DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on December 8, 2025, is acknowledged. Claims 11-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 6-10 are indefinite because they merely recite a use of a heat-transfer composition without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced. See M.P.E.P. § 2173.05(q). Particularly, claims 1, 6, and 7 recite the fluid Applicant intends to “use” and the location of the battery relative to the fluid; claims 8 and 10 recite when Applicant intends to implement the “use”; and claim 9 recites the object of the intended “use.” None of these claims recite any limitations drawn to how the recited materials are actually used. It is thus unclear if Applicant is claiming a method for cooling a battery, a composition for cooling a battery, or something else entirely. Therefore, claims 1 and 6-10 are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because it is unclear if Applicant is claiming a method for cooling a battery, a composition for cooling a battery, or something else entirely. In other words, the claims do not appear to fall within one of the statutory classes set forth under 35 U.S.C. § 101. See M.P.E.P. § 2173.05(q) I.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Hulse et al. (US 2020/0205318 A1), hereinafter “Hulse.”
Regarding claim 1, Hulse discloses a method of regulating a battery’s temperature comprising:
using a heat-transfer composition, in this case a thermal management fluid (¶ [0092]), comprising more than 0% to 40% by weight of a halogenated hydrocarbon refrigerant, in this case at least 15% by weight of 1-trifluoromethyl-1,2,2-trifluorocyclobutane (TFMCB) (¶ [0007] & [0111]); and
from 60% to less than 100% by weight of a dielectric fluid, in this case a heat transfer co-fluid selected from HFE-7000, HFE-7200, HFE-7100, HFE-7300, HFE-7500, HFE-7600, trans-1,2-dichloroethylene, n-pentane, cyclopentane, methanol, ethanol, perfluoro(2-methyl-3-pentanone), cis-HFO-1336mzz, trans-HFO-1336mzz, HF-1234yf, HFO-1234ze(E), HFO-1233zd(E), and HFO-1233zd(Z) that would make up the balance of the whole fluid (¶ [0067] & [0111]);
wherein the battery comprising energy storage cells is immersed in the heat-transfer composition in the liquid state such that the heat-transfer composition does not undergo change of state, in this case the thermal management fluid enters a battery pack enclosure containing a number of cells and exits the enclosure having taken up heat from the battery pack (¶ [0154]; See Fig. 4).
Hulse does not specify that that the refrigerant is greater than 0% to 40% by weight of the composition and that the dielectric fluid is 60% to less than 100% by weight of the composition. However, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. M.P.E.P. § 2144.05. Hulse teaches overlapping ranges as discussed above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have provided a composition comprising the refrigerant and dielectric fluid within the claimed ranges.
Regarding claim 2, Hulse further discloses that the heat-transfer composition circulates in a heat-transfer circuit, in this case the thermal management fluid enters a battery pack enclosure containing a number of cells and exits the enclosure having taken up heat from the battery pack (¶ [0154]; see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Hulse further discloses that the battery comprises one or more modules each comprising an enclosure in which energy storage cells are arranged where the enclosures form part of the heat-transfer circuit, in this case the thermal management fluid flows through the enclosure that holds a plurality of battery cells (¶ [0154]; see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Hulse further discloses that the heat-transfer circuit is thermally coupled to a secondary circuit containing an additional transfer composition, in this case a cool liquid may flow to and from an enclosed heat sink (¶ [0149]; Fig. 2B, ref. nos. 40A, 40B, 45, & 46).
Regarding claim 5, Hulse further discloses that the secondar circuit may be an air conditioning circuit of a vehicle (¶ [0211]).
Regarding claim 6, Hulse teaches that the refrigerant may further comprise 1,2-dichloroethylene in E form, in this case trans-1,2-dichloroethylene (¶ [0067]). Hulse does not specify either the E or Z form of 1,2-dichloroethylene. However, given that there are only two forms, again E and Z, of 1,2-dichloroethylene, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to try the E form of 1,2-dichloroethylene with the reasonable expectation of providing heat transfer away from the battery. See M.P.E.P. § 2143 I. E. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have include the E form of 1,2-dichloroethylene.
Regarding claim 7, Hulse further discloses that the dielectric fluid is chosen from mineral dielectric oils and synthetic dielectric oils, in this case HFE-7000, HFE-7200, HFE-7100, HFE-7300, HFE-7500, HFE-7600, trans-1,2-dichloroethylene, n-pentane, cyclopentane, methanol, ethanol, perfluoro(2-methyl-3-pentanone), cis-HFO-1336mzz, trans-HFO-1336mzz, HF-1234yf, HFO-1234ze(E), HFO-1233zd(E), and HFO-1233zd(Z) that would make up the balance of the whole fluid (¶ [0067] & [0111]).
Regarding claim 8, Hulse further discloses cooling the battery, in this case the thermal management fluid enters a battery pack enclosure containing a number of cells and exits the enclosure having taken up heat from the battery pack (¶ [0154]; see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Hulse further discloses an electric vehicle (e.g. ¶ [0003]).
Regarding claim 10, Hulse further discloses cooling during charging (¶ [0004] & [0235]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/246,560 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed ranges of the refrigerant significantly overlap. Particularly, the instant application recites “more than 0% to 40% by weight of a refrigerant comprising a compound chosen from halogenated hydrocarbons, prehalogenated compounds, fluorinated ketones, fluorinated ethers and the combinations thereof, and from 60% to less than 100% by weight of a dielectric fluid” in claim 1 while copending Application No. 18/246,560 recites “20% to less than 100% by weight of a refrigerant comprising a compound chosen from halogenated hydrocarbons, prehalogenated compounds, fluorinated ketones, fluorinated ethers and also their combinations, and from more than 0% to 80% by weight of a dielectric fluid” in claim 1. Applicant is reminded that prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. M.P.E.P. § 2144.05. Here, the copending applications are obvious variants of each other because of the overlap in the claimed ranges.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/SCOTT J. CHMIELECKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729