DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant's arguments filed 9/25/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that Yamaya does not disclose
the magnetic resonance receiving coil and the local transmitting coil are split, and the local transmitting coil is arranged on a side of the PET detection component close to the to-be detected object. Remarks, P.7-8.
As stated in the Final Rejection of 6/30/25, P.4-5 Yamaya discloses
a magnetic resonance coil (RF coil, [0092]) at least comprising a magnetic resonance receiving coil for detecting a magnetic resonance signal from the to-be-detected object (RF coil comprises at least a receiver coil, [0111]), and configured to generate a magnetic resonance image of the to-be-detected object (RF coil generates a MR image of the patient, [0002], [0092], [0099]); and
…
wherein the magnetic resonance coil further comprises a local transmitting coil configured to transmit a radio frequency signal (RF coil comprises a transmitter coil, [0111]),
wherein the magnetic resonance receiving coil and the local transmitting coil are split (RF transmitter coil is separate from the RF receiver coil, [0111]), and the local transmitting coil is arranged on a side of the PET detection component close to the to-be-detected object (transmitter RF coil is integrated into the inside of the PET detector, [0015], [0112], [0156], Fig. 42), and moves together with the PET detection component to align or leave the to-be-detected object (transmitter RF coil is integrated into the inside of the PET detector, [0015], [0112], [0156], Fig. 42; PET detector is movable relative to the patient and receiving RF coil, [0145]-[0147], Figs. 37-38).
Applicant argues that “Yamaya does not explictly mention that the receiving and transmitting coils are designed separately inside the PET detector.” Remarks, P.8. Applicant’s arguments attack the disclosure of paragraph [0111] in isolation, thereby, stripping the context of the citations in the rejection. Paragraph [0111] is not cited alone to teach the structural arrangement of the transmitting RF coil and the receiving RF coil, but rather is cited alongside paragraphs [0002], [0015], [0092], [0099], [0112], [0145]-[0147], [0156], and Figs. 37-38 and 42. Paragraph [0111] is only relied upon to show that the Yamaya reference discloses that the MRI system is not limited to a transmitter-receiver two-way coil, but can comprise a separate transmitting RF coil and a separate receiving RF coil, wherein the coil that is integrated into the PET detector may be either the transmitting RF coil or the receiving RF coil, i.e. that “the magnetic resonance receiving coil and the local transmitting coil are split.” Paragraphs [0112]-[0114] provide context for paragraph [0111] providing example arrangements with a separate transmitting RF coil and a separate receiving RF coil. Paragraph [0015] similarly discloses that the MRI system is not limited to transmitter-receiver two-way coil, but can comprise a separate transmitting RF coil and a separate receiving RF coil. Paragraph [0156] discloses and Figs. 42A and 42B show a separate transmitting RF coil and a separate receiving RF coil. Thus, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant further argues that “nor does Yamaya mention that the local transmitting coil is set on the side of the PET detection component close to the object to be detected.” Remarks, P.8. Applicant provides no arguments or evidence to support this contention, thus, applicant fails to meet their burden of proof. In arguendo, paragraph [0015] establishes that the transmitter coil is attached to the inside of the PET detector, i.e. “the side of the PET detection component close to the object to be detected.” Paragraph [0112] similarly sets forth that the coil (which according to paragraph [0111] may comprise a transmitter coil) may be integrated into the inside of the PET detector, i.e. “the side of the PET detection component close to the object to be detected.” Paragraph [0156] similarly sets forth that the transmitter coil may be integrally arranged inside the PET detector i.e. “the side of the PET detection component close to the object to be detected.” Figures 42A and 42B show that the transmitter coil is arranged toward the inside the PET detector i.e. “the side of the PET detection component close to the object to be detected.” See also paragraph [0096] emphasizing that the RF coil is arranged on the inside of the PET detector to be closer to the patient. Thus, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Regarding claim 24, applicant argues that Yamaya does not disclose
the magnetic resonance receiving coil and the local transmitting coil are integrated, and together form a single-layer transceiver common phased array coil, the single-layer transceiver common phased array coil is arranged on a side of the PET detection component close to the to-be detected object. Remarks, P.8-9.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, the previously filed claims 10-11, were rejected over the combination of Yamaya in further view of Ha. It is improper for applicant to attack Yamaya individually as not disclosing the entirety of the combination of alleged claim features set forth by the applicant. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive. In arguendo, Yamaya was relied upon to disclose in the Final Rejection of 6/30/25, P.11 that
the magnetic resonance receiving coil and the local transmitting coil are integrated, and together form a single-layer transceiver array coil (a transmitter-receiver two-way coil, [0015], [0112]
and P.11-12
the single-layer transceiver array coil is arranged on a side of the PET detection component close to the to-be-detected object (a transmitter-receiver two-way coil integrated into the inside of the PET detector, [0112], Fig. 10), and moves together with the PET detection component to align or leave the to-be-detected object (a transmitter-receiver two-way coil integrated into the inside of the PET detector, [0112], Fig. 10; PET detector moves with integrated RF coil relative to the patient, [0150]-[0155], Fig. 41, [0157]-[0160], Figs. 44-46).
Ha was relied upon to teach
P.11 that
the magnetic resonance receiving coil and the transmitting coil are integrated, and together form a single-layer transceiver common phased array coil (MR/RF transceiver coil is a single-layer transceiver common phased array coil, [0022], [0024], [0032], [0033], [0039], [0050], Fig. 2A).
and P.12
the MR coil is a single-layer transceiver common phased array coil (MR/RF transceiver coil is a single-layer transceiver common phased array coil, [0022], [0024], [0032], [0033], [0039], [0050], Fig. 2A).
Applicant argues that Yamaya alone does not disclose “a ‘single-layer’ structure or a phased array coil.” The Office notes the singular “coil” in “a transmitter-receiver two-way coil” in Yamaya paragraphs [0015] and [0112] is an explicit disclosure that the “transmitter-receiver two-way coil,” i.e., the transceiver array coil” is a “single-layer” coil. Moreover, this argument is moot as Yamaya alone is not relied upon to teach the alleged claim feature of “a single-layer transceiver common phased array coil.” Rather, Yamaya in further view of Ha is relied upon to teach the MR/RF transceiver coil is a single-layer transceiver common phased array coil. Applicant has made no argument or presented any evidence that Ha does not teach the alleged “single-layer transceiver common phased array coil” when combined with the disclosure of Yamaya nor provided any arguments or evidence against the motivation to combine the disclosure of Yamaya and the teachings of Ha. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant further argues that
Yamaya did not mention the specific structural information of the RF coil inside the PET detector.. did not explictly mention that the receiving and transmitting coils are designed as a whole in the PET detector. Remarks, P.9.
Applicant provides no arguments or evidence to support this contention, thus, applicant fails to meet their burden of proof. In arguendo, paragraph [0112] sets forth that the transmitter-receiver two-way RE coil may be integrated into the inside of the PET detector, i.e., “the receiving and transmitting coils are designed as a whole in the PET detector.” Figures 10A and 10B show that the RF coil, the transmitter-receiver two-way RE coil, is integrated into the inside of the PET detector, i.e., “the receiving and transmitting coils are designed as a whole in the PET detector.” Thus, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant further argues that
nor did Yamaya mention that the single-layer transceiver common phased array coil is set on the side of the PET detection component near the object to be detected. Remarks, P.9.
As an initial matter, as addressed above, Yamaya alone is not relied upon to teach the single-layer transceiver common phased array coil, but rather the combination of Yamaya in further view of Ha. Further, applicant provides no arguments or evidence to support this contention, thus, applicant fails to meet their burden of proof. In arguendo, paragraph [0112] sets forth that the transmitter-receiver two-way RE coil may be integrated into the inside of the PET detector, i.e., “set on the side of the PET detection component near the object to be detected.” Figures 10A and 10B show that the RF coil, the transmitter-receiver two-way RE coil, is integrated into the inside of the PET detector, i.e., “set on the side of the PET detection component near the object to be detected.” See also paragraph [0096] emphasizing that the RF coil is arranged on the inside of the PET detector to be closer to the patient. Thus, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant further argues that
Yamaya do not mention designing the RF transmitting coil and RF receiving coil as a single-layer integrated structure inside the PET detector. Remarks, P.9.
As an initial matter, as addressed above, Yamaya alone is not relied upon to teach the single-layer transceiver common phased array coil, but rather the combination of Yamaya in further view of Ha. Further, applicant provides no arguments or evidence to support this contention, thus, applicant fails to meet their burden of proof. In arguendo, paragraph [0112] sets forth that the transmitter-receiver two-way RE coil may be integrated into the inside of the PET detector, i.e., “integrated structure inside the PET detector” Figures 10A and 10B show that the RF coil, the transmitter-receiver two-way RE coil, is integrated into the inside of the PET detector, i.e., “integrated structure inside the PET detector.” Thus, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Regarding claim 17, applicant argues that Yamaya does not disclose
a body coil built in the magnetic resonance imaging system is configured to generate a radio frequency field, and the magnetic resonance receiving coil is used together with the body coil built in the magnetic resonance imaging system to obtain the magnetic resonance image. Remarks, P.9.
However, as detailed in infra rejection, Yamaya in further view of Ha in further view of Schmidig in further view of Caruba teaches the alleged combination of claim features. Thus, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaya et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0224534), hereinafter “Yamaya,” in further view of Ha et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0291100), hereinafter “Ha,” in further view of Schmidig (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0025832), hereinafter “Schmidig,” in further view of Caruba et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0022361), hereinafter “Caruba.”
Regarding claim 1, Yamaya discloses an imaging plug-in device (PET detector/RF coil device, Abstract, [0092]), applied to a magnetic resonance imaging system (PET detector/RF coil device is used in conjunction with a MRI device for MRI imaging, Abstract, [0002], [0009], [0092]), the magnetic resonance imaging system comprising: a magnetic field generation structure configured to generate a magnetic field (MRI device generates a magnetic field, [0005], [0006], [0093], [0094], [0104]), and a hospital bed configured to carry a human body and at least part of the imaging plug-in device (bed is configured to carry a patient/subject, [0004], Figs. 1, 3-4, 6-9, 11-12, 14, 16, 19, 34-35, 37-42, 45-46; bed is configured to carry at least the RF coil, [0092], [0145]-[0146], [0156], Figs. 3, 37-38), (note that the limitations recited in claim 1, lines 1-5 “applied to… imaging plug-in device” is merely a purpose and/or intended use for the claimed imaging plug-in device and does not result in a structural difference and does not have patentable weight, MPEP 2111.02 II. and 2114 II., MPEP 2114 II.; see also MPEP 2114 I. and 2112.01 I.; also note that “a magnetic resonance imaging system” and “a hospital bed” are not part of the claimed “an imaging plug-in device”),
wherein the imaging plug-in device comprises;
a to-be-detected object holder (cushion, [0092], Fig. 3) located at the magnetic field generated by the magnetic field generation structure (cushion and RF coil is placed in the magnetic field, [0092]), and configured to carry the to-be-detected object (cushion carries the back side of the patient, [0092], Fig. 3), wherein the to-be-detected object is a part of the human body (cushion carries the back side of the patient, [0092], Fig. 3);
a PET (Positron Emission Computed Tomography) detection component (PET detector, Abstract, [0092]) configured to detect a PET signal from the to-be-detected object (PET detector detects PET signal, [0002], [0007], [0043], [0092],[0098]-[0099], [0106]), so as to generate a PET image of the to-be-detected object (PET detector generates a PET image of the patient, [0002], [0007], [0043], [0092],[0098]-[0099], [0106]);
a magnetic resonance coil (RF coil, [0092]) at least comprising a magnetic resonance receiving coil for detecting a magnetic resonance signal from the to-be-detected object (RF coil comprises at least a receiver coil, [0111]-[0114]), and configured to generate a magnetic resonance image of the to-be-detected object (RF coil generates a MR image of the patient, [0002], [0092], [0099]); and
wherein the PET detection component is movable relative to the to-be-detected object holder to align the to-be-detected object or leave the to-be-detected object (cushion and RF coil is positioned such that the cushion carries the back side of the patient, [0092]; PET detector is movable relative to the patient and the RF coil, [0145]-[0147], Figs. 37-38);
wherein the magnetic resonance coil further comprises a local transmitting coil configured to transmit a radio frequency signal (RF coil comprises a transmitter coil, [0111]-[0114]),
wherein the magnetic resonance receiving coil and the local transmitting coil are split (RF transmitter coil is separate from the RF receiver coil, [0111]-[0114]), and the local transmitting coil is arranged on a side of the PET detection component close to the to-be-detected object (transmitter RF coil is integrated into the inside of the PET detector, [0015], [0096], [0112], [0156], Fig. 42), and moves together with the PET detection component to align or leave the to-be-detected object (transmitter RF coil is integrated into the inside of the PET detector, [0015], [0112], [0156], Fig. 42; PET detector is movable relative to the patient and receiving RF coil, [0145]-[0147], Figs. 37-38).
However, while Yamaya discloses a MRI device for MRI imaging that generates a magnetic field and a magnetic resonance RF receiving coil, Yamaya does not appear to disclose the MRI device comprises a gradient magnetic field coil configured to form a gradient magnetic field at a to-be-detected object, the magnetic resonance RF receiving coil is a phased coil, a signal amplification component so as to at least improve a signal-to-noise ratio of the magnetic resonance signal, wherein the magnetic resonance receiving coil comprises a flexible phased array coil, and at least part of the flexible phased array coil is arranged in a wearable structure, the wearable structure comprises a structure which is made of an elastic material and fixes the magnetic resonance receiving coil on the to-be-detected object.
However, in the same field of endeavor of magnetic resonance transmission and reception coils, Ha teaches the MRI device comprises a gradient magnetic field coil configured to form a gradient magnetic field at a to-be-detected object (MR imaging system includes one or more gradient field generation coils to form a gradient magnetic field, [0024], [0028]; note that the limitation recited in claim 1, lines 1-4 “applied to… a to-be-detected object” is merely a purpose and/or intended use for the claimed imaging plug-in device and does not result in a structural difference and does not have patentable weight, MPEP 2111.02 II. and 2114 II., MPEP 2114 II.; see also MPEP 2114 I. and 2112.01 I.; also note that “a magnetic resonance imaging system” is not part of the claimed “an imaging plug-in device”),
the magnetic resonance RF receiving coil is a phased coil (MR RF receiving/transceiver coil is a phased coil, [0024], [0033]), and
a signal amplification component so as to at least improve a signal-to-noise ratio of the magnetic resonance signal (receive channel amplifier increases signal sensitivity and are low-noise, [0004], [0021], [0033], [0035], [0049]; note that the limitation “component so as to at least improve a signal-to-noise ratio of the magnetic resonance signal” is merely a purpose and/or intended use for the claimed signal amplification component and does not result in a structural difference, MPEP 2111.02 II. and 2114 II., MPEP 2114 II.; see also MPEP 2114 I. and 2112.01 I.),
wherein the magnetic resonance receiving coil comprises a flexible phased array coil (MR RF receiving/transceiver coil is a phased coil, [0024], [0033]; the array coil is flexible, [0023]), and at least part of the flexible phased array coil is arranged in a wearable structure, the wearable structure comprises a structure which fixes the magnetic resonance receiving coil on the to-be-detected object (array coil is arranged in a head fixation device for fixing the array coil to the head, [0005], [0023], [0026], [0029], [0043], [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Ha’s known technique of using a MR RF phased receiver/transceiver coil with a receive amplifier for use in an MR imaging system with a gradient field coil to Yamaya’s known apparatus of an MR RF receive coil for use in a MR imaging system to achieve the predictable result that a portable or body-located receiver/transceiver coil arrangement can improve imaging and surgical procedures by facilitating repositioning or access. See, e.g., Ha, Abstract and [0029].
However, while Yamaya in further view of Ha teaches arranging a flexible phased array coil in a head fixation device for fixing the coil to the head, Yamaya in further view of Ha does not appear to teach the wearable structure of the head fixation device comprises a structure that is made of an elastic material.
However, in the same field of endeavor of magnetic resonance transmission and reception coils, Schmidig teaches the wearable structure comprises a structure which is made of an elastic material and fixes the magnetic resonance receiving coil on the to-be-detected object (flexible phased array antenna is mounted to a support body, the support body comprising an elastic band for mounting the support body to the object to be imaged, Abstract, [0025], [0061]; see also [0053]-[0060]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Schmidig’s known technique of providing elastic bands for fixing the phased array support structure to the body to Yamaya in further view of Ha’s known apparatus of an MR RF receive coil for use in a MR imaging system that is arranged in a head fixation device to achieve the predictable result that providing a flexible phased array antenna mounted to a support structure including elastic bands to mount the support structure to the body allows the individual antennas of the array to be positioned as closely as possible to an object of various different sizes and shapes. See, e.g., Schmidig, [0025].
However, while Yamaya in further view of Ha in further view of Schmidig teaches a signal amplification component for the MR RF receive coil, Yamaya in further view of Ha in further view of Schmidig does not appear to teach the signal amplification component is arranged on a base accessory.
However, in the same field of endeavor of PET/MRI imaging, Caruba teaches the signal amplification component is arranged on a base accessory (received RF signals by the RF receiver coil is amplified by an low-noise RF preamplifier, [0041], [0042]; data acquisition unit provides a housing/enclosure that is outside but near the PET detectors to minimize signal distortion or other loss, [0046], Fig. 1; data acquisition unit includes components such as amplifiers that are sensitive to RF emissions, [0059]; see also necessity to isolate both MR and PET signals from the MR and PET subsystems, [0005]; see also positioning the data processing/acquisition units, near but outside the PET detector, [0006]-[0008]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Caruba’s known technique of isolating the amplification circuitry within an enclosure near but outside the PET detector to Yamaya in further view of Ha in further view of Schmidig’s known apparatus of amplification circuitry for the received RF signal to achieve the predictable result that interference from the RF emission of the PET subsystem is reduced while minimizing signal distortion or loss. See, e.g., Caruba, [0005], [0046].
Regarding claim 16, Yamaya discloses the PET detection component further comprises a roller-like structure (rollers, [0145]-[0147], Figs. 37-38; see also [0117]) and a moving structure (PET detector moving device, [0145]-[0147]; see also [0117]), wherein a plurality of PET detectors are arranged in the roller-like structure (PET detector comprises a plurality of detector blocks that are arranged in the rollers, [0094], Figs. 2, 37-38), and the moving structure is configured to drive the roller-like structure to move along an extension direction of the to-be-detected object holder (cushion and RF coil is positioned such that the cushion carries the back side of the patient, [0092]; PET detector is movable relative to the patient and the RF coil along the extension direction of the bed/cushion by the rotation of the PET roller and PET detector moving device, [0145]-[0147], Figs. 37-38).
Claims 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaya in further view of Ha in further view of Schmidig in further view of Caruba.
Regarding claim 17, Yamaya discloses an imaging plug-in device (PET detector/RF coil device, Abstract, [0092]), applied to a magnetic resonance imaging system (PET detector/RF coil device is used in conjunction with a MRI device for MRI imaging, Abstract, [0002], [0009], [0092]), the magnetic resonance imaging system comprising: a magnetic field generation structure configured to generate a magnetic field (MRI device generates a magnetic field, [0005], [0006], [0093], [0094], [0104]), and a hospital bed configured to carry a human body and at least part of the imaging plug-in device (bed is configured to carry a patient/subject, [0004], Figs. 1, 3-4, 6-9, 11-12, 14, 16, 19, 34-35, 37-42, 45-46; bed is configured to carry at least the RF coil, [0092], [0145]-[0146], [0156], Figs. 3, 37-38), (note that the limitations recited in claim 1, lines 1-5 “applied to… imaging plug-in device” is merely a purpose and/or intended use for the claimed imaging plug-in device and does not result in a structural difference and does not have patentable weight, MPEP 2111.02 II. and 2114 II., MPEP 2114 II.; see also MPEP 2114 I. and 2112.01 I.; also note that “a magnetic resonance imaging system” and “a hospital bed” are not part of the claimed “an imaging plug-in device”),
wherein the imaging plug-in device comprises;
a to-be-detected object holder (cushion, [0092], Fig. 3) located at the magnetic field generated by the magnetic field generation structure (cushion and RF coil is placed in the magnetic field, [0092]), and configured to carry the to-be-detected object (cushion carries the back side of the patient, [0092], Fig. 3), wherein the to-be-detected object is a part of the human body (cushion carries the back side of the patient, [0092], Fig. 3);
a PET (Positron Emission Computed Tomography) detection component (PET detector, Abstract, [0092]) configured to detect a PET signal from the to-be-detected object (PET detector detects PET signal, [0002], [0007], [0043], [0092],[0098]-[0099], [0106]), so as to generate a PET image of the to-be-detected object (PET detector generates a PET image of the patient, [0002], [0007], [0043], [0092],[0098]-[0099], [0106]);
a magnetic resonance coil (RF coil, [0092]) at least comprising a magnetic resonance receiving coil for detecting a magnetic resonance signal from the to-be-detected object (RF coil comprises at least a receiver coil, [0111]-[0114]), and configured to generate a magnetic resonance image of the to-be-detected object (RF coil generates a MR image of the patient, [0002], [0092], [0099]); and
wherein the PET detection component is movable relative to the to-be-detected object holder to align the to-be-detected object or leave the to-be-detected object (cushion and RF coil is positioned such that the cushion carries the back side of the patient, [0092]; PET detector is movable relative to the patient and the RF coil, [0145]-[0147], Figs. 37-38);
wherein the magnetic resonance coil further comprises a local transmitting coil configured to transmit a radio frequency signal (each PET detector may have an integrated RF coil comprising a transmitter coil, [0111]-[0114], Figs. 10A-10B; one or more head/trunk/body/abdomen PET detectors, [0107], [0115]-[0123], Figs. 9A-9B, 11, 13-16C),
wherein a body coil built in the magnetic resonance imaging system is configured to generate a radio frequency field (transmitter RF coil built in the main unit of the MRI device with corresponding receiver RE coil integrated inside a PET detector, [0111]-[0114]; one or more head/trunk/body/abdomen PET detectors, [0107], [0115]-[0123], Figs. 9A-9B, 11, 13-16C), and the magnetic resonance receiving coil is used together with the body coil built in the magnetic resonance imaging system (transmitter RF coil built in the main unit of the MRI device with corresponding receiver RF coil integrated inside a PET detector, [0111]-[0114]; one or more head/trunk/body/abdomen PET detectors, [0107], [0115]-[0123], Figs. 9A-9B, 11, 13-16C) to obtain the magnetic resonance image (obtain an MRI image from MRI measurement using the RF coil(s), [0002], [0007], [0043], [0092], [0098]-[0099], [0106]),
wherein the magnetic resonance receiving coil and the local transmitting coil are split (RF transmitter coil is separate from the RF receiver coil, [0111]-[0114]), and the local transmitting coil is arranged on a side of the PET detection component close to the to-be-detected object (transmitter RF coil is integrated into the inside of the PET detector, [0015], [0096], [0112], [0156], Fig. 42), and moves together with the PET detection component to align or leave the to-be-detected object (transmitter RF coil is integrated into the inside of the PET detector, [0015], [0112], [0156], Fig. 42; PET detector is movable relative to the patient and receiving RF coil, [0145]-[0147], Figs. 37-38).
However, while Yamaya discloses a MRI device for MRI imaging that generates a magnetic field and a magnetic resonance RF receiving coil, Yamaya does not appear to disclose the MRI device comprises a gradient magnetic field coil configured to form a gradient magnetic field at a to-be-detected object, the magnetic resonance RF receiving coil is a phased coil, a signal amplification component so as to at least improve a signal-to-noise ratio of the magnetic resonance signal, wherein the magnetic resonance receiving coil comprises a flexible phased array coil, and at least part of the flexible phased array coil is arranged in a wearable structure, the wearable structure comprises a structure which is made of an elastic material and fixes the magnetic resonance receiving coil on the to-be-detected object.
However, in the same field of endeavor of magnetic resonance transmission and reception coils, Ha teaches the MRI device comprises a gradient magnetic field coil configured to form a gradient magnetic field at a to-be-detected object (MR imaging system includes one or more gradient field generation coils to form a gradient magnetic field, [0024], [0028]; note that the limitation recited in claim 1, lines 1-4 “applied to… a to-be-detected object” is merely a purpose and/or intended use for the claimed imaging plug-in device and does not result in a structural difference and does not have patentable weight, MPEP 2111.02 II. and 2114 II., MPEP 2114 II.; see also MPEP 2114 I. and 2112.01 I.; also note that “a magnetic resonance imaging system” is not part of the claimed “an imaging plug-in device”),
the magnetic resonance RF receiving coil is a phased coil (MR RF receiving/transceiver coil is a phased coil, [0024], [0033]), and
a signal amplification component so as to at least improve a signal-to-noise ratio of the magnetic resonance signal (receive channel amplifier increases signal sensitivity and are low-noise, [0004], [0021], [0033], [0035], [0049]; note that the limitation “component so as to at least improve a signal-to-noise ratio of the magnetic resonance signal” is merely a purpose and/or intended use for the claimed signal amplification component and does not result in a structural difference, MPEP 2111.02 II. and 2114 II., MPEP 2114 II.; see also MPEP 2114 I. and 2112.01 I.),
wherein the magnetic resonance receiving coil comprises a flexible phased array coil (MR RF receiving/transceiver coil is a phased coil, [0024], [0033]; the array coil is flexible, [0023]), and at least part of the flexible phased array coil is arranged in a wearable structure, the wearable structure comprises a structure which fixes the magnetic resonance receiving coil on the to-be-detected object (array coil is arranged in a head fixation device for fixing the array coil to the head, [0005], [0023], [0026], [0029], [0043], [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Ha’s known technique of using a MR RF phased receiver/transceiver coil with a receive amplifier for use in an MR imaging system with a gradient field coil to Yamaya’s known apparatus of an MR RF receive coil for use in a MR imaging system to achieve the predictable result that a portable or body-located receiver/transceiver coil arrangement can improve imaging and surgical procedures by facilitating repositioning or access. See, e.g., Ha, Abstract and [0029].
However, while Yamaya in further view of Ha teaches arranging a flexible phased array coil in a head fixation device for fixing the coil to the head, Yamaya in further view of Ha does not appear to teach the wearable structure of the head fixation device comprises a structure that is made of an elastic material.
However, in the same field of endeavor of magnetic resonance transmission and reception coils, Schmidig teaches the wearable structure comprises a structure which is made of an elastic material and fixes the magnetic resonance receiving coil on the to-be-detected object (flexible phased array antenna is mounted to a support body, the support body comprising an elastic band for mounting the support body to the object to be imaged, Abstract, [0025], [0061]; see also [0053]-[0060]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Schmidig’s known technique of providing elastic bands for fixing the phased array support structure to the body to Yamaya in further view of Ha’s known apparatus of an MR RF receive coil for use in a MR imaging system that is arranged in a head fixation device to achieve the predictable result that providing a flexible phased array antenna mounted to a support structure including elastic bands to mount the support structure to the body allows the individual antennas of the array to be positioned as closely as possible to an object of various different sizes and shapes. See, e.g., Schmidig, [0025].
However, while Yamaya in further view of Ha in further view of Schmidig teaches a signal amplification component for the MR RF receive coil, Yamaya in further view of Ha in further view of Schmidig does not appear to teach the signal amplification component is arranged on a base accessory.
However, in the same field of endeavor of PET/MRI imaging, Caruba teaches the signal amplification component is arranged on a base accessory (received RF signals by the RF receiver coil is amplified by an low-noise RF preamplifier, [0041], [0042]; data acquisition unit provides a housing/enclosure that is outside but near the PET detectors to minimize signal distortion or other loss, [0046], Fig. 1; data acquisition unit includes components such as amplifiers that are sensitive to RF emissions, [0059]; see also necessity to isolate both MR and PET signals from the MR and PET subsystems, [0005]; see also positioning the data processing/acquisition units, near but outside the PET detector, [0006]-[0008]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Caruba’s known technique of isolating the amplification circuitry within an enclosure near but outside the PET detector to Yamaya in further view of Ha in further view of Schmidig’s known apparatus of amplification circuitry for the received RF signal to achieve the predictable result that interference from the RF emission of the PET subsystem is reduced while minimizing signal distortion or loss. See, e.g., Caruba, [0005], [0046].
Regarding claim 18, Yamaya does not appear to disclose the local transmitting coil is coupled to a local radio frequency transmission interface end of the magnetic resonance imaging system through an external junction box.
However, in the same field of endeavor of magnetic resonance transmission and reception coils, Ha teaches the local transmitting coil is coupled to a local radio frequency transmission interface end of the magnetic resonance imaging system through an external junction box (RF transmit phase shifting network has an input coupled to an RF transmit source of the MR imaging system, [0010], [0031], [0040], [0049], Figs. 2A, 3, 6A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Ha’s known technique of using a MR RF phased receiver/transceiver coil with a receive amplifier for use in an MR imaging system with a gradient field coil to Yamaya’s known apparatus of an MR RF receive coil for use in an MR imaging system to achieve the predictable result that a portable or body-located receiver/transceiver coil arrangement can improve imaging and surgical procedures by facilitating repositioning or access. See, e.g., Ha, Abstract, [0029].
Regarding claim 19, Yamaya does not appear to disclose the external junction box comprises a radio frequency power distributor.
However, in the same field of endeavor of magnetic resonance transmission and reception coils, Ha teaches the external junction box comprises a radio frequency power distributor (RF transmit phase shifting network has an input coupled to an RF transmit source of the MR imaging system, [0010], [0031], [0040], [0049], Figs. 2A, 3, 6A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Ha’s known technique of using a MR RF phased transceiver coil with a receive amplifier for use in an MR imaging system with a gradient field coil to Yamaya’s known apparatus of an MR RF receive coil for use in an MR imaging system to achieve the predictable result that a portable or body-located receiver/transceiver coil arrangement can improve imaging and surgical procedures by facilitating repositioning or access. See, e.g., Ha, Abstract, [0029].
Regarding claim 20, Yamaya does not appear to disclose the radio frequency power distributor is configured to generate two radio frequency signals with a same amplitude and a phase difference of 90 degrees.
However, in the same field of endeavor of magnetic resonance transmission and reception coils, Ha teaches the radio frequency power distributor is configured to generate two radio frequency signals with a same amplitude and a phase difference of 90 degrees (power splitter/hybrid has an input and outputs two signals having a 90° phase difference and the same magnitude/amplitude, [0012], [0040], [0064], [0065], [0073], Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Ha’s known technique of using a MR RF phased transceiver coil with a receive amplifier for use in an MR imaging system with a gradient field coil to Yamaya’s known apparatus of an MR RF receive coil for use in an MR imaging system to achieve the predictable result that a portable or body-located receiver/transceiver coil arrangement can improve imaging and surgical procedures by facilitating repositioning or access. See, e.g., Ha, Abstract, [0029].
Regarding claim 21, Yamaya does not appear to disclose an input end of the radio frequency power distributor is coupled to the local radio frequency transmission interface end of the magnetic resonance imaging system, and two output ends of the radio frequency power distributor are respectively coupled to the local transmitting coil.
However, in the same field of endeavor of magnetic resonance transmission and reception coils, Ha teaches an input end of the radio frequency power distributor is coupled to the local radio frequency transmission interface end of the magnetic resonance imaging system (RF transmit phase shifting network has an input coupled to an RF transmit source of the MR imaging system, [0010], [0031], [0040], [0049], Figs. 2A, 3, 6A), and two output ends of the radio frequency power distributor are respectively coupled to the local transmitting coil (RF transmit phase shifting network has at least two outputs connected to a corresponding channel coil, Fig. 2A, 3, 6A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Ha’s known technique of using a MR RF phased transceiver coil with a receive amplifier for use in an MR imaging system with a gradient field coil to Yamaya’s known apparatus of an MR RF receive coil for use in an MR imaging system to achieve the predictable result that a portable or body-located receiver/transceiver coil arrangement can improve imaging and surgical procedures by facilitating repositioning or access. See, e.g., Ha, Abstract, [0029].
Regarding claim 22, Yamaya in further view of Ha in further view of Schmidig does not appear to teach the signal amplification component is arranged in the external junction box.
However, in the same field of endeavor of PET/MRI imaging, Caruba teaches the signal amplification component is arranged in the external junction box (received RF signals by the RF receiver coil is amplified by an low-noise RF preamplifier, [0041], [0042]; data acquisition unit provides a housing/enclosure that is outside but near the PET detectors to minimize signal distortion or other loss wherein the power from the RF system is input via the DAU, [0046], Fig. 1; data acquisition unit includes components such as amplifiers and power supply inputs that are sensitive to RF emissions, [0059]; see also necessity to isolate both MR and PET signals from the MR and PET subsystems, [0005]; see also positioning the data processing/acquisition units, near but outside the PET detector, [0006]-[0008]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Caruba’s known technique of isolating the amplification circuitry within an enclosure near but outside the PET detector to Yamaya in further view of Ha in further view of Schmidig’s known apparatus of amplification circuitry for the received RF signal to achieve the predictable result that interference from the RF emission of the PET subsystem is reduced while minimizing signal distortion or loss. See, e.g., Caruba, [0005], [0046].
Regarding claim 23, Yamaya discloses the PET detection component further comprises a roller-like structure (rollers, [0145]-[0147], Figs. 37-38; see also [0117]) and a moving structure (PET detector moving device, [0145]-[0147]; see also [0117]), wherein a plurality of PET detectors are arranged in the roller-like structure (PET detector comprises a plurality of detector blocks that are arranged in the rollers, [0094], Figs. 2, 37-38), and the moving structure is configured to drive the roller-like structure to move along an extension direction of the to-be-detected object holder (cushion and RF coil is positioned such that the cushion carries the back side of the patient, [0092]; PET detector is movable relative to the patient and the RF coil along the extension direction of the bed/cushion by the rotation of the PET roller and PET detector moving device, [0145]-[0147], Figs. 37-38).
Claims 24-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaya in further view of Ha in further view of Schmidig in further view of Caruba.
Regarding claim 24, Yamaya discloses an imaging plug-in device (PET detector/RF coil device, Abstract, [0092]), applied to a magnetic resonance imaging system (PET detector/RF coil device is used in conjunction with a MRI device for MRI imaging, Abstract, [0002], [0009], [0092]), the magnetic resonance imaging system comprising: a magnetic field generation structure configured to generate a magnetic field (MRI device generates a magnetic field, [0005], [0006], [0093], [0094], [0104]), and a hospital bed configured to carry a human body and at least part of the imaging plug-in device (bed is configured to carry a patient/subject, [0004], Figs. 1, 3-4, 6-9, 11-12, 14, 16, 19, 34-35, 37-42, 45-46; bed is configured to carry at least the RF coil, [0092], [0145]-[0146], [0156], Figs. 3, 37-38), (note that the limitations recited in claim 1, lines 1-5 “applied to… imaging plug-in device” is merely a purpose and/or intended use for the claimed imaging plug-in device and does not result in a structural difference and does not have patentable weight, MPEP 2111.02 II. and 2114 II., MPEP 2114 II.; see also MPEP 2114 I. and 2112.01 I.; also note that “a magnetic resonance imaging system” and “a hospital bed” are not part of the claimed “an imaging plug-in device”),
wherein the imaging plug-in device comprises;
a to-be-detected object holder (cushion, [0092], Fig. 3) located at the magnetic field generated by the magnetic field generation structure (cushion and RF coil is placed in the magnetic field, [0092]), and configured to carry the to-be-detected object (cushion carries the back side of the patient, [0092], Fig. 3), wherein the to-be-detected object is a part of the human body (cushion carries the back side of the patient, [0092], Fig. 3);
a PET (Positron Emission Computed Tomography) detection component (PET detector, Abstract, [0092]) configured to detect a PET signal from the to-be-detected object (PET detector detects PET signal, [0002], [0007], [0043], [0092],[0098]-[0099], [0106]), so as to generate a PET image of the to-be-detected object (PET detector generates a PET image of the patient, [0002], [0007], [0043], [0092],[0098]-[0099], [0106]);
a magnetic resonance coil (RF coil, [0092]) at least comprising a magnetic resonance receiving coil for detecting a magnetic resonance signal from the to-be-detected object (RF coil comprises at least a receiver coil, [0111]-[0114]), and configured to generate a magnetic resonance image of the to-be-detected object (RF coil generates a MR image of the patient, [0002], [0092], [0099]); and
wherein the PET detection component is movable relative to the to-be-detected object holder to align the to-be-detected object or leave the to-be-detected object (cushion and RF coil is positioned such that the cushion carries the back side of the patient, [0092]; PET detector is movable relative to the patient and the RF coil, [0145]-[0147], Figs. 37-38);
wherein the magnetic resonance coil further comprises a local transmitting coil configured to transmit a radio frequency signal (RF coil comprises a transmitter coil, [0111]-[0114]),
wherein the magnetic resonance receiving coil and the local transmitting coil are integrated, and together form a transceiver coil (a transmitter-receiver two-way coil integrated into the inside of the PET detector, [0111]-[0114], Fig. 10), the transceiver coil is arranged on a side of the PET detection component close to the to-be-detected object (transmitter-receiver two-way coil is integrated into the inside of the PET detector, [0015], [0096], [0112], [0156], Fig. 42), and moves together with the PET detection component to align or leave the to-be-detected object (a transmitter-receiver two-way coil integrated into the inside of the PET detector, [0111]-[0114], Fig. 10; PET detector moves with integrated RF coil relative to the patient, [0150]-[0155], Fig. 41, [0157]-[0160], Figs. 44-46).
However, while Yamaya discloses a MRI device for MRI imaging that generates a magnetic field, a magnetic resonance RF receiving coil, and the magnetic resonance receiving coil and a local transmitting coil are integrated, and together form a transceiver coil, Yamaya does not appear to disclose the MRI device comprises a gradient magnetic field coil configured to form a gradient magnetic field at a to-be-detected object, the magnetic resonance RF receiving coil is a phased coil, a signal amplification component so as to at least improve a signal-to-noise ratio of the magnetic resonance signal, wherein the transceiver coil is a single-layer transceiver common phased array coil, wherein the magnetic resonance receiving coil comprises a flexible phased array coil, and at least part of the flexible phased array coil is arranged in a wearable structure, the wearable structure comprises a structure which is made of an elastic material and fixes the magnetic resonance receiving coil on the to-be-detected object.
However, in the same field of endeavor of magnetic resonance transmission and reception coils, Ha teaches the MRI device comprises a gradient magnetic field coil configured to form a gradient magnetic field at a to-be-detected object (MR imaging system includes one or more gradient field generation coils to form a gradient magnetic field, [0024], [0028]; note that the limitation recited in claim 1, lines 1-4 “applied to… a to-be-detected object” is merely a purpose and/or intended use for the claimed imaging plug-in device and does not result in a structural difference and does not have patentable weight, MPEP 2111.02 II. and 2114 II., MPEP 2114 II.; see also MPEP 2114 I. and 2112.01 I.; also note that “a magnetic resonance imaging system” is not part of the claimed “an imaging plug-in device”),
the magnetic resonance RF receiving coil is a phased coil (MR RF receiving/transceiver coil is a phased coil, [0024], [0033]), and
a signal amplification component so as to at least improve a signal-to-noise ratio of the magnetic resonance signal (receive channel amplifier increases signal sensitivity and are low-noise, [0004], [0021], [0033], [0035], [0049]; note that the limitation “component so as to at least improve a signal-to-noise ratio of the magnetic resonance signal” is merely a purpose and/or intended use for the claimed signal amplification component and does not result in a structural difference, MPEP 2111.02 II. and 2114 II., MPEP 2114 II.; see also MPEP 2114 I. and 2112.01 I.),
wherein the transceiver coil is a single-layer transceiver common phased array coil (MR/RF transceiver coil is a single-layer transceiver common phased array coil, [0022], [0024], [0032], [0033], [0039], [0050], Fig. 2A),
wherein the magnetic resonance receiving coil comprises a flexible phased array coil (MR RF receiving/transceiver coil is a phased coil, [0024], [0033]; the array coil is flexible, [0023]), and at least part of the flexible phased array coil is arranged in a wearable structure, the wearable structure comprises a structure which fixes the magnetic resonance receiving coil on the to-be-detected object (array coil is arranged in a head fixation device for fixing the array coil to the head, [0005], [0023], [0026], [0029], [0043], [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Ha’s known technique of using a MR RF phased receiver/transceiver coil with a receive amplifier for use in an MR imaging system with a gradient field coil to Yamaya’s known apparatus of an MR RF receive coil for use in a MR imaging system to achieve the predictable result that a portable or body-located receiver/transceiver coil arrangement can improve imaging and surgical procedures by facilitating repositioning or access. See, e.g., Ha, Abstract and [0029].
However, while Yamaya in further view of Ha teaches arranging a flexible phased array coil in a head fixation device for fixing the coil to the head, Yamaya in further view of Ha does not appear to teach the wearable structure of the head fixation device comprises a structure that is made of an elastic material.
However, in the same field of endeavor of magnetic resonance transmission and reception coils, Schmidig teaches the wearable structure comprises a structure which is made of an elastic material and fixes the magnetic resonance receiving coil on the to-be-detected object (flexible phased array antenna is mounted to a support body, the support body comprising an elastic band for mounting the support body to the object to be imaged, Abstract, [0025], [0061]; see also [0053]-[0060]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Schmidig’s known technique of providing elastic bands for fixing the phased array support structure to the body to Yamaya in further view of Ha’s known apparatus of an MR RF receive coil for use in a MR imaging system that is arranged in a head fixation device to achieve the predictable result that providing a flexible phased array antenna mounted to a support structure including elastic bands to mount the support structure to the body allows the individual antennas of the array to be positioned as closely as possible to an object of various different sizes and shapes. See, e.g., Schmidig, [0025].
However, while Yamaya in further view of Ha in further view of Schmidig teaches a signal amplification component for the MR RF receive coil, Yamaya in further view of Ha in further view of Schmidig does not appear to teach the signal amplification component is arranged on a base accessory.
However, in the same field of endeavor of PET/MRI imaging, Caruba teaches the signal amplification component is arranged on a base accessory (received RF signals by the RF receiver coil is amplified by an low-noise RF preamplifier, [0041], [0042]; data acquisition unit provides a housing/enclosure that is outside but near the PET detectors to minimize signal distortion or other loss, [0046], Fig. 1; data acquisition unit includes components such as amplifiers that are sensitive to RF emissions, [0059]; see also necessity to isolate both MR and PET signals from the MR and PET subsystems, [0005]; see also positioning the data processing/acquisition units, near but outside the PET detector, [0006]-[0008]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Caruba’s known technique of isolating the amplification circuitry within an enclosure near but outside the PET detector to Yamaya in further view of Ha in further view of Schmidig’s known apparatus of amplification circuitry for the received RF signal to achieve the predictable result that interference from the RF emission of the PET subsystem is reduced while minimizing signal distortion or loss. See, e.g., Caruba, [0005], [0046].
Regarding claim 25, Yamaya does not appear to disclose the magnetic resonance phased coil comprises a plurality of channel coils; each channel coil has a respective transmit/receive switch; the transmit/receive switch is configured to switch a working state of the channel coil corresponding to the transmit/receive switch, and the working state comprises: a transmitting state and a receiving state; and
the imaging plug-in device further comprises a multi-channel radio frequency power distributor, wherein each channel of the multi-channel radio frequency power distributor has a one-to-one correspondence with each channel coil.
However, in the same field of endeavor of magnetic resonance transmission and reception coils, Ha teaches the magnetic resonance phased coil comprises a plurality of channel coils (MR RF transceiver coil comprises a plurality of channels corresponding to a plurality of coils, [0024], [0040], [0049], Figs. 1A, 2A, 3, 6A); each channel coil has a respective transmit/receive switch; the transmit/receive switch is configured to switch a working state of the channel coil corresponding to the transmit/receive switch, and the working state comprises: a transmitting state and a receiving state (each channel coil has a corresponding T/R switch which switches the channel coil between a transmitting and a receiving state, [0021], [0032], [0033], [0035], [0049], Figs. 1A, 2A, 6A); and
the imaging plug-in device further comprises a multi-channel radio frequency power distributor, wherein each channel of the multi-channel radio frequency power distributor has a one-to-one correspondence with each channel coil (RF transmit phase shifting network including the RF transmit source connects to each channel coil, [0010], [0031], [0033], [0049], [0051], Figs. 2A, 3, 6A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Ha’s known technique of using a MR RF phased transceiver coil with a receive amplifier for use in an MR imaging system with a gradient field coil to Yamaya’s known apparatus of an MR RF receive coil for use in an MR imaging system to achieve the predictable result that a portable or body-located receiver/transceiver coil arrangement can improve imaging and surgical procedures by facilitating repositioning or access. See, e.g., Ha, Abstract, [0029].
Regarding claim 26, Yamaya does not appear to disclose a phase difference between adjacent channels of an 8-channel coil is 45 degrees, and phases of each channel of the 8-channel coil are not repeated.
However, in the same field of endeavor of magnetic resonance transmission and reception coils, Ha teaches a phase difference between adjacent channels of an 8-channel coil is 45 degrees, and phases of each channel of the 8-channel coil are not repeated (MR RF phased transceiver coil is an 8-channel coil with a phase difference of 45 degrees, wherein the phases of each channel are not repeated, each of the 8 channel coils has a relative phase difference of 45° and do not repeat in phase (0°, 45°, 90°, 135°, 180°, 225°, 270°, 315°), [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Ha’s known technique of using a MR RF phased transceiver coil with a receive amplifier for use in an MR imaging system with a gradient field coil to Yamaya’s known apparatus of an MR RF receive coil for use in an MR imaging system to achieve the predictable result that a portable or body-located receiver/transceiver coil arrangement can improve imaging and surgical procedures by facilitating repositioning or access. See, e.g., Ha, Abstract, [0029].
Regarding claim 27, Yamaya does not appear to disclose the multi-channel radio frequency power distributor comprises a three-level power distributor and a phase shifter.
However, in the same field of endeavor of magnetic resonance transmission and reception coils, Ha teaches the multi-channel radio frequency power distributor comprises a three-level power distributor (power splitter/hybrid has an input and two outputs, [0012], [0040], [0064], [0065], [0073], Fig. 3) and a phase shifter (phase shifting element/shifter, [0040], Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Ha’s known technique of using a MR RF phased transceiver coil with a receive amplifier for use in an MR imaging system with a gradient field coil to Yamaya’s known apparatus of an MR RF receive coil for use in an MR imaging system to achieve the predictable result that a portable or body-located receiver/transceiver coil arrangement can improve imaging and surgical procedures by facilitating repositioning or access. See, e.g., Ha, Abstract, [0029].
Regarding claim 28, Yamaya discloses the PET detection component further comprises a roller-like structure (rollers, [0145]-[0147], Figs. 37-38; see also [0117]) and a moving structure (PET detector moving device, [0145]-[0147]; see also [0117]), wherein a plurality of PET detectors are arranged in the roller-like structure (PET detector comprises a plurality of detector blocks that are arranged in the rollers, [0094], Figs. 2, 37-38), and the moving structure is configured to drive the roller-like structure to move along an extension direction of the to-be-detected object holder (cushion and RF coil is positioned such that the cushion carries the back side of the patient, [0092]; PET detector is movable relative to the patient and the RF coil along the extension direction of the bed/cushion by the rotation of the PET roller and PET detector moving device, [0145]-[0147], Figs. 37-38).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0164915) discloses a MR/PET imaging system with a multi-channel amplified transceiver phased array MR coil.
Yamaya (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0030287) discloses a MR/PET imaging system with a roller mounted PET coil.
Bulkes et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0279058) discloses a phased array MR imaging coil with N-channels and 2π/N phase difference between the channels.
Weyers (U.S. Patent No. 6,608,480) discloses an 8-channelphased array MR imaging coil with 45° phase difference between the channels.
Majewski et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,634,747) discloses an external electronics box near but outside of the PET detector ROI for housing sensitive electronics in a MR/PET imaging system.
Schulz et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0219347) discloses an external electronics box near but outside of the PET detector ROI for housing sensitive electronics in a MR/PET imaging system.
Choi et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0217112) discloses an external electronics box near but outside of the PET detector ROI for housing sensitive electronics in a MR/PET imaging system.
Cherry et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0214927) discloses an external electronics box near but outside of the PET detector ROI for housing sensitive electronics in a MR/PET imaging system.
Caruba et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0022364) discloses an external electronics box near but outside of the PET detector ROI for housing sensitive electronics in a MR/PET imaging system.
Jones (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0137969) discloses a flexible phased coil array receiver coil arranged in a wearable structure comprising an elastic material for fixing the coil on the to-be-detected object.
Obdoj et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0123609) discloses a flexible phased coil array receiver coil arranged in a wearable structure comprising an elastic material for fixing the coil on the to-be-detected object.
Vij (U.S. Pub. No. 2002/0180442) discloses a flexible phased coil array receiver coil arranged in a wearable structure comprising an elastic material for fixing the coil on the to-be-detected object.
/J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/KEITH M RAYMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798