DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 02/05/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 6, 8, and 31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/05/2025. Upon further consideration, the requirement for restriction between Groups I and IV has been withdrawn. Therefore claim 9 will be examined with elected group I."
Once the restriction requirement is withdrawn, the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 121 are no longer applicable. See In re Ziegler, 443 F.2d 1211, 1215, 170 USPQ 129, 131-32 (CCPA 1971). See also MPEP § 804.01.
Claims 1, 3, 9, 12, 15-28 are examined on the merits.
Priority
This application is a national stage application, of International Patent Application No. PCT/IB2021/059017, filed 09/30/2021, which claims priority from U.S. Provisional Application 63085950, filed 09/30/2020 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 18 recites “wherein the AIMP2-DX2 does not have an exon comprising a nucleotide sequence encoding an amino acid that is at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NO: 10 or 11” (which corresponds to the sequence of exon 2). Claim 18 depends from claim 1, which recites “administering to the subject a recombinant vector comprising an exon 2-deleted AIMP2 variant (AIMP2-DX2) gene.” Thus, the independent claim excludes all exon 2 regardless of the particular sequence of exon 2, whereas the dependent claim only excludes exon 2 “comprising a nucleotide sequence encoding an amino acid that is at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NO: 10 or 11.” Accordingly, the dependent claim allows for some exon 2 sequences to be present and no longer contains all of the limitations of the claim from which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 9, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (“Choi”, KR20170041363A, English translation is provided).
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches a method of treating amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, comprising the administration of a vector comprising the exon 2-deleted AIMP2 variant (AIMP2-DX2) gene that exhibits inhibition of apoptosis, improvement of motor dysfunction, and inhibition of oxidative stress (e.g., paragraphs 0016-0017, 0030)
Choi teaches the administration of the same recombinant vector to the same patient population. Thus, the claimed outcomes would necessarily be achieved.
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Choi teaches a method for treating spinal muscular atrophy, comprising administrating AIMP2 mutant gene lacking exon 2 (AIMP2-DX2) or a vector containing the gene (e.g., paragraphs 016-0017, 0030).
Regarding claims 16-17, Choi teach the SEQ ID NO 2 corresponding to AIMP2-DX2 with 100% identity to SEQ ID NO 2 of the instant claims (see alignment below).
Regarding claims 18-19, Choi teaches the nucleic acid comprising SEQ ID NO 1 that does not have an exon comprising a nucleotide sequence encoding an amino acid of SEQ ID NO 10 or 11 (corresponds to exon 2) (SEQ ID NO 1 encodes AIMP2-DX2 protein) (e.g., columns 13-14).
Claims 1, 3, 9, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (“Choi”, US 10,716,866 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches a method of treating amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, comprising administration of a vector containing the AIMP2-DX2 gene exhibiting inhibition of apoptosis, improvement of motor dysfunction, and inhibition of oxidative stress (e.g., lines 34-47, column 3).
Choi teaches the administration of the same recombinant vector to the same patient population. Thus, the claimed outcomes would necessarily be achieved.
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Choi teaches a method for treating spinal muscular atrophy, comprising administrating AIMP2 mutant gene lacking exon 2 (AIMP2-DX2) or a vector containing the gene (e.g., lines 35-55).
Regarding claims 16-17, Choi teach the SEQ ID NO 2 corresponding to AIMP2-DX2 with 100% identity to SEQ ID NO 2 of the instant claims (e.g., columns 13-14) (see alignment below).
Regarding claims 18-19, Choi teaches the nucleic acid comprising SEQ ID NO 1 that does not have an exon comprising a nucleotide sequence encoding an amino acid of SEQ ID NO 10 or 11 (corresponds to exon 2) (SEQ ID NO 1 encodes AIMP2-DX2 protein) (e.g., columns 13-14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 15, 20-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (“Choi”, KR20170041363A, English translation is provided) as applied to claims 1, 3, 9, 16-19 above, and further in view of Qiao et al. (“Qiao” Gene Therapy, 2011).
The teachings of Choi et al are described above and applied as before.
Choi does not teach a vector comprising AIMP2-DX2 and miR-142 target sequence. However, this is cured by Qiao.
Qiao teaches used the hematopoietic lineage miR-142-3p or
miR-142-5p target sequences in AAV expression cassettes in an
attempt to decrease transgene expression in antigen-presenting cells
and prolong transgene expression in normal mice (e.g., paragraph 4th, right column, page 407; Fig. 6). Qiao teaches plasmid constructs with 4x miR-142-3pT target site (tccataaagtaggaaacactaca) 100% identical to SEQ ID NO 5, and plasmid with 4x miR-142-5-pT target site (agtagtgctttctactttatg) 100% identical to SEQ ID NO 7 (e.g., paragraph 2nd, plasmid construction page 708).
Based on these teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Choi, -method for treating a neurological disease amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, comprising a step of administering the pharmaceutical composition a viral vector comprising the AIMP2-DX2, with the teaching of Qiao -a vector expressing 4x miR-142 target sites comprising miR-142-3p (SEQ ID NO 5) or miR-142-5p (SEQ ID NO 7) to repress the expression of the transgene in antigen presenting cells that express the miR-142 to avoid an immune response against the transgene; for someone skilled in the art would have been obvious to use these teachings to achieve the predictable result of developing a vector comprising AIMP2-DX2 gene and with miR-142 target sites for the expression of AIMP2-DX2 protein in neural cells and not in antigen presenting cells.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to develop a method for treating subjects with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis with a vector comprising AIMP2-DX2 gene and with miR-142 target sites for the expression of AIMP2-DX2 in neural cells and not in antigen-presenting cells avoiding an immune response against the AIMP2-DX2 protein.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 9, 12, 15-28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 10,716,866 (“866”) in view of (“Holzbaur”, Neurobiology of Disease, 2006) and Qiao et al. (“Qiao” Gene Therapy, 2011). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are a variation of “866” patent claims drawn to a method for improving motor activity or prolonging the lifespan of a subject with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), comprising administering to the spinal cord of the subject a pharmaceutically effective amount of a viral vector comprising an exon 2 -deleted AIMP2 variant (AIMP2 -D X2 gene) SEQ ID NO 1. The difference is that the some of the dependent claims include a miR-142 target site in the vector expressing AIMP2-DX. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would incorporate at least two miR-142 binding sites having SEQ ID NO 5 or SEQ ID NO 7 claimed in the instant claims, into the genetic vector comprising the AIMP2-DX2, then it is obvious that the instant genetic construct was known at the time of filing.
Claim 1 of the “866” is drawn to a method for improving motor activity or prolonging the lifespan of a subject with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), comprising administering to the spinal cord of the subject a pharmaceutically effective amount of a viral vector comprising an exon 2 -deleted AIMP2 variant ( AIMP2-DX2) gene. Claim 1 of the ”866” anticipates instant claim 1.
Claim 2 of the “866” is drawn to the method according to claim 1 , wherein the exon 2 - deleted AIMP2 variant (AIMP2 - DX2) gene has a base sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO : 1. The protein sequence encoded by SEQ ID NO 1 anneals 100% with SEQ ID NO 2 of the instant claims. Claim 2 of the ‘866 patent anticipates instant claims 16-17.
“866” does not teach a method of treating muscle atrophy in a subject with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, as required by the instant claims. “866” does not teach a vector comprising AIMP2-DX2 and miR-142 target sequence. However, this is cured by Holzbaur and Qiao.
Regarding claims 3, 9, Holzbaur teaches that amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) is a late onset and fatal neurodegenerative disease characterized by degeneration of motor neurons in the brain and spinal cord and subsequent muscle atrophy (e.g., paragraph 1st, right column, page 697). Holzbaur teaches mouse and rat models of familial ALS, inhibition of myostatin results in enhanced muscle mass and strength, which is maintained through the early stages of disease but lost by end-stage. Myostatin inhibition slowed degenerative changes in skeletal muscle in early-stage disease, but did not delay onset of paralysis nor extend survival, as defined by right reflex failure, nor did myostatin inhibition significantly slow motor neuron loss (It reads on treating muscle atrophy) (e.g., paragraph 4th, left column, page 706; Figs. 3-5).
Regarding claims 12, 15, 20-28, Qiao teaches used the hematopoietic lineage miR-142-3p or miR-142-5p target sequences in AAV expression cassettes in an attempt to decrease transgene expression in antigen-presenting cells and prolong transgene expression in normal mice (e.g., paragraph 4th, right column, page 407; Fig. 6). Qiao teaches plasmid constructs with 4x miR-142-3pT target site (tccataaagtaggaaacactaca) 100% identical to SEQ ID NO 5, and plasmid with 4x miR-142-5-pT target site (agtagtgctttctactttatg) 100% identical to SEQ ID NO 7 (e.g., paragraph 2nd, plasmid construction page 708).
Based on these teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of “866” -a method for improving motor activity or prolonging the lifespan of a subject with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), comprising administering to the spinal cord of the subject a pharmaceutically effective amount of a viral vector comprising an exon 2 - deleted AIMP2 variant (AIMP2 -D X2 gene), with the teachings of Holzbaur - inhibition of muscle atrophy by slowing degenerative changes in skeletal muscle in mouse and rat models of familial ALS, with the teachings of the teachings of Qiao -a vector expressing 4x miR-142 target sites comprising miR-142-3p (SEQ ID NO 5) or miR-142-5p (SEQ ID NO 7) to repress the expression of the transgene in antigen presenting cells that express the miR-142 to avoid an immune response against the transgene; for someone skilled in the art would have been obvious to use these teachings to achieve the predictable result of developing a vector comprising AIMP2-DX2 gene and with miR-142 target sites for the expression of AIMP2-DX2 protein in neural cells and not in antigen-presenting cells.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to develop a method for treating subjects with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis with a vector comprising AIMP2-DX2 gene and with miR-142 target sites for the expression of AIMP2-DX2 in neural cells and not in antigen-presenting cells avoiding an immune response against the AIMP2-DX2 protein.
Claims 1, 3, 9, 12, 15-28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-6, 9-17, 22-24 of copending Application No. 16/819,998 (hereinafter the ‘998 application”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Claim 22 of the “998” is drawn to the method of claim 21, wherein the neuronal disease is amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), Alzheimer's disease, Parkinson's disease, retinal degeneration, mild cognitive impairment, multi-infarct dementia, fronto-temporal dementia, dementia with Lewy bodies, Huntington's disease, degenerative neural disease, metabolic cerebral disorders, depression, epilepsy, multiple sclerosis, cortico-basal degeneration, multiple system atrophy, progressive supranuclear palsy, dentatorubropallidoluysian atrophy, spinocerebella ataxia, primary lateral sclerosis, spinal muscular atrophy, or stroke. Claim 23 of the “998” is drawn to the method of claim 22, wherein the neuronal disease is ALS. Claim 1 of the “998” is drawn to a recombinant vector comprising exon 2-deleted AIMP2 variant (AIMP2-DX2) gene and a miR-142 target nucleic acid, wherein the AIMP-DX2 gene is selectively expressed in a neuron.
Those embodiments of the “998” application anticipate instant claim 1.
Claim 24 of the “998” is drawn to the method claim 23, wherein the treatment improves motor activity or prolongs lifespan of the subject. Those embodiments of the “998” application anticipate instant claim 3.
Claim 22 of “998” is drawn to the method of claim 21, wherein the neuronal disease is amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), Alzheimer's disease, Parkinson's disease, retinal degeneration, mild cognitive impairment, multi-infarct dementia, fronto-temporal dementia, dementia with Lewy bodies, Huntington's disease, degenerative neural disease, metabolic cerebral disorders, depression, epilepsy, multiple sclerosis, cortico-basal degeneration, multiple system atrophy, progressive supranuclear palsy, dentatorubropallidoluysian atrophy, spinocerebella ataxia, primary lateral sclerosis, spinal muscular atrophy, or stroke. Those embodiments of the “998” application anticipate instant claim 9.
Claim 4 of the “998” is drawn to the vector of claim 1, wherein the miR-142 target nucleic acid is 3' to the AIMP2-DX2 gene. Those embodiments of the “998” application anticipate instant claims 12, 15.
Claims 5 of the “998” is drawn to the vector of claim 1, wherein the AIMP2-DX2 gene has a nucleotide sequence encoding an amino acid sequence that is at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NO:2. Those embodiments of the “998” application anticipate instant claim 16.
SEQ ID NO 2 of “998” has an identity of 99.6% with SEQ ID NO 2 of the instant claims (see alignment below).
Claim 6 of the “998” is drawn to the vector of claim 5, wherein the AIMP2-DX2 gene has a nucleotide sequence encoding an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2. SEQ ID NO 2 of “998” has and identity of 99.6% with SEQ ID NO 2 of the instant claims (it does not have exon 2) (see alignment above).
Those embodiments of the “998” application anticipate instant claim 17-19.
Claim 9 of the “998” is drawn to the vector of claim 1, wherein the miR-142 target nucleic acid comprises a nucleotide sequence comprising ACACTA. Those embodiments of the “998” application anticipate instant claim 20.
Claim 10 of the “998” is drawn to the vector of claim 9, wherein the miR-142 target nucleic acid comprises a nucleotide sequence comprising ACACTA and 1-17 additional contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO:5.
SEQ ID NO 5 of “998” has an identity of 100% with SEQ ID NO 5 of the instant claims (see alignment below).
Those embodiments of the “998” application anticipate instant claim 21.
Claim 11 of the “998” is drawn to the vector of claim 1, wherein the miR-142 target nucleic acid comprises a nucleotide sequence at least 50% identical to a nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO:5 (TCCATAAAGTAGGAAACACTACA). Those embodiments of the “998” application anticipate instant claim 22.
Claim 12 of the :998” is drawn to the vector of claim 11, wherein the miR-142 target nucleic acid comprises a nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO:5. Those embodiments of the “998” application anticipate instant claim 23.
Claim 13 of the “998” is drawn to the vector of claim 1, wherein the miR-142 target nucleic acid comprises a nucleotide sequence comprising ACTTTA. Those embodiments of the “998” application anticipate instant claim 24.
Claim 14 of the “998” is drawn to the vector of claim 13, wherein the miR-142 target nucleic acid comprises a nucleotide sequence comprising ACTTTA and 1-15 additional contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO:7.
SEQ ID NO 7 of “998” has an identity of 100% with SEQ ID NO 7 of the instant claims (see alignment below).
Those embodiments of the “998” application anticipate instant claim 25.
Claim 15 of the “998” is drawn to the vector of claim 1, wherein the miR-142 target nucleic acid comprises a nucleotide sequence at least 50% identical to a nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO:7 (AGTAGTGCTTTCTACTTTATG). Those embodiments of the “998” application anticipate instant claim 26.
Claim 16 of the “998” is drawn to the vector of claim 15, wherein the miR-142 target nucleic acid comprises a nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO:7. Those embodiments of the “998” application anticipate instant claim 27.
Claim 17 of the “998” is drawn to the vector of claim 1, wherein the miR-142 target nucleic acid is repeated 2-10 times. Those embodiments of the “998” application anticipate instant claim 28.
This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/JULIO WASHINGTON GOMEZ RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1637
/Jennifer Dunston/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1637