DETAILED ACTION
The amendments filed 9/15/2025 have been entered. Claims 1, 6-7, and 9-10 have been amended. Claims 1-10 remain pending in the application and are discussed on the merits below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/25/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts “Hotson does not disclose a neural network with specific feedback outputs for actively selecting pixels and color channels from the input image” in pages 8-9 of Applicant’s Remarks. However, as outlined below, Hotson discloses that a plurality of recurrent connections and a that a pixel point may be received for a current sensor frame which reads on “selecting pixels” “iteratively” of Applicant’s claim 1. The color channels are not relied upon in Hotson and are taught by Toyama.
Applicant further asserts “introduction of feedback outputs for actively selecting pixels and color channels via Applicant’s device is to provide an adaptive approach, and one that is not contemplated by Hotson” in page 9 of Applicant’s Remarks. In response to applicant's argument, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). The claims do not explicitly recite “adaptive approach” and as currently claimed, the combination of Hotson and Toyama read on Applicant’s claims as outlined below.
Applicant further asserts “the skilled artisan would be neither drawn nor motivated to look to Toyama to further enhance such selection via further feedback output” in page 9 of Applicant’s Remarks. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, as stated in the previous Office Action dated 3/13/2025, One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the classification neural network using pixel values of images as disclosed by Hotson by adding the color based feedback taught by Toyama to allow a model to account for color when locating target objects.
Response to Amendment
Regarding the objection to the specification, Applicant has submitted an abstract to overcome the objection. The objection to the specification has been withdrawn.
Regarding the objection to the claims, Applicant has amended the claims to overcome the objection. The objection to the claims has been withdrawn.
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC §112, Applicant has amended the claims to overcome the rejections. The rejections under 35 USC §112 have been withdrawn.
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC §103, amendments made to the claims fail to overcome the rejections. The rejections under 35 USC §103 are maintained as outlined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hotson et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0211128 A1; hereinafter Hotson) in view of Toyama (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0008193 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hotson discloses:
A computer device comprising a memory and a processor (computing device 800 includes processors and memory devices, see at least [0058]), the computer device configured to be fitted to a vehicle (computing device 800 can function as vehicle control system 100, see at least [0057]) and to communicate with a camera or sensor (vehicle control system includes camera systems 110, radar systems 106, and lidar systems 108, see at last [0025]), the processor being configured to:
pre-process an image received from the camera or sensor data from the sensor to produce an input image (use output from previous image frame as input to current image frame, see at last [0017]; processing performed to transform point cloud into depth map which can be fed into convolutional network, see at least [0019]-[0020]);
present the input image to a neural network stored in the memory of the computer device (use output from previous image frame as input to current image frame, see at last [0017]; processing performed to transform point cloud into depth map which can be fed into convolutional network, see at least [0019]-[0020]);
wherein the neural network is trained to classify a feature in an image presented to it (classification or feature detection using deep neural network, see at least [0031]) , the neural network having an input layer (input node, see at least [0031]), a hidden layer (one or more hidden layers, see at least [0031]) and an output layer (output node, see at least [0031]), the output layer including three outputs:
a first feedback output for iteratively selecting pixels from the input image to input at the input layer at each iteration of the neural network (output nodes 210 may be fed back through delays 212 to one or more input nodes, see at least [0035]; output or information determined from previous set of pixel/frame data, see at least [0037]);
a third output for outputting an output value indicative of a classification result from the neural network (output indicating presence of pedestrian may be fed into input node, see at least [0035]);
the processor further configured to obtain the output value from the neural network (end of computation, output node 210 yield values that correspond to the class inferred by the neural network, see at least [0031]-[0032]); and
post-process the output value from the neural network to identify a feature of the environment of the vehicle (outputs of neural network may be fed forward so that features detected at a specific location in an image may be fed forward and objects or features in a series of images may be consistently detected and/or tracked, see at least [0040]).
Hotson does not explicitly disclose:
a second feedback output for iteratively selecting a color channel of the selected pixels to input at the input layer at each iteration
However, Toyama teaches:
a second feedback output for iteratively selecting a color channel of the selected pixels to input at the input layer at each iteration (learned color based object model may be iteratively fed back into learning function to replace initial preliminary object model, see at least [0028])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the object detection neural network disclosed by Hotson by adding the color based model taught by Toyama with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order “to allow the learning function to learn an increasingly accurate color-based model” (see [0028]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Hotson and Toyama teaches the elements above and Hotson further discloses:
the computer device is further configured to communicate with a control computer of the vehicle (vehicle control system 100 may include vehicle control actuators to control driving of the vehicle, see at least [0026]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Hotson and Toyama teaches the elements above and Hotson further discloses:
the neural network stored in the memory is configured to perform one or more specific tasks including image classification, object detection (system 100 used to automatically detect, classify, and localize objects, see at least [0024]) and road segmentation.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Hotson and Toyama teaches the elements above and Hotson further discloses:
the memory includes multiple neural networks (plurality of neural networks may be used, see at least [0041]), the processor being configured to present the input image to the multiple neural networks and to further process the output value of each of the multiple neural networks to identify the feature of the environment of the vehicle (a plurality of different recurrent neural networks may be used to generate each feature map and plurality of different feature maps may be generated for the single image, each neural network trained to detect an object such as pedestrian and vehicle, see at least [0041]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Hotson and Toyama teaches the elements above and Hotson further discloses:
the computer device is configured to perform pre-processing, post-processing and presenting to the neural network locally at the computer device, such that connection to an external network outside of the vehicle is not necessary to identify the feature of the environment (vehicle control system 100 may be used to automatically detect, classify, and localize objects, driving/assistance system 102 may use neural network to detect and localize objects based on perception data gathered by one or more sensors, see at least [0024])
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Hotson and Toyama teaches the elements above and Hotson further discloses:
A vehicle control system for fitting in or on a vehicle (vehicle control system 100, see at least [0024]), the system comprising:
a sensor or camera (vehicle control system includes camera systems 110, radar systems 106, and lidar systems 108, see at last [0025]);
a control computer (automated driving/assistance system 102, see at least [0024] and Fig. 1); and
the computer device of claim 1 (computing device 800 includes processors and memory devices, see at least [0058]; computing device 800 can function as vehicle control system 100, see at least [0057]);
wherein the computer device is configured to receive sensor data or an original image from the sensor or camera, and send information related to the feature of the environment of the vehicle to the control computer (sensor systems may be used to obtain real-time sensor data so that automated driving/assistance system 102 can drive a vehicle in real-time, see at least [0028];
the control computer being configured to control one or more components of the vehicle based on the information received from the computer device (automated driving/assistance system 102 may be used to automate control operation of a vehicle based on perception data, see at least [0024] and [0028]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Hotson and Toyama teaches the elements above and Hotson further discloses:
the control computer is configured to autonomously control the vehicle (automated driving/assistance system 102 may be used to control operation of vehicle, see at least [0024] and [0012]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Hotson and Toyama teaches the elements above and Hotson further teaches:
a plurality of computer devices according to claim 1 (one or more data processing devices, see at least [0089]), each of the plurality of computer devices being configured to perform a different specific task (a plurality of different recurrent neural networks may be used to generate each feature map, “a feature map for pedestrian detection may be generated using a neural network trained for pedestrian detection while a feature map for vehicle detection may be generated using a neural network trained for vehicle detection”, see at least [0041])
comprising a memory and a processor computing device 800 includes processors and memory devices, see at least [0058]); and
being configured to be fitted to a vehicle (computing device 800 can function as vehicle control system 100, see at least [0057]) and to communicate with a camera or sensor (vehicle control system includes camera systems 110, radar systems 106, and lidar systems 108, see at last [0025]), the processor being configured to:
pre-process an image received from the camera or sensor data form the sensor to produce an input image (use output from previous image frame as input to current image frame, see at last [0017]; processing performed to transform point cloud into depth map which can be fed into convolutional network, see at least [0019]-[0020]); and
present the input image to a neural network stored in the memory of the computer device (use output from previous image frame as input to current image frame, see at last [0017]; processing performed to transform point cloud into depth map which can be fed into convolutional network, see at least [0019]-[0020]), wherein the neural network is trained to classify a feature in an image presented thereto (classification or feature detection using deep neural network, see at least [0031]), the neural network having an input layer, a hidden layer and an output layer (input node, see at least [0031]; one or more hidden layers, see at least [0031]; output node, see at least [0031], the output layer including three outputs:
a first feedback output for selecting pixels from the input image to input at the input layer at each iteration of the neural network (output nodes 210 may be fed back through delays 212 to one or more input nodes, see at least [0035]; output or information determined from previous set of pixel/frame data, see at least [0037]);
a third output for outputting an output value indicative of a classification result from the neural network (output indicating presence of pedestrian may be fed into input node, see at least [0035]);
obtain the output value from the neural network (end of computation, output node 210 yield values that correspond to the class inferred by the neural network, see at least [0031]-[0032]); and
post-process the output value from the neural network to identify a feature of the environment of the vehicle (outputs of neural network may be fed forward so that features detected at a specific location in an image may be fed forward and objects or features in a series of images may be consistently detected and/or tracked, see at least [0040])
Hotson discloses “the disclosure is not to be limited to the specific forms or arrangements of parts so described and illustrated” (in [0090]-[0091]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to modify the computing device disclosed by Hotson to include multiple processing devices each with a memory and neural network as taught above.
Hotson does not explicitly disclose:
a second feedback output for selecting a color channel of the selected pixels to input at the input layer at each iteration
However, Toyama teaches:
a second feedback output for selecting a color channel of the selected pixels to input at the input layer at each iteration (learned color based object model may be iteratively fed back into learning function to replace initial preliminary object model, see at least [0028])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the object detection neural network disclosed by Hotson by adding the color based model taught by Toyama with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order “to allow the learning function to learn an increasingly accurate color-based model” (see [0028]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Hotson and Toyama teaches the elements above and Hotson further discloses:
A vehicle comprising the control system of claim 7 (control operation of a vehicle, see at least [0024])
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hotson in view of Toyama as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Jiang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0165045 A1; hereinafter Jiang).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Hotson and Toyama teaches the elements above but does not teach:
the computer device is a system on a chip (SoC)
However, Jiang teaches:
the computer device is a system on a chip (SoC) (hardware structure of a chip, chip includes neural processing unit, algorithms may be implemented in the chip, see at least [0143])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the object detection neural network disclosed by Hotson and the color based model taught by Toyama by adding the chip taught by Jiang with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for easy implementation of a plurality of functions (see [0345]).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/246,476 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the invention as claimed in application 18/246,476 encompasses the same limitations and elements in the instant application. Claims 2-10 are dependent on claim 1 and inherit the deficiency above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application
Application No. 18/246,476
1. A computer device comprising a memory and a processor, the computer device configured to be fitted to a vehicle and to communicate with a camera or sensor, the processor being configured to:
pre-process an image received from the camera or sensor data from the sensor to produce an input image;
present the input image to a neural network stored in the memory of the computer device;
wherein the neural network is trained to classify a feature in an image presented to it, the neural network having an input layer, a hidden layer and an output layer, the output layer including three outputs:
a first feedback output for iteratively selecting pixels from the input image to input at the input layer at each iteration of the neural network;
a second feedback output for iteratively selecting a color channel of the selected pixels to input at the input layer at each iteration; and
a third output for outputting an output value indicative of a classification result from the neural network;
the processor further configured to obtain the output value from the neural network; and
post-process the output value from the neural network to identify a feature of the environment of the vehicle.
1. A computer-implemented method for use in a vehicle for identifying a feature of the environment of the vehicle, the method comprising:
receiving an original image from a sensor or camera;
pre-processing the original image to produce an input image;
presenting the input image to a neural network;
wherein the neural network is trained to classify a feature in an image presented to it, the neural network having an input layer, a hidden layer and an output layer, the output layer including three outputs:
a first feedback output for selecting pixels from the input image to input at the input layer at each iteration of the neural network;
a second feedback output for selecting a colour channel of the selected pixels to input at the input layer at each iteration; and
a third output for outputting an output value indicative of a classification result from the neural network;
obtaining the output value from the neural network; and
post-processing the output value from the neural network to identify a feature of the environment of a vehicle.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/DALE W HILGENDORF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662