DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pullen (US 10501335 B1) and further in view of the machine translation of Watanabe (JP 2011003354 A) and Kuzuoka (US 20200235397 A1) and further in view of Li et al. (Li, Yunjiao, et al. “Surface in-situ reconstruction of LiNi0.8Co0.1Mn0.1O2 cathode materials interacting with antimony compounds and the electrochemical performances.” Journal of Electroanalytical Chemistry, vol. 854, Dec. 2019, p. 113582.).
Regarding claim 1, Pullen teaches a process for the manufacture of a coated (col. 2, lines 38-39, [some aspects of a particles include an outer coating on a surface of the particle]) cathode active material (col. 25, example 5, producing LiNi0.079Co0.11Mn0.09Al0.006O2) comprising the steps of:
(a) providing a particulate electrode active material according to general formula Li(1+x)TM(1-x)02 (col. 25, line 5, [LiNi0.8Co0.01Mn0.1O2] (NCM 811)), wherein TM comprises Ni and, optionally, at least one of Co and Mn and wherein at least 50 mole % of the transition metal of TM is Ni (col. 25, Ni is 80%)
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
(c) removing the water by spray drying (col. 25, line 31).
(e) treating the residue obtained thermally (col.18, lines 32 – 36) residue was thermal treated to about 770 deg. C)
Modified Pullen does not teach (b) treating said particulate electrode active material with an aqueous solution of at least one heteropoly acid selected from the group consisting of phosphotungstic acid, phosphomolybdic acid, tungstosilicic acid, molybdosilicic acid, their respective ammonium salts, and their respective lithium salts in an amount of 0.05 to 1.5 mol %, referring to TM, thereby depositing at least one element selected from the group consisting of Mo, W, Si and P on the surface of said particulate electrode active material, wherein said treatment is supported by mixing operations selected from the group consisting of shaking, stirring and shearing.
Watanabe, in the same field of endeavor, lithium composite oxides, teaches:
(b) treating a particulate electrode active material with an aqueous solution (Watanabe, para. 56, [a heteropoly acid … is dissolved in a solvent, for example, an inorganic solvent, such as water to prepare a solution])
of at least one heteropoly acid selected from the group consisting of phosphotungstic acid (Watanabe, [para. 35]), phosphomolybdic acid (Watanabe, [ para. 35]), tungstosilicic acid (Watanabe, para. 35, [silicotungstic acid]), and their respective ammonium salts (Watanabe, para. 35, [ammonium phosphotungstate and ammonium phosphomolybdate]).
in an amount of 0.05 to 1.5 mol %, referring to TM (Watanabe, para. 61, [0.01 – 10 parts by weight … with respect to 100 parts by weight of the composite oxide particles])
Examiner notes that 10 wt. %
Mass of phosphotungstic acid = 10 g/ 100g of solution in water
Mass of water = 100g – 10 g = 90 g
Moles of phosphotungstic acid = 10g/ 2880.05 g/mol = 0.00347216 mol
Moles of water = 90 g/ 18.015 g/mol = 4.99584 mol
Mol % of phosphotungstic acid = (mol phosphotungstic acid / [moles phosphotungstic acid + mol water]) x 100 = 0.00347216/ (0.00347216 + 4.99584) x 100 = 0.00347216 / 4.99931216 = 0.07 mol % phosphotungstic acid
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
thereby depositing at least one element selected from the group consisting of Mo, W, Si and P on the surface of said particulate electrode active material (Watanabe, para. 56, [depositing the deposition component on the surface of the composite oxide particles]) (Examiner notes that the elements of Mo and W would be deposited on the cathode active material since the elements are a part of the heteropoly acid compound),
wherein said treatment is supported by mixing operations (Watanabe, para. 57, [a method of adding the solution dropwise to the composite oxide particles and mixing them]) selected from the group consisting of stirring and shearing (Watanabe, para. 63, [deposition of the deposition component can be made uniform]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have treated Pullen’s cathode active material with a heteropoly acid, as taught by Watanabe, in order to suppress gas generation from the electrode active substance (Watanabe, para. 44).
Modified Pullen does not teach removing water by filtration.
Kuzuoka, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches a [specific] metal oxide can be washed, left to stand, and then undergo solid-liquid separation by a known method such as filtration … and collecting the [specific] metal oxide (para. 0141).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized filtration in lieu of the spray drying method, as taught by Kuzuoka, in order to separate and collect the metal oxide using a known technique (para. 0140).
Modified Pullen does not teach (d) treating the solid residue obtained from step (c) with at least one water-soluble compound of Al, B, or Sb or at least one heteropoly acid or its respective ammonium or lithium salt by adding least one compound of Al, B, or Sb as a particulate solid or by adding the at least one compound of Al, B, or Sb or heteropoly acid as aqueous slurry or solution, thereby depositing at least one element selected from the group consisting of Al, B, Sb, Mo, W, Si, and P, on the surface of said solid residue from step (c).
Li, in the same field of endeavor, cathode materials, teaches treating an NCM based cathode material by adding Sb as a particulate solid or by adding the at least one compound of Sb (Sb2O5) (Li, abstract), thereby depositing Sb on the surface of said solid residue (Li, abstract, [Sb2O5 can react with … partial surface lattice lithium on the NCM811 surface to further construct Li-Sb-NCM-O mixed coating layers]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have treated Pullen’s NCM cathode material with an antimony compound, as taught by Li, in order to construct a cathode material that with higher capacity retentions and enhanced electrochemical performances (Li, abstract).
Modified Pullen teaches, wherein the compound added in step (d) (Li, abstract, Sb2O5) is different from the compound contained in the aqueous solution or slurry (See claim 1 above, Modified Pullen, tungstophosphoric acid, Mo, and W), respectively, in step (b) with respect to the metal.
Regarding claim 2, modified Pullen teaches the process according to claim 1 wherein TM is a combination of metals according to general formula (I) (NiaCobMnc)1-dMd (I) with wherein (Pullen, col. 25, line 5, starting material for NCM is [Ni0.8Co0.01Mn0.1])
a is in the range of from 0.6 to 0.99, (Pullen, col. 25, line 5)
b is zero or in the range of from 0.01 to 0.2, (Pullen, col. 25, line 5)
c is in the range of from zero to 0.2, (Pullen, col. 25, line 5)
d is in the range of from zero to 0.1 (Pullen, col. 25, line 5 , d = 0)
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
M is at least one of Al, Mg, Nb, Ta, Ti, Ge, Mo, W and Zr, and
a+b+c=1. (Pullen, col. 25, line 5)
Regarding claim 4, modified Pullen teaches the process according to claim 1 wherein said compound of Sb in step (d) is added as particulate solid (Li, abstract, [solid-state method]) (pg. 3, section 2.1, solid-state method of Sb added as a solid powder is further explained).
Examiner notes that antimony pentoxide (Sb2O5) is a solid.
Regarding claim 5, modified Pullen teaches the process according to claim 1 wherein said compound of Sb in step (d) is added as a particulate solid or by at least one compound of Sb (Li, abstract, Sb2O5).
Regarding claim 6, modified Pullen teaches the process according to claim 1. Modified Pullen, (as explained in Example 5 of Pullen), does not teach wherein step (e) includes a calcination step at a maximum temperature in the range from 300 to 700 °C.
Pullen’s broader disclosure, as explained in Example 1 of Pullen, teaches wherein step (e) includes a calcination step at a maximum temperature in the range from 300 to 700°C. (Pullen, col. 18, lines 32-39, [the temperature was then raised at about 2° C. per minute to about 700° C.]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized the calcination maximum temperature provided in the calcination step to example 5 of Pullen, as taught by example 1 of Pullen, in order to produce cathode particles that result in additional cycle life and reduction in impedance growth, which in turn, significantly improves the electrochemical performance of the material, as taught by Pullen (Pullen, col. 14, lines 14-25).
Regarding claim 7, modified Pullen teaches the process according to claim 1 wherein step (e) includes a drying step at a maximum temperature in the range of from 40 to 250°C (Pullen, col. 25, line 36 [the furnace was then allowed to cool to 130 deg. C and the powder was removed from the furnace]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pullen (US 10501335 B1) and further in view of the machine translation of Watanabe (JP 2011003354 A) and Kuzuoka (US 20200235397 A1) and further in view of Li et al. (Li, Yunjiao, et al. “Surface in-situ reconstruction of LiNi0.8Co0.1Mn0.1O2 cathode materials interacting with antimony compounds and the electrochemical performances.” Journal of Electroanalytical Chemistry, vol. 854, Dec. 2019, p. 113582.), and Park (Park, Kwangjin, and Byungjin Choi. “Requirement of high lithium content in NI-rich layered oxide material for Li Ion Batteries.” Journal of Alloys and Compounds, vol. 766, Oct. 2018, pp. 470–476.).
Regarding claim 8, modified Pullen teaches the process according to claim 1. Modified Pullen does not teach comprising an additional step (f), wherein step (f) includes treating the electrode active material provided in step (a) with water and at least partially removing the water before subjecting the electrode active material to step (b).
Park, in the same field of endeavor, NCM cathode materials, teaches treating the electrode active material (NCM precursors) with water (Section 2.1 Synthesis, [for the washing process, the NCM powder was suspended in DI water]) and at least partially removing the water (Section 2.1 Synthesis, [the NCM powder was dried at 120 deg. C until the solvent completely evaporated).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added a washing process to the precursor after step (a) and before step (b) of Pullen’s cathode material, as taught by Park, in order to remove lithium residuals, to reduce the potential risk of gas evolution on the surface, as taught by Park, (Park, pg. 470, column. 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/11/2026 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/V.G./ Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/MAYLA GONZALEZ RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721