DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/10/2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 12/10/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 states: “an unevenness forming step of forming a fine-size unevenness on a surface of the metal base material…” however, it is unclear as to the scope of “fine-size unevenness” the term is not well defined in the instant specification nor is the term well known or defined in the art. The closest the examiner can find within the instant would be the description within claim 6. Thus the examiner will treat it in the nano-scale, until further clarification is given.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2019/0058201).
As to claims 1, Kim discloses a manufacturing method of a separator for a fuel cell (figure 1 #100, [0009]-[0011]), the manufacturing method comprising: an unevenness forming step of forming a fine-sized unevenness on a surface of a metal base material ([0011]-[0017], etching, discussed throughout); and a coating layer forming step of forming a coating layer by coating carbon on the surface of the metal base material on which the unevenness is formed in the unevenness forming step ([0011]-[0016], discussed throughout).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2019/0058201) as applied to claim 1 above.
As to claim 6, Kim is silent to a fine-size unevenness is formed in the form of a sinusoidal waveform with a width of 20 nm to 500 nm and a depth of 10 nm to 500 nm. However, Kim discloses the roughness of the interface between layers ([0042], discussed throughout) given that roughness is a measuring surface roughness, representing the arithmetic average of absolute vertical deviations (peaks and valleys) from a mean line along a surface. Given that there are peaks and valleys this would equate to a sinusoidal wave form. Furthermore, given Kim discloses the range of the roughness being 20-78 nm, this would equate to the depth of the waveform ([0042], discussed throughout). While, not explicitly state, one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention would understand that the width of the peaks and valleys would contribute to the function of the contact between layers. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to optimize the width as a result effective variables to achieve the desired adhesion and water discharge characteristics as disclosed within Kim ([0042], discussed throughout, see MPEP 2144.05 II).
As to claim 9, Kim is silent to wherein, in the coating layer forming step, the coating layer is formed in such a way as to have a porous surface. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to have the coating layer have a porous surface given a finite number of options i.e. a porous surface or a non-porous surface (see MPEP 2143 I).
As to claim 10, Kim discloses wherein, in the coating layer forming step, the coating layer is formed to have a thickness of 2 nm to 200 nm ([0014], [0045], discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 and 7-8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2 requires “removing a passivation film formed on the surface of the metal base material by a gas carburizing process, so that the unevenness is formed on the surface of the metal base material” this limitation is not disclosed within Kim. While Topalski (US 2019/0363372) does discloses a bipolar plate for a fuel cell using carburizing. Topalski does not discloses the instant limitation. Thus the instant claimed limitation would be allowable once overcoming the 112 rejection and including into the independent claim.
Contact Information
/BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724