DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication dated March 23, 2023, claims 1-24 are pending. Claims 1-24 are presently amended.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 6/29/2023 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because it fails to provide an English translation of the struck out references. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-24, the phrase "for example", “preferably” and “in particular” renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). These phrases repeat throughout each of the claims and makes the claims unclear as to what is the claimed invention. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-14, 16-21 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hunter US20100060093A1 (as cited in the IDS dated 6/29/2023).
Regarding claim 1. Hunter discloses a charging station, more particularly mobile charging station (FIGS. 1-13; ¶25), for supplying preferably electrical loads, in particular vehicles with electric drives (FIG. 6; ¶31), with electrical energy, in particular electric current (¶40-41), and/or fuel (¶40 - "In addition, the energy generating module 14 may comprise a fuel transfer receptacle configured to transfer fuel from the fuel chamber 22 to vehicles"), in particular hydrogen or ethanol (¶61) "In addition, fuel utilized by the energy generating module 14 and contained in the fuel chamber 22 is not limited to any particular fuel type. Rather, the fuel may be, but is not limited to, any petroleum-based fuel, such as oil, gasoline, diesel, jet fuel, kerosene, or liquefied natural gas, or any biofuel. It is also contemplated that the fuel may be a compressed or uncompressed gas, such as hydrogen, propane, methane, or other gas")), comprising:
at least one fuel storage (FIG. 7 at 54; FIG. 9 at 22; ¶57-60), in particular a high-pressure storage for storing compressed hydrogen (¶61 - "Further, in some embodiments, the fuel chamber 22 and/or portions of the enclosure 18 may be pressurized such that energy requiring pressurization such as gases or liquid may be stored within the energy generating module 14"), and at least one connection for the discharge of:
- electrical energy, in particular electric current (¶40-41), or
- fuel, in particular hydrogen or ethanol (¶61 and 40-41),
to a preferably electrical load, in particular a vehicle with an electric drive (¶6; ¶40-41),
wherein the at least one fuel storage is configured to be replaceably connected, in particular connected in a fluid-conducting manner, to the charging station, or to be accommodated in the charging station (FIGS. 7-9 at 54, 66, 22; ¶57-60).
Regarding claim 2. Hunter discloses that the at least one connection is an electrical connection for the discharge of electrical energy, in particular electric current, which is preferably used for electrically charging an accumulator of the electrical load (¶40).
Regarding claim 3. Hunter discloses that the electrical loads are selected from the group of: vehicles, in particular motor vehicles, with electric drive or auxiliary drive, e-bikes, e-scooters, e-rollers, laptops, mobile phones, etc (¶31).
Regarding claim 4. Hunter discloses that the at least one connection is a fluid-conducting connection, in particular a hydrogen connection, which is preferably used for filling at least one storage vessel of a vehicle with fuel, in particular compressed hydrogen, wherein the fluid- conducting connection preferably is a filling connection according to SAE J 2601 (¶40).
Regarding claim 5. Hunter discloses that at least one electrical connection and one fluid-conducting connection, preferably at least two fluid-conducting connections and a plurality of electrical connections (FIG. 6; ¶40).
Regarding claim 7. Hunter discloses that the at least one connection is an electrical connection, in particular an electric charging pillar, configured to be arranged at a distance or set up at a predetermined distance, in particular at least 5 meters, from the charging station (FIG. 6 at 24).
Regarding claim 8. Hunter discloses at least one hydrogen fuel cell configured to generate electrical energy, in particular electric current, by removing fuel, in particular hydrogen or ethanol, stored in the fuel storage and to make it available to at least one electrical connection (¶0034 - "generating device 16 [...] may be a hydrogen fuel cell).
Regarding claim 9. Hunter discloses that the hydrogen fuel cell is configured as a reversible hydrogen fuel cell including a subunit for producing hydrogen by electrolysis and a subunit for producing configured to generate electrical energy by oxidation of hydrogen (¶0039 "In embodiments in which the energy generating module 14 includes a hydrogen fuel generator the energy generating device 16 may store water (e.g., within a portion of the fuel chamber 22) such that the water may be converted into hydrogen via an internal hydrogen generator maintained within the enclosure 18 (or externally provided). The resulting hydrogen may be stored within one or more fuel chambers 22.").
Regarding claim 10. Hunter discloses that the at least one fuel storage is configured as an exchangeable vessel, or the at least one fuel storage is integrated into an exchangeable device which preferably is a mobile exchangeable device (FIG. 7).
Regarding claim 11. Hunter discloses an exchangeable device into which a plurality of fuel storages is integrated, and which is configured as a mobile means of transport, in particular a vehicle trailer or a self-propelled vehicle (FIG. 7).
Regarding claim 12. Hunter discloses a housing structure, in particular a mobile housing structure, which is preferably formed from a lightweight frame structure, and is preferably configured to accommodate the at least one fuel storage and/or the exchangeable device, in particular in a storage space within the housing structure (FIG. 7).
Regarding claim 13. the housing structure is provided with solar cells, in particular a photovoltaic system, which are preferably installed on a roof of the housing structure (¶34).
Regarding claim 14. Hunter discloses that the housing structure is further provided with a storage space for pressure storages, in particular high-pressure hydrogen storages (¶39/61).
Regarding claim 16. Hunter discloses that the housing structure further comprises a lateral access, in particular an up-and-over door, a barn door, a sectional door or a roll-up door, which is preferably electrically operable, further preferably can be electrically opened and closed (FIGS. 9A-B; ¶65-67).
Regarding claim 17. Hunter discloses that the charging station is configured as a mobile charging station, in particular as a mobile setup such as, for example, a truck trailer, or in the form of a modular system configured to be assembled and disassembled from individual modules with a few assembly steps (FIG. 1; claim 1; ¶35).
Regarding claim 18. Hunter discloses a temporary storage, in particular an accumulator, configured for the temporary storage of the electrical energy, in particular electric current, generated by the hydrogen fuel cell and/or the electrical energy generated by a photovoltaic system (¶0033 - "The power generated by the wind turbine engine or engines may be stored in an energy storage device that may be located within the enclosure 18 (e.g., within the interlocking battery devices described herein)").
Regarding claim 19. Hunter discloses a control device configured to control and/or regulate the supply of the at least one connection with electrical energy or fuel, in particular hydrogen (¶41, 64 and 67).
Regarding claim 20. Hunter discloses a communication device, in particular a wireless communication device, using infrared, radio, Bluetooth, or WLAN (wireless local area network), configured to communicate with electrical loads, in particular control units of the electrical loads, or users of the charging station, in particular to start and/or control and/or regulate a refueling or charging process (¶63).
Regarding claim 21. Hunter discloses that the communication device is further configured to communicate with the control device, in particular to communicate with it in order to start and/or control and/or regulate a refueling or charging process of the electrical loads (¶63, the payment machine).
Regarding claim 23. Hunter discloses a cooling chamber configured to receive and cool the at least one fuel storage (¶61).
Regarding claim 24. Hunter discloses that the at least one fuel storage is replaceably connected to the charging station in a fluid-conducting manner by means of a quick coupling (Figure 7; ¶59, at least implicit).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter US20100060093A1 (as cited in the IDS dated 6/29/2023) in view of Sponheimer et al. US20190135125A1 (as cited in the IDS dated 6/29/2023).
Regarding claim 6. Hunter does not explicitly disclose that the at least one connection is configured as a fast-charging station, in particular a fast-charging pillar, for electric vehicles.
Sponheimer discloses that the at least one connection is configured as a fast-charging station, in particular a fast-charging pillar, for electric vehicles (¶35).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide an interface for fast charging, as taught by Sponheimer to the charging station of Hunter in order to decrease the charging time and enable the vehicle to be charged to return to operation sooner.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter US20100060093A1 (as cited in the IDS dated 6/29/2023) in view of Errattuparambil et al. US20130207605A1.
Regarding claim 15. Hunter does not explicitly disclose at least one beverage vending machine for hot and/or cold drinks and/or one fresh produce vending machines for, for example, snacks, dairy products, sandwiches, baguettes and the like.
Errattuparambil discloses at least one beverage vending machine for hot and/or cold drinks and/or one fresh produce vending machines for, for example, snacks, dairy products, sandwiches, baguettes and the like (vending machines 125).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide vending machines with the charging station of Hunter in order to provide a convenience to customers (Errattuparambil; ¶2).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter US20100060093A1 (as cited in the IDS dated 6/29/2023) in view of Koch et al. DE102017215880A1
Regarding claim 22. Hunter does not explicitly disclose a defibrillator.
Koch teaches a defibrillator made available via the charging station (page 3, 4th paragraph).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide services taught by Koch to the charging station of Hunter in order to provide a value added service to customers (page 2, 4th paragraph; page 3, 4th paragraph).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pickles et al. US20210261010A1 (as cited in the IDS dated 6/29/2023) discloses a supply station that provides different types of fuel.
Conclusion
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859