Response to Argument and Amendment
The response filed on 1/14/26 has been entered.
Applicant’s arguments filed 1/14/26 have been fully considered but they are not deemed to be persuasive.
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 9, 11, 19, 21, 30-31, 36, 86 and 104 are pending in this office action.
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 9, 11, 19, 21, 30-31, 36, 86 and 104 are pending and under examination in this office action. Claim 97 remain withdrawn.
Claim 86 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph is withdrawn due to the amendment to the claim.
The rejection of Claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Halachmi et al. (WO 2020/089919) is withdrawn due to the amendment to the claim.
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 9, 11, 19, 21, 30-31, 36, 86 and 104 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobilka (US2018/0280913A1) in view of Clarke et al. (US 2007/0087049).
Kobilka teaches a first and second microcapsule (see 0005) linked to a polymer (see 0006)wherein the polymer is a copolymer (as required by instant claims 1, 5, see 0030) wherein the functional group is an allyl (see 0036, as required by instant claim 6) and further teaches that the multi-component comprises epoxy and or polyurethane (see 0023, as required by instant claims 9, 11, and 36), covalently linked (see 0006) wherein the to another (see 0019). With regards to instant claim 104, Kobilka teaches the first and second capsules comprises microcapsule (see 0006-0007). Although the claims recites adhesives as polyurethathane and epoxy, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the characteristics of epoxy and polyurethane as a product does not change. Therefore the reference teaches the instant claims.
Additionally teaches the multicomponent comprises a pharmaceutically active product (see 0024, as required by instant claim 31). With regards to instant claim30, the shell material is a formaldehyde (see 0034)
However Kobilka fails to a further substance N3 and K3 (as required by instant claim 19.
Clarke with regards to instant claim 1, teaches a multi-component system comprising a plurality of drug substance (see abstract) first substance ie., having a linker between 2 capsules (see col. 7, lines 26-41), wherein the multi-component dosage form comprises a polymer which contains a drug substance (i.e., a pharmaceutically active), wherein the polymer is a copolymer (see 0061) and may have three capsule compartments (see 0010; 0014) with an adhesive (see 0018) comprising an adhesive (see 0018).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have expanded the teachings of Kobilka to include Clarke and modify the teachings of Kobilka to result in the instant claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success because they cited references are both drawn to the same technical feature and therefore with modifying and or combining Kobilka with Clarke would have resulted in the instant claimed invention at the time the claimed was filed.
Applicant argues that Kobilka does not disclose, teach, or suggest the presently claimed two capsules K1 and K2 in a multi-component system either.
In response, this is found unpersuasive because Kobilka teaches that their catcapsule for self-healing is a microcapsule component comprising a first and second microcapsule. In arguendo if this is true, note that this is a rejection under USC 103 and the combination of the prior art should be considered in totality. It should be noted that Clarke teaches a multi-component system comprising a plurality of drug substance (see abstract) first substance ie., having a linker between 2 capsules (see col. 7, lines 26-41), wherein the multi-component dosage form comprises a polymer which contains a drug substance. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of a multi-component taught by Clarke to result in the instant claimed invention.
Maintained Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 9, 11, 19, 21, 30-31, 36 and 86are provisionally rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-2, of U.S. Patent Application No. 17598146. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The reasons are as follows:
· Both sets of claims refer to a multi-component system comprising a first substance and a second substance, wherein the multi-component system can be activated, wherein the first substance and the second substance are present. The current application claims anticipate the copending application claims are obvious variation as the first linker and the second linker are each independently a biopolymer, a protein, silk, a polysaccharide, a cellulose, a starch, a chitin, nucleic acid, a synthetic polymer, a homopolymer, a polyethylene (see instant claim 5 and copending claim 1).
· Both applications recite using the same compositions and/or derivatives thereof. The compositions recited in the claims are anticipatory of each other. It would have been obvious to employ the copending claims in practicing the instant claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success as the claims are drawn to the same technical feature.
In view of the foregoing, the copending application claims and the current application claims are obvious variations.
Applicant’s argument that the claims of do not recite a multi-component. In response , Claim 2 which depends from claim 1 recites the multi-component system according to claim 1, wherein a conductivity of the one or more first portions of substance is an electrical conductivitv and/or a thermal conductivity
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIRLEY V GEMBEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615 3/10/26