DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 12/04/2025 is acknowledged.
No claims are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/04/2025.
Claim Interpretation
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 49: “and means for reporting, to a positioning entity.” with the following three-prong test analysis:
The claim limitation uses the term “means.”
The term “means” is modified by the following functional language:
for reporting, to a positioning entity.
The term “means” is not found to be modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts in Claim 49.
The corresponding structure for performing the claimed “reporting, to a positioning entity” is found to be modified by a transceiver [0007]. Therefore, the “means for reporting, to a positioning entity” is interpreted to be a transceiver.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 14-17, 22, 26-28, 30, 31, 42-44, 46 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SHENG(WO2019218940A1)
Regarding claim 1, SHENG discloses
A method of wireless communication positioning by a user equipment (UE) (FIG.1, Part.UE), comprising: determining one or more angle-based measurements (“the estimation unit 512 may estimate the AOA “ [0063]) of one or more reference signal resources transmitted by or received at the UE on one or more antennas of the UE (“Using a UE 500 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the AOA of the downlink signal can be estimated.” [0062]); and reporting, to a positioning entity, the one or more angle-based measurements (“the UE reports the AOA and distance of each base station to the serving base station” [0122]), a beam pattern associated with the one or more reference signal resources, a type of the one or more antennas, locations of the one or more antennas on the UE, an orientation of the one or more antennas, or any combination thereof (“the UE can report the measured AOA and distance of each base station” [0125]).
Regarding claim 14, SHENG discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein the positioning entity comprises: a location server (“The location server” [0043]), a serving base station of the UE (“The UE uses eNB 1 as the reference base station” [0043]), or another UE connected to the UE over a sidelink (“work in special communication scenarios such as D2D” [0138]).
Regarding claim 15, SHENG discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more angle-based measurements comprise a downlink angle of arrival (DL-AoA) measurement (“a user equipment in the wireless communication system estimates the angle of arrival (AOA) of the downlink signal” [0010]).
Regarding claim 16, SHENG discloses
The method of claim 15, wherein the one or more reference signal resources comprise one or more positioning reference signals (PRS) resources (“PRS (Positioning Reference Signal)” [0060])
Regarding claim 17, SHENG discloses
The method of claim 16, wherein the DL-AoA measurement (“a user equipment in the wireless communication system estimates the angle of arrival (AOA) of the downlink signal” [0010]) comprises: an azimuth angle of a boresight direction in which the one or more PRS (“PRS (Positioning Reference Signal)” [0060]) resources are received (“the AOA in the first direction can be a horizontal AOA” [0154]), and an elevation angle of the boresight direction in which the one or more PRS (“PRS (Positioning Reference Signal)” [0060]) resources are received (“the AOA in the second direction can be a vertical AOA” [0154]).
Regarding claim 22, SHENG discloses,
The method of claim 1, wherein reporting the one or more angle-based measurements, the beam pattern associated with the one or more reference signal resources, the locations of the one or more antennas, the orientation of the one or more antennas (“the UE reports the AOA and distance of each base station to the serving base station” [0122]), or any combination thereof relative to a reference antenna of the one or more antennas (“The UE uses eNB 1 as the reference base station” [0043]).
Regarding claim 26, SHENG discloses,
The method of claim 1, wherein the type of the one or more antennas comprises a directional antenna capable of beamforming (“fifth-generation mobile communication systems (5G) will employ massive MIMO technology at both the transmitting and receiving ends, enabling base stations to form transmission beams and allowing the UE to estimate the AOA” [0061]).
Regarding claim 27, SHENG discloses,
The method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting the one or more reference signal resources on the one or more antennas of the UE (“Using a UE 500 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the AOA of the downlink signal can be estimated.” [0062]).
Regarding claim 28, SHENG discloses,
The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving the one or more reference signal resources on the one or more antennas of the UE (“the base station (eNB) estimates the AOA of the arriving signal through the uplink channel” [0045]).
Regarding claim 30, SHENG discloses,
The method of claim 1, wherein: the UE operates in accordance with a radio access technology (RAT), the one or more reference signal resources are configured according to the RAT, and the RAT comprises: LTE (“such as LTE and LTE-Advanced” [0174]), Fifth Generation New Radio (5G NR),Wi-Fi, ultra-wideband (UWB), or Bluetooth (“NR PBCH (New Radio-Physical Broadcast Channel)” [0052]).
Regarding claim 31, SHENG discloses,
A user equipment (UE), comprising (FIG.1, Part.UE): a memory (“The smartphone 1200 includes a processor 1201, a memory 1202” [0185]); at least one transceiver (“an electronic device in a wireless communication system is provided, comprising: a transceiver” [0010]); and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor (“The smartphone 1200 includes a processor 1201, a memory 1202, a storage device 1203” [0185]) configured to: determine one or more angle-based measurements (“the estimation unit 512 may estimate the AOA “ [0063]) of one or more reference signal resources transmitted by or received at the UE on one or more antennas of the UE (“Using a UE 500 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the AOA of the downlink signal can be estimated.” [0062]); and report, via the at least one transceiver, to a positioning entity, the one or more angle-based measurements (“the UE reports the AOA and distance of each base station to the serving base station” [0122]), a beam pattern associated with the one or more reference signal resources, a type of the one or more antennas, locations of the one or more antennas on the UE, an orientation of the one or more antennas, or any combination thereof (“the UE can report the measured AOA and distance of each base station” [0125]).
Regarding claim 42, SHENG discloses
The UE of claim 31, wherein the one or more angle-based measurements comprise a downlink angle of arrival (DL-AoA) measurement (“a user equipment in the wireless communication system estimates the angle of arrival (AOA) of the downlink signal” [0010]).
Regarding claim 43, SHENG discloses
The UE of claim 42, wherein the one or more reference signal resources comprise one or more positioning reference signals (PRS) resources (“PRS (Positioning Reference Signal)” [0060]).
Regarding claim 44, SHENG discloses
The UE of claim 43, wherein the DL-AoA measurement (“a user equipment in the wireless communication system estimates the angle of arrival (AOA) of the downlink signal” [0010]) comprises: an azimuth angle of a boresight direction in which the one or more PRS (“PRS (Positioning Reference Signal)” [0060]) resources are received (“the AOA in the first direction can be a horizontal AOA” [0154]), and an elevation angle of the boresight direction in which the one or more PRS (“PRS (Positioning Reference Signal)” [0060]) resources are received (“the AOA in the second direction can be a vertical AOA” [0154]).
Regarding claim 46, SHENG discloses,
The UE of claim 31, wherein the at least one processor configured to report comprises the at least one processor configured to: report, via the at least one transceiver, the one or more angle-based measurements, the beam pattern associated with the one or more reference signal resources, the locations of the one or more antennas (“the UE reports the AOA and distance of each base station to the serving base station” [0122]), the orientation of the one or more antennas, or any combination thereof relative to a reference antenna of the one or more antennas (“The UE uses eNB 1 as the reference base station” [0043]).
Regarding claim 49, SHENG discloses,
A user equipment (UE), comprising: means (FIG.1, Part.UE) for determining one or more angle-based measurements (“the estimation unit 512 may estimate the AOA “ [0063]) of one or more reference signal resources transmitted by or received at the UE on one or more antennas of the UE (“Using a UE 500 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the AOA of the downlink signal can be estimated.” [0062]); and means for reporting, to a positioning entity, the one or more angle-based measurements (“the UE reports the AOA and distance of each base station to the serving base station” [0122]), a beam pattern associated with the one or more reference signal resources, a type of the one or more antennas, locations of the one or more antennas on the UE, an orientation of the one or more antennas, or any combination thereof (“the UE can report the measured AOA and distance of each base station” [0125]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6, 10, 12, 13, 19-21, 23, 24, 32-36, 40, 47-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHENG(WO2019218940A1) in view of WANG(WO2020164710A1)
Regarding claim 2, SHENG discloses all the limitations of claim 1. SHENG does not appear to disclose UL-AOD. WANG discloses wherein, the one or more angle-based measurements comprise an uplink angle of departure (UL-AoD) measurement (FIG.6, Step.6 & “The measurement comprises at least one of […] an Angle of Departure (AOD) [Pg.5, ll.10-12], See instant Specification [0027]).
WANG teaches in the same field of network positioning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG with the teachings of WANG to incorporate the features of uplink angle of departure (UL-AoD) measurement so as to gain the advantage of improving signaling procedures [Pg.3, Par.2 WANG]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 3, SHENG as modified by Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 2. SHENG does not appear to disclose sounding reference signals. WANG discloses wherein, the one or more reference signal resources comprise one or more sounding reference signals (SRS) resources (“a DL and/or UL Sounding Reference Signal (SRS),” [Pg.6, ll1-2]).
WANG teaches in the same field of network positioning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG with the teachings of WANG to incorporate the features of one or more sounding reference signals (SRS) resources so as to gain the advantage of improving signaling procedures [Pg.3, Par.2 WANG]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 4, SHENG as modified by Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 3. SHENG discloses wherein, the […] measurement comprises: an azimuth angle of a boresight direction in which the one or more […] resources are transmitted (“the AOA in the first direction can be a horizontal AOA” [0154]), and an elevation angle of the boresight direction in which the one or more SRS resources are transmitted (“the AOA in the second direction can be a vertical AOA” [0154]).
SHENG discloses azimuth and elevation measurements, but does not explicitly disclose sounding reference signals (SRS) resources or uplink angle of departure (UL-AoD) measurement. Wang discloses one or more sounding reference signals (SRS) resources (“a DL and/or UL Sounding Reference Signal (SRS),” [Pg.6, ll1-2]) and uplink angle of departure (UL-AoD) measurement (FIG.6, Step.6 & “The measurement comprises at least one of […] an Angle of Departure (AOD) [Pg.5, ll.10-12], See instant Specification [0027]).
WANG teaches in the same field of network positioning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG with the teachings of WANG to incorporate the features of one or more sounding reference signals (SRS) resources and uplink angle of departure (UL-AoD) measurement so as to gain the advantage of improving positioning accuracy [Pg.13, Par.2 WANG]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 5, SHENG as modified by Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 4. SHENG discloses wherein, the reporting (“the UE reports the AOA and distance of each base station to the serving base station” [0122]) comprises: reporting the azimuth angle to the positioning entity in an […]-azimuth field(“the AOA in the first direction can be a horizontal AOA” [0154]), and reporting the elevation angle to the positioning entity in an […]-elevation field (“the AOA in the second direction can be a vertical AOA” [0154]).
SHENG discloses azimuth and elevation measurements, but does not explicitly disclose sounding reference signals (SRS) resources. Wang discloses one or more sounding reference signals (SRS) resources (“a DL and/or UL Sounding Reference Signal (SRS),” [Pg.6, ll1-2]).
WANG teaches in the same field of network positioning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG with the teachings of WANG to incorporate the features of one or more sounding reference signals (SRS) resources and uplink angle of departure (UL-AoD) measurement so as to gain the advantage of improving signaling procedures [Pg.3, Par.2 WANG]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 6, SHENG as modified by Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 4. SHENG discloses wherein, the azimuth angle is reported as a value from 0 to 359.5 degrees with a step size of 0.5 degrees (“an angle range of 0 degrees to 360 degrees and a resolution of 0.5 degrees” [0045]), and the elevation angle is reported as a value from -90 to +90 degrees with a step size of 0.5 degrees ( “the AOA in the second direction can be a vertical AOA” [0154] & “a resolution of 0.5 degrees” [0045]).
Regarding claim 10, SHENG discloses all the limitations of claim 1. SHENG discloses, a local coordinate system (LCS) of the UE (“relative coordinates can be used” [0103]).
SHENG does not appear to explicitly disclose reporting the orientation of one or more antennas. WANG discloses wherein the orientation of the one or more antennas is reported (“assistance data 305 from the reference nodes, e.g. geographical position, orientation of the TRPs antenna.” [Pg.13, ll.2-3]).
WANG teaches in the same field of network positioning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG with the teachings of WANG to incorporate the features of reporting the orientation of one or more antennas so as to gain the advantage of improving positioning accuracy [Pg.13, Par.2 WANG]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 12, SHENG discloses all the limitations of claim 1. SHENG discloses wherein, the one or more angle-based measurements (“the estimation unit 512 may estimate the AOA “ [0063]), […] are reported in: […] a provide location information message, or any combination thereof (“both the UE and the network can initiate a location request” [0074]).
SHENG does not appear to disclose reporting the beam pattern associated with the one or more reference signal resources, the type of the one or more antennas, the locations of the one or more antennas on the UE, the orientation of the one or more antennas. Wang discloses, the beam pattern associated with the one or more reference signal resources (“preferred beam direction” [Pg.15, Table.a.2a]), the type of the one or more antennas, the locations of the one or more antennas on the UE, the orientation of the one or more antennas (“orientation of the TRPs antenna” [Pgt.13, ll.2]), or any combination thereof […]a UE positioning capability report (“may request UE positioning capabilities” [Pg.16, ll.12]), a request for assistance data (“RAN-LMC 200 requests assistance data” [Pg.13, ll.1])
WANG teaches in the same field of network positioning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG with the teachings of WANG to incorporate the features of reporting the beam pattern associated with the one or more reference signal resources, the type of the one or more antennas, the locations of the one or more antennas on the UE, the orientation of the one or more antennas, or any combination thereof so as to gain the advantage of improving positioning accuracy [Pg.13, Par.2 WANG]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 13, SHENG discloses all the limitations of claim 1. SHENG discloses wherein, wherein the one or more angle-based measurements, […] are reported in: […] medium access control element (MAC-CE) (“Media Access Control (MAC)” [0174]), radio resource control (RRC) signaling (“RRC (Radio Resource Control) connection” [0003])
SHENG does not appear to disclose reporting the beam pattern associated with the one or more reference signal resources, the type of the one or more antennas, the locations of the one or more antennas on the UE, the orientation of the one or more antennas. Wang discloses, the beam pattern associated with the one or more reference signal resources (“preferred beam direction” [Pg.15, Table.a.2a]), the type of the one or more antennas, the locations of the one or more antennas on the UE (“assistance data 305 from the reference nodes, e.g. geographical position, orientation of the TRPs antenna.” [Pg.13, ll.1-2]), the orientation of the one or more antennas(“orientation of the TRPs antenna” [Pgt.13, ll.2]), or any combination thereof are reported in: uplink control information (UCI) […] one or more Long-Term Evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) messages, or any combination thereof (“CN-based location server using LPP,” [Pg.14, ll.15]).
WANG teaches in the same field of network positioning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG with the teachings of WANG to incorporate the features of reporting the beam pattern associated with the one or more reference signal resources, the type of the one or more antennas, the locations of the one or more antennas on the UE, the orientation of the one or more antennas, or any combination thereof so as to gain the advantage of improving positioning accuracy [Pg.13, Par.2 WANG]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 19, SHENG discloses all the limitations of claim 1. SHENG does not appear to disclose one or more antenna placement and calibration information elements. WANG discloses wherein, the beam pattern associated with the one or more reference signal resources (“preferred beam direction” [Pg.15, Table.a.2a]) and the locations of the one or more antennas (“geographical Position” [Pg.15, Table.a.4a]) are reported in one or more antenna placement and calibration information elements (IEs) (FIG.4, step.403).
WANG teaches in the same field of network positioning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG with the teachings of WANG to incorporate the features one or more antenna placement and calibration information elements (IEs) so as to gain the advantage of improving signaling procedures [Pg.3, Par.2 WANG]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 20, SHENG as modified by Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 19. SHENG discloses, the locations of the one or more antennas comprise x, y, z coordinates of the one or more antennas (“relative coordinates can be used” [0103]).
Regarding claim 21, SHENG as modified by Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 19. SHENG does not appear to disclose reporting beam pattern. WANG discloses wherein, the beam pattern comprises a value from 1 degree to 360 degrees (“preferred beam direction [Pg.15, Table.a.2a]).
WANG teaches in the same field of network positioning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG with the teachings of WANG to incorporate the features the beam pattern comprising a value from 1 degree to 360 degree so as to gain the advantage of improving positioning accuracy [Pg.13, Par.2 WANG]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 23, SHENG discloses all the limitations of claim 22. SHENG discloses
The method of claim 22, wherein: the one or more antennas comprise a plurality of antennas (“Each of the antennas 1216 includes one or more antenna elements (such as multiple antenna elements included in a MIMO antenna)”[0191]), the one or more angle-based measurements comprise an angle-based measurement associated with each of the plurality of antennas (“the received signal on the nth antenna (n = 0, 1, ..., N-1), and r(t) represents the synchronization signal arriving at the UE” [0086]),
SHENG does not appear to disclose beam pattern or antenna orientation. Wang discloses, the beam pattern associated with the one or more reference signal resources comprise a beam pattern associated with each of the plurality of antennas (“preferred beam direction” [Pg.15, Table.a.2a]), the locations of the one or more antennas comprise a location of each of the plurality of antennas (“assistance data 305 from the reference nodes, e.g. geographical position, orientation of the TRPs antenna.” [Pg.13, ll.1-2]), and the orientation of the one or more antennas comprises an orientation of each of the one or more antennas (“orientation of the TRPs antenna” [Pgt.13, ll.2]).
WANG teaches in the same field of network positioning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG with the teachings of WANG to incorporate the features of the beam pattern associated with the one or more reference signal resources comprise a beam pattern associated with each of the plurality of antennas, the locations of the one or more antennas comprise a location of each of the plurality of antennas, and the orientation of the one or more antennas comprises an orientation of each of the one or more antenna so as to gain the advantage of improving positioning accuracy [Pg.13, Par.2 WANG]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 24, SHENG as modified by WANG discloses all the limitations of claim 23. SHENG discloses, the reporting comprises: reporting absolute values (“the UE reports the AOA and distance of each base station to the serving base station” [0122]) for the angle-based measurement(“the UE can report the measured AOA and distance of each base station” [0125]), the beam pattern, the location, the orientation, or any combination thereof for the reference antenna; and reporting values (“the UE reports the AOA and distance of each base station to the serving base station” [0122]) for the angle-based measurement (“the UE can report the measured AOA and distance of each base station” [0125]), the beam pattern, the location, the orientation, or any combination thereof for remaining antennas of the plurality of antennas relative to the absolute values for the reference antenna (“The UE uses eNB 1 as the reference base station” [0043]).
Regarding claim 32, SHENG discloses all the limitations of claim 31. SHENG does not appear to disclose UL-AOD. WANG discloses wherein, the one or more angle-based measurements comprise an uplink angle of departure (UL-AoD) measurement (FIG.6, Step.6 & “The measurement comprises at least one of […] an Angle of Departure (AOD) [Pg.5, ll.10-12], See instant Specification [0027]).
WANG teaches in the same field of network positioning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG with the teachings of WANG to incorporate the features of uplink angle of departure (UL-AoD) measurement so as to gain the advantage of improving signaling procedures [Pg.3, Par.2 WANG]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the
Regarding claim 33, SHENG as modified by Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 32. SHENG does not appear to disclose sounding reference signals. WANG discloses wherein, the one or more reference signal resources comprise one or more sounding reference signals (SRS) resources (“a DL and/or UL Sounding Reference Signal (SRS),” [Pg.6, ll1-2]).
WANG teaches in the same field of network positioning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG with the teachings of WANG to incorporate the features of one or more sounding reference signals (SRS) resources so as to gain the advantage of improving signaling procedures [Pg.3, Par.2 WANG]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 34, SHENG as modified by Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 33. SHENG discloses wherein, the […] measurement comprises: an azimuth angle of a boresight direction in which the one or more […] resources are transmitted (“the AOA in the first direction can be a horizontal AOA” [0154]), and an elevation angle of the boresight direction in which the one or more […] resources are transmitted (“the AOA in the second direction can be a vertical AOA” [0154]).
SHENG discloses azimuth and elevation measurements, but does not explicitly disclose sounding reference signals (SRS) resources or uplink angle of departure (UL-AoD) measurement. Wang discloses one or more sounding reference signals (SRS) resources (“a DL and/or UL Sounding Reference Signal (SRS),” [Pg.6, ll1-2]) and uplink angle of departure (UL-AoD) measurement (FIG.6, Step.6 & “The measurement comprises at least one of […] an Angle of Departure (AOD) [Pg.5, ll.10-12], See instant Specification [0027]).
WANG teaches in the same field of network positioning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG with the teachings of WANG to incorporate the features of one or more sounding reference signals (SRS) resources and uplink angle of departure (UL-AoD) measurement so as to gain the advantage of improving positioning accuracy [Pg.13, Par.2 WANG]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 35, SHENG as modified by Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 34. SHENG discloses wherein, the at least one processor configured to report comprises the at least one processor (“the UE reports the AOA and distance of each base station to the serving base station” [0122]) configured to: report, via the at least one transceiver, the azimuth angle to the positioning entity in an […] azimuth field (“the AOA in the first direction can be a horizontal AOA” [0154]), and report, via the at least one transceiver, the elevation angle to the positioning entity in an […]-elevation field (“the AOA in the second direction can be a vertical AOA” [0154]).
SHENG discloses azimuth and elevation measurements, but does not explicitly disclose sounding reference signals (SRS) resources. Wang discloses one or more sounding reference signals (SRS) resources (“a DL and/or UL Sounding Reference Signal (SRS),” [Pg.6, ll1-2]).
WANG teaches in the same field of network positioning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG with the teachings of WANG to incorporate the features of one or more sounding reference signals (SRS) resources and uplink angle of departure (UL-AoD) measurement so as to gain the advantage of improving signaling procedures [Pg.3, Par.2 WANG]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 36, SHENG as modified by Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 34. SHENG discloses wherein, the azimuth angle is reported as a value from 0 to 359.5 degrees with a step size of 0.5 degrees (“an angle range of 0 degrees to 360 degrees and a resolution of 0.5 degrees” [0045]), and the elevation angle is reported as a value from -90 to +90 degrees with a step size of 0.5 degrees ( “the AOA in the second direction can be a vertical AOA” [0154] & “a resolution of 0.5 degrees” [0045]).
Regarding claim 40, SHENG discloses all the limitations of claim 31. SHENG discloses, a local coordinate system (LCS) of the UE (“relative coordinates can be used” [0103]).
SHENG does not appear to explicitly disclose reporting the orientation of one or more antennas. WANG discloses, the orientation of the one or more antennas is reported (“assistance data 305 from the reference nodes, e.g. geographical position, orientation of the TRPs antenna.” [Pg.13, ll.2-3]).
WANG teaches in the same field of network positioning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG with the teachings of WANG to incorporate the features of reporting the orientation of one or more antennas so as to gain the advantage of improving positioning accuracy [Pg.13, Par.2 WANG]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 47, SHENG discloses all the limitations of claim 46. SHENG discloses, the one or more antennas comprise a plurality of antennas (“Each of the antennas 1216 includes one or more antenna elements (such as multiple antenna elements included in a MIMO antenna)”[0191]), the one or more angle-based measurements comprise an angle-based measurement associated with each of the plurality of antennas (“the received signal on the nth antenna (n = 0, 1, ..., N-1), and r(t) represents the synchronization signal arriving at the UE” [0086]),
SHENG does not appear to disclose beam pattern or antenna orientation. Wang discloses, the beam pattern associated with the one or more reference signal resources comprise a beam pattern associated with each of the plurality of antennas (“preferred beam direction” [Pg.15, Table.a.2a]), the locations of the one or more antennas comprise a location of each of the plurality of antennas (“assistance data 305 from the reference nodes, e.g. geographical position, orientation of the TRPs antenna.” [Pg.13, ll.1-2]), and the orientation of the one or more antennas comprises an orientation of each of the one or more antennas (“orientation of the TRPs antenna” [Pgt.13, ll.2]).
WANG teaches in the same field of network positioning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG with the teachings of WANG to incorporate the features of the beam pattern associated with the one or more reference signal resources comprise a beam pattern associated with each of the plurality of antennas, the locations of the one or more antennas comprise a location of each of the plurality of antennas, and the orientation of the one or more antennas comprises an orientation of each of the one or more antenna so as to gain the advantage of improving positioning accuracy [Pg.13, Par.2 WANG]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 48, SHENG as modified by WANG discloses all the limitations of claim 47. SHENG discloses, the at least one processor configured to report comprises the at least one processor configured to: report, via the at least one transceiver, absolute values (“the UE reports the AOA and distance of each base station to the serving base station” [0122]) for the angle-based measurement (“the UE can report the measured AOA and distance of each base station” [0125]), the beam pattern, the location, the orientation, or any combination thereof for the reference antenna; and report, via the at least one transceiver, values (“the UE reports the AOA and distance of each base station to the serving base station” [0122]) for the angle-based measurement (“the UE can report the measured AOA and distance of each base station” [0125]), the beam pattern, the location, the orientation, or any combination thereof for remaining antennas of the plurality of antennas relative to the absolute values for the reference antenna (“The UE uses eNB 1 as the reference base station” [0043]).
Claims 7-9, 18, 37-39, and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHENG(WO2019218940A1) as modified by WANG(WO2020164710A1), and further in view of SOMA(WO2014047352A2). Claims 7-9 and 37-39 depend from claims 3 and 33 respectively. Claims 3 and 33 are rejected above by 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHENG(WO2019218940A1) as modified by WANG(WO2020164710A1). Claims 18 and 45 depend from claims 16 and 43 respectively. Claims 16 and 43 are rejected above by 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SHENG(WO2019218940A1).
Regarding claim 7, SHENG as modified by Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 3. SHENG as modified by Wang discloses a beam pattern associated with the one or more reference signal resources and sounding reference signals (SRS) resources, but does not explicitly disclose a half-power beam width (HPBW). SOMA discloses wherein, wherein the beam pattern comprises: a half-power beam width (HPBW) in a horizontal plane of a beam on which the one or more SRS resources are transmitted (“HPBW in their horizontal dimension” [0070]), and an HPBW in a vertical plane of the beam on which the one or more SRS resources are transmitted (“half-power-beamwidth (HPBW) in the vertical dimension” [0070]).
SOMA teaches in the same field of network positioning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG as modified by WANG with the teachings of SOMA to incorporate the features of a half-power beam width (HPBW) in a horizontal plane and an HPBW in a vertical plane so as to gain the advantage of improving location estimation [0006, SOMA]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 8, SHENG as modified by Wang and SOMA discloses all the limitations of claim 7. SHENG as modified by Wang discloses reporting to a positioning entity in an SRS-HPBW field, but does not explicitly disclose reporting a half-power beam width (HPBW). SOMA discloses wherein, the reporting comprises (“UMTS Measurement Report and LTE system's Measurement Report” [0121]): reporting the HPBW in the horizontal plane to the positioning entity in an SRS-HPBW- Az field (“HPBW in their horizontal dimension” [0070]), and reporting the HPBW in the vertical plane to the positioning entity in an SRS-HPBW-El field (“half-power-beamwidth (HPBW) in the vertical dimension” [0070]).
SOMA teaches in the same field of network positioning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG as modified by WANG with the teachings of SOMA to incorporate the features of reporting a half-power beam width (HPBW) in a horizontal plane and an HPBW in a vertical plane so as to gain the advantage of improving location estimation [0006, SOMA]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 9, SHENG as modified by Wang and SOMA discloses all the limitations of claim 7. SHENG as modified by Wang discloses reporting to a positioning entity in an SRS-HPBW field, but does not explicitly disclose reporting a half-power beam width (HPBW). SOMA discloses wherein, the HPBW in the horizontal plane is reported as a value from 0 to 120 degrees with a step size of 0.5 degrees, and the HPBW in the vertical plane is reported as a value from 0 to 120 degrees with a step size of 0.5 degrees (“a plot of the decibel power difference between two 120 degree HPBW antennas with boresights at 0 degrees and 120 degrees are shown in Figure 10 for the entire 360 degrees omnidirectional response of both antennas” [0073])
SOMA teaches in the same field of network positioning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG as modified by WANG with the teachings of SOMA to incorporate the features of a half-power beam width (HPBW) in a horizontal plane and an HPBW in a vertical plane so as to gain the advantage of improving location estimation [0006, SOMA]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 18, SHENG discloses all the limitations of claim 16. SHENG does not explicitly disclose reporting a beam pattern, Wang discloses, the beam pattern (“preferred beam direction” [Pg.15, Table.a.2a])
WANG teaches in the same field of network positioning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG with the teachings of WANG to incorporate the features of a beam pattern associated with the one or more reference signal resources comprise a beam pattern associated with each of the plurality of antennas so as to gain the advantage of improving positioning accuracy [Pg.13, Par.2 WANG]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
SHENG as modified by Wang does not explicitly disclose reporting a half-power beam width (HPBW). SOMA discloses wherein, a half-power beam width (HPBW) in a horizontal plane of a beam on which the one or more PRS resources are received (“HPBW in their horizontal dimension” [0070]), and an HPBW in a vertical plane of the beam on which the one or more PRS resources are received (“half-power-beamwidth (HPBW) in the vertical dimension” [0070]).
SOMA teaches in the same field of network positioning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG as modified by WANG with the teachings of SOMA to incorporate the features of reporting a half-power beam width (HPBW) in a horizontal plane and an HPBW in a vertical plane so as to gain the advantage of improving location estimation [0006, SOMA]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 37, SHENG as modified by Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 33. SHENG as modified by Wang discloses a beam pattern associated with the one or more reference signal resources and sounding reference signals (SRS) resources, but does not explicitly disclose a half-power beam width (HPBW). SOMA discloses wherein, a half-power beam width (HPBW) in a horizontal plane of a beam on which the one or more SRS resources are transmitted (“HPBW in their horizontal dimension” [0070]), and an HPBW in a vertical plane of the beam on which the one or more SRS resources are transmitted (“half-power-beamwidth (HPBW) in the vertical dimension” [0070]).
SOMA teaches in the same field of network positioning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG as modified by WANG with the teachings of SOMA to incorporate the features of a half-power beam width (HPBW) in a horizontal plane and an HPBW in a vertical plane so as to gain the advantage of improving location estimation [0006, SOMA]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 38, SHENG as modified by Wang and SOMA discloses all the limitations of claim 37. SHENG as modified by Wang discloses reporting to a positioning entity in an SRS-HPBW field, but does not explicitly disclose reporting a half-power beam width (HPBW). SOMA discloses wherein, the at least one processor configured to report comprises (“UMTS Measurement Report and LTE system's Measurement Report” [0121]) the at least one processor configured to: report, via the at least one transceiver, the HPBW in the horizontal plane to the positioning entity in an SRS-HPBW-Az field (“HPBW in their horizontal dimension” [0070]), and report, via the at least one transceiver, the HPBW in the vertical plane to the positioning entity in an SRS-HPBW-El field (“half-power-beamwidth (HPBW) in the vertical dimension” [0070]).
SOMA teaches in the same field of network positioning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG as modified by WANG with the teachings of SOMA to incorporate the features of reporting a half-power beam width (HPBW) in a horizontal plane and an HPBW in a vertical plane so as to gain the advantage of improving location estimation [0006, SOMA]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 39, SHENG as modified by Wang and SOMA discloses all the limitations of claim 37. SHENG as modified by Wang discloses reporting to a positioning entity in an SRS-HPBW field, but does not explicitly disclose reporting a half-power beam width (HPBW). SOMA discloses wherein, the HPBW in the horizontal plane is reported as a value from 0 to 120 degrees with a step size of 0.5 degrees, and the HPBW in the vertical plane is reported as a value from 0 to 120 degrees with a step size of 0.5 degrees (“a plot of the decibel power difference between two 120 degree HPBW antennas with boresights at 0 degrees and 120 degrees are shown in Figure 10 for the entire 360 degrees omnidirectional response of both antennas” [0073])
SOMA teaches in the same field of network positioning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG as modified by WANG with the teachings of SOMA to incorporate the features of a half-power beam width (HPBW) in a horizontal plane and an HPBW in a vertical plane so as to gain the advantage of improving location estimation [0006, SOMA]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 45, SHENG discloses all the limitations of claim 43. SHENG does not explicitly disclose reporting a beam pattern, Wang discloses, the beam pattern (“preferred beam direction” [Pg.15, Table.a.2a])
WANG teaches in the same field of network positioning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG with the teachings of WANG to incorporate the features of a beam pattern associated with the one or more reference signal resources comprise a beam pattern associated with each of the plurality of antennas so as to gain the advantage of improving positioning accuracy [Pg.13, Par.2 WANG]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
SHENG as modified by Wang does not explicitly disclose reporting a half-power beam width (HPBW). SOMA discloses wherein, a half-power beam width (HPBW) in a horizontal plane of a beam on which the one or more PRS resources are received (“HPBW in their horizontal dimension” [0070]), and an HPBW in a vertical plane of the beam on which the one or more PRS resources are received (“half-power-beamwidth (HPBW) in the vertical dimension” [0070]).
SOMA teaches in the same field of network positioning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG as modified by WANG with the teachings of SOMA to incorporate the features of reporting a half-power beam width (HPBW) in a horizontal plane and an HPBW in a vertical plane so as to gain the advantage of improving location estimation [0006, SOMA]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Claims 11 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHENG(WO2019218940A1) as modified by WANG(WO2020164710A1), as applied to claims 10 and 40 above, and further in view of RAGHAVAN(US20190074854A1).
Regarding claim 11, SHENG as modified by WANG discloses all the limitations of claim 10. SHENG does not appear to disclose reporting the orientation of one or more antennas. Wang discloses wherein, reporting the orientation of the one or more antennas (“orientation of the TRPs antenna” [Pgt.13, ll.2]).
WANG teaches in the same field of network positioning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG with the teachings of WANG to incorporate the features of reporting the orientation of the one or more antennas comprises so as to gain the advantage of improving positioning accuracy [Pg.13, Par.2 WANG]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
SHENG as modified by WANG do not appear to disclose wherein the orientation comprises bearing angle, downtilt, and slant. RAGHAVAN discloses, reporting a bearing angle (a) (“The angle α is referred to as the bearing angle“ [0122]) of the one or more antennas for a translation of the LCS to a global coordinate system (GCS), reporting a downtilt angle (“β is referred to as the downtilt angle “ [0122]) of the one or more antennas for the translation of the LCS to the GCS, and reporting a slant angle (y) (“γ is referred to as the slant angle “ [0122]) of the one or more antennas for the translation of the LCS to the GCS (“ the transformation of a location in a LCS to a location in a GCS can be determined by the angles α, β, γ.” [0122])
RAGHAVAN teaches in the same field of network systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG as modified by WANG with the teachings of RAGHAVAN to incorporate the features of orientation comprising bearing angle, downtilt, and slant so as to gain the advantage of reducing positioning complexity. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 41, SHENG as modified by WANG discloses all the limitations of claim 40. SHENG does not appear to disclose reporting the orientation of one or more antennas. Wang discloses wherein, the at least one processor configured to report the orientation of the one or more antennas(“orientation of the TRPs antenna” [Pgt.13, ll.2]).
WANG teaches in the same field of network positioning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG with the teachings of WANG to incorporate the features of reporting the orientation of the one or more antennas comprises so as to gain the advantage of improving positioning accuracy [Pg.13, Par.2 WANG]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
SHENG as modified by WANG do not appear to disclose wherein the orientation comprises bearing angle, downtilt, and slant. RAGHAVAN discloses, report, via the at least one transceiver, a bearing angle (a) (“The angle α is referred to as the bearing angle“ [0122]) of the one or more antennas for a translation of the LCS to a global coordinate system (GCS), report, via the at least one transceiver, a downtilt angle (“β is referred to as the downtilt angle “ [0122]) of the one or more antennas for the translation of the LCS to the GCS, and report, via the at least one transceiver, a slant angle (y) (“γ is referred to as the slant angle “ [0122]) of the one or more antennas for the translation of the LCS to the GCS (“ the transformation of a location in a LCS to a location in a GCS can be determined by the angles α, β, γ.” [0122])
RAGHAVAN teaches in the same field of network systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG as modified by WANG with the teachings of RAGHAVAN to incorporate the features of orientation comprising bearing angle, downtilt, and slant so as to gain the advantage of reducing positioning complexity. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHENG(WO2019218940A1) in view of Han(US20170374638A1)
Regarding claim 25, SHENG discloses all the limitations of claim 1. SHENG does not appear to disclose an omnidirectional antenna. Han discloses wherein, the type of the one or more antennas comprises an omnidirectional antenna (“The antennas 210 may comprise one or more directional or omnidirectional antennas” [0046]).
Han teaches in the same field of network positioning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG with the teachings of Han to incorporate the features of an omnidirectional antenna so as to gain the advantage of improved coverage. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHENG(WO2019218940A1) in view of Priyanto(US20160295366A1)
Regarding claim 29, SHENG discloses all the limitations of claim 1. SHENG does not appear to disclose beam width. Priyanto discloses wherein, the beam pattern comprises a beam width associated with the one or more reference signal resources (“the method comprises the step of receiving a beam width value for the respective radio beam in which the signal was transmitted from the respective base station” [0015]).
Priyanto teaches in the same field of network positioning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHENG with the teachings of Priyanto to incorporate the features of reporting beam width so as to gain the advantage of improved positioning [0005, Priyanto]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Documents Considered but not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s Disclosure.
KENINGTON(US20210084611A1) is considered analogous art to the instant application as it discloses in [0109] “signal strength measurement information of the signal strength received from a UE at a location within the coverage area of a second access point and measured by that second access point.”
Conclusion
/C.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3646
/JACK W KEITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3646