DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
In the communication dated March 22, 2023, claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-18 are amended and claims 19-20 are newly added.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in FIGS. 1-6 and 9-19, element 131 is labeled as “Processing module”, however, in FIGS. 7A-8B, element 131 is labeled as “Control module”. The drawings should be corrected for consistency of a single element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the second control circuit” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The term “a second control circuit” is not found in claim 1, from which claim 15 depends.
Claim 16 is rejected based on its dependency from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al. CN111817387A.
Regarding claim 1. Qin discloses a charging/discharging circuit (FIG. 1-5), configured to charge/discharge a battery pack (110/120), wherein the battery pack comprises a first battery (110) and a second battery (120), the charging/discharging circuit comprising:
a first branch (510), comprising:
a first end configured to be connected to a voltage supply end (charging interface 310); and
a second end configured to be connected to the first battery (see connection between 510 and 110 in Fig. 1), wherein a voltage provided by the voltage supply end is configured to charge the first battery through the first branch (page 4, last full paragraph - “the second end can be connected to the first electrode of the first battery 110, and the second charging branch 510 is used to charge the first battery 110”);
a second branch (410), comprising:
a first end configured to be connected to the voltage supply end (charging interface 310);
a second end configured to be connected to the second battery (see the connection between 410 and 120 through 610), wherein the voltage provided by the voltage supply end is configured to charge the second battery (120) through the second branch (page 4, last full paragraph - “the first charging branch 410 for charging the first battery 110 and the second battery 120”); and
a first control circuit (611/6112) configured to adjust an impedance of the second branch (page 6; ¶5 - “the detection control unit 6112 generates a second current limiting control signal, and adjusting the impedance of the first switch unit 6111 according to the first current limiting control signal, so as to adjust the charging current of the second battery 120”); and
obtain a first current of the first branch and a second current of the second branch (detection control unit 6112; page 6, ¶5 - second battery 120 and the first battery 110 of the charging current ratio); and
provide an indication, based on the first current and the second current, to the first control circuit to adjust the impedance of the second branch, so as to balance the first current and the second current (page 6, ¶5 - “when the second battery 120 and the first battery 110 of the charging current ratio is greater than the preset threshold value”; “adjusting the impedance of the first switch unit 6111 according to the first current limiting control signal, so as to adjust the second battery 120 of the charging current”) .
Although a processing module is not explicitly taught with reference to the figures, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a processing module for executing the control taught by Qin. This is taught by Qin “these functional entities may be implemented in software, or in one or more software-hardened modules or parts of functional entities, or in different network and/or processor devices and/or microcontroller devices implement these functional entities” (page 4, ¶3) thus, the execution is performed by a processing module.
Regarding claim 2. Qin discloses a charging management circuit (610), wherein a first end of the charging management circuit is used as the voltage supply end, and wherein the processing module is further configured to:
obtain a first voltage of the first branch and a second voltage of the second branch (page 6, last paragraph - “detection control unit 6112 also can detect the voltage of the first battery 110 and the second battery 120”); and
control the first end of the charging management circuit to provide a voltage when a difference between the first voltage and the second voltage is not greater than a preset first threshold, if it is detected that the second end of the first branch receives a charging voltage (page 7, ¶1-3 – when the voltage difference exceeds a threshold a current-limiting mode is entered, thus when the difference does not exceed the threshold, then the current-limiting event is not entered and charging continues).
Regarding claim 3. Qin discloses that the processing module is further configured to control the first end of the charging management circuit not to output the voltage when the difference between the first voltage and the second voltage is greater than the preset first threshold (page 7, ¶1-3 – when the voltage difference exceeds a threshold a current-limiting mode is entered), if it is detected that the second end of the first branch receives the charging voltage (because it is through the second end that voltage is being transmitted to the battery 110, it follows that the second end receives charging voltage).
NOTE: “if” implies conditional language which may or may not occur. Because it is possible to not occur, silence as to the limitation is also disclosure of the claim.
Regarding claim 4. The charging/discharging circuit of claim 3, wherein the processing module is further configured to provide the indication to the first control circuit to adjust the impedance of the second branch when the difference between the first voltage and the second voltage is greater than the preset first threshold (page 7, ¶1; “the voltage difference exceeds the preset voltage threshold, detecting control unit 6112 generates a third current limiting control signal. and controlling the current of the first switch unit 6111 from the second battery 120 to the first battery 110 according to the third current-limiting control signal, and at this time, the first switch unit 6111 enters the current-limiting mode”).
Regarding claim 17. Qin discloses a collection circuit (6112) connected to both the battery pack (110) and the processing module (“these functional entities may be implemented in software, or in one or more software-hardened modules or parts of functional entities, or in different network and/or processor devices and/or microcontroller devices implement these functional entities” thus, the execution is performed by a processing module), wherein the collection circuit is configured to collect currents and/or voltages of the first branch and the second branch (“When the voltage of the second battery 120 is higher than the voltage of the first battery 110 and the voltage difference between the second battery 120 and the first battery 110 exceeds the preset voltage threshold, the detection control unit 6112 generates a fourth current limiting control signal,” page 6, ¶3), and send the collected currents and/or voltages to the processing module, and wherein the processing module is further configured to receive the currents and/or voltages (“these functional entities may be implemented in software, or in one or more software-hardened modules or parts of functional entities, or in different network and/or processor devices and/or microcontroller devices implement these functional entities” thus, the execution is performed by a processing module – page 4, ¶3).
Regarding claim 18. Qin discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a battery pack (110/120) comprising a first battery (110) and a second battery (120); and
a charging/discharging circuit configured to charge/discharge the battery pack, the charging/discharging circuit comprising:
a first branch (510), comprising:
a first end configured to be connected to a voltage supply end (charging interface 310); and
a second end configured to be connected to the first battery (see connection between 510 and 110 in Fig. 1), wherein a voltage provided by the voltage supply end is configured to charge the first battery through the first branch (page 4, last full paragraph - “the second end can be connected to the first electrode of the first battery 110, and the second charging branch 510 is used to charge the first battery 110”);
a second branch (410), comprising:
a first end configured to be connected to the voltage supply end (charging interface 310);
a second end configured to be connected to the second battery (see the connection between 410 and 120 through 610), wherein the voltage provided by the voltage supply end is configured to charge the second battery (120) through the second branch (page 4, last full paragraph - “the first charging branch 410 for charging the first battery 110 and the second battery 120”); and
a first control circuit (611/6112) configured to adjust an impedance of the second branch (page 6; ¶5 - “the detection control unit 6112 generates a second current limiting control signal, and adjusting the impedance of the first switch unit 6111 according to the first current limiting control signal, so as to adjust the charging current of the second battery 120”); and
obtain a first current of the first branch and a second current of the second branch (detection control unit 6112; page 6, ¶5 - second battery 120 and the first battery 110 of the charging current ratio); and
provide an indication, based on the first current and the second current, to the first control circuit to adjust the impedance of the second branch, so as to balance the first current and the second current (page 6, ¶5 - “when the second battery 120 and the first battery 110 of the charging current ratio is greater than the preset threshold value”; “adjusting the impedance of the first switch unit 6111 according to the first current limiting control signal, so as to adjust the second battery 120 of the charging current”) .
Although a processing module is not explicitly taught with reference to the figures, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a processing module for executing the control taught by Qin. This is taught by Qin “these functional entities may be implemented in software, or in one or more software-hardened modules or parts of functional entities, or in different network and/or processor devices and/or microcontroller devices implement these functional entities” thus, the execution is performed by a processing module – page 4, ¶3.
Regarding claim 19. Qin discloses that the charging/discharging circuit further comprises a charging management circuit (610), wherein a first end of the charging management circuit is the voltage supply end, and wherein the processing module is further configured to:
obtain a first voltage of the first branch and a second voltage of the second branch (page 6, last paragraph - “detection control unit 6112 also can detect the voltage of the first battery 110 and the second battery 120”); and
control the first end of the charging management circuit to provide a voltage when a difference between the first voltage and the second voltage is not greater than a preset first threshold, if it is detected that the second end of the first branch receives a charging voltage (page 7, ¶1-3 – when the voltage difference exceeds a threshold a current-limiting mode is entered, thus when the difference does not exceed the threshold, then the current-limiting event is not entered and charging continues).
Regarding claim 20. Qin discloses that the processing module is further configured to control the first end of the charging management circuit not to output the voltage when the difference between the first voltage and the second voltage is greater than the preset first threshold (page 7, ¶1-3 – when the voltage difference exceeds a threshold a current-limiting mode is entered), if it is detected that the second end of the first branch receives the charging voltage (because it is through the second end that voltage is being transmitted to the battery 110, it follows that the second end receives charging voltage).
NOTE: “if” implies conditional language which may or may not occur. Because it is possible to not occur, silence as to the limitation is also disclosure of the claim.
Claims 5-7, 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al. CN111817387A in further view of Hu et al. US20140203780A1.
Regarding claim 5. Qin discloses the first branch (510) comprises a second control circuit (6113) (page 7, ¶2 - “the current of the second switching unit 6113 is controlled to flow from the first battery 110 to the second battery 120 according to the fourth current adjusted)
Qin does not explicitly teach the second control circuit that is configured to adjust impedance of the second branch wherein the processing module is further configured to provide an indication, based on the first current and the second current, to the second control circuit to adjust the impedance of the first branch, so as to balance the first current and the second current.
Hu discloses that the first branch comprises a second control circuit (26) that is configured to adjust impedance of the second branch (going toward battery 10), and wherein the processing module is further configured to provide an indication, based on the first current and the second current, to the second control circuit to adjust the impedance of the first branch, so as to balance the first current and the second current (¶19 transistors 20/26 control charging/discharging current to the respective battery; ¶23 - the regulator 30 operates to approximately equalize the second charging/discharging current 28 with the first charging/discharging current 22).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the at the time of filing to provide the switching control of Hu to the system of Qin in order to provide balanced charging and discharging by controlling the flow of current through the system (Hu; ¶2).
Regarding claim 6. Qin discloses that when the first current is lower than the second current, and a difference between the first current and the second current is greater than a preset second threshold (page 6, ¶5 - “when the charging current ratio of the second battery 120 and the first battery 110 is less than the preset threshold value”), the processing module is configured to:
provide an indication to the first control circuit to increase the impedance of the second branch if it is determined that the impedance of the first branch is the minimum impedance. (page 6; ¶5 – “the detection control unit 6112 generates a second current limiting control signal, and adjusting the impedance of the first switch unit 6111 according to the first current limiting control signal, so as to adjust the charging current of the second battery 120” – because the impedance is adjusted according to whether the first or the second battery has a higher current)
Regarding claim 7. Qin discloses that when the first current is greater than the second current, and a difference between the first current and the second current is greater than a preset second threshold (page 6; ¶5“when the second battery 120 and the first battery 110 of the charging current ratio is greater than the preset threshold value”), the processing module is configured to:
b) provide an indication to the second control circuit to increase the impedance of the first branch if it is determined that the impedance of the second branch is the minimum impedance. (page 6; ¶5 “detecting control unit 6112 generates a first current limiting control signal. and adjusting the impedance of the first switch unit 6111 according to the first current limiting control signal, so as to adjust the second battery 120 of the charging current).
Regarding claim 10. Qin discloses that when the first battery and the second battery discharge (page 7, ¶1 - “When the first battery 110 and the second battery 120 are discharged”), the processing module is further configured to provide an indication to the first control circuit to adjust the impedance of the second branch to a minimum impedance, and provide an indication to the second control circuit to adjust the impedance of the first branch to the minimum impedance (page 7, ¶2-3: “The switch unit 6111 or the second switch unit 6113 enters the current limiting mode” - when the current is limited, there is more impedance, however, this is only used when the voltage difference between the batteries is large – thus, the impedance is minimized when discharging unless certain conditions apply).
Regarding claim 14. Qin does not explicitly disclose that the second control circuit comprises a fourth switching transistor with a linear interval, wherein a first end and a second end of the fourth switching transistor are respectively the first end and the second end of the first branch, and a control end of the fourth switching transistor is connected to the processing module, and wherein the processing module is configured to send a control signal to the control end of the fourth switching transistor, to control an impedance and a connection state of the fourth switching transistor.
Hu teaches that the second control circuit (26) comprises
a fourth switching transistor (26) with a linear interval (¶30 -charging and discharging transistor 26 in a substantially linear fashion for regulating the second charging current 28),
wherein a first end and a second end of the fourth switching transistor are respectively the first end and the second end of the first branch (FIG. 1 – each end of the transistor 26 are along the first branch), and
a control end of the fourth switching transistor (26) is connected to the processing module (regulator 30; ¶20 – regulator circuit provides control signals which indicates processing capabilities), and
wherein the processing module is configured to send a control signal to the control end of the fourth switching transistor (¶20), to control an impedance and a connection state of the fourth switching transistor (¶20).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the at the time of filing to provide the switching control of Hu to the system of Qin in order to provide balanced charging and discharging by controlling the flow of current through the system (Hu; ¶2).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al. CN111817387A in view of Hu et al. US20140203780A1 and further in view of Kim et al. US20180260019A1.
Regarding claim 8. Qin does not explicitly teach that the second control circuit is further configured to control the first branch to be in a connected state when an electronic device comprising the battery pack is in a powered-off state.
Kim discloses that the second control circuit is further configured to control the first branch to be in a connected state when an electronic device comprising the battery pack is in a powered-off state (¶67 - when the device is powered off the battery management controls the switch 131 to connect the battery to the electronic components 120).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to provide the control of Kim to the system of Qin in order to prevent leakage current from the load/battery (Kim; ¶4).
Regarding claim 9. Qin does not explicitly disclose that the first control circuit is further configured to control the second branch to be in a disconnected state when the electronic device is in the powered-off state.
Kim discloses that the first control circuit is further configured to control the second branch to be in a disconnected state when the electronic device is in the powered-off state (¶9 – when device in a powered off state the management circuit disconnects the battery from the electronic components in the electronic device).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to provide the control of Kim to the system of Qin in order to prevent leakage current from the load/battery (Kim; ¶4).
Claim 11-12 and 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al. CN111817387A in view of Kim US20150263559A1 (hereinafter “Kim2”).
Regarding claim 11. Qin does not explicitly disclose that the first control circuit comprises a first switching transistor with a linear interval, wherein a first end and a second end of the first switching transistor are respectively the first end and the second end of the second branch, and a control end of the first switching transistor is connected to the processing module, and wherein the processing module is configured to send a control signal to the control end of the first switching transistor, to control an impedance and a connection state of the first switching transistor.
Kim2 discloses that the first control circuit (240B) comprises
a first switching transistor (T7) with a linear interval ((¶101 – T7 is a BJT which is known to be a linear transistor)),
wherein a first end and a second end of the first switching transistor (T7) are respectively the first end and the second end of the second branch (FIG. 7), and
a control end of the first switching transistor (T7) is connected (electrical connection) to the processing module (210) (through transistor T8), and
wherein the processing module (210) is configured to send a control signal to the control end of the first switching transistor (T7), to control an impedance and a connection state of the first switching transistor (¶93 – BMS 210 controls the blocking unit 240A which includes T7 - by controlling the switching the impedance is controlled)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to provide the control circuitry details, as taught by Kim2, to the system of Qin in order to allow rapid turn off and on preventing a delay in operation that could compromise the system (Kim2; ¶69).
Regarding claim 12. Qin does not explicitly teach The charging/discharging circuit of claim 1, wherein the first control circuit comprises a second switching transistor with a linear interval, a third switching transistor with a linear interval, and a first resistor, wherein a first end and a second end of the second switching transistor are respectively used as the first end and the second end of the second branch, a control end of the second switching transistor is grounded through the third switching transistor, a control end of the third switching transistor is connected to the processing module, and the second end of the second switching transistor is connected to the control end of the second switching transistor through the first resistor, and wherein the processing module is configured to send a control signal to the control end of the third switching transistor, to control an impedance and a connection state of the third switching transistor.
Kim2 discloses that the first control circuit (240B) comprises a second switching transistor (T7) with a linear interval (¶101 – T7 is a BJT which is known to be a linear transistor), a third switching transistor (T8) with a linear interval (¶101 – T8 is a BJT which is known to be a linear transistor), and a first resistor (R7),
wherein a first end and a second end of the second switching transistor (T7) are respectively used as the first end and the second end of the second branch (FIG. 4),
a control end of the second switching transistor (T7) is grounded through the third switching transistor (T8), a control end of the third switching transistor (T8) is connected to the processing module (210), and
the second end of the second switching transistor (T7) is connected to the control end of the second switching transistor through the first resistor (R7) (FIG. 4 – to N4), and
wherein the processing module (210) is configured to send a control signal to the control end of the third switching transistor (T8 from CHG), to control an impedance and a connection state of the third switching transistor (¶93 – BMS 210 controls the blocking unit 240B which includes T7 and T8 - by controlling the switching the impedance is controlled) .
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to provide the control circuitry details, as taught by Kim2, to the system of Qin in order to allow rapid turn off and on preventing a delay in operation that could compromise the system (Kim2; ¶69).
Regarding claim 15. Qin does not explicitly disclose that the second control circuit comprises a fifth switching transistor with a linear interval, a sixth switching transistor with a linear interval, and a second resistor, wherein a first end and a second end of the fifth switching transistor are respectively the first end and the second end of the first branch, a control end of the fifth switching transistor is grounded through the sixth switching transistor,
a control end of the sixth switching transistor is connected to the processing module, and the second end of the fifth switching transistor is connected to the control end of the fifth switching transistor through the second resistor, and wherein the processing module is configured to send a control signal to the control end of the sixth switching transistor, to control an impedance and a connection state of the sixth switching transistor.
Kim2 discloses that the second control circuit comprises
a fifth switching transistor (T5) with a linear interval (¶101 – T5 is a BJT which is known to be a linear transistor),
a sixth switching transistor (T6) with a linear interval (¶101 – T6 is a BJT which is known to be a linear transistor), and
a second resistor (R5),
wherein a first end and a second end of the fifth switching transistor (T5) are respectively the first end and the second end of the first branch (FIG. 4),
a control end of the fifth switching transistor is grounded through the sixth switching transistor (FIG. 4 - T6 connected to the gate of T5 and ground),
a control end of the sixth switching transistor (T6) is connected to the processing module (210), and
the second end of the fifth switching transistor (T5) is connected to the control end of the fifth switching transistor through the second resistor (R5) (FIG. 4), and
wherein the processing module (210) is configured to send a control signal to the control end of the sixth switching transistor (T6), to control an impedance and a connection state of the sixth switching transistor (¶93 – BMS 210 controls the blocking unit 240A which includes T5 and T6 - by controlling the switching the impedance is controlled).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to provide the control circuitry details, as taught by Kim2, to the system of Qin in order to allow rapid turn off and on preventing a delay in operation that could compromise the system (Kim2; ¶69).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 13, although the limitations of the intervening claims is taught by the prior art, the prior art is silent as to the additional combination of “the control signal sent by the processing module is a pulse-width modulation (PWM) signal, and the first control circuit further comprises a first voltage control circuit, wherein the control end of the third switching transistor being connected to the processing module comprises the control end of the third switching transistor being connected to the processing module through the first voltage control circuit, and wherein the first voltage control circuit is configured to convert the PWM signal sent by the processing module into a direct current control signal, and send the converted direct current control signal to the control end of the third switching transistor”.
Claim 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 16, although the limitations of the intervening claims is taught by the prior art, the prior art is silent as to the additional combination of “the control signal sent by the processing module is a pulse-width modulation (PWM) signal, and the second control circuit further comprises a second voltage control circuit, wherein the control end of the sixth switching transistor being connected to the processing module comprises the control end of the sixth switching transistor being connected to the processing module through the second voltage control circuit, and wherein the second voltage control circuit is configured to convert the control signal sent by the processing module into a direct current voltage signal, and send the converted direct current control signal to the control end of the third switching transistor”.
Related Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bonkhoff et al. US20100270979A1 although this reference teaches the use of a PWM signal being sent to a converter, it would not be obvious to rearrange the part of Kim in order to arrive at the claimed invention of claims 13 and 16
Conclusion
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859