DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed on 06/05/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Claim Status
Claims 1, 12 and 15 are amended.
No new claim is/are added.
Claims 1-13 and 15-21 are pending for examination.
Applicant Argument
Re: Response to Rejection of Claims under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a)
Applicant’s Remarks (remark pages 9-10), filed on 06/05/2026, regarding rejections to claims 1, 12 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a), have been considered and the claims have been amended. The rejections to claims 1, 12 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) have been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Re: Response to Rejection of Claims under 35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant’s response has been fully considered. Below are applicant’s main arguments and examiner’s response to those arguments:
Applicant’s argument: (remark pages 10-12), filed on 06/05/2026, with respect to 1, 12 and 15, ‘The Office Action rejected Claims 1, 12, and 15 … However, TS 38.214 does not teach or suggest the specific structural and temporal linkage in which multiple consecutive CSI-RSs in an NZP CSI-RS resource set are aligned over predetermined slots and jointly activated by a single/common triggering instance, particularly in the context of a CSI reporting configuration for high-speed devices … Accordingly, Applicant asserts that the amended claims are not rendered obvious by the cited references. Applicant respectfully requests that the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 be withdrawn’.
Examiner’s response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. TS38.214 teaches CSI-RS corresponding to four periodic NZP CSI-RS resources in two consecutive slots (slots are configured and so predetermined) by a common resource instance such as CSI-AperiodicTriggerState (TS38.214: [Page 49], [Page 38], [Page 37, [Page 53]) and CSI report corresponding to the NZP CSI-RSs comprises a first part and the second part, wherein the at least one CSI report is classified into two or more report types (TS38.214: [Page 97], [Page 98]). RP-191 teaches consecutive CSI-RSs (temporal linkage) (RP-191 [Figure 2], [Page 4]). By the way, the claims as current amendments do not recite CSI reporting configuration for high-speed devices. Therefore, combination of TS38.214 and RP-191 teaches the subject matters as claimed. See the detailed Office Action bellow under 35 U.S.C. § 103 section.
Applicant’s arguments (remark pages 10-12), filed on 06/05/2026, with respect to claims 1-13 and 15-21 have been considered but are not convincing. The claim rejections under 35 USC § 103 are not withdrawn.
This Office Action is made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TS38.214 (“Physical layer procedures for data”), in view of RP-191340 (“NR Mobility Enhancements for FR1 and FR2”), hereinafter “RP-191”.
Per claim 1, 12 and 15:
Regarding claim 12, TS38.214 teaches ‘A user equipment (UE)’ (TS38.214: [Page 9]: “User equipment”); ‘comprising: at least one memory’ (Existence of a memory for UE is implied); ‘at least one processor’ (Existence of a processor for UE is implied); ‘coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to’ (these are implied);
‘receive a channel state information (CSI) reporting configuration’ (TS38.214: [Page 49]: “a UE is configured by higher layers with
CSIReportConfig Reporting Settings”, UE would receive a CSI reporting configuration);
‘receive CSI reference signal (RS) (CSI-RS) resources based on a CSI-RS resource configuration’ (TS38.214: [Page 49]: “Each CSI Resource Setting CSI-ResourceConfig contains a configuration of a list of
CSI Resource Sets (given by higher layer parameter csi-RS-ResourceSetList), where the list is comprised of references to either or both of NZP CSI-RS resource set(s) and SS/PBCH block set(s)”, UE would receive CSI-RS resources);
‘wherein the CSI-RS resources correspond to consecutive CSI-RSs received over pre-determined slots’ (TS38.214: [Page 38]: “the UE may be configured with one or more NZP CSI-RS set(s), where a NZP-CSI-RSResourceSet consists of four periodic NZP CSI-RS resources in two consecutive slots”, slots are configured (pre-determined); [Page 37]: “CSI-RS resource in a NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet configured with higher layer parameter trs-Info”). However, TS38.214 fails to expressly teach consecutive CSI-RSs;
‘the consecutive CSI-RSs configured in a non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resource set are triggered by a common instance’ (TS38.214: [Page 53]: “each trigger state configured using the higher layer parameter CSI-AperiodicTriggerState is associated with one or multiple CSI-ReportConfig”, multiple CSI-ReportConfig can be triggered by a same trigger state). However, TS38.214 fails to expressly teach consecutive CSI-RSs;
‘generate at least one CSI report’ (TS38.214: [Page 96]: Chapter 5.2.3 “CSI reporting using PUSCH: A UE shall perform aperiodic CSI reporting using PUSCH on serving cell c upon successful decoding of a DCI format 0_1 or DCI format 0_2 which triggers an aperiodic CSI trigger state”, UE would generate CSI report); ‘based on one or more of at least one measurement’ (TS38.214: [Page 95]: “one CSI-RS transmission occasion for channel measurement”), ‘or at least one configuration according to at least one of the CSI reporting configuration or the CSI-RS resource configuration’ (these are optional);
‘wherein the at least one CSI report comprises a first part and a second part, and the second part comprises at least one group of CSI elements’ (TS38.214: [Page 97]: “For Type I, Type II and Enhanced Type II CSI feedback on PUSCH, a CSI report comprises of two parts. Part 1 has a fixed payload size … When CSI reporting on PUSCH comprises two parts, the UE may omit a portion of the Part 2 CSI. Omission of Part 2 CSI is according to the priority order shown in Table 5.2.3-1”; [Page 98: Table 5.2.3-1]: “Priority reporting levels for Part 2 CSI”, “Group 1”, “Group 2”; [Page 98]: “Group 1 includes indices
(if reported), i16 i, the
highest priority elements … Group 2 includes the
lowest priority elements of
, the
lowest priority elements”; Second part comprising at least one group of prioritized CSI elements);
‘wherein the at least one CSI report is classified into two or more report types’ (TS38.214: [Page 97]: “For Type II CSI feedback, Part 1 contains RI (if reported), CQI, and an indication of the number of non-zero wideband amplitude coefficients per layer for the Type II CSI (see Clause 5.2.2.2.3) … Part 2 contains the PMI of the Type II CSI”, two report types corresponding to the two parts);
‘report the at least one CSI report to a network’ (TS38.214: Chapter 5.2.3 “CSI reporting using PUSCH”, UE would report CSI to network).
However, RP-191 in the same field of endeavor teaches consecutive CSI-RSs (RP-191: [Figure 2]: “CSI-RS density and CSI feedback cite based on channel coherence time (a) and channel stationarity rime (b)”, “
”, CSI-RS burst with 4 consecutive CSI-RSs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine RP-191’s teaching with that of TS38.214 to avoid high CSI update rate in UE mobility scenario in FR2 or in high-mobility scenarios at FR1 (RP-191: [Page 4]: “The CS/ feedback rate depends on the· channel coherence time,. a high CSI (CQI and/or PMI) update rate is therefore required in UE-mobility scenarios at FR2, or in high-mobility scenarios at FRI, where the channel variations are fast and the channel coherence time is small. In order to overcome this drawback and to decouple the CSI feedback rate from the channel coherence time, the CSI report should contain information on the fast fading channel variations in form of a Doppler spectrum-related information”).
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites the method implemented by the apparatus of claim 12 (see rejection of claim 12 above).
Regarding claim 15, TS38.214 teaches ‘A base station’ (TS38.214: [Page 49]: “gNB”); ‘comprising: at least one memory’ (Existence of a memory for gNB is implied); ‘at least one processor’ (Existence of a processor for gNB is implied); ‘coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to’ (these are implied);
‘transmit a channel state information (CSI) reporting configuration’ (TS38.214: [Page 49]: “a UE is configured by higher layers with
CSIReportConfig Reporting Settings”, gNB would transmit a CSI reporting configuration);
‘transmit CSI reference signal (RS) (CSI-RS) resources based on a CSI-RS resource configuration’ (TS38.214: [Page 49]: “Each CSI Resource Setting CSI-ResourceConfig contains a configuration of a list of
CSI Resource Sets (given by higher layer parameter csi-RS-ResourceSetList), where the list is comprised of references to either or both of NZP CSI-RS resource set(s) and SS/PBCH block set(s) or the list is comprised of references to CSI-IM resource set(s)”, gNB would transmit CSI-RS resources);
‘wherein the CSI-RS resources correspond to consecutive CSI-RSs transmitted over pre-determined slots’ (TS38.214: [Page 38]: “the UE may be configured with one or more NZP CSI-RS set(s), where a NZP-CSI-RSResourceSet consists of four periodic NZP CSI-RS resources in two consecutive slots”, slots are configured (pre-determined); [Page 37]: “CSI-RS resource in a NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet configured with higher layer parameter trs-Info”). However, TS38.214 fails to expressly teach consecutive CSI-RSs;
‘the consecutive CSI-RSs configured in a non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resource set are triggered by a common instance’ (TS38.214: [Page 53]: “each trigger state configured using the higher layer parameter CSI-AperiodicTriggerState is associated with one or multiple CSI-ReportConfig”, multiple CSI-ReportConfig can be triggered by a same trigger state). However, TS38.214 fails to expressly teach consecutive CSI-RSs;
‘receive at least one CSI report’ (TS38.214: Chapter 5.2.3: “CSI reporting using PUSCH”, gNB would receive CSI report from UE);
‘wherein the at least one CSI report is determined based on one or more of at least one measurement’ (TS38.214: [Page 96]: Chapter 5.2.3 “CSI reporting using PUSCH: A UE shall perform aperiodic CSI reporting using PUSCH on serving cell c upon successful decoding of a DCI format 0_1 or DCI format 0_2 which triggers an aperiodic CSI trigger state”; [Page 95]: “one CSI-RS transmission occasion for channel measurement”), ‘or at least one configuration according to at least one of the CSI reporting configuration or the CSI-RS resource configuration’ (these are optional);
‘the at least one group of prioritized CSI elements the at least one CSI report comprises a first part and a second part, and the second part comprises at least one group of CSI elements’ (TS38.214: [Page 97]: “For Type I, Type II and Enhanced Type II CSI feedback on PUSCH, a CSI report comprises of two parts. Part 1 has a fixed payload size … When CSI reporting on PUSCH comprises two parts, the UE may omit a portion of the Part 2 CSI. Omission of Part 2 CSI is according to the priority order shown in Table 5.2.3-1”; [Page 98: Table 5.2.3-1]: “Priority reporting levels for Part 2 CSI”, “Group 1”, “Group 2”; [Page 98]: “Group 1 includes indices
(if reported), i16 i, the
highest priority elements … Group 2 includes the
lowest priority elements of
, the
lowest priority elements”; second part comprising at least one group of prioritized CSI elements);
‘the at least one CSI report is classified into two or more report types’ (TS38.214: [Page 97]: “For Type II CSI feedback, Part 1 contains RI (if reported), CQI, and an indication of the number of non-zero wideband amplitude coefficients per layer for the Type II CSI (see Clause 5.2.2.2.3) … Part 2 contains the PMI of the Type II CSI”, two report types corresponding to the two parts).
However, RP-191 teaches consecutive CSI-RSs (RP-191: [Figure 2]: “CSI-RS density and CSI feedback cite based on channel coherence time (a) and channel stationarity rime (b)”, “
”, CSI-RS burst with 4 consecutive CSI-RSs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine RP-191’s teaching with that of TS38.214 to avoid high CSI update rate in UE mobility scenario in FR2 or in high-mobility scenarios at FR1 (RP-191: [Page 4]: “The CS/ feedback rate depends on the· channel coherence time,. a high CSI (CQI and/or PMI) update rate is therefore required in UE-mobility scenarios at FR2, or in high-mobility scenarios at FRI, where the channel variations are fast and the channel coherence time is small. In order to overcome this drawback and to decouple the CSI feedback rate from the channel coherence time, the CSI report should contain information on the fast fading channel variations in form of a Doppler spectrum-related information”).
Regarding claim 16, combination of TS38.214 and RP-191 teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above).
TS38.214 teaches ‘wherein the CSI-RS resource configuration configures two CSI-RS resource configurations’ (TS38.214: [Page 34]: “the UE can be configured with one or more ZP CSI-RS resource set configuration(s) for aperiodic, semi-persistent and periodic time-domain behaviours … ZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSetlds = 1 … ZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSetlds = 2”; [Page 34]: “periodicityAndOffeet in ZP-CSI-RS-Resource defines the ZP-CSI-RS periodicity and slot offset for periodic/semi-persistent ZP-CSI-RS”).
TS38.214 does not expressly teach, but RP-191 teaches ‘with different time pattern behaviors’ (RP-191: [Page 3]: [FIG.2]: “(a) CSI-RS density and CSI feedback rate of current NR systems based on channel coherence time”, “CSI-RS density”; [FIG,2]: “(b) CSI-RS burst and CSI feedback rate based on channel stationarity time”, “CSI-RS density”; different time pattern behaviors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine RP-191’s teaching with that of TS38.214 in order to overcome high CSI update rate in UE mobility scenario at FR2 or in high-mobility scenarios at FR1 (RP-191: [Page 4]: “The CS/ feedback rate depends on the· channel coherence time,. a high CSI (CQI and/or PMI) update rate is therefore required in UE-mobility scenarios at FR2, or in high-mobility scenarios at FRI, where the channel variations are fast and the channel coherence time is small. In order to overcome this drawback and to decouple the CSI feedback rate from the channel coherence time, the CSI report should contain information on the fast fading channel variations in form of a Doppler spectrum-related information”).
Claims 2-5, 7-11, 13, 17-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination of TS38.214 and RP-191, in view of Park et al. (US 20180131429 A1), hereinafter “Park”.
Per claim 2 and 13:
Regarding claim 13, combination of TS38.214 and RP-191 teaches the UE of claim 12 (discussed above).
TS38.214 teaches ‘wherein the at least one CSI report is classified into a primary CSI report type and a secondary CSI report type’ (TS38.214: [Page 97]: “For Type II CSI feedback, Part 1 contains RI (if reported), CQI, and an indication of the number of non-zero wideband amplitude coefficients per layer for the Type II CSI (see Clause 5.2.2.2.3) … Part 2 contains the PMI of the Type II CSI”, two report types corresponding to the two parts). However, combination of TS38.214 and RP-191 fails to expressly teach a primary CSI report type and a secondary CSI report type.
However, Park in the same field of endeavor teaches a primary CSI report type and a secondary CSI report type (Park: [Abstract]: “a method for efficiently supporting vehicle communication in a next-generation radio communication system, and a device therefor. To this end, a user equipment (UE) provides … primary channel state information … a secondary channel state information”, primary and secondary CSI report types).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s teaching with that of combination of TS38.214 and RP-191 in order to efficiently support vehicle communication (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 recites the method implemented by the UE of claim 13 (see rejection of claim 13 above).
Per claim 3 and 17:
Regarding claim 17, combination of TS38.214, RP-191 and Park teaches the UE of claim 13 (discussed above).
TS38.214 teaches ‘wherein the primary CSI report type comprises CSI corresponding to a first subset of two subsets of the CSI report’ (TS38.214: [Page 97]: “For Type II CSI feedback, Part 1 contains RI (if reported), CQI, and an indication of the number of non-zero wideband amplitude coefficients per layer for the Type II CSI (see Clause 5.2.2.2.3)”, a first part (subset) of the two parts (two subsets));
‘wherein the secondary CSI report type comprises CSI corresponding to a second subsequent subset of the two subsets of the CSI report’ (TS38.214: [Page 97]: “Part 2 contains the PMI of the Type II CSI”, a second part (subset) of the two parts (two subsets)).
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 recites the method implemented by the UE of claim 17 (see rejection of claim 17 above).
Per claim 4 and 18:
Regarding claim 18, combination of TS38.214, RP-191 and Park teaches the UE of claim 17 (discussed above).
Combination of TS38.214 and Park teaches ‘wherein the first subset of the CSI report comprises the first part of the at least one CSI report and a first subset of the at least one group of the second part of the CSI report’ (TS38.214: [Page 97]: “For Type II CSI feedback, Part 1 contains RI (if reported), CQI, and an indication of the number of non-zero wideband amplitude coefficients per layer for the Type II CSI (see Clause 5.2.2.2.3) … Part 2 contains the PMI of the Type II CSI”; [0049]: “The CSI-ReportConfig can also contain CodebookConfig, which contains configuration parameters for Type-I, Type II or Enhanced Type II CSI including codebook subset restriction, and configurations of group based reporting”. Park: [0011]: “The primary CSIs may include a predetermined number of rank indicator (RI), precoding matrix index (PMI)”, the first subset of CSI report may include some part of PMI (a first subset of the at least one group of the second part of the CSI report));
‘the second subset of the CSI report comprises a second subset of the at least one group of the second part of the CSI report’ (TS38.214: [Page 97]: “Part 2 contains the PMI of the Type II CSI”; [0049]: “The CSI-ReportConfig can also contain CodebookConfig, which contains configuration parameters for Type-I, Type II or Enhanced Type II CSI including codebook subset restriction, and configurations of group based reporting”; [Page 75]-[Page 81]: a group of coefficients: codebook indices i1, i2 and their sub-indices; [Page 64]-[Page 91]: Chapter 5.2.2.2: “Precoding matrix indicator (PMI)”; UE may report some other part of PMI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s teaching of primary CSI and secondary CSI with that of combination of TS38.214 and RP-191 in order to efficiently support vehicle communication (Park: [Abstract]: “a method for efficiently supporting vehicle communication in a next-generation radio communication system, and a device therefor. To this end, a user equipment (UE) provides … primary channel state information … a secondary channel state information”).
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 recites the method implemented by the UE of claim 18 (see rejection of claim 18 above).
Per claim 5 and 19:
Regarding claim 19, combination of TS38.214, RP-191 and Park teaches the UE of claim 13 (discussed above).
Combination of TS38.214 and Park teaches ‘wherein the primary CSI report type comprises one or more of a rank indicator (RI), a CSI resource indicator (CRI), a channel quality indicator (CQI)’ (TS38.214: [Page 97]: “Part 1 contains RI (if reported), CRI (if reported), CQI”); ‘a first subset of a precoding matrix indicator (PMI)’ (Park: [0011]: “The primary CSIs may include a predetermined number of rank indicator (RI), precoding matrix index (PMI)”, the primary CSIs may include some part of PMI);
‘the secondary CSI report type comprises a second subset of the PMI’ (TS38.214: [Page 97]: “Part 2 contains the PMI of the Type II CSI”; [Page 75]-[Page 81]: a group of coefficients: codebook indices i1, i2 and their sub-indices; [Page 64]-[Page 91]: Chapter 5.2.2.2: “Precoding matrix indicator (PMI)”; UE may report some other part of PMI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s teaching of primary CSI and secondary CSI with that of combination of TS38.214 and RP-191 in order to efficiently support vehicle communication (Park: [Abstract]: “a method for efficiently supporting vehicle communication in a next-generation radio communication system, and a device therefor. To this end, a user equipment (UE) provides … primary channel state information … a secondary channel state information”).
Regarding claim 5, claim 5 recites the method implemented by the UE of claim 19 (see rejection of claim 19 above).
Per claim 7 and 21:
Regarding claim 21, combination of TS38.214, RP-191 and Park teaches the UE of claim 13 (discussed above).
TS38.214 teaches ‘is transmitted in a semi-persistent manner’ (TS38.214: [Page 97]: “A UE shall perform semi-persistent CSI reporting on the PUSCH upon successful decoding of a DCI format 0_1 or DCI format 0_2 which activates a semi-persistent CSI trigger state”);
‘is deactivated based on signaling’ (TS38.214: [Page 97]: “DCI format 0_1 and DCI format 0_2 contains a CSI request field which indicates the semi-persistent CSI trigger state to activate or deactivate”, DCI to deactivate); ‘channel conditions’ (TS38.214: [Page 93]: “the UE shall assume non-zero transmission power for CSI-RS resource”; [Page 62]: “semi-persistent CSI-RS/SSB resource for channel measurement for L 1-RSRP”; [Page 99]: “If the UE is in an active semi-persistent CSI reporting configuration on PUSCH, the CSI reporting is deactivated when either the downlink BWP or the uplink BWP is changed”; would be deactivated if UE could not detect the CSI-RS/SSB due to channel conditions); ‘or both’ (this is optional).
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 recites the method implemented by the UE of claim 21 (see rejection of claim 21 above).
Regarding claim 8, combination of TS38.214, RP-191 and Park teaches the method of claim 2 (discussed above).
Combination of TS38.214 and Park teaches ‘wherein the primary CSI report type and the secondary CSI report type have different configurations for one or more of a report quantity’ (TS38.214: [Page 97]: “For Type II CSI feedback, Part 1 contains RI (if reported), CQI, and an indication of the number of non-zero wideband amplitude coefficients per layer for the Type II CSI (see Clause 5.2.2.2.3) … Part 2 contains the PMI of the Type II CSI”, two parts would have different CSI report size);
‘a channel quality information (CQI) format’ (TS38.214: [Page 97]: “Semi-persistent CSI reporting on the PUSCH supports Type I, Type II with wideband, and sub-band frequency granularities and Enhanced Type II CSI”; [Page 63]: “sub-band CQI … wideband CQI”, different CQI format);
‘a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) format’ (TS38.214: [0097]: “Part 2 contains the PMI of the Type II CSI”; [Page 52]: “wideband PMI or subband PMI reporting”; Park: [0011]: “The primary CSIs may include a predetermined number of rank indicator (RI), precoding matrix index (PMI)”; [0108]: “Each sub-array reports a different PMI”; different PMI format);
‘a codebook configuration’ (TS38.214: [Page 74]: Table 5.2.2.2.2-3: “Codebook for 1-layer CSI reporting”; [Page 74]: Table 5.2.2.2.2-4: “Codebook for 2-layer CSI reporting”; [Page 84]: Table 5.2.2.2.4-1: “Codebook for 1-layer and 2-layer CSI reporting”; [Page 90]: Table 5.2.2.2.5-5: “Codebook for 1-layer. 2-layer, 3-layer and 4-layer CSI reporting”, different codebook configuration);
‘a report frequency configuration’ (TS38.214: [Page 97]: “An aperiodic CSI report carried on the PUSCH supports wideband, and sub-band frequency granularities”, different report frequency configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s teaching of primary CSI and secondary CSI with that of combination of TS38.214 and RP-191 in order to efficiently support vehicle communication (Park: [Abstract]: “a method for efficiently supporting vehicle communication in a next-generation radio communication system, and a device therefor. To this end, a user equipment (UE) provides … primary channel state information … a secondary channel state information”).
Regarding claim 9, combination of TS38.214, RP-191 and Park teaches the method of claim 8 (discussed above).
Combination of TS38.214 and Park teaches ‘wherein the differences in configurations between the primary CSI report type and the secondary CSI report type are signaled, set by a rule’ (TS38.214: [Page 97]: “DCI format 0_1 and DCI format 0_2 contains a CSI request field which indicates the semi-persistent CSI trigger state to activate or deactivate”. [Park]: [0011]: “the primary CSIs may include a predetermined number of rank indicator (RI), precoding matrix index (PMI), and channel quality indicator (CQI) sets having quality of a predetermined level or more, and the central unit may determine the secondary CSI, based on a set having a common RI and a common PMI among the primary CSIs”; would signal the differences in configurations set by a rule); ‘or are the same but are reported with different bitwidths’ (this is optional).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s teaching of primary CSI and secondary CSI with that of combination of TS38.214 and RP-191 in order to efficiently support vehicle communication (Park: [Abstract]: “a method for efficiently supporting vehicle communication in a next-generation radio communication system, and a device therefor. To this end, a user equipment (UE) provides … primary channel state information … a secondary channel state information”).
Regarding claim 10, combination of TS38.214, RP-191 and Park teaches the method of claim 2 (discussed above).
Combination of TS38.214 and Park teaches ‘wherein one codebook is identified by CSI included in both of the primary CSI report type and the secondary CSI report type’ (TS38.214: Chapter 5.2.2.2.3 “Type II Codebook”; [Page 97]: “For Type II CSI feedback, Part 1 contains RI (if reported), CQI, and an indication of the number of non-zero wideband amplitude coefficients per layer for the Type II CSI … Part 2 contains the PMI of the Type II CSI”, one codebook for both parts. Park: [0082]: “when a single codebook is used, the number of beams, indication indexes of beams, and expected channel quality (RI, PMI, and/or CQI)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s teaching of primary CSI and secondary CSI with that of combination of TS38.214 and RP-191 in order to efficiently support vehicle communication (Park: [Abstract]: “a method for efficiently supporting vehicle communication in a next-generation radio communication system, and a device therefor. To this end, a user equipment (UE) provides … primary channel state information … a secondary channel state information”).
Regarding claim 11, combination of TS38.214, RP-191 and Park teaches the method of claim 2 (discussed above).
TS38.214 does not expressly teach, but combination of RP-191 and Park teaches ‘wherein the primary CSI report type, or the secondary CSI report type, or both comprise Doppler-related information’ (RP-191: [Page 4]: “Observation 4: To drastically reduce the CSI feedback rate in UE-moving scenarios at FRI and/or FR2, the CSI report should contain Doppler spectrum-related information corresponding to the multipath propagation channel. The Doppler spectrum-related information can be represented in the form of a precoder (PMI) in the CSI report”. Park: [Abstract]: “a method for efficiently supporting vehicle communication in a next-generation radio communication system, and a device therefor. To this end, a user equipment (UE) provides … primary channel state information … a secondary channel state information”, primary and secondary report types).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of combination of RP-191 and Park with that of TS38.214 in order to drastically reduce the CSI feedback in UE-moving scenarios (see reference quotes in element above).
Claims 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination of TS38.214, RP-191 and Park, in view of Chen et al. (US 20120257524 A1), hereinafter “Chen”.
Per claim 6 and 20:
Regarding claim 20, combination of TS38.214, RP-191 and Park teaches the UE of claim 13 (discussed above).
Combination of TS38.214 and Park teaches ‘wherein CSI report quantities reported in the primary CSI report type and the secondary CSI report type’ (TS38.214: [Page 97]: “For Type II CSI feedback, Part 1 contains RI (if reported), CQI, and an indication of the number of non-zero wideband amplitude coefficients per layer for the Type II CSI (see Clause 5.2.2.2.3) … Part 2 contains the PMI of the Type II CSI”; the CSI report quantities would be the size of CSI report; [Page 93]: “periodicityAndOffset defines the CSI-RS periodicity and slot offset for periodic/semi-persistent CSI-RS”. Park: [Abstract]: “a method for efficiently supporting vehicle communication in a next-generation radio communication system, and a device therefor. To this end, a user equipment (UE) provides … primary channel state information … a secondary channel state information”, primary and secondary report types).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s teaching of primary CSI and secondary CSI with that of combination of TS38.214 and RP-191 in order to efficiently support vehicle communication (see reference quotes in element above).
Combination of TS38.214, RP-191 and Park does not expressly teach, but Chen in the same field of endeavor teaches ‘are reported with different periodicities’ (Chen: [0051]: “the UE may be configured to report different types of CSI at different periodicities”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen’s teaching with that of combination of TS38.214, RP-191 and Park in order to optimize resource utilization by configuring different CSI types with different periodicities (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 recites the method implemented by the UE of claim 20 (see rejection of claim 20 above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2462
/KEVIN C. HARPER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462