Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed on 24 March, 2023.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 3 June, 2026 has been entered.
The amendment of claims 21, 27, 31, and 32 has been acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, section “Rejections under § 103”, filed 3 June, 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 21, 23 – 29, 31 – 32, and 34 – 36 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 has been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant states on page 8 of the reply filed 3 June, 2026 that the motivation to combine Fuchs et al (U.S. Patent Publication no. 2019/0295252 A1, hereinafter “Fuchs”) and Yip et al (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0258223 A1, hereinafter “Yip”) is directed to an advantage associated with convolutional layers, and that even if one skilled in the art were to modify Fuchs based on this advantage, it would not apply to any advantage of using an attention-based network. Additionally, that there is no disclosure in Fuchs or Yip that would motivate a skilled person to select this particular model from the list of possible models disclosed in ¶ 0093 of Yip. Additionally, applicant alleges that ¶ 0116 of Fuchs teaches away from using an attention mechanism as the applicability of an attention mechanism to “whole slide images (WSI) is questionable given the entirety of the bag must be processed at the same time.”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The assertion that the motivation to combine is not directly related to the feature with which the art is intended to read on does not preclude the fact that it is still an improvement that would motivate one of ordinate skill in the art to utilize Yip for the benefits it provides. As both Fuchs and Yip pertain to the same field of endeavor, that biomarker determination within images, it would be obvious for one skilled in the art to modify Fuchs with the teaching of Yip pertaining to the including of a stack of convolutional layers interleaved with “shortcut connections,” which skip intermediate layers. These shortcut connections use earlier layers as a reference point to guide deeper layers to learn the residual between layer outputs rather than learning an identity mapping between layers. This innovation improves convergence speed and stability during training, and allows deeper networks to perform better than their shallower counterparts. One skilled in the art would be aware of the benefits that are associated with an increase in speed and stability in training which provides a notable improvement in performance with deeper networks over shallower ones.
With respect to the applicant’s assertion that Fuchs teaches away from using an attention mechanism, ¶ 0116 of Fuchs states “Typically, a two-step approach is used, where first a classifier is trained with MIL at the tile level and then the predicted scores for each tile within a WSI are aggregated in some way, usually through some pooling scheme or learning a histogram-based fusion model. One approach used an attention mechanism to generate a slide-level embedding, which was shown to be efficient and useful, especially in data-deprived domains. Unfortunately, its applicability to WSI is questionable given that the entirety of the bag must be processed at the same time, which is not feasible with WSIs.”. Fuchs is teaching that the applicability of an attention mechanism is questionable when applied within a single network. However, the teaching of Yip is relied upon to teach a second network which comprises an attention mechanism and is used for determining molecular biomarkers, as is claimed in the applicant’s invention: “determining an indication of whether the input image is associated with the molecular biomarker from the second set of two or more image portions, wherein the determining comprises inputting first data corresponding to the second set of two or more image portions into a second trained model comprising an attention mechanism, wherein the first data comprises data generated by the first portion of the first convolutional neural network. (emphasis added)”. The combination of the two arts is not combining an attention mechanism of Yip with the network of Fuchs but instead the network of Yip which is an attention based neural network which is used to determine a molecular biomarker (See non-final office action ¶ 0021 dated 3 March, 2026).
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, section “Rejections under § 103”, filed 3 June, 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 21, 23 – 29, 31 – 32, and 34 – 36 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 has been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 21, 23 – 29, 31 – 32, and 34 – 36 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 has been withdrawn. However, upon further examination a new rejection has been under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 23, 26 – 29, and 31, 32, and 34 – 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuchs et al (U.S. Patent Publication no. 2019/0295252 A1, hereinafter “Fuchs”) in view of Yip et al (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0258223 A1, hereinafter “Yip”) and further in view of Faust et al (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0377155 A1, hereinafter “Faust”).
Regarding claim 21, Fuchs teaches a computer implemented method of processing an image of tissue, comprising:
obtaining a first set of image portions from an input image of tissue (¶ 0157: For each biomedical image 3232, the tile generator 3216 may generate a set of tiles 3236A-N (hereinafter referred as tiles 3236) from the biomedical image 3232. Each tile 3236 may correspond to a portion of the biomedical image 3232. In some embodiments, the tile generator 3215 may partition or divide the biomedical image 3232 into the set of tiles 3236.);
selecting a second set of two or more image portions from the first set of image portions (¶ 0173: Based on the scores determined for the tiles 3236 from the application of the inference model 3212, the model applier 3218 may select a subset from the set of tiles 3236 to form a subset 3238A-N (hereinafter generally referred to as subset 3238 or selected tiles 3238). In some embodiments, the model applier 3218 may select the tiles 3236 with the highest scores to form the subset 3238. The selected tiles 3238 may represent the tiles 3236 with the highest likelihood of including a feature correlated with or corresponding to the presence of the condition.), the selecting comprising inputting image data of an image portion from the first set into a first trained model comprising a first convolutional neural network (¶ 0170: In some embodiments, the inference model 3212 may be a convolutional neural network (CNN) and a deep convolutional network (DCN), among others, with the set of transform layers.), wherein the first convolutional neural network comprises a first portion comprising at least one convolutional layer (Figure 19, Classifier CNN; ¶ 0170: The inference model 3212 may include a set of transform layers (e.g., convolutional layer, pooling layer, rectified layer, and normalization layer)… The inference model 3212 may have any number of transform layers.), the first trained model generating an indication of whether the image portion is associated with a (¶ 0172: By applying the inference model, the model applier 3218 may determine the score for each tile 3236. In some embodiments, the model applier 3218 may determine the score for each condition for each tile 3236. For example, one tile 3236 may be associated with a score indicating likelihood of presence of prostate cancer and another score indicating likelihood of bruising to the organ tissue on the tile 3236.), wherein the second set of the two or more image portions is selected based on the indication of whether the image portion is associated with the (¶ 0173: Based on the scores determined for the tiles 3236 from the application of the inference model 3212, the model applier 3218 may select a subset from the set of tiles 3236 to form a subset 3238A-N (hereinafter generally referred to as subset 3238 or selected tiles 3238). In some embodiments, the model applier 3218 may select the tiles 3236 with the highest scores to form the subset 3238. The selected tiles 3238 may represent the tiles 3236 with the highest likelihood of including a feature correlated with or corresponding to the presence of the condition.); and
determining an indication of whether the input image is associated with the (¶ 0176: The label 3234 may indicate the presence of the condition on the corresponding medical image 3232… The threshold value when the label 3234 indicates lack of the condition may be the same or may differ from the threshold value when the label 3235 indicates the presence of the condition.) wherein the determining comprises inputting first data corresponding to the second set of two or more image portions into a second trained model (¶ 0173: The number of tiles 3238 selected from the original set of tiles 3236 may be in accordance to a predefined number, and may range from 1 to 50… Under the runtime mode, with the selection from the tiles 3236, the model applier 3218 may apply the aggregation model 3214 onto the selected tiles 3238, and feed the selected tiles 3238 into the input of the aggregation model 3214.)
Fuchs does not explicitly teach a molecular biomarker; and wherein the determining comprises inputting first data corresponding to the second set of two or more image portions into a second trained model using an attention mechanism, wherein the first data comprises data generated by the first portion of the first convolutional neural network.
However, Yip does teach wherein the biomarker is a molecular biomarker (¶ 0007: Yet another tumor characteristic is the presence of specific molecules as a biomarker, including the molecule known as programmed death ligand 1 (PD-L1).; ¶ 0086: In some examples, the multiscale configurations contain pixel-level cell classifiers and cell segmentation models.; ¶ 0087: In some examples, the deep learning frameworks herein include a single-scale configuration trained using a multiple instance learning (MIL) strategy to predict biomarkers presence in histopathology images… In some examples, the single-scale configurations contain slide-level classifiers trained using gene sequencing data, such as RNA sequencing data, and trained to analyze histopathology images having slide-level labels, not tile-level labels.); and
wherein the determining comprises a second trained model using an attention mechanism (¶ 0093: Biomarkers may be identified through any of the following models. Any models referenced herein may be implemented as artificial intelligence engines and may include gradient boosting models, random forest models, neural networks (NN), regression models, Naive Bayes models, or machine learning algorithms (MLA)… NNs include conditional random fields, convolutional neural networks, attention based neural networks... (emphasis added)).
Yip is considered to be analogous art as it pertains to determining biomarkers in images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system for multiple instance learning for classification and localization in biomedical imaging (as taught by Fuchs) and the system for determining biomarkers from histopathology slide images (as taught by Yip) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation for this combination of references would be the system of Yip includes a stack of convolutional layers interleaved with “shortcut connections,” which skip intermediate layers. These shortcut connections use earlier layers as a reference point to guide deeper layers to learn the residual between layer outputs rather than learning an identity mapping between layers. This innovation improves convergence speed and stability during training, and allows deeper networks to perform better than their shallower counterparts. (See ¶ 0365).
Additionally, Faust teaches wherein the determining comprises inputting first data corresponding to the (¶ 0098: The CNNs or other training models can be used to classify or annotate new slides or images or uncover proteomic or molecular signatures, biomarkers, or other clinically or molecularly relevant subgroups…; ¶ 0106: Each convolutional neural network may be trained on appropriate data or otherwise configured to classify or predict certain result and/or classify certain input data. Each convolutional neural network may thus be optimized or fine-tuned for different classification purposes. For example, a trained convolutional neural network may classify a tile, and digital pathology platform 110 can use the classification to determine which second convolutional neural network will be used to further classify the tile. A plurality of convolutional neural networks may be used successively on the same data, for example, slide image tile, or on output from the previous convolutional neural network (emphasis added).).
Faust is considered to be analogous art as it pertains to determining biomarkers in images using neural networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system for multiple instance learning for classification and localization in biomedical imaging (as taught by Fuchs) and the process for annotation and classification of tissue specimens using convolutional neural networks (as taught by Faust) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation for this combination of references would be the system of Faust uses a hierarchy of convolutional neural networks to successively classify data such as pathology images at increasingly finer gradients which reduces the need for continual revalidation of robust and pre-learned classification tasks which may improve classification accuracy. (See ¶ 0105).
This motivation for the combination of Fuchs, Yip, and Faust is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Regarding claim 23, the Fuchs, Yip, and Faust combination teaches the method of claim 21.
Additionally, Fuchs teaches wherein the second trained model further comprises a recurrent neural network (¶ 0195: In some embodiments, the aggregation model 3214 may be a recurrent neural network (RNN)).
Regarding claim 26, the Fuchs, Yip, and Faust combination teaches the method of claim 21.
Additionally, Fuchs teaches wherein the indication of whether the image portion is associated with the biomarker is a probability that the image portion is associated with the biomarker (¶ 0170: The inference model 212 may have one or more parameters to determine the score for each tile 3236… Each transform layer may be of a predefined size to generate the feature maps of a predefined size. In some embodiments, the inference model 3212 may be a convolutional neural network (CNN) and a deep convolutional network (DCN), among others, with the set of transform layers.), wherein selecting the second set comprises selecting the k image portions having the highest probability (¶ 0173: Based on the scores determined for the tiles 3236 from the application of the inference model 3212, the model applier 3218 may select a subset from the set of tiles 3236 to form a subset 3238A-N (hereinafter generally referred to as subset 3238 or selected tiles 3238). In some embodiments, the model applier 3218 may select the tiles 3236 with the highest scores to form the subset 3238.), wherein k is a pre-defined integer greater than 1 (¶ 0173: The number of tiles 3238 selected from the original set of tiles 3236 may be in accordance to a predefined number, and may range from 1 to 50.).
Regarding claim 27, the Fuchs, Yip, and Faust combination teaches the method of claim 21.
Additionally, Fuchs teaches wherein the first convolutional neural network comprises a first portion comprising at least one convolutional layer and a second portion (Figure 19, Classifier CNN; ¶ 0170: The inference model 3212 may include a set of transform layers (e.g., convolutional layer, pooling layer, rectified layer, and normalization layer)… The inference model 3212 may have any number of transform layers.), wherein the second portion takes as input a one dimensional vector (Figure 19, See Tile Probability and Ranked Tile Section of Inference Network);
wherein determining the indication of whether the input image is associated with the biomarker from the second set of image portions further comprises:
generating the first data for each of the second set of image portions (¶ 0170: The inference model 212 may have one or more parameters to determine the score for each tile 3236… Each transform layer may be of a predefined size to generate the feature maps of a predefined size. In some embodiments, the inference model 3212 may be a convolutional neural network (CNN) and a deep convolutional network (DCN), among others, with the set of transform layers.), generating the first data for an image portion comprising inputting the image data of the image portion into the first portion of the first convolutional neural network (¶ 0170: The inference model 212 may have one or more parameters to determine the score for each tile 3236… Each transform layer may be of a predefined size to generate the feature maps of a predefined size. In some embodiments, the inference model 3212 may be a convolutional neural network (CNN) and a deep convolutional network (DCN), among others, with the set of transform layers.).
Additionally, Faust teaches generating the first data for each of the (¶ 0106: Each convolutional neural network may be trained on appropriate data or otherwise configured to classify or predict certain result and/or classify certain input data… For example, a trained convolutional neural network may classify a tile, and digital pathology platform 110 can use the classification to determine which second convolutional neural network will be used to further classify the tile.).
Faust is considered to be analogous art as it pertains to determining biomarkers in images using neural networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system for multiple instance learning for classification and localization in biomedical imaging (as taught by Fuchs) and the process for annotation and classification of tissue specimens using convolutional neural networks (as taught by Faust) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation for this combination of references would be the system of Faust uses a hierarchy of convolutional neural networks to successively classify data such as pathology images at increasingly finer gradients which reduces the need for continual revalidation of robust and pre-learned classification tasks which may improve classification accuracy. (See ¶ 0105).
Regarding claim 28, the Fuchs, Yip, and Faust combination teaches the method according to claim 21.
Additionally, Fuchs teaches further comprising:
selecting a fourth set of one or more image portions from the first set of image portions (¶ 0197: In some embodiments, prior to feeding the subset 3238 from the different magnification factors, the model applier 3218 may generate an aggregate subset using a combination of the selected tiles 3238.),
wherein the indication of whether the input image is associated with the biomarker is determined from the fourth set of one or more image portions and the second set of two or more image portions (¶ 0197: Once generated, the model applier 3218 may feed the aggregate subset to the aggregation model 3214.; ¶ 0198: The model applier 3218 may identify the classification result for the condition from the last transform layer of the aggregation model 3214. The identification of the classification result may be repeated for multiple conditions ( e.g., prostate tumor, breast lesion, and bruised tissue).; Examiner’s note: As the aggregate subset is compiled using specific parameters of the second set, it is understood by the examiner that using this dataset to detect a biomarker relies on both the fourth (aggregate) set, and the second set.).
Additionally, Yip does teach the selecting comprising inputting image data of an image portion from the first set into a third trained model comprising a second convolutional neural network (¶ 0029: In some examples, wherein the one of the one or more trained deep learning multiscale classifier models are each configured as a tile-resolution Fully Convolutional Network (FCN) classification model.; ¶ 0180: For biomarker detection, the biomarker classification model 319 may be trained with a CMS model that predicts for each tile, a CMS classification, identifying different tissue types (e.g., stroma) for that classification, in place of trying to mere average CMS classification across all tiles. In an example, each tile would be processed, and the CMS model would generate a compressed representation with each tile's associated pixel data and each tile would be assigned into a class (cluster 1, cluster 2, etc.), based on patterns in each tile's pixel data and similarities among the tiles).
Regarding claim 29, the Fuchs, Yip, and Faust combination teaches the method of claim 21.
Additionally, Fuchs teaches wherein the biomarker is a cancer biomarker (¶ 0172: For example, one tile 3236 may be associated with a score indicating likelihood of presence of prostate cancer…) and wherein obtaining the first set of image portions from an input image of tissue comprises:
splitting the input image of tissue into image portions (¶ 0157: For each biomedical image 3232, the tile generator 3216 may generate a set of tiles 3236A-N (hereinafter referred as tiles 3236) from the biomedical image 3232. Each tile 3236 may correspond to a portion of the biomedical image 3232. In some embodiments, the tile generator 3215 may partition or divide the biomedical image 3232 into the set of tiles 3236.);
inputting image data of an image portion into a fifth trained model (¶ 0172: The model applier 3218 may apply the inference model 3212 to the set of tiles 3236 for each biomedical image 3232.), the fifth trained model generating an indication of whether the image portion is associated with cancer tissue (¶ 0172: For example, one tile 3236 may be associated with a score indicating likelihood of presence of prostate cancer…; ¶ 0176: The label 3234 may indicate the presence of the condition on the corresponding medical image 3232… The threshold value when the label 3234 indicates lack of the condition may be the same or may differ from the threshold value when the label 3235 indicates the presence of the condition.; Examiner’s note: as the inference model already can determine biomarkers related to cancer, the examiner is interpreting the inference model of Fuchs to perform as this claim’s fifth trained model.); and
selecting the first set of image portions based on the indication of whether the image portion is associated with cancer tissue (¶ 0172: For example, one tile 3236 may be associated with a score indicating likelihood of presence of prostate cancer…; ¶ 0173: Based on the scores determined for the tiles 3236 from the application of the inference model 3212, the model applier 3218 may select a subset from the set of tiles 3236 to form a subset 3238A-N (hereinafter generally referred to as subset 3238 or selected tiles 3238). In some embodiments, the model applier 3218 may select the tiles 3236 with the highest scores to form the subset 3238. The selected tiles 3238 may represent the tiles 3236 with the highest likelihood of including a feature correlated with or corresponding to the presence of the condition.).
Regarding claim 31, Fuchs teaches a system for processing an image of tissue, comprising:
an input configured to receive an input image of tissue (¶ 0238: Additional devices 3430a-3430n have both input and output capabilities, including, e.g., haptic feedback devices, touchscreen displays, or multitouch displays.; ¶ 0245: In some embodiments, the computing device 3400 may have different processors, operating systems, and input devices consistent with the device.);
an output configured to output an indication of whether the input image is associated with a biomarker (¶ 0238: Additional devices 3430a-3430n have both input and output capabilities, including, e.g., haptic feedback devices, touchscreen displays, or multitouch displays.)
one or more processors (¶ 0245: In some embodiments, the computing device 3400 may have different processors, operating systems, and input devices consistent with the device.), configured to:
obtain a first set of image portions from an input image of tissue received by way of the input (¶ 0157: For each biomedical image 3232, the tile generator 3216 may generate a set of tiles 3236A-N (hereinafter referred as tiles 3236) from the biomedical image 3232. Each tile 3236 may correspond to a portion of the biomedical image 3232. In some embodiments, the tile generator 3215 may partition or divide the biomedical image 3232 into the set of tiles 3236.; ¶ 0165: In some embodiments, the tile generator 3216 may receive the biomedical images 3232 from the imaging device 3204.);
select a second set of two or more image portions from the first set of image portions (¶ 0173: Based on the scores determined for the tiles 3236 from the application of the inference model 3212, the model applier 3218 may select a subset from the set of tiles 3236 to form a subset 3238A-N (hereinafter generally referred to as subset 3238 or selected tiles 3238). In some embodiments, the model applier 3218 may select the tiles 3236 with the highest scores to form the subset 3238. The selected tiles 3238 may represent the tiles 3236 with the highest likelihood of including a feature correlated with or corresponding to the presence of the condition.), the selecting comprising inputting image data of an image portion from the first set into a first trained model comprising a first convolutional neural network (¶ 0170: The inference model 212 may have one or more parameters to determine the score for each tile 3236… Each transform layer may be of a predefined size to generate the feature maps of a predefined size. In some embodiments, the inference model 3212 may be a convolutional neural network (CNN) and a deep convolutional network (DCN), among others, with the set of transform layers.), wherein the first convolutional neural network comprises a first portion comprising at least one convolutional layer (Figure 19, Classifier CNN; ¶ 0170: The inference model 3212 may include a set of transform layers (e.g., convolutional layer, pooling layer, rectified layer, and normalization layer)… The inference model 3212 may have any number of transform layers.), the first trained model generating an indication of whether the image portion is associated with a molecular biomarker (¶ 0172: By applying the inference model, the model applier 3218 may determine the score for each tile 3236. In some embodiments, the model applier 3218 may determine the score for each condition for each tile 3236. For example, one tile 3236 may be associated with a score indicating likelihood of presence of prostate cancer and another score indicating likelihood of bruising to the organ tissue on the tile 3236.) wherein the second set of the two or more image portions is selected based on the indication of whether the image portion is associated with the (¶ 0173: Based on the scores determined for the tiles 3236 from the application of the inference model 3212, the model applier 3218 may select a subset from the set of tiles 3236 to form a subset 3238A-N (hereinafter generally referred to as subset 3238 or selected tiles 3238). In some embodiments, the model applier 3218 may select the tiles 3236 with the highest scores to form the subset 3238. The selected tiles 3238 may represent the tiles 3236 with the highest likelihood of including a feature correlated with or corresponding to the presence of the condition.);
determine an indication of whether the input image is associated with the (¶ 0176: The label 3234 may indicate the presence of the condition on the corresponding medical image 3232… The threshold value when the label 3234 indicates lack of the condition may be the same or may differ from the threshold value when the label 3235 indicates the presence of the condition.) wherein the determining comprises inputting first data corresponding to the second set of two or more image portions into a second trained model (¶ 0173: The number of tiles 3238 selected from the original set of tiles 3236 may be in accordance to a predefined number, and may range from 1 to 50… Under the runtime mode, with the selection from the tiles 3236, the model applier 3218 may apply the aggregation model 3214 onto the selected tiles 3238, and feed the selected tiles 3238 into the input of the aggregation model 3214.)
and output the indication by way of the output (¶ 0176: The label 3234 may indicate the presence of the condition on the corresponding medical image 3232… The threshold value when the label 3234 indicates lack of the condition may be the same or may differ from the threshold value when the label 3235 indicates the presence of the condition.).
Additionally, Yip teaches wherein the biomarker is a molecular biomarker (¶ 0007: Yet another tumor characteristic is the presence of specific molecules as a biomarker, including the molecule known as programmed death ligand 1 (PD-L1).; ¶ 0086: In some examples, the multiscale configurations contain pixel-level cell classifiers and cell segmentation models.; ¶ 0087: In some examples, the deep learning frameworks herein include a single-scale configuration trained using a multiple instance learning (MIL) strategy to predict biomarkers presence in histopathology images… In some examples, the single-scale configurations contain slide-level classifiers trained using gene sequencing data, such as RNA sequencing data, and trained to analyze histopathology images having slide-level labels, not tile-level labels.); and
wherein the determining comprises a second trained model using an attention mechanism (¶ 0093: Biomarkers may be identified through any of the following models. Any models referenced herein may be implemented as artificial intelligence engines and may include gradient boosting models, random forest models, neural networks (NN), regression models, Naive Bayes models, or machine learning algorithms (MLA)… NNs include conditional random fields, convolutional neural networks, attention based neural networks... (emphasis added)).
Yip is considered to be analogous art as it pertains to determining biomarkers in images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system for multiple instance learning for classification and localization in biomedical imaging (as taught by Fuchs) and the system for determining biomarkers from histopathology slide images (as taught by Yip) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation for this combination of references would be the system of Yip includes a stack of convolutional layers interleaved with “shortcut connections,” which skip intermediate layers. These shortcut connections use earlier layers as a reference point to guide deeper layers to learn the residual between layer outputs rather than learning an identity mapping between layers. This innovation improves convergence speed and stability during training, and allows deeper networks to perform better than their shallower counterparts. (See ¶ 0365).
Additionally, Faust teaches wherein the determining comprises inputting first data corresponding to the (¶ 0098: The CNNs or other training models can be used to classify or annotate new slides or images or uncover proteomic or molecular signatures, biomarkers, or other clinically or molecularly relevant subgroups…; ¶ 0106: Each convolutional neural network may be trained on appropriate data or otherwise configured to classify or predict certain result and/or classify certain input data. Each convolutional neural network may thus be optimized or fine-tuned for different classification purposes. For example, a trained convolutional neural network may classify a tile, and digital pathology platform 110 can use the classification to determine which second convolutional neural network will be used to further classify the tile. A plurality of convolutional neural networks may be used successively on the same data, for example, slide image tile, or on output from the previous convolutional neural network (emphasis added).).
Faust is considered to be analogous art as it pertains to determining biomarkers in images using neural networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system for multiple instance learning for classification and localization in biomedical imaging (as taught by Fuchs) and the process for annotation and classification of tissue specimens using convolutional neural networks (as taught by Faust) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation for this combination of references would be the system of Faust uses a hierarchy of convolutional neural networks to successively classify data such as pathology images at increasingly finer gradients which reduces the need for continual revalidation of robust and pre-learned classification tasks which may improve classification accuracy. (See ¶ 0105).
Regarding claim 32, Fuchs teaches a computer implemented method of training, comprising:
obtaining a first set of image portions from an input image of tissue (Fuchs ¶ 0157: For each biomedical image 3232, the tile generator 3216 may generate a set of tiles 3236A-N (hereinafter referred as tiles 3236) from the biomedical image 3232. Each tile 3236 may correspond to a portion of the biomedical image 3232. In some embodiments, the tile generator 3215 may partition or divide the biomedical image 3232 into the set of tiles 3236.);
inputting image data of an image portion from the first set into a first model comprising a first convolutional neural network (Fuchs ¶ 0165: In some embodiments, the tile generator 3216 may receive the biomedical images 3232 from the imaging device 3204.; ¶ 0170: In some embodiments, the inference model 3212 may be a convolutional neural network (CNN) and a deep convolutional network (DCN), among others, with the set of transform layers.), wherein the first convolutional neural network comprises a first portion comprising at least one convolutional layer (Figure 19, Classifier CNN; ¶ 0170: The inference model 3212 may include a set of transform layers (e.g., convolutional layer, pooling layer, rectified layer, and normalization layer)… The inference model 3212 may have any number of transform layers.), the first model generating an indication of whether the image portion is associated with a (Fuchs ¶ 0172: By applying the inference model, the model applier 3218 may determine the score for each tile 3236. In some embodiments, the model applier 3218 may determine the score for each condition for each tile 3236. For example, one tile 3236 may be associated with a score indicating likelihood of presence of prostate cancer and another score indicating likelihood of bruising to the organ tissue on the tile 3236.); and
adapting the first model based on a label associated with the input image of tissue indicating whether the input image is associated with the biomarker (Fuchs ¶ 0166: In some embodiments, the tile generator 3216 may access the training database 3224 to retrieve the biomedical images 3232… The training database 3324 may maintain a set of biomedical images 3232 with the label 3234 for training the inference model 3212 and the aggregation model 3214. The label 3234 may indicate a presence or a lack of a condition on the biomedical image 3232.; ¶ 0174: The threshold value for the label 3234 may correspond to the occurrence of the condition specified by the label 3234, and may indicate a score at which to modify one or more parameters of the inference model 3212.).
selecting a second set of two or more image portions from the first set of image portions based on the indication of whether the image portion is associated with a molecular biomarker (Fuchs ¶ 0173: Based on the scores determined for the tiles 3236 from the application of the inference model 3212, the model applier 3218 may select a subset from the set of tiles 3236 to form a subset 3238A-N (hereinafter generally referred to as subset 3238 or selected tiles 3238). In some embodiments, the model applier 3218 may select the tiles 3236 with the highest scores to form the subset 3238. The selected tiles 3238 may represent the tiles 3236 with the highest likelihood of including a feature correlated with or corresponding to the presence of the condition.)
determining an indication of whether the input image is associated with the (Fuchs ¶ 0176: The label 3234 may indicate the presence of the condition on the corresponding medical image 3232… The threshold value when the label 3234 indicates lack of the condition may be the same or may differ from the threshold value when the label 3235 indicates the presence of the condition.) wherein the determining comprises inputting first data corresponding to the second set of two or more image portions into a second trained model (¶ 0173: The number of tiles 3238 selected from the original set of tiles 3236 may be in accordance to a predefined number, and may range from 1 to 50… Under the runtime mode, with the selection from the tiles 3236, the model applier 3218 may apply the aggregation model 3214 onto the selected tiles 3238, and feed the selected tiles 3238 into the input of the aggregation model 3214.)
Additionally, Yip teaches wherein the biomarker is a molecular biomarker (¶ 0007: Yet another tumor characteristic is the presence of specific molecules as a biomarker, including the molecule known as programmed death ligand 1 (PD-L1).; ¶ 0086: In some examples, the multiscale configurations contain pixel-level cell classifiers and cell segmentation models.; ¶ 0087: In some examples, the deep learning frameworks herein include a single-scale configuration trained using a multiple instance learning (MIL) strategy to predict biomarkers presence in histopathology images… In some examples, the single-scale configurations contain slide-level classifiers trained using gene sequencing data, such as RNA sequencing data, and trained to analyze histopathology images having slide-level labels, not tile-level labels.); and wherein the determining comprises a second trained model using an attention mechanism (¶ 0093: Biomarkers may be identified through any of the following models. Any models referenced herein may be implemented as artificial intelligence engines and may include gradient boosting models, random forest models, neural networks (NN), regression models, Naive Bayes models, or machine learning algorithms (MLA)… NNs include conditional random fields, convolutional neural networks, attention based neural networks... (emphasis added)); and
adapting the second model based on the label associated with the input image of tissue indicated whether the input image is associated with the molecular biomarker (¶ 0093: A MLA or a NN may be trained from a training data set. In an exemplary prediction profile, a training data set may include imaging, pathology, clinical, and/or molecular reports and details of a patient, such as those curated from an EHR or genetic sequencing reports. MLAs include supervised algorithms (such as algorithms where the features/classifications in the data set are annotated) using linear regression, logistic regression, decision trees, classification and regression trees, Naive Bayes, nearest neighbor clustering… Training may include providing optimized datasets, labeling these traits as they occur in patient records, and training the MLA to predict or classify based on new inputs.; ¶ 0123: To analyze the received histopathology image data and other data, the imaging-based biomarker prediction system 102 includes a deep learning framework 150 that implements various machine learning techniques to generate trained classifier models for image-based biomarker analysis from received training sets of image data or sets of image data and other patient information. With trained classifier models, the deep learning framework 150 is further used to analyze and diagnose the presence of image-based biomarkers in subsequent images collected from patients.).
Yip is considered to be analogous art as it pertains to determining biomarkers in images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system for multiple instance learning for classification and localization in biomedical imaging (as taught by Fuchs) and the system for determining biomarkers from histopathology slide images (as taught by Yip) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation for this combination of references would be the system of Yip includes a stack of convolutional layers interleaved with “shortcut connections,” which skip intermediate layers. These shortcut connections use earlier layers as a reference point to guide deeper layers to learn the residual between layer outputs rather than learning an identity mapping between layers. This innovation improves convergence speed and stability during training, and allows deeper networks to perform better than their shallower counterparts. (See ¶ 0365).
Additionally, Faust teaches wherein the determining comprises inputting first data corresponding to the (¶ 0098: The CNNs or other training models can be used to classify or annotate new slides or images or uncover proteomic or molecular signatures, biomarkers, or other clinically or molecularly relevant subgroups…; ¶ 0106: Each convolutional neural network may be trained on appropriate data or otherwise configured to classify or predict certain result and/or classify certain input data. Each convolutional neural network may thus be optimized or fine-tuned for different classification purposes. For example, a trained convolutional neural network may classify a tile, and digital pathology platform 110 can use the classification to determine which second convolutional neural network will be used to further classify the tile. A plurality of convolutional neural networks may be used successively on the same data, for example, slide image tile, or on output from the previous convolutional neural network (emphasis added).).
Faust is considered to be analogous art as it pertains to determining biomarkers in images using neural networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system for multiple instance learning for classification and localization in biomedical imaging (as taught by Fuchs) and the process for annotation and classification of tissue specimens using convolutional neural networks (as taught by Faust) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation for this combination of references would be the system of Faust uses a hierarchy of convolutional neural networks to successively classify data such as pathology images at increasingly finer gradients which reduces the need for continual revalidation of robust and pre-learned classification tasks which may improve classification accuracy. (See ¶ 0105).
Regarding claim 34, the Fuchs and Yip combination teaches a system comprising a first model and a second model trained according to the method of claim 32 (Figure 32A, Ref. No. 3212 and 3214; ¶ 0164: The image classification system 3202 may include at least one feature classifier 3208, at least one model trainer 3210, at least one inference model 3212 (sometimes referred herein as an inference system), and at least one aggregation model 3214 (sometimes referred herein as an aggregation system), among others.).
Regarding claim 35, the Fuchs and Yip combination teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising computer readable code configured to cause a computer to perform the method of claim 21 (¶ 0233: The central processing unit 3421 is any logic circuitry that responds to and processes instructions fetched from the main memory unit 3422.; ¶ 0248: Modules may be implemented in hardware and/or as computer instructions on a non-transient computer readable storage medium, and modules may be distributed across various hardware or computer based components.).
Regarding claim 36, the Fuchs and Yip combination teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising computer readable code configured to cause a computer to perform the method of claim 32 (¶ 0233: The central processing unit 3421 is any logic circuitry that responds to and processes instructions fetched from the main memory unit 3422.; ¶ 0248: Modules may be implemented in hardware and/or as computer instructions on a non-transient computer readable storage medium, and modules may be distributed across various hardware or computer based components.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 25 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In light of the amendment filed 3 June, 2026, claim 25 is indicated as allowable subject matter as Fuchs, neither alone, nor in combination with Yip or Faust or any other art teaches that it was known at the time of filing to:
Input first data (understood by the examiner to be the output of the first portion of the first convolutional neural network comprising at least one convolutional layer) for each image portion in the second set into the attention mechanism (understood by the examiner to be a part of the second neural network which comprises a recurrent neural network); and
For each image portion in the third set, inputting first data corresponding to the image portion in the third set into the recurrent neural network, the recurrent neural network generating the indication of whether the input image is associated with the molecular biomarker;
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Branson et al (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0380339 A1) teaches utilizing a feedforward neural network in conjunction with a recurrent neural network which comprises an attention mechanism to process one or more pathology images.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW B. JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 2667
/MATTHEW C BELLA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2667