DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election of claims 1-11 and 16-18 in the reply filed on September 16, 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Specification
3. Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
1) The abstract is included in a page referencing the cross-reference to related applications. Typically, that information would be provided in the detailed specification. Furthermore, the abstract includes "Please amend the specification to add the below abstract after the claims:" under the abstract header.
2) The abstract uses legal phraseology such as "attachment means" and "measurement means".
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
5. Claim 1 recites “attachment means for attaching the first end to a first point” (lines 1-2), “attachment means for attaching the second end to a second point” (lines 2-3), and “measurement means for measuring linear displacement” (line 5).
From the specification, the broadest reasonable interpretation for “attachment means” appears to be any form of clevis, chackles, brackets, or pinned connections {para. [0036]}.
From the specification, the broadest reasonable interpretation for “measurement means” appears to be any form of a pulse generator and sensor unit connected to an elongated magnetostrictive waveguide, an ultrasonic transducer, or a laser distance measurement device {para. [0015]-[0020]}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 1-11 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “relatively lower bending stiffness” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “relatively lower” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. As such, it is impossible to know the degree of which the intermediate flexible members must have a lower bending stiffness (otherwise stated as "be more flexible") than the linear motion guide. For the purpose of examination, Examiner will read that any intermediate flexible members must be more flexible than the linear motion guide.
Claims 2-11 and 16-18 are dependent on independent claim 1, and therefore inherit the same deficiencies as stated in the above rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-6, 9, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Meyer (US 20100236336 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Meyer discloses a linear displacement transducer [displacement transducer 50/120/140] including: a first end with attachment means for attaching the first end to a first point [Fig. 9 shows a top pivoting assembly 58 secured with a bracket]; a second end with attachment means for attaching the second end to a second point [Fig. 9 shows a bottom pivoting assembly 58 secured with a bracket]; a linear motion guide between the ends which includes a first part which is guided to move linearly relative to a second part {portions 126 and 128 of linear displacement sensor 142 move linearly to one another along axis 66, described in para. [0044]}; measurement means for measuring linear displacement between the first and second parts of the linear motion guide and providing the measurement as an electrical signal {linear displacement sensor 142, described in para. [0044]-[0045]}; the first end is attached to the first part of the linear motion guide through a first intermediate flexible member {Fig. 9 top pivoting assembly 58 has flexible plates described in para. [0036]-[0039]} and the second end is attached to the second part of the linear motion guide through a second intermediate flexible member {Fig. 9 bottom pivoting assembly 58 has flexible plates described in para. [0036]-[0039]}; and the intermediate flexible members having relatively lower bending stiffness than the linear motion guide such that lateral relative movement between the first end and second end induces greater flexure in the intermediate members than in the linear motion guide {described in para. [0036]-[0039]} and linear relative movement between the first end and the second end is transferred to the linear motion guide [Fig. 9 top and bottom pivoting assemblies 58 move relative to each other, relative movement is transferred to portions 126 and 128] and is measurable by the measurement means as an estimate of the relative displacement between the first and second points {para. [0036] describes that the displacement transducer is adapted to measure the linear displacement along axis 66}.
In regard to claim 2, Meyer discloses wherein the first end is fixed and the second end is movable [Figs. 9 and 10 - the top pivoting assembly 58 is stable such that the travel of the wheel/bottom pivoting assembly can be measured].
In regard to claim 3, Meyer discloses wherein the first and second parts of the linear motion guide are cylindrical and the parts are movable relative to each other linearly about a shared central axis of the cylindrical parts [Fig 8 shows telescoping portions 126 and 128 moving along the same axis 66].
In regard to claim 4, Meyer discloses wherein the first part of the linear motion guide is a barrel and the second part of the linear motion guide is a plunger [Fig. 8 shows portion 126 acting as a barrel and portion 128 acting as a plunger].
In regard to claim 5, Meyer discloses wherein the plunger includes a guiding sleeve with an outer diameter corresponding to the inner diameter of the barrel [Figs. 9 and 10 show 142 having a top and bottom cylinder tubes, wherein the top cylinder would act as a guiding sleeve for portion 128].
In regard to claim 6, Meyer discloses wherein the barrel includes a guiding sleeve with an inner diameter corresponding to the outer diameter of the plunger such that, when the sleeves engage the plunger and barrel, the plunger and barrel are guided to move linearly relative to each other about a central axis of the guiding sleeves {Figs. 9 and 10 show 142 having a top and bottom cylinder, wherein the bottom cylinder acts as a guiding sleeve of the barrel, with the plunger and barrel moving linearly relative to each other along the central axis 66 as described in para. [0043]-[0044]}.
In regard to claim 9, Meyer discloses wherein at least part of the measurement means is located inside one of the intermediate flexible members {para. [0044]-[0045] describe that the electrical connectors transmit electrical signals from the sensing device to the recorder through at least one of the flexible plates}.
In regard to claim 18, Meyer discloses wherein the linear displacement transducer includes an extendible cover over the linear motion guide {para. [0038]-[0040] describe extending supports and flexure plates that would cover portions 126 and 128 if combined as discussed in para. [0007]}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer in view of Leadbeater (GB 1275060 A).
In regard to claim 7, Meyer teaches the linear displacement transducer of claim 6.
Meyer does not teach the use of polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) for the sleeves.
However, Leadbeater teaches also teaches a linear displacement transducer with a plunger 12 and sleeves 32, as well as wherein the sleeves are made of PTFE [page 3 line 124 - page 4 line 6 describes using a PTFE sleeve 32 to guide the plunger 12].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Leadbeater’s PTFE sleeves with Meyer’s linear displacement transducer in order to better reduce the friction of the sleeve on the plunger, as described by Leadbeater [page 3 line 124 - page 4 line 6].
9. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer in view of Kummetz (US 20130019489 A1).
In regard to claim 8, Meyer teaches the linear displacement transducer of claim 4, as well as the movement of the plunger and the barrel relative to each other about a central axis of the guiding sleeve.
Meyer does not teach wherein the plunger includes a plurality of rollers which roll along an inner surface of the barrel to guide the movement of the plunger.
However, Kummetz teaches a linear displacement transducer [length measuring device], as well as wherein the plunger [scanning head 5] includes a plurality of rollers [rollers] which roll along an inner surface of the barrel to guide the movement of the plunger {para. [0035] describes using rollers to guide the movement of the scanning head 5 along the X direction}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Kummetz’s use of rollers with Meyer’s linear displacement transducer in order to better brace and guide the movement in the X direction as taught by Kummetz {para. [0035]}.
10. Claims 10-11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer in view of Steinich (US 20070063694 A1).
In regard to claim 10, Meyer teaches the linear displacement transducer of claim 4.
Meyer does not teach the use of a pulse generator, a sensor unit connected to an elongated magnetostrictive waveguide within the barrel, or an annular magnet which is attached to the plunger and moves about the waveguide such that the measurement means determines a position of the magnet along the elongated waveguide.
However, Steinich also teaches a linear displacement sensor, as well as a pulse generator {para. [0018] describes a signal generator} and sensor unit [displacement sensor] connected to an elongated magnetostrictive waveguide {para. [0002] describes the magnetostrictive displacement sensor being a waveguide, abstract describes the shape as elongated] within the barrel [tube] and an annular magnet [position magnet] which is attached to the plunger [mobile constructive unit] and moves about the waveguide, wherein the measurement means determines a position of the magnet along the elongated waveguide {described in para. [0002]}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Steinich’s magnetostrictive displacement sensor as a measurement means of Meyer’s linear displacement sensor in order to better determine the precise location of linear displacement, as taught by Steinich {para. [0002]}.
In regard to claim 11, Meyer in view of Steinich teaches the linear displacement transducer of claim 10.
Meyer does not teach the use of measuring the deflection of a pulse through a waveguide and its time different to determine the position of a magnet.
However, Steinich teaches wherein the pulse generator generates and transmits a pulse through the waveguide, detects a reflection of the pulse, and uses the time difference to measure the position of the magnet {described in para. [0002] - use of a predefined propagation time}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Steinich’s method of determining distance by measuring an electrical signal through a waveguide with Meyer’s linear displacement sensor in order to better determine the precise location of linear displacement, as taught by Steinich {para. [0002]}.
In regard to claim 17, Meyer teaches the linear displacement transducer of claim 1.
Meyer does not teach wherein the intermediate flexible members are made of hydraulic hose.
However, Steinich teaches wherein the intermediate flexible members [cellular hose 26] are made of hydraulic hose {para. [0044] describes the use of cellular hose 26 as a propping member; cellular hose is known to be used as a hydraulic hose].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Steinich’s cellular hose as one of Meyer’s intermediate flexible members in order to better dampen and electrically insulate the waveguide as taught by Steinich [claims 36-37].
11. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer in view of Sargent (US 3500146 A).
In regard to claim 16, Meyer teaches the linear displacement transducer of claim 1.
Meyer does not teach the use of a clevis as an attachment means for at least one end.
However, Sargent teaches a linear displacement transducer wherein at least one of the ends has attachment means which include a clevis [col. 1 lines 59-63 describe securing an end of the linear displacement transducer with a clevis 20].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Sargent’s method of securing an end of a linear displacement transducer with a clevis with Meyer’s linear displacement transducer in order to better mechanically connect the linear displacement transducer to a measurement object – a known engineering practice – as described by Sargent [col. 2 lines 8-32].
Conclusion
/DANIEL M QUINN/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/JOHN E BREENE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855