ahmad/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838