Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 23 March 2023 is acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner. See attached copy of PTO-1449.
Status of Application
2. The instant application is a national stage entry of PCT/CN2020/127405. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and examined on the merits within.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
4. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0280392) in view of Yang et al. (CN106667952).
Zeng et al. teach 6-acetyl-8-cyclopentyl-5-methyl-2-(5-piperazine-1-yl-pyridine-2-yl amino group)-8H-pyrido[2,3-d]pyrimidine-7-one (palbociclib) or salt thereof, the salt comprising isethionate in a dosage form having good stability and excellent dissolution performance. See abstract. The composition comprises at least one of disintegrant, diluent, binder, surfactant, and lubricant, wherein the active is present in amounts of 10-80%, disintegrant in amounts of 1-25%, diluent in amounts of 10-80%, lubricants in amounts of 0.1-5%, surfactants in amounts of 0-5% and binders in amounts of 0-20%. See claim 3. The composition is prepared by a dry granulation process. See claim 12. Example 4 comprises microcrystalline cellulose, lactose, hydroxypropyl cellulose, crospovidone, croscarmellose sodium and/or magnesium stearate.
Zeng et al. do not teach angle of repose and tap density.
Yang et al. teach a composition comprising palbociclib in amounts of 27-28.5%, lactose (diluent) in amounts of 21-22.5%, microcrystalline cellulose (diluent) in amounts of 42.5-44%, sodium carboxymethyl starch (disintegrating agent) in amounts of 4.5 to 5.5%, silicon dioxide (glidant) in amounts of 0.5 to 0.8%, and magnesium stearate (lubricant) in amounts of 1.2 to 2%. See abstract. Table 16 shows an angle of repose of 24.9 and 34.3 with a tap density of 0.858, 0.863, and 0.854. Yang et al. teach raw materials with poor fluidity and strong static electricity of palbociclib, to be successfully prepared by dry granulation to prepare uniform particles, which largely depends on mixing step before the dry granulation. See Experimental Example 6.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the granulation process to control the angle of repose and tap density to increase fluidity resulting in more uniform particles. One would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success to formulate a pharmaceutical composition which has good dissolution effect and a high dissolution rate, which is conducive to sufficient absorption and improves the efficacy as taught by Yang et al. See page 2. It would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan to modify the order of steps, rate of reaction, and equipment used in the dry granulation process to achieve the optimal formulation with the desired properties since Yang et al. teach uniformity and fluidity are controlled by the order in which ingredients are combined.
Double Patenting
6. Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of copending Application No. 18/188973 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant application and Application No. 18/188973 are directed to compositions comprising palbociclib isethionate and additional agents including diluents, disintegrants, glidants, and lubricants. The only difference lies in the fact that Application No. 18/188973 is directed to the composition, and the instant invention is directed to a method of making the composition. Thus the methods of the instant invention will result in the product of Application No. 18/188973. In addition, claim 19 of the instant application is also directed to a composition of palbociclib isethionate and auxiliary agents. Thus the two are not patentably distinct.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
7. No claims are allowed at this time.
/JESSICA WORSHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615