DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 20-42 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with no argument (i.e., without traverse) of Group I, claims 20-37, directed to a method of treating or preventing muscle atrophy, in the reply filed on 10/14/2025 is acknowledged
The requirement is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 38-42 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be amended in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(b) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. Any amendment of inventorship must be accompanied by a request under 37 CFR 1.48(b) and by the fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claims 20-37 are under current examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 20-37 are indefinite as:
Claim 20 is indefinite as the claim recites “treating or preventing muscle atrophy----a subject suffering from sarcopenia”. The subject is already suffering from sarcopenia, a type of muscle atrophy, so it is unclear how the method is preventing a disease which was already present. Claim 20 also recites broad limitation (i.e., muscle atrophy) and narrow limitation (sarcopenia) within the same claim. It is unclear whether applicant is treating all muscle atrophy or only that related to sarcopenia. Examiner suggests reciting “A method of treating sarcopenia…” to overcome this rejection.
Since the dependent claims 21-37 doesn’t cure the above deficiency, these claims are also indefinite.
Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Waas (WO2015/190989 A1).
Waas discloses treating muscle atrophy in neuromuscular diseases, MS, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) etc., comprising administering subcutaneously or intravenously and aqueous solution of sodium salt of dextran sulfate with an average weight in range of from 4500 to 7500Da or Mn measured by NMR spectroscopy within a range from 1850 to 2000Da with average sulfate number per glucose from 2.6 to 2.7, on average 5.1 glucose units and average sulfur content 15-20% (entire application, especially pages 9-11, 13-18, 20-40 examples and claims). Since the cited prior art reads on all of the limitations of the instant claims 20-37, these claims are anticipated.
Claims 20-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Lars (WO2019/050460 A1; as provided by the applicant on IDS dated 03/24/2023).
Lars discloses treating muscle atrophy in neuromuscular diseases, MS, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) etc., comprising administering subcutaneously or intravenously and aqueous solution of sodium salt of dextran sulfate with an average weight in range of from 4500 to 7500Da or Mn measured by NMR spectroscopy within a range from 1850 to 2000Da with average sulfate number per glucose from 2.6 to 2.7, on average 5.1 glucose units and average sulfur content 15-20% (entire application, especially abstract, pages 1-13, 31-35, examples and claims). Since the cited prior art reads on all the limitations of the instant claims 20-37, these claims are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waas (WO2015/190989 A1).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
Waas discloses treating muscle atrophy in neuromuscular diseases, MS, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) comprising administering subcutaneously or intravenously and aqueous solution of sodium salt of dextran sulfate with an average weight in range of from 4500 to 7500Da or Mn measured by NMR spectroscopy within a range from 1850 to 2000Da with average sulfate number per glucose from 2.6 to 2.7, on average 5.1 glucose units and average sulfur content 15-20% (entire application, especially pages 9-11, 13-18, 20-40 examples and claims).
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
Waas discloses treating muscle atrophy in neuromuscular diseases, MS, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) etc., using same compound as in the instant claims. However, the cited prior art fails to give specific example of treating sarcopenia muscle atrophy.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
With regards to the above difference, Waas discloses treating muscle atrophy in neuromuscular diseases, MS, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) etc., using same compound as in the instant claims. Thus, with the guidance provided by the cited prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success that any neuromuscular disease and or muscle atrophy caused by any reason such as sarcopenia (caused by aging or immobility) may be treated using dextran sulfate of the cited prior art.
Based on the above established facts, it appears that teachings of above cited prior art read applicants’ process.
Therefore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled person in the art could have modified the elements modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness
To establish a prima facie case of obviousness, three basic criteria must be met: (1) the prior art reference must teach or suggest all the claim limitations; (2) there must be some suggestion or motivation, either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the reference or to combine reference teachings; and (3) there must be a reasonable expectation of success; and (MPEP § 2143).
In this case, Waas discloses treating muscle atrophy in neuromuscular diseases, MS, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) comprising administering subcutaneously or intravenously and aqueous solution of sodium salt of dextran sulfate.
In KSR International Vo. V. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d (U.S. 2007), the Supreme Court particularly emphasized “the need for caution in granting a patent based on a combination of elements found in the prior art,” (Id. At 1395) and discussed circumstances in which a patent might be determined to be obvious. Importantly, the Supreme Court reaffirmed principles based on its precedent that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” (Id. At 1395). See MPEP 2143 - Examples of Basic Requirements of a Prima Facie Case of Obviousness [R-9].
In this case at least prong (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success would apply.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.”KSR, 550 U.S. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. If any of these findings cannot be made, then this rationale cannot be used to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Further, there is a reasonable expectation of success that sarcopenia, a muscle atrophy caused by age or immobility may be treated by dextran sulfate of the cited prior art and can be made by teachings of the above cited prior art.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking the advantage of the teaching of the above cited references and to make the instantly claimed process with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 20-37 in the instant application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11534457 B2, since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude" already granted in the patent.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons:
The claims of instant application and claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11534457 B2 are drawn to a process of treating muscle atrophy using same compound and method with a difference in wording.
The difference of wording, however, does not constitute a patentable distinction, because the claims in the present invention simply fall within the scope claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11534457 B2. For the foregoing reasons, the instantly claimed process is made obvious.
Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant was prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application during prosecution of the application which matured into a patent. See also MPEP § 804.
Conclusion
No Claim is allowed.
/PANCHAM BAKSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623