DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 is construed to be indefinite because the recitation “the ejected air” lacks a positive antecedent basis. Claims 2-14 are further construed to be indefinite since all depend upon an indefinite claim either directly or indirectly, and are indefinite by dependency.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: hand detection means in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Courtney et al. (US 10,694,906). The claims are reasonably and broadly construed, in light of the accompanying specification, to be disclosed by Courtney because each of the claim features are shown on the face of that reference and Courtney teaches:
a hand drying apparatus comprising:
a housing 3;
a blower 5 provided inside the housing; and
a nozzle part 10 to eject air delivered from the blower, out of the housing such that the ejected air fans out, the nozzle part being provided at one of left and right side parts of the housing when viewed from a user facing the housing (shown on the prima facie figure). Courtney also discloses the claim 2 feature wherein the nozzle part ejects the air in a shape of a fan downwardly in a range defined between a horizontal direction and a vertical direction (right face figure), the claim 3 feature wherein the nozzle part ejects the air in the shape of the fan in a range from 0 degrees to 60 degrees inclusive when the horizontal direction is defined as providing 0° and the vertical direction is defined as providing 90° (right face figure), the claim 4 feature wherein the nozzle part ejects the air in the shape of the fan in a range from 0° to 30 inclusive when the horizontal direction is defined as providing 0° and the vertical direction is defined as providing 90° (left face figure), the claim 11 feature wherein the housing is in a shape of a cylinder, a prism, a semicylinder, a polyhedron other than the prism, a sphere, or a hemisphere, (left face figure), and the claim 13 feature wherein the housing includes the nozzle part at each of the left and right side parts of the housing (right face figure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Courtney in view of Dyson et al. (US 2009/0113748). Courtney discloses the claimed invention, as rejected above, except for the claim 5 feature wherein the nozzle part includes an air outlet that is an opening through which an inside of the housing communicates with an outside of the housing, and the air outlet includes a substantially arc-shaped portion between an uppermost edge of the air outlet and a lowermost edge of the air outlet, the arc-shaped portion being convex in an outward direction of the housing, relative to a straight line interconnecting the uppermost edge and the lowermost edge and except for the claim 10 feature of a hand detection means to detect an insertion of an user's hand into an outside space of the housing, toward which space the nozzle part ejects the air, wherein the hand detection means is provided in front of the nozzle part in the housing, the front being near the user when viewed from the user facing the housing. Dyson, another hand dryer, shows the claim 5 feature in figure 2 and the claim 10 feature in paragraph [0023]. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Courtney with the teachings of Dyson for the purpose of optimizing a shape and/or detecting hand for efficient drying. Furthermore, Courtney and/or in view of Dyson discloses the claim 6 shorter length, claim 7 outlet close to a front, claim 8 external surface flush, claim 9 greater opening width, or claim 12 feature of shape. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to recite and claim those features, since the teachings of Courtney and/or Dyson would perform the invention, as claimed, regardless of those features and applicants have not claimed or specified the criticality of those features as being necessary for patentability.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Courtney in view of Bayley et al. (US 9,441,885). Courtney discloses the claimed invention, as rejected above, except for the claim 14 feature wherein the housing is disposed above ad washstand including a washbowl. Bayley, another hand dryer, shows that feature in figures 9, 10, 18, and 24 and at column 6 liens 21-44, column 8 lines 4-14, and column 13 lines 26-61. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Courtney with the teachings of Bayley for the purpose of optimizing a hand washing to include a space for efficient drying.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 13, and 14 of copending Application No. 18/247,515 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending application claim 1 anticipates current application claim 1 except for the current application claimed blower. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to omit the claimed blower, since the current application would perform the invention as claimed, regardless of a blower. Furthermore, current claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 and 14 are anticipated by copending application claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 6, 13, and 14 respectively.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Other prior art references cited with this application may teach one or more claim features, but do not rise to a level of anticipation, obviousness, and/or double patenting such that a rejection would be reasonable or proper under current Office practice and procedure. References A, B, C, N, O, P, Q, cited with this action, are patent publications from the same inventive entity as the current application. References D, E, F, G, H, I, J, R, S, T, cited with this application, teach hand dryer apparatus.
Monday, December 15, 2025
/STEPHEN M GRAVINI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753