DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-6, 8, 11 and 14) in the reply filed on 11/26/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that in Group II, claims 11-15, are part of Group I. Examiner agrees. The Examiner inadvertently listed claims 11-15 into Group I however, further in the Restriction Requirement they are listed under Group I and categorized as species. Further, Applicant elects species (i) (claim 6) of Category A, species (i) (claim 11) of Category B, and species (i) (claim 14) of Category C. Applicant further argue that the restriction between claims 6-7 is improper because both describe a radial direction of flow. Examiner respectfully disagree. The radial element in claim 6 corresponds to the arrangement of the introduction points (42) in the outer wall of the tube while in claim 7 corresponds to the flow of gas. In claim 7, the introduction points (42) are arranged on the mixing element while in claim 6, they are arranged in the tube section.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 7, 9-10, 12-13 and 15 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 11/26/2025.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 are currently pending in the application, of claims 7, 9-10, 12-13 and 15 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-6, 8, 11 and 14 are being examined on the merits in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukuma et al. (JP2005011641A).
The Examiner has provided a machine translation of JP2005011641A. The citation of the prior art in this rejection refer to the machine translation.
Regarding claim 1, Fukuma teaches a device for determining the hydrogen concentration of an exhaust gas in an exhaust gas line of a fuel cell system (page 1, lines 10-21), the device comprising a sensor (i.e., detector) arrange in a tube section (page 4, lines 55-60; page 5, lines 1-10); wherein the tube section (i.e., container) (6) has an inflow opening (i.e., inlet portion) (8) (page 2, lines 33-44) and an outflow opening (i.e., discharge portion 23) (page 4, lines 25-35), the device also comprising a mixing element (i.e., hydrogen chamber) (15) configured to mix a fluid which flows through the inflow opening such that different components of the exhaust gas are distributed homogeneously (i.e., gases merge and further mix) (page 4, lines 15-30).
Regarding claim 2, Fukuma teaches the device is characterized in that the tube section comprises a terminal (i.e., inlet) (20) for a purge line pipe (i.e., cathode off gas) to be fed into the tube section via the terminal (page 3, lines 55-60).
Regarding claim 3, Fukuma teaches the device is characterized in that the terminal (20) is arranged between the inflow opening (8) and the mixing element (15) (as shown in figures 3-4).
Regarding claims 8 and 14, Fukuma teaches the sensor (i.e., detector) is fixed to an outer wall of the tube section (page 4, lines 58-60; page 5, lines 1-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuma et al. (JP2005011641A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sampath et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0044103).
Regarding claim 4, Fukama teaches the device as described above in claim 1 including the mixing element (15).
Fukama does not teach the mixing element is formed by a spiral structure.
Sampath, directed to a mixing element (i.e., mixing pipe) (18) (abstract) (paragraph [0083]), teaches the mixing element receive an exhaust gas from an exhaust gas line (i.e., an engine) (paragraph [0006]). Further, Sampath teaches the mixing element has a tube section (i.e., tubular portion) and several introduction points (i.e., plurality of openings) (paragraph [0083]-[0084]). Further, Sampath teaches the mixing element is formed by a spiral structure (i.e., blades) (paragraph [0088]). Sampath teaches such configuration induce turbulence and facilitate mixing of the exhaust gas (paragraph [0093]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fukama to include the mixing element formed by a spiral structure as taught by Sampath, in order to induce turbulence and facilitate mixing of the exhaust gas.
Regarding claim 5, Fukama teaches the purge gas does not flow through the terminal selectively but rather at several introduction points (i.e., conduction ports) (22a-22f) (i.e., for introducing cathode off gas) (page 3, lines 45-60).
Regarding claim 6, Fukama teaches the introduction point are radially distributed over an outer wall of the tube section (as shown in figures 3-4).
Regarding claim 11, Fukama teaches the device as described above in claim 1 including the mixing element (15).
Fukama does not teach the mixing element is formed by a spiral structure.
Sampath, directed to a mixing element (i.e., mixing pipe) (18) (abstract) (paragraph [0083]), teaches the mixing element receive an exhaust gas from an exhaust gas line (i.e., an engine) (paragraph [0006]). Further, Sampath teaches the mixing element has a tube section (i.e., tubular portion) and several introduction points (i.e., plurality of openings) (paragraph [0083]-[0084]). Further, Sampath teaches the mixing element is formed by a spiral structure (i.e., blades) (paragraph [0088]). Sampath teaches such configuration induce turbulence and facilitate mixing of the exhaust gas (paragraph [0093]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fukama to include the mixing element formed by a spiral structure as taught by Sampath, in order to induce turbulence and facilitate mixing of the exhaust gas.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Inoue et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0265646). Inoue teaches a device (i.e., diluter) for mixing an exhaust gas and determine the concentration of the exhaust gas (paragraph [0050]).
Konrad et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0228989). Konrad teaches a process for determining concentration of an exhaust gas and a mixing element (i.e., chamber) (claim 11).
Ishiguro et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0092812). Ishiguro teaches a device for processing an exhaust gas and a mixing element (container) (25) (paragraph [0044]) (see figures 2a-12b).
Correspondence
/CHRISTIAN ROLDAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723